We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like visiting an old dustbin” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Sharm Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Horizon Sharm Resort to your Saves list
Horizon Sharm Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“like visiting an old dustbin”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had in my life. I'll start with breakfast. When you took the lid off the tray it was empty. It said hot dogs and when you opened it there was mouldy aubergine from 3 nights before. there is no hot water and te lamps are the most dodgiest lamps ever. we go outside and the people who walk past us say what is your hotel name .We say horizon and every single one of them say we really hope that your rubbish hotel doesnt make you feel that sharm el sheikh is a bad place. we come back home and we want to get some sleep. the back door doesnt shut so we have to sleep with about a dozen misquitos on our head. wake up in the morning look in the mirror and got spots all over my face cos of the flies. believe me if you go to this hotel you will regret going to egypt. complete waste of time and money. it is 4 star but it deserves 0 star and all they want is money. pppllllleeeeeaaaaaaaaaassssssssssseeeeeeeeee dont go.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    9
    12
    70
See reviews for
26
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

WARNING. HOTEL IS LOOKING TO CHANGING ITS NAME DUE TO BAD REPORTS!!! We arrived at 9pm with a young child, to a twin room! they had no idea our child was coming, even though the hotel confirmation clearly said room for '3 people'! It was so dirty I spent over an hour trying to clean it, It had swatted mosquitos INCLUDING BLOOD all over the walls!! we had no hot water for 5 of the 7 days, the toilet wouldn't flush, the fuse box had been on fire & we had power cut after power cut, we missed tea one night due to trying to sort everything out, We complained every day to be told "we will sort it out, relax"!, but they never did.. 'WE' had to pay for someone to come out to sort the water & toilet out!! The mote around the pool & Jacuzzi (which didn't work) both had stagnant water in them and hundreds of mosquito larvae, resulting in everyone getting bitten to death. The uneven tiled flooring everywhere was very dangerous, the pool area had faulty man hole cover, resulting in another guest braking her foot on it & ended up in plaster & a wheel chair for the rest of the holiday! The hotel accepted responsibility as they knew it was their fault! The '24 hour snack bar closes at 11pm and doesn't do snacks, nor does the pool bar!, There is no golf, no gym, no kids play area (The reason we booked)! no ice cream, no night club. The mini bus to the beach: the pizza oven was broken so we couldn't eat, they had no cola, (other than bottled pepsi to buy) no orange, no water, the beer was stacked on the sand, so all hot. The hotel was quite full during our stay, which is why they wouldn't move us, but only 10 couples were English/ non Russian, hence ALL food is Russian no Egyptian food in sight! Only good bit was some staff were great with our little boy & trip to Cairo, which was fantastic! The rest? we counted the days to going home! we had looked forward to this holiday so so much!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We took an allocation on arrival holiday for our honeymoon. We will now remember it as our honeymoon from hell! This hotel is a disgrace. Such a lovely country with some lovely people ruined by staying here. The hotel is FILTHY!
The reception: has lights hanging out of the ceiling, the communal toilets had excrement over the walls, the handryers were falling off, I spoke to the manager about the toilets and a cleaner was sent to sort it out but when the cleaner left it was still there!
The dining area was NEVER cleaned properly, behind the counter was just BLACK when it should have been a cream coloured marble, the tables were only moved once during our stay and even then they didnt take the opportunity to clean the floor, the inclusive food catered for the Russians, we got up for breakfast on our first day to find cheese on everything!! I love cheese, but this was YUK! Most of the english people we met were going up the road for their meals. I complained to the manager about the dirt behind the counter he had a look as I wiped my finger along the edge and got a handful of egg! He said he would get a cleaner to sort it out, and I saw him send a cleaner over to it. An hour later I went back to check and it was still filthy!
The pool: the sunbeds were broken the unbrellas were more holes than shade, there were seats in the pool, great slabs of marble but be careful which one you sit on as one of them comes off!! (That'll break your foot!). Towards the end of our stay someone caught a water flee from the pool, which was somehow loosing water so it was no longer reaching the filter system, it became very smelly and turned green!!
As for our room; the shower curtain pole was bent and falling off, the soap dispenser had a permanent leak, the toilet was running water ALL NIGHT and day, the beds were twin (when we booked a double) and different heights so we couldnt even push them together (OUR HONEYMOON!!) and they were filthy anyway, stained sheets, stained walls, the door not only wouldnt lock but the handle came completely off in our hands, they put the handle back on but we still couldnt lock the door for the entire duration of our stay.
When we made our complaint about the door handle, the manager threatened to remove us from his hotel because we had complained too much!
We were only away for a week but we couldnt get back home soon enough!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Oh dear, really don't know where to begin.On arrival my friend and i were taken to a double room, even though we had booked a twin. back to reception to complain, they said they were fully booked and we had to stay in this room for at least two days. phoned the rep and suddenly we were upgraded (if you can call it that) from bronze to gold twin room. stayed all inclusive, the food was inedible, catering only for the mass of Russina people who stayed there. same food for breakfast, dinner and lunch. Flies all over the food. had to eat out every day and night. Everybody who stayed there complained.Bitten all over by bed bugs, they had to fumigate all the lower floor rooms. Double the amount of staff to customers, all hanging around doing nothing. Pool are is dangerous, i wouldn't even consider taking elderly or children to this place. The place is filfy dirty and very smelly. the men who work there constantly harras you. music around the pool was that loud you couldn't hear to have a conversation. We heard into our stay that Thomas cook have just taken over this hotel. On arrival there was no sauna, no jacussi that worked, no jym, need i go on. as soon as they said a big boss was due to arrive, suddenly everybody was rushing around getting the place fixed up. i would not recommend anyone to sat here, it is an absolute mess. I would not visit this country again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

