We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island View Resort to your Saves list
Island View Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

This was an excellent hotel. The hotel was superbly kept, clean and tidy and staff could be regularly seen maintaining the public areas. The rooms were spacious and had everything you needed, the maids were excellent and cleaned the rooms to a very high standard every day.

The staff were very good and couldnt do enough to help in all areas of the hotel, The annimation team were very friendly and helped where ever they could (although if you participate in one thing, expect to be asked to do everything!)

As ever on this type of holiday the food does become repetative, however it was good quality food and there was plenty of choice even though it was repetative. Waiting staff were good and would remomber your names, drinks orders, which tables you like etc.
The beach and Scuba diving at the sister hotel (sunrise island view), are excellent as is the spa at the sister hotel. I would reccomend both.

I would go back again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Level of service/standard of hotel
  • Disliked — not directly on the beach
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    547
    228
    104
    53
See reviews for
670
693
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

do not go to this hotel me and my wife have just got back. we spent 10 days there it is bad. the food was either burnt or raw. we had the runs bigtime for most of the holiday. if anyone else has had a problem there you are welcome to contact me.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

Booked a late deal on the net and didnt really no much about Sharm, just wanted somewhere cheap and hot. Sunrise initially looked like a great hotel and great value. On arrival it all appeared great and our room was big, however the following morning we were woken by the cleaners loading up at 8am and being very noisey. I complained to reception who moved us a bit further down toward the beach which was much better but then the water main burst right outside our room, and we had it on and off for about 3 days. it also turned the water brown! Food was AI and not very exciting. Entertainment in the evening didnt exist! Drinks were really bad, queue for a beer and get a tiny plastic cup!!! very annoying. location for the reef was great. snorkelling is just amazing. At the time we didnt really no about the Naama Bay area and spent almost every night in the hotel. Overall the hotel had great potential but the poor service due to the all inclusive setup spoilt it (and watch out for upset stomachs). They claim to be 5 star but really dont understand the level of service required. It is 5 star only based on the facilities they have. We stayed this year in a major brand hotel on B&B basis nearer Naama and experienced a great holiday.

  • Liked — the coral reef
  • Disliked — poor service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

We got back 27th November, the weather was pretty warm but colder towards the end of the week.
The hotel was nice but the catering organisation was pretty bad, dirty tables and disorgainsed system, often you were eating from a dirty table with missing cuttlery and no napkin. If you don't like rude Russians don't go to this resort.!! they are everywhere and pretty full on.
The room was great, we had a suite, nice relax area with English TV, comfortable beds and cleaned daily. The pools were nice but entertainment pretty lame. I went to Sharm to relax and swim in the sea so it didn't both me too much but if I was with a family or a group of girls I would have found the entertainment very limited.
There were allot of things about the hotel which I felt was lack of attention to detial, smells from rubbish, light bulbs missing, lack of cutlery and glasses, all things which was annoying and so uunnecessary but I guess its the mentaility there. One has to go to these countries with an open mind, they do things different there and if you go expecting the creature comforts of home you wont survive, by general impression of the hotel and complex was fair, surely not our 5 star standards, I would so a good 3 star. the gardens and pools are really well maintained, some parts of the hotel are beautiful. I would say the dining halls and food orgainsistion was the downfall.
would i go again.....? I went to marsalam last year and the barrier reef was far better, the hotel was quieter and everything was newer but then again if you are looking for excitment and activities marsalam is limited, there is good and bad with each resort. My friends have been ot other hotels near by and say the service is better, like dreams or coral bay, 4 seasons but all in all I enjoyed myself got a super tan and saw some lovely underwater life. Excursions.....Ras Mohammed is beautiful but all in all you swim for about 30 minutes, rip off! Cairo, too long and too disorgainsed, quad biking....a must, great fun and take your camera! and a bandana for the dust. Diving....use the diving ccentre for snorkling trips but be preapred for the usual tourist rip off.... dont bother to buy the films they make in the desert or snorking they are bad quality and almost boring unedited etc.

ask me any questions if you need some help deciding.
Have fun!!

