We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sharm Cliff Resort

Save Saved
You added Sharm Cliff Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sharm Cliff Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 232 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lobby is spacious, staffs are cheerful, House keeping was very great. Break-fast,Lunch,Dinner were really good. But the pack lunch turned up really bad. Hotel have 2 big swimming pool, and have pool bar it serves from 7am to 7pm. I booked with all inclusive so we can eat and drink as we like. Drinks are pretty awful that served Egyptian beers and coke. When we were there the hotel was still contraction that made to us lit bit annoying. The weather was really hot so we can only get out evening time about 4pm to till night. Don't book with hotel's travel agent that sell tickets next to the lobby, and don't go and buy the shops near the lobby. they all are expensive compare to the price in namma bay hight street.
There are some other luxury hotels near namma bay,but this hotel is more relax able and affordable price
It's very close to namma bay and beach,.. overall enjoyed the holiday :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your compliments on the cheerful staff, cleanliness, spaciousness, food, pools and bars.

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy the alcohol. We use local Egyptian alcohol for two reasons, to keep the costs to guests as low as possible, and also so that we are able to provide a higher quantity of alcohol. All other alcohol would have to be shipped here, and that takes time, if the local beer etc runs out, we can get more delivered on the same or next day easily.

The shops in the hotel are a little more expensive than in town, but still reasonably priced. They are there for your convenience, and shopkeepers within the hotel will not hassle or pressure you to buy like some can in Naama Bay, also they are professional and have some English, in town they often don't.

The travel agents in the hotel lobby do not actually work for the hotel, so we apologize, using them is at your own risk, the staff can give you some advice on where to go, or you can look online, or in Naama Bay, that is completely up to you. They are there simply for convenience, and it is guests decision whether to use them or not, any complaints should go directly to the travel agent company, as they do not work for the hotel, thanks.

Thank you for your compliments on the relaxing atmosphere, location and affordable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    155
    103
    46
    23
See reviews for
102
217
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

When we looked on trip adviser there was not one bad word why I don't no!!
The views from the hotel are amazing you can see the whole on Nama bay!
But the steps are very uneven not a ideal place for older people or people with children.
First of all the hotel is clean very clean infact apart from the cleaner asking us for 200 Egyptian pound (£20) for 2weeks daily too decorate in the room that was the only annoying part about the cleaner. But was resolved very quickly!
The massage I would avoid as the bottom of our backs were bruised but after we felt no nots in the tops of our backs.
We had a few problems with the food which we were discusted with but management did upgrade us to alicarte and could not be anymore sorry, they couldn't do enough for us they were all such lovely people, hassan (shisha man) is an amazing bloke couldn't fault him chats to you and makes you feel so welcome, the pool staff some were rude asking why we wanted so many drinks and was wrong as we were all inclusive but told the manager and sorted the problem ASAP, the pools were big and again always clean rooms are massive, but I would like too say a big thank you too all the management including the head chef the manager of the reception and the hotel manager they were so apologetic throughout the holiday and solved everything. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the view, location, cleanliness and Hassan the shisha man.

There is a free shuttle bus that runs to Naama Bay, Wind beach and Hadaba beach, regularly from outside the hotel reception. If you are unable to, or do not wish to walk the stairs down to Naama Bay you can take the bus.

We are glad to hear any issues were solved by management quickly and professionally.

We hope that you will consider staying here again, as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our services and facilities, and as you mentioned, our management does listen to feedback and make changes when they can, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We have just come back after staying 10 dats at the Sharm Cliff and after reading the reviews we didn't know what to expect so if anybody is due to go and is reading this I can honestly say the hotel is not as bad as some people are saying. We checked in at the hotel and was given a 1st floor room when we asked for a ground floor one there was no problem. The rooms are large and clean, yes they could do with updating but remember it may say this is a 4 star hotel but that doesn't mean the same as an English 4star rating. We had no problems with the room. Just be aware there is a fridge in the room but this is not stocked up but there is a supermarket over the road so we just went and bought bottled water which in cheap.

The staff could not do enough for you they were friendly and polite and I can say they did not hassle us about tips, the pool lads made sure our towels were on the sunbeds round the pool and they even made sure they were on the sunbeds when we went to the beach, the pools were clean and 1pool was heated

Now we come to the food, yes it is very much the same everyday and for he first couple of days we struggled to eat because the food was very bland and mostly cold but after speaking to the restaurant manager the food really did improve and we were very presently surprised that they had taken our comments on board and went out of there way to improve the food.

We did not have any problems with the bar staff or getting drinks, yes the sprits all taste the same but take my advise and do what we did we bought 2ltr bottles of vodka in the duty free shop in narma bay and yes it is branded stuff it cost about 10.00 a bottle and we use to take this to the bar at night and just get there soft drinks to use as mixers.

We would stay at this hotel again and remember you only get what you pay for you cannot pay 2star money and expect a 5star hotel.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your compliments on our large clean rooms, helpful staff and pools.