i cannot express more than dont go to this hotel it is unclean unhygeinic unsafe an absolute disgrace. we travelled here with our 2 children 3 an 12 and my daughter cried upon arrival as i wanted to myself the rooms was filthy stained linen on the beds the florrs was sticky under foot the beds was broken and that was just the start .the all inclusive thing is a joke the food was less than basic toilets all over the hotel was not clean i got moved from the hotel after 1 night that is how bad it was no way would i of stayed there any longer with my children i had to lay our clean towels on the beds before i could let them sleep on them fully clothed .please dont waste your money by going to this hotel utterly disgusting .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I went to egypt from the 6th to the 20th of october,i stayed in the horizon resort for a total of 5 days. When we booked the holiday we checked the reviews on this website for the hotel and saw that people were not happy but i thought we should go and be open minded thinking it wouldnt be that bad. I was wrong!!!! outside apperance of the hotel is not bad and a quick glance in the reception wasnt bad upon arrival, however closer look there is many spot lights in the ceiling that do not work and the reception area was filthy! When we went to our room the bell boy said that the place was disgusting and that he didnt want to be working there. Within minutes of taking our shoes off our feet were black from dirt on the floor, light switches were hanging off the walls and the shower head was tapped on to the wall with electrical tape. the beach is quite far away and many off the sunbeds were broken in one way or another. The staff were rude and when you went to get drinks they were given in tiny plastic cups which do not quench your thirst in a very hot country!!! If you wanted another one you were given dirty looks as if they didnt want you to have another one! All inclusive and we had to buy bottles of water!!!! I went to fill up my bottle of water and got shouted at for doing this, not asked nicely if i could use a cup! The second day our bed broke from literlly sitting on the corner of it, underneath the bed holding it up was a small piece of wood which had obviously had been attempted to fix the bed more than a few times as it had numerous screws in it. When i went to complain about this at reception i was laughed at and when i asked to speak to the manager i was told this want possible as he was on break so i said i would wait and they said i could not tell the manager about any complaints!!! The food was terrible, there was a small single line of options which was pasta, tiny pieces of chicken, potatoes, or beans, there was nothing really that catered for english people. I didnt not eat in the hotel as the only time i did i was ill for the remainder of the holiday. There were 4 broken lights in the pool which had their wires hanging down loosely in the pool, NOT SAFE AT ALL!!!! When i eventally managed to speak to my rep who informed me he was not told he had any people staying in the hotel! I was also told the hotel was ment to be closed down 3 months ago due to health and safety. These are just a few of the problems we had in this hotel, we were lucky that we managed to get moved with the help of thomas cook in england and my rep to a amazing hotel on the 5th day if it wasnt for this i would have got a flight home! Before you book this hotel DONT this hotel is the worst hotel i have ever been to. it is not worth the money in the slightest. The staff are unhelpful and rude. The all inclusive is not all inclusive as you have to pay for drinks!! Dont go!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Please everyone belive these reviews because everything is so true , I booked this holiday as a suprise birthday present for my partner as he was having a special birthday , god what a let down we wanted to come home after day 1, we were given a room with no AC and when we complained they moved us to a room which had not been used for god knows how long it was so dirty and when we pulled the sheets back from the bed it was crawling with fleas i made them come and watched them clean it , I feel so sorry for the staff as they are loverly (well most of them) they get treated like slaves for about £60 a month if there lucky . Hi Liz its us , as for the food it was so naff we ate out everyday the state of the resturant was terralble every time you walked in your feet stuck to the floor with the filth on it and the walls at the back of the food counter was supposed to be white they were black . As for the pool there was a big black rim around the sides . Dead rats and flea ridden cats all over the place . Please do not stay at this hotel ,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Sharm Resort

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Sharm Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Horizon Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Horizon Sharm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Sharm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.