  • Liked — spacious room
  • Disliked — food halls and general organisation
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomansland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

Ok, grab a coffee, beer, juice, whatever – this is gonna be a long one.

Opinions of hotels vary so much because someone who deems somewhere hell on earth is paradise for another, so if I tell you a little about me, then it may help you gauge my review.

I am 40 years old, have children and live in an average house in South Wales. I have had a variety of jobs from cleaning to management. I have travelled extensively staying in hostels, campsites, festival fields, the Pontins type of places, villas, self catering complex apartments through to the UK standard 5 star hotels over the years and the world.

I change the beds weekly, clean the bathroom twice a week, put bleach down the loo regularly and if ‘visibly required’ :-) , and swill tooth cleaning activities from the sink every night. I have 2 dogs and vacuum downstairs daily, mop my kitchen floor twice weekly, I clean the windows outside monthly, inside a little more if I can be bothered. I put the dishwasher on twice a week and wipe my kitchen table and surfaces often throughout the day.

Now for my review. My biggest gripe is with Thomas Cook for the way in which they advertise this hotel – ‘Official Rating 5*’. Well I dare say when it opened, it was 5* but it is anything but that now, think 3* and you will be delighted.

Check in, crazy, not enough staff on duty to receive the bus loads, 40 minutes before being shown to our room, suitcases another 40 minutes.

Room – large, bathroom on the left as you go through the entry door, in front of the door is the ‘living area’ with TV, fridge, desk, 2 chairs, sofa already made into a bed and stayed that way for the 2 weeks, 3 lamps, 2 coffee tables, no extra sockets so you will have to unplug a lamp or two, a small balcony with very old and dirty plastic table and chairs. To the right of the entry door is the twin or double bed, wardrobe unit – 8 hangers, 1 shelf, 3 drawers, a bedside table, with lamp and phone and 1 drawer, door to tiny balcony overlooking the next apartments front door. 1 socket in a really daft place, no extra sockets on bedside.

Floors dirty, drink spillages still on the floor along with copious amounts of ‘fluff’ and dust.

Bathroom infested with whopping great red ants, which apparently do not bite. Stained bath from shampoo bottles, mould and dirt in the rails of the shower enclosure, chipped bath bottom, rust from the plugs. I did not bath once, only showered. Hairdryer slow and cold. Wood around the sink mirror rotting and therefore filthy, mirror splashed with toothpaste, saving foam, I have no idea. Toilet worked perfectly. They did not attend to the ant problem until Saturday, we got there Thursday night.

Pools – all cold, stated as heated but were not ( we were there from November 1st – 15th). Pool 1 has the Russian entertainment in the day, pool 2 the Brits and the Russians, pool 3 nothing, the quiet pool no music, games etc, pool 4 the Belgian pool. Pool towels provided. Plenty of beds at all pools but because there are so many ‘rooms per square mile’ they are all always busy and you have the usual problem of people putting towels out at 8am and not turning up until after mid day. Music bumps at pool 1,2 + 4 from 10am – 12.30pm and 2.30pm until closure. Bars at pool 1 and 4, if you are lucky the waiters will meander over to pool 2 but 9 times out of ten you wont see them because they are being run ragged at pool 1.

The beach. Like an outdoor hostel, beds so close to each other. Beach games and music throughout the day, snacks throughout the day. Despite the hotel having a no topless sunbathing policy, this was totally disregarded by many at the beach. Diving centre at the beach where you can have a free try of diving and hire snorkelling gear but if you like it it’s cheaper to then go and buy your own. Great little and big fishies, 2 jetties. Hennas and braiding offered at the beach.

Main Restaurant. Good hours kept 7am – 10.30am breakfast, 12.30 – 3pm for lunch and 7 – 10pm for dinner. Then at 11.30 the bit outside the restaurant serves the same stuff as dinner. Restaurant is both smoking and non, Its much quieter at the non smoking but has a smaller selection of food, however the waiters were (very slightly) less busy in non smoking and you only had to wait 10 minutes for a drink instead of 15 in the smoking. Mealtimes are like a free for all. Most mornings they ran out of cups for coffee and in the evenings you would have to wait for plates. Empty tables sat were aplenty but no cutlery or settings and long waits for the table to be laid.