We're glad to hear you would come here again, and we hope to see you again sometime in the future, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I'm not gonna go on and on naming all the staff that were helpfull, and the ones that werent, and talk about towel art and the smell of the sewage at the bottom of the strairs!!!! What i will say is that it's a pretty relaxed and friendly atmosphere and good value for money, however, do not, and i mean DO NOT pay for anything with your debit card, I am absolutely fuming about this as they have robbed me of over £80!!!!!! My room service bill came to around £24, and i tried to pay with by card as i had no cash on me, the bloke behind the reception desk tried my card 4 times and kept on telling me that it didn't work, i told him i'd go down to naama bay for cash but he was persistant and kept on saying -"no sir, it work now, one more try", anyway after 4 "failed" atempts i grabbed my bank card and went to get some cash, went back and paid the bill!!!! I thought everything was ok untill i got home and checked my bank statement just to realize that ALL 4 transactions had gone through and i had been conned out of over £80!!!!! And it had been more if i hadn't of grabbed my card!!!!!!! So they owe me £80, which i will never see again!!!!!!! So if your going on holiday to sharm cliff, DO NOT USE YOUR BANK CARD AS YOU WILL BE ROBBED!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Guest Relations Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We appreciate your positive feedback about our helpful staff, and we're glad you enjoyed the relaxing, friendly atmosphere here. We work hard, and regularly research, to ensure that we have good value prices compared to other hotels in the area, thank you for noticing that.

We are aware of the smell at the bottom of the stairs, and are working on a solution for this. As it is on land that is not owned or managed by Sharm Cliff, it is not a simple situation. We have been in contact with people about getting this resolved, and hopefully it will not be a problem soon. Also, please note, to anyone who is worried about this smell, it is not on hotel grounds, it would only be for a few seconds, and it is at the bottom of the stairs, on the road into Naama Bay. It would not bother most people at all, and if you are concerned about it, or about the stairs walking down straight into Naama Bay, we run a free shuttle bus service regularly to Naama Bay, so no stairs needed.

I have personally checked our bank records, both within hotel records, and at the actual bank. Also, I have discussed this with the accounting manager, to see if there is any possiblity that a transaction could have gone through four times like that. There is no record of such a transaction occuring, in the hotel, or on the bank statement.We have no transactions at all in fact, over that time period, for exactly or even approximately 24 pounds, not even one. I have complete confidence in the honesty and trust worthiness of the staff here. I am very certain that none of them would try to deceive anyone, and the bank records show evidence of this.

Is it possible there was a processing issue with your bank, if that is the case, your bank should automatically refund you that money within a month. There is no money from you in our account at all, and I have checked the equipment, and there are no issues with it. The error was not from the hotel, so it may be within your bank and you should contact them about this.
Most guests use their cards to pay, and should feel safe doing so. I am 100% sure of the staff that work here, and our equipment, to future guests, please do not worry about this at all.

Incorrect information has been said in this review, and it is a very serious thing to accuse a proffessional hotel of robbing someone. In fact it is slander, and people can take legal action against those who falsely accuse someone, especially if it may result in loss of business or lowering of reputation. We strongly say that this transaction did not happen, and would be prepared to prove it legally if necessary. We will not be taking any legal action against you in this instance, but will be asking Trip Advisor to remove the review, as it contains incorrect information that is simply not true.

If you still feel that there is an issue, and can provide sufficient evidence to show that a transaction has been made, which will be difficult because it clearly shows on our account statement that no such transactions occured. You are able to email this proof to the hotel, and we will investigate it, and if indeed there has been an error, we will consider refunding the money. We are not robbers, we are a trustworthy business, and we have never had a complaint like this, in all the years that we have been operating. Also, we are happy to send you (or a lawyer, or even your bank) in a private email, the bank records from the day you stayed, to show you that we did not receive any money at all from you. Please go to our website, sharmholidayhotels dot com, and use the email contact provided on the sharm holiday page.

To future guests: Please read a number of reviews before making any judgements on our hotel, you will find that people really enjoy staying here, and these kind of issues do not occur, thanks.

Irek
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

just returned from a weeks holiday at sharm cliff resort,the staff are first rate, from the management who did everything they could to ensure you had a wonderful time , the entertainment team who really made the holiday enjoyable, to the bar staff and pool boys who would do anything for you, the staff were very friendly and helpful.the rooms were kept very clean and were very spacious,all areas of the hotel was clean and tidy, food was very good but sometimes a bit repetitive.bar for all inclusive closed a little early at eleven and no wine on the all inclusive,lots of eastern europeans who could come across has being ignorant and rude. naam bay was clean ,tidy , and you had lots of banter with the locals all in good taste. a great holiday overall would definetly go again

Room Tip: rooms with pool view are not as quite as ones with garden view, due to people sitting outside the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review,

