We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday - would recommend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharm Cliff Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sharm Cliff Resort to your Saves list
Sharm Cliff Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
South Shields
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday - would recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from 8 nights at Sharm Cliff Resort and was not disappointed!

We were given a large twin room over looking the pool. This was spacious and cleaned daily. Towels were provided for pool and beach. There were 2 pools one heated and the other not. The only thing that was slightly annoying was you could hear the entertainment quite loudly every night until 11.30ish so no chance of early nights unless you are a heavy sleeper. Also our tv went off a couple of times however the handyman was on hand to come and sort it out.

The hotel has 2 shuttle buses, one that takes you into Nama bay and the Wind Beach Club and another to the snorkel beach. We booked the snorkel boat trip through the wind beach guy and it was amazing. £20 (200 Egyptian pounds) for a full day on the boat with lunch and 3 stops at different reefs. I would absolutely recommend if you like snorkelling! Although there is plenty fish and creatures to see at wind beach. Have a peek under the pier - lion fish galore! Also don't buy an underwater camera from the hotel shop as they don't work!

The staff are lovely and friendly. In a mainly Russian hotel, they make no secret about liking the English and went out of their way to help.
The food was alright and no different to any all inclusive I have been before. Alway something there you can eat but gets boring after a few days.
The evening entertainment was ok with a mixture of snake charming, fire dancing, quizzes and mr&mrs.

There were steps from the hotel taking you into Nama bay which were fine. A bit dodgy the first time you do it as its on a sort of building site on different levels but you just got used to it and was quicker than the shuttle bus.

All in all we had a great time and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and photos,

We appreciate your positive feedback on our spacious clean rooms, pools, and friendly staff.

Also, if you want a bit more variety, or more English style food, the Room Service Menu is specifically designed to cater for English tastes. It has a range of pizzas, burgers and many mains options as well as drinks and desserts, and is a high quality, faster and cheaper than getting food in Naama Bay, so please feel free to try it next time.

It's great to hear you would stay here again, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Sharm, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    176
    113
    47
    31
See reviews for
125
240
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from the Sharm Cliff where we spent 8 nights. We were a little trepidatious as this was our first visit to Sharm and after reading all the forums we were a little nervous!! The building sites everywhere and the men with guns did little to reassure us as we drove to the hotel! We were so worried about the hassle we might get in the Bay that we hardly ventured down for the first 2 days!! Now I wish I hadn't read them beforehand! After a few days the negatives don't bother you, they're just there and not as important as the blue sky, sea and sun!!!
Handy tips for 1st timers at this hotel... don't take any towels, they provide them all, even for the beach. Change your money in any Exchange shop in Naama Bay for good rates and no commission (airport 8.5+comm, NB 10.5). Take the hotel bus to the beaches, they are worth the visit (take goggles/snorkel to look at the fish).We used to stay the morning at the beach and then return for lunch and stay round the pool in the afternoon. Do not pay more than 20-25 for yesterdays paper! We were outnumbered 10-1 by Russians but apart from the queue jumping and them not smiling much, they kept mainly to themselves and were fine, although the staff were less chilled when they were around...make sure the staff know you are not Russian! If you want excursions the guy on Windy beach sells the same ones cheaper than the Rep. The rooms need a facelift and the food is not to everyones taste but we always found something to eat and how long will you spend in your room?! The cakes/pastries were excellent, the staff were lovely, the pool/beaches were perfect to chill out at. Evenings in Naama Bay are fun, if anyone hassles you just say "no thank you" and keep walking they are mostly fine. The prices are so cheap you feel cheeky haggling (Ray bans £3.50, Converse £9 etc) the shop keepers were all really lovely just remember that it's all fake and don't get carried away! The Carrefour supermarket, down an escalator in a shopping mall was really good for drinks, sweets, crisps etc. The steps down to the Bay are not completed and look quite dangerous (the direct to the beach ones are closed) and you need to tread carefully at night but they are quite wide and ok.There are not many families at the hotel and the animation team were there to entertain the adults during the day (water polo, table tennis, aerobics, etc) but our kids loved it anyway. Evening entertainment in the hotel is cheesy but enjoyable. Just go with an open mind and have a great time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review,

We appreciate your compliments on our excellent staff, desserts and entertainment (particularly for the kids). And also all of your tips and suggestions, i'm sure future guests will find them useful.