Good selection of food every day, no tummy bugs at all for us and didn’t meet anyone who had one. Waiters were lovely and helpful but there simply are not enough of them to cope with the amount of people.

Despite the fact the it open at 7pm for 3 hours for dinner, there would be people queuing at the restaurant entrance from 6.30pm. Reminding me of the half board at Butlins when I was a child.

Italian restaurant – fabulous, included in the All Inclusive package but gets busy, so book in advance, there is no limit to the amount of times you can go. Same for Fatimas, the beach restaurant, you only have to book for dinner - Egyptian cuisine, they serve continental type breakfast at Fatimas and Lunch but only lunch at the Italian.


Victoria Bar - 24 hours, snacks sometimes, hot and cold drinks, nice place.

Disco – didn’t go

Evening entertainment at pool 1 – dreadful but hilarious.

Amphitheatre – great for kids to make huts out of the cushions, kids disco every night at 8.30 then more entertainment at 9.30, its was a laugh, but it wasn’t meant to be funny most nights, except comedy night..

Hollywood Café, big screen TV, hot and cold drinks, next to Amphitheatre.

Health Spa – massages and treatments very good, didn’t use gym but looked ok to me.

Hair salon, as a hairdresser this place fascinated me, great guys and fab hair braiding and beauty treatments too.

Hotel taxi service - £13 round trip to Namma Bay, asked for money up front, I rang from Namma bay and he picked us up. Booked it for the airport he said £10, he didn’t say it was for one way I assumed it was like before when they quoted for return journeys, when you consider Namma is 15-20 minutes away and the airport is 5 minutes then at £10 one way it was a rip off but he didn’t inform of this until we came back.

The new Blue and Whites are just great, clean new and safe. £3-4 into Old Sharm.

Supermarket across the road. Really got to me this place did, day 1 my son bought a ‘surfy’ type necklace and bracelet. Day 2 necklace broke, I collected as many of the scattered beads as I could and returned it, they refused to give me another. They put the collected beads back on the nylon and said there you go, fixed – half of them were missing cos they had gone everywhere. After 20 minutes of saying I wanted a replacement and them refusing I spoke to tourist police who said it was out of their jurisdiction because it was rented from the Sunrise. No managers around at the Sunrise and when there were they all passed the buck. I was more annoyed because it was my sons own money, he paid £8, we saw them in Old Sharm for £2. All I wanted was a replacement but no one wanted to know.

Summary – for £700 per person for the fortnight, all inclusive it was fine, but it is NOT 5*, I don’t like the fact they say it is, the staff were brilliant, overworked and underpaid but still all very helpful and took a lot of abuse from some guests, not Brits, its shabby and needs upgrading. As there were 6 of us, it was a lot of money for us. Despite the fact 4 were kids, we had to pay adult prices, but they were not given adult perks like the free massage, free hair do, they couldn’t drink the alcohol and ate very little, so in that respect it was expensive, but if we were 6 adults then it would have been ok.

Phew, told you it was long, I have tried to be factual and not exaggerate. Everyone in my party agree with what I have written from age 12 to 44.

Would I go there again, no, never, I would pay £100 pp more and go back to the Concorde next door, or elsewhere.

Any questions, give me a shout, Jo

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — Over crowded and shabby
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Having read a number of mixed reviews, we were a little worried what to expect from this holiday.

3 adults, 1 x 12 year old and 1 x 2 year old.

As always, travel company flights were cramped, but ok. Thomas Cook stewards were helpful if not a little bit abrupt with their attention.

At Sharm airport, they will try to tell you that you need VISAs for £10 - you only need them if you are going out of resort. If you plan to stay within the resort, do not buy one. However, if you are unsure about it, in case you might go on an organised trip, air on the side of caution and get one.

When leaving the airport for the coach, Do Not let anyone try to take your bags from you. We had a few men who either asked which travel company and then said they knew where the coach was, or just said "Thomas Cook yes" and then tried to take the bags - they will expect paying so do not use them, they are not from any tour company.