We are glad you enjoyed the staffs customer service and friendliness. Also, the spacious, well cleaned rooms. It’s great to hear that you would go again, you are most welcome here, and we hope to see you next time you are in Sharm, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Sharm Cliff resort from 8th November for two weeks, and had a wonderful time. The best feature of this hotel must surely be the wonderful staff....they were very attentive, nothing was too much bother for them...and at no time did i ever feel that anyone was looking for a tip, that simply didn't happen.Rooms were bright and spacious, cleaned daily to a good standard. The pool area was fab, and the pool staff , massage staff, bar staff and entertainment staff made it such fun...a real big thanks to Adam, Foudo, Mohammed, Hassan, Ali, Magdy , Rafat, Mohammed, Dominika , Magda, Amiro, were exceptional staff members and kept us very well watered and entertained. Also the guest relations manager Irek was very friendly and always around for any queries.The food was very repetitive, but hot and well cooked and tasty.All in all, a wonderful holiday and a big thanks to all at Sharm Cliff from the loud Scotsman

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Management at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here so much.
Thank you for all of your positive feedback about our wonderful staff, rooms, cleanliness, pools, massages, entertainment and tasty food.

You are very welcome to stay here again next time you are in Sharm, we would look forward to seeing you again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Sharm Cliff Resort. Having stayed twice at Sharm Holiday and thoroughly enjoying it, we decided to give the sister hotel a whirl.

Location - this is fantastic. The stone steps down to the bay are a bit risky in places with bits missing and there is a strong smell of sewage near the bottom (not the hotels fault though...). We found that you could access the bay through the building work at the front of the hotel (although this isn't recommended by the management and there is a sign at the top to try to dissuade you), but even with the building work, we ultimately found this a safer option.

Rooms - We were given a large room at the far end of the hotel overlooking the gardens. The only drawback was that we were given a twin room rather than a double but we just pushed the beds together. The air conditioning was a godsend as it was still rather hot (early 30's) while we were there and there was the standard room safe and fridge as with Sharm Holiday. Rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels given daily. The only problem we witnessed was young Russian people coming in at all hours and running up and down the corridors, shouting at the top of their voices and thinking it hilarious to slam their bedroom doors repeatedly. The gardens were beautiful to look out on and we got the sun all day on the veranda.

Food & drink - This seemed to bs aimed more at the Russian guests again, but there was always a couple of meat options at lunch and dinner so there was always something even the pickiest of eaters could try. Drinks came in cardboard coke cups which was a bit of a pain as you had to keep returning to the bar. That said, there was never a problem at the pool bar for refills but the young chap in the lobby bar made you feel a bit uncomfortable going back for drinks and as the beer isn't on tap in there, you often got the remainder of a bottle from the previous guest which was invariably flat. As I said though, no problems at the pool bar.

Staff - all staff apart from the surly barman in the lobby bar, couldn't do enough for you. Everyone always had a ready smile and greeting for us from the gardeners to the cleaners to the reception staff. Magdy (bar manager) was a lovely guy and always had us laughing and chats with us. The towel guys were equally as lovely and would do anything to help. The animation team would come and try to get you to be involved in activities and a polite 'no thanks' was all it needed if you didn't want to participate.

Beach -We only ventured to Habada beach this time as we found Wind beach quite crowded last time. Habada beach is fantastic for snorkelling and the array of fish swimming around you were stunning. The steps down to this beach would be a problem for anyone even slightly infirm due to the fact there are so many and quite steep in places. That said, the fantastic beach more than made up for the trek up and down.

Pools - we found these very clean and adequate for the numbers of guests. There were always plenty of sunbeds although if you ended up at the far pool a bit of sunbed manoeuvring to catch the sun was inevitable due to the accommodation blocking the sun.

Overall, we had another good holiday from the Sharm group. If you get chance though, watch the hilarious marketing video on channel 0. It certainly made us chuckle!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, and photos.

We are glad that you tried Sharm Cliff this time, and had an enjoyable stay here. Sharm Cliff is similar to Sharm Holiday in many ways, but it has a slightly different atmosphere, some people prefer it to Holiday. But both hotels are great to stay in, and the staff will provide excellent service.

Thank you for your positive feedback on our location, rooms, and helpful staff. Also about Hadaba beach and the pools here.

It really is a shame about the smell near the stairs to Naama Bay. We have been working on ways to improve this, but it is difficult, because as you said it is not on hotel land or our fault. We will continue to try and resolve this issue though because we want to make our guests as comfortable as possible. If you do not wish to or are not able to take the stairs, there is also a free shuttle bus that goes to Naama Bay, which you can take from outside reception regularly.

There are a few quieter areas of the hotel, please let us know when you book that you prefer a room in a quieter area, usually this will be possible, just ask.

I will let the general manager know about the lobby bar barman, thank you for letting us know.

We hope that you will consider staying here again next time you are in Sharm, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sharm Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Cliff Resort

Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#60 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#87 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#102 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharm Cliff Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Sharm Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Cliff Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Sharm Cliff
Sharm Cliff Holiday Naama Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharm Cliff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.