The stairs are the fastest way to the heart of Naama Bay, but if you are not able or prefer not to use them, there is a free shuttle bus that runs regularly from the hotel to town and our two beaches.

We hope you will consider staying here again on your next visit to Sharm, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed at Sharm Cliff last easter and returned this Easter with my eldest son and his family. They loved it as we do!! Rooms great right next to the pool opened the door sun beds waiting for us with our towels.Pool man was great !! Sun everyday .Food good, Rooms clean, kids joined in with the dancing and games. Waiters were good.When it was time to leave our little girl burst into tears she didn,t want to leave they all loved her !!! Can,t wait to go back!!
Next year figers crossed!!

Room Tip: Higher Floor then you might not hear the noise from late night rus!!! They were very loud at between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review,

We appreciate your compliments on our rooms, pools and pool staff, food, cleanliness, kids entertainment and waiters.

We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday here, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Sharm, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have just returned from a relaxing holiday in the sunshine ... but this was nothing to do with the hotel as it was the hotel that actually spoiled an otherwise lovely holiday in the sunshine.

Having stayed at this hotel twice before with my husband (and written very positive reviews on this site), I felt it was the ideal place for a week’s holiday in the sunshine for myself and my friend...how wrong could I be! Little has changed in the area since I last visited this hotel at Easter 2011 – but the deterioration in the hotel in the two years is sad to see: now it can only be described as tired and very shabby.

The room was fine though not particularly clean and the bath could do with replacing as it was badly scratched. The quilt covers were patched, but the worst thing was the towels in the bathroom, which were only fit for rags – on the two occasions I returned them to reception,they were replaced ... but the next day we had ragged towels again, so I gave up.

Previously I had enjoyed the food, but this time, although the salads and vegetables were fine, the meat/fish were appalling: whilst we were able to eat something, unfortunately there was not one meal that we actually enjoyed and we both had poorly tummies for several days. We sat outside the dining room on the balcony which is lovely, but the chairs and cushions were really shabby and the tables were actually drinks tables and far too low for eating off!

The staff on reception and the animation team were always extremely friendly and very helpful, but unfortunately this was not the case with the waiters, the bar staff and the cleaners. I have no idea if this was because they were judging/making incorrect assumptions about two middle-aged females on holiday by themselves, but we found their attitude very unpleasant.

As a returning customer I found out accidentally that we were “gold” customers – indicated by our gold bands (as opposed to yellow) – this had not been explained to me on checking in. We had a basket of fruit in the room upon arrival and were allowed to keep the room later, both of which gestures were very welcome. However, the late room facility was completely spoiled by numerous knocks on the door from the cleaner from 11am (presumably wanting his tip, which we left in the room) and even more knocks on the door from the porter wanting to collect our luggage (we had not asked for this as we are more than capable of doing it ourselves when we were ready to leave).

I did write a note about the issues and left it at reception, but had no response whatsoever. Whilst I will definitely be going back to Egypt and to Sharm, unfortunately I will not be returning to this hotel ever again and I feel very sad to say I would not recommend it to anyone. It was both disappointing for both of us and particularly embarrassing for me having highly recommended the hotel to my friend.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are dissapointed that your stay was not as pleasant as it could have been.

We appreciate your compliments on our returning guest gold treatment, the animation team, reception staff, and that you really enjoyed your first two visits here.

We would like to let guests know that a couple of months ago (before this guest stayed here) we completely re did the main pool and the area arount it. You will see this in the photos here and on our website. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our services and facilities, and we have made a lot of changes in the last two years, and even in the last 6months, we are constantly making improvements, and we refurbish as often as we can. So what this guest said is completely not true, we are a professional four star hotel, and many people compliment the looks of the hotel, and the look of the rooms, we are not at all outdated.