The hotel is only about 10 minutes coach trip away and our guide was happy to talk all the way there (!)

Reception is nice and cool with comfy seats - you might need to use them as it can take a while to deal with any issues.

We had requested 2 adjoining rooms, both with sea views, balcony etc but were given 2 rooms miles apart. This is due to the request only being put against one of the rooms - make sure you ask the travel agent to put the request against all the rooms you have booked. After some negotiation with reception, they found us 2 rooms together - right next to Pool 1 which is where all the evening entertainment is. Do Not stay near pool 1 if you have young kids, or want a quiet evening on your balcony. Ask to be moved. We did, and were moved the next day to block 2 rooms. Much quieter.

Rooms - junior suites very comfortable. Bedding changed everyday, cleaned everyday, and water in the mini bar refreshed daily (allegedly).

Pools - pool 1 is where the pool bar is. Very nice if you get a bar seat early and if you speak russian, polish or german.
Pool 2 - this is where the daytime activities took place, and is where the kiddies slides are. Music starts at 10am until 1pm, then 3 - 5pm. Can be load but the kids enjoyed it.
Pool activities are ok, but they are started by then entertainment teams and then they disappear to do something else.
Pool attendant at pool 2 is great. give him a couple of pounds, and he will sort you out with sunbeds every day.
Pool 3 - quiet pool. This is more for couples, who don't take kindly to anyone enjoying themselves by or in the pool.
Pool 4 - Dutch/Italian - need i say more.

Beach/Sea - only went down (and it is down quite a few steps) once. Full of Russians/Poles/Italians and Germans. Snorkelling very good but a bit crowded near the jetty - move away from it for a quieter swim.

Food - ok. There are smoking and non-smoking parts to the restaurant. Everything is buffet, and there is a varied choice. If you are there for a week, there is ample choice. 2 weeks and it could get repetitive. BBQ area outside is good, but sometimes the food is cold when you get back to your seat. If this happens, tell a restaurant manager and he will replace it with fresh, hot food. (big tick there). For lunch, get there between 12 and 12.30 to avoid the rush, and for dinner, before 7.30 is best.

Staff - some are better than others. The guy on Reception when we arrived dealt with our room problems very well. However, there is one guy on there who looks as if his day job is a too much trouble. Bar staff - again, depends who's on duty but in the main they are ok. Pool - pool 2 attendant great, can't comment on others. Cleaning - we had the best room cleaner there was. Very polite, nothing is too much trouble, smiling, happy and efficient. Gain, drop him a tip and he's yours for the week.
Overall, i think the staff are used to rude, aggresive europeans (as most of them were) and other brands, so they do not expect please and thank yous, so don't be surprised if you don't get them back.

Trips - Big issue. If you decide to go on the day trip to Cairo to see the Pyramid and Sphinx, be prepared for an 18 hour day, with only 45 minutes at each site. My wife, her son and sister booked for this trip. 4.30am pick up from the hotel, to then pick up from other hotels in Sharm, to then come right passed our hotel on the way back to the airport - why? Cairo airport hot and packed with people. Coach trip with guide. Not sure of the exact itinerary but basically, dropped at the Pyramids (which are right by Cairo and accessed on a tarmac road - not like in the Bond film in the middle of nowhere). 45 minutes to look around, then back on the coach to the Sphinx. Arrived at 4pm -45 minutes to look around (gates for the Sphinx closed at 4.30 so couldn't get in even after buying tickets), back on coach for trip to Bazaar. If you don't like massive crowds, bad smells, intimidating sellers or the heat, do not go in the Bazaar. My family were told they could wait on the coach, but ended up having to wait in a cafe - 2 ladies and a child on their own! We officially complained to the TC rep who sent off our complaint, only to reply with an answer that told us exactly what we told her had happenned- no apology, no reason, nothing. So, beware the itineray before you book, and if it goes wrong, don't expect anything back from Thomas Cook.