As far as cleanliness goes, I can gaurantee that every room is cleaned before guests arrive, and every day that you stay here, and our staff are trained to clean to a high standard, and pay particular attention to the bathrooms. The duvets are not very old, and are in good condition, you can see this in many photos. If we were to keep a duvet it would be only if it was damaged in a small way and the repair was not noticeable, unless u looked very hard underneath the cover or something, we work hard to maintain high quality rooms and services.

We have received a few comments this month about the towels, and the General manager is now aware of the small issue, this is not a big deal, it is something that can be fixed very easily please do not be put off visiting here due to this small thing, it is most likely a very small amount of the towels, and now the issue has been made known it can be sorted out.

We have also received many compliments on the food lately, we do our best but some guests have different preferences to others. It is buffet style with a variety of different meats, it's hard to believe that all are not to your tastes, especially because we do change the food every meal.

We have a UK recognized Cristal certificate in food hygeine and handling. So any stomach upsets are definitely not to do with food or hygeine, we maintain very high standards. It is not common but some guests do get heat sickness when they first arrive here, and that can cause an upset stomach for a day or two. Our advice is, especially in your first two days, try to stay in the shade, and drink plenty of water, just because of adjusting to a new climate quickly.

As for the cleaners, i'm sure they were not assuming anything wrong, and regardless of their personal opinions they are trained and expected to treat every guest with respect, and friendliness. But we do apologize that they were not as friendly towards you both as they have been in the past, that is dissapointing.

Your feedback has been passed on to the General Manager, and we value your opinion.

To future guests: Please read a number of reviews before making any judgements on our hotel, the majority of our reviews are very positive, and feel free to take a look through the photos and information here and on our website for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at Sharm Cliff for nine days over Easter 2013. Lovely hotel - food was excellent & rooms clean & tidy- essentials for a good holiday for us. We were quite prepared to eat out a few times if necessary- but it never was. Plenty of choice for all meals -chef on hand for fresh omelettes (breakfast) and pasta & sauce prepared individually(lunch & evening - highly recommended- very tasty). A variety of salads every day along with excellent main courses. Cakes were lovely - especially the Baklava type ones - truly delicious! The waiters were plentiful and cleared tables meticulously - friendly as well.
The entertainment team worked hard from morning until evening - again friendly & welcoming but left you alone if you wanted peace & quiet. They also ran the evening entertainment - bringing in snake charmers, belly dancers, whirling dervishies- all as good as the ones in the town. We found it was easier to have an hour in Naama bay town and then go back to eat and watch the entertainment - much less hassle. Pool bar staff were excellent- recommend the cocktails rather than the spirits.
Lots of sunbeds - very comfy and plenty of room round the pool -all kept clean & tidy.
Room was large and cleaned every day. Came back to find all sorts of "towel art" and small bunches of fresh flowers or petal decorations in the room. Thank you to our cleaner - cheerful and worked hard.
Had room 415 - ground floor straight onto pool area. Wondered how safe & secure it would be - but fears unfounded - very convenient to just step out to the sunbeds & pool.
Only couple of minor negatives - room towels had had better days - the pool towels were better! Also the bathrooms probably in need of a refurb - being picky now as the holiday was brilliant for the price we paid!
We used the steps down to the town - 140 of them but we then felt justified having another lovely cake. Can use the free hotel minibus if not great on steps as they are very uneven.
Hotel minibus to Habada beach was excellent - recommend snorkelling off the end of the jetty - safe & easy - was the highlight of the holiday.
All in all a lovely stay - the only thing keeping us from coming back soon are the insect bites- tried wristbands and the recommended Avon lotion - but still lots of itchy bites! If anyone can tell us the answer to detering them - be back sooner!
Thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay at Sharm Cliff.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer block are closer to the pool, make sure you get one facing the pool as the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We're glad you enjoyed your easter here. Thank you for your positive feedback on our food, rooms, cleanliness, entertainment, bar staff, towel art and Hadaba beach.

Your suggestions about the towels and bathrooms, and itchy bites have been passed on to the General Manager.