Quad bikes in the desert - again booked through the rep. $40 (c£20) for 2 hours. Only myself and 3 young lads from another hotel went on this trip. Well worth the money and don't worry about the location. Out into the desert, through the mountains and stopping off at ramshackled houses. Hot, dusty (take sunglassed and a face scarf), but well worth it.

Departure - no issues at all. Flew from old terminal. Coach at hotel on time, quick journey to airport. Airport check-in fine if an evening flight. Travel rep told us that afternoon departures can mean the airport is very busy. Departure "lounge" bit basic but has duty free and other shops.

Overall - not a 5 star as described but a very good 3 star. Hotel fine, staff mostly friendly, food good, pools ok, rooms very good, gardens very good, trips good (except Cairo), travel company not so good.

Not as good as the Sunrise in Hurghada, but yes, we would recommend it . Enjoy.

  • Liked — Rooms.
  • Disliked — Thomas Cook trip to Cairo.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

We stayed at the Sunrise Island View in October 2007 for two weeks. Our party consisted of myself, the wife and our two children aged 6 and 3. We traveled with Thomas Cook.

I have rated the stay as 'above average' but it could so easily have been 'excellent'.

FLIGHT
We flew from Bristol on a First Choice flight. There was an unavoidable 2 hour delay in departing but this could happen on any flight. Generally, the flight was good although legroom was very small (I'm 5'9'' and my knees touched the seat in front).
They played two movies during the 5hr20min flight.
For some reason the children's film was on second. This was not a major problem on the way out but the return flight was late evening/ night and every single child was probably asleep by the time it came on.
Headphones cost £2.50 but normal headphones worked as well (albeit in mono).

VISAS
Visa advice was given on the plane. Basically, if you are planning any major trips (e.g. to Cairo or Luxor) you will need a visa. If you plan to stay in Sinai, you don't. We were told that you need a visa even if you plan to take any boat trips. We did so purchased the visas. However, we were never required to show them or even take our passports.
You purchase the visas in the arrivals lounge of the airport (before passport control) usually from a representative of the company that you booked with (e.g. Thomas Cook). They are advertised as $15.00 but we paid £10.00. It appeared that other tour operators were charging different amounts - usually more. The agents were all taking a commission.

TRANSFER
We had a private taxi transfer to the hotel. Beware of the locals who will try to carry your cases for you. They will say that they are with your tour operator and will ask for a tip straight away. However, they won't take you all the way to your representative.

The transfer was approximately 10 minutes - basically skirting the perimeter of the airport.
The proximity of the hotel to the airport is very good and, although you can hear it, it's not a problem. Even if you stay further away in Naama Bay, you will still be in the landing flight path. It's really not a problem.

CHECK-IN
Check in was very prompt and easy in a large pleasant reception area. We were then taken to our room in a buggy (even though it wasn't far away) and our baggage arrived shortly afterwards.
Our room was close to two of the main pools and the main hotel restaurants. Our room was in the 100s. Rooms in the 200s-400s were slightly further away - down towards the beach.

ROOM
We stayed in a Junior Suite which consisted of 2 rooms and a bathroom. There were two large single beds (pushed together to form a very big double). The mattress wasn't great but we soon got used to it. In the 'living room' there was a large sofa which folded out into a double sofa-bed. Our two children shared this. It was perfectly suitable but may not have been had they been much bigger (maybe the children could have the beds and the parents share the sofa bed). There was a TV in the living room with 3 or 4 English speaking channels (Disney, MTV, CNN). There was also a minibar stocked with soft drinks - water bottles were replaced daily and other soft drinks weekly.
Cupboard and drawer space was at a minimum.

RESTAURANTS
The main restaurant provided a decent quality buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It wasn't spectacular but provided for most tastes. The staff were extremely friendly - especially towards the children.
It was most frustrating at breakfast when things kept running out - e.g. cereals, milk, coffee, bowls, plates, cups etc. It was easy to ask for replenishment but it just kept happening! The staff will bring you drinks at lunch and dinner or you can go to the bar area yourself.
The main restaurant is split into smoking and non-smoking - which is just as well because of the high proportion of smokers there during our stay.