Sadly bugs are a problem for all hotels in Sharm, it's just part of being in the middle of a desert. We do have soundless electric bug machines in every room, and would like to remind guests to refil the blue part every day, and if you run out of refills please ask cleaners or reception for more, this means that at least while you are in your room, and while sleeping the bugs will not bother you.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sharm, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This review is long overdue!

First time in Egypt, stayed in October 2012. Sharm Cliff is a lovely small and cosy hotel, where everyone makes you feel welcome right from the start and throughout your stay. Great location, only steps down from the centre of Naama Bay that has all the shops, restaurants, shisha cafes, etc. The hotel also owns 2 beaches, one within a walking distance from the hotel (it is actually quicker to walk down than to take the shuttle bus) and Hadaba with beautiful coral reef perfect for snorkelling.

Once again I want to stress how friendly the staff are. From the managers, reception staff, room service, massage and towel boys. They are always there to help, especially Irek the guest relation manager – he’s a star!!!! Also Mr Amr, Tarek and restaurant manager Mr Ayman, amongst others; lovely lovely people.

Great entertainment from Amir, Magda, Regina, Iness and Irina, these guys will make sure the guests are having a brilliant time. Thanks so much guys :)

Good selection of food and drink (best cakes ever) with the service on the highest level in the restaurant and in the bar as well. Pool bar team – Rafat & co will serve you the best drinks with a smile on their faces.

Hotel has also a massage centre (Hassan is the funniest guy!) and a beauty salon, where you can get your eyebrows threaded.

Very spacious and bright rooms cleaned daily.

Don’t forget to check out the Faces disco at Sharm Holiday hotel next door, where every night the guests can have a little rave free of charge!!

Overall, it was a positive experience and will be definitely returning again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your first visit to Egypt, and your stay here at Sharm Cliff.

Thanks for your positive feedback about our atmosphere, location, beaches, friendly staff, entertainment, food and the rooms.

It's great to hear you will be returning here on your next visit to Sharm, and we look forward to seeing you again then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It was my second time in Egypt and first time in Sharm El Sheikh and I must say it was great.
We were given a nice room facing swimming pool, everything was clean and tidy and worked=)
The location of the hotel is just perfect, steps from all the bars, clubs and restaurants of Naama Bay and at the same time it's not that noisy as it's on the hill.
Food was good, even comparing to 5* hotels, we always found something we liked. Alcohol (all incl) -hm..local alcohol, what to say, but staff tried to make some nice cocktails out of it. Thanks for that=)
There are 2 swimming pools and it temperature of water was perfect to swim in March. (The sea was also good). The nearest beach located 5-10 mins walking, stylish, with DJ playing sometimes and the coral beach is like 15 mins away by bus provided by hotel. We spent most of the time on the Wind Beach (nearest one), it's kinda small but cosy and clean.
The atmosphere in the hotel was good, guests from different countries and different age. We found it good. Staff was also nice but some of them tried to ask us to go out and when we refused they were surprised and even acted like we hurt them. I know that 2 girls coming to Egypt might be considered as a certain type of tourists but it's not like that.
Also the bothering thing of the vacation was the hassle on the streets by sales people, their rudeness and arrogance. I realise it's just a tourist spot where everybody try to make a good business but it's emotionally tiring so be prepare for that.
To sum up the overall experience staying in Sharm Cliff was good. I would come back there!

Room Tip: Room facing a swimming pool is comfy but a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate your recommendation and compliments on our rooms, cleanliness, location, food, pools and hotel beaches.

We apologize for the couple of staff members who let the team down. We train our staff and expect them to act professionally. The General Manager has been informed of this, and we can assure guests that the situation has been dealt with, thank you for letting us know.

Shopkeepers in Sharm, and all over Egypt, do tend to call out and try to get people to come in and look at their shops, sometimes even offering cups of tea. It is a different culture, but it is still very safe here in Sharm, and especially in our hotel. We can gaurantee that you will be safe here, and also, if you prefer it, there are a few shops inside the hotel where the shop keepers are very friendly and polite and will not bother you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sharm Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Cliff Resort

Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#101 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharm Cliff Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sharm Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Cliff Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Sharm Cliff
Sharm Cliff Holiday Naama Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharm Cliff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.