The Italian A La Carte restaurant was superb - again with very friendly staff. It did require booking in advance (about 3 or 4 days) but you could use it as many times as you liked with the all-inclusive.

The Fatima restaurant provides more ethnic cuisine and is located near the beach with views out to sea. We didn't use this one purely because it was further away from our room.

SNACKS
Snacks appeared pretty much non-existent. However, there weren't too many hours when the restaurants weren't open (breakfast 7.30 -10.30, lunch 12.00 - 3.00, dinner 7.00 - 10.00).
However, for some reason, ice-cream was only served between 3.00 and 5.00. And only in the Fatima restaurant.

EVENING ENTERTAINMENT
This left a lot to be desired compared to previous holidays we have taken.
There was a multi-lingual mini-disco each evening which the kids enjoyed. It was the same every evening. The main evening entertainment started at 9.00 and was variable at best.

POOLS
There are 4 pools. One has a special children’s area which was ideal for my 3 year old. There are two water slides for the over 12s and a small one into the children’s pool. The slides do not operate between 12.00 and 3.00 – which I assume is because it is the hottest part of the day.
There is also a pool bar.
We found little problem in getting four sun beds at any time of the day. If there was only a few available, the pool attendant would put four together for us. Obviously, the Germans got the best positions!
Towels are always available.

BEACH
Due to the coral, the beach is a man made one. It is very nice but you need to get there early to get a good spot.

SNORKELLING
Wow!
This was the best bit of the resort.
From the beach, the coral stretches out about 50 metres at a depth of approx 75cm and then shelves down into the deep.
There are two jetties which allow you to access the edge of the coral. From here you can snorkel as much or as little as you like.
The fish are fantastic. Everything that you can imagine from Lion Fish to Parrot Fish.

You can also do banana rides etc from the jetty.

SHOPS
The hotel has a handful of reasonably priced shops and there is a supermarket opposite.
We bought some good quality snorkel and mask sets for about £15.00.
There are about 5 or 6 other shops in Sharks Bay but that’s it.

SPA
My wife booked a very reasonable massage and pamper session (approx £40 for two hours) and she said it is among the best she’s had. There is also a gym etc.

CURRENCY
When we traveled, we got exactly 10 Egyptian Pounds (LE) to 1 British Pound in the UK. I would advise to take little currency as there are a couple of cash points in the hotel and even with the commission charged, we still got over LE11 to £1.
You also get a better rate using your credit card (even with the commission).

WEATHER
The weather in October was perfect. It was around 32C every day and 24C every evening. It was never uncomfortable but lovely and hot.
It got dark around 6pm but was hot enough to be in by the pool at 9am.

LOCATION
Sharks Bay is about 15-20 minutes to the main Sharm bay of Naama Bay. There were hotel taxis and public taxis always available at LE50 (£5) each way. Always agree the price before getting into a taxi.
There is nothing really to do in Sharks Bay apart from the hotels. Naama Bay, however, was great with some lovely restaurants and a great atmosphere. The children loved the Hard Rock Café which was the best one I’ve been in. Look out for the waiters every half hour.

TRIPS
We didn’t book any major excursions but did go on a snorkeling trip for around £25 per adult (children half price) including soft drinks and lunch. This was fantastic as it took us to the coral reefs out in the sea.
Well worth it.

COMING HOME
Watch your luggage onto the conveyor! There was a person at check-in who requested a tip for putting the label on our cases. He didn’t get one! Other than that, there were no queues so pretty easy.
I did hear of one person who got charged a lot of money for excess luggage. Nobody else did. So I assume that was a scam.
The departure lounge in the airport was the only expensive place we found on our entire holiday. £4.00 for a sandwich, £4.70 for a packet of biscuits!

OVERALL
It was a fantastic holiday – especially because of the location of the coral. We loved the hotel but there were a few easy improvements that could have been made.
We were a little disappointed with the evening entertainment though.
The staff were incredibly friendly – without exception. They loved the children.
The October climate was perfect.

I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#55 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.