We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to avoid if you know what Sharm has to offer!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments to your Saves list
Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Om el Sid - Hill | El Hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh 4545, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Norwich
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One to avoid if you know what Sharm has to offer!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We got upgraded on arrival from a dump to a hole and we were one of the lucky ones. I was complaining of no safe in a queue of people with no water or electricity, no working showers etc. We met people that had 3 rooms for faults or roaches.
The staff could not have tried harder, but you cant win a losing battle with your hands tied!.
Dull food and a shortage of plates and glasses meant your table was cleared while you were still eating.
On the plus side, we were the lucky ones and the pools were nice!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saleh T, General Manager at Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Bassbod,
Thankfully, you have one or two nice things to say about this hotel among the other bits. The picture you paint is one of guests queuing up to complain, nothing working, no plates, but the reality is quite different. You will notice some very positive reviews on this forum and they are written by guests who understand that when you pay as little as you do to come to the Poinciana, you cannot expect the Four Seasons Hotel. We are not perfect but we offer excellent value for money and when things go wrong we try our hardest to fix them.
However, one of our most difficult jobs is dealing with unrealistic expectations.
Kind regards,

Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    149
    91
    67
    156
See reviews for
147
205
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Got back from Poinciana hotel two weeks ago, it was absolutely fantastic, from the first day to the last. When we arrived we did not like the room and was allocated another the next day. The staff were all pleasant and went out of their way to please from the reception to the pool boy. I will definately go again thank you Christianos, Eldano my brother Abdo Ahmed Mohamed and the rest of the staff. The animation team Roka ,Tarzan,Sam, Oaksana and Alex great team and put their hearts into making the guesta time enjoyable. from Jan and Rosemary

Room Tip: the suites are very large . Dont moan just ask at reception or Ahmed Mohamed and they will go all ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saleh T, General Manager at Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thanks for the great review. It’s clear you had a great time with the animation team – that’s what they’re here for.
You’re absolutely right. If there’s something that’s not quite right, give a call to reception and see if we can’t fix it. It certainly doesn’t hurt to ask and most things can be resolved immediately.
I hope we’ll see you again soon and make sure you tell all your friends about us.
Many thanks.
Kind regards,

Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

From previous reviews I was slightly dreading turning up to the hotel, but we had no major disasters. We didn't get any bugs in the room (other than mosquitos which eat you alive at night), no exposed wires or broken furniture. On arrival to our room for three adults we found the room spacious enough and suitable beds were supplied.. no sofa bed! There were only 2 towels and extra pillows sow e asked the man who brought us to our room to fetch some more which he did within minutes. We found we had no hot water the first morning, but called to reception and that got fixed during the day as did the non working light in the main bedroom.
We stayed in a room which was so close to the active pool animation box so at night I could not get to sleep til gone 11 every night as the music blares and 'entertainment (Russian karaoke?!) goes on til at least then. The entertainment in general was a non entity for the week with a few 'shows' put on but weren't the best.
The location of the hotel allows you to wander the local shops around Il Mercato which also has food places or turn left from the hotel and there are other yet 'the same' local shops all selling souvenirs and fake goods..which they aren't very good at bartering for!
The food at the hotel is , like many others have said, samey. FIne if you like mash potato breakfast lunch and dinner! Breakfast had lots of pastries but were dry, lots of nice fresh breads, fruit salad bowl, cheese and spam, mash, frankfurters, boiled eggs, omelette/ pancake station,'foul medames' (like refried beans but not) and vermicelli in milk, salad and either chocolate balls or honey ball cereals, neither nice and no cold milk to accompany, We found this very odd.
LUnch had the bread station, pasta station, vast salad bar and a meat of some sort and potato and veg with pastries, jelly, blancmange, fruit for pudding. Dinner much the same as lunch but sometimes had a special like bbq chicken outside which was nice but mahem ; more about that late, other days it was liver on the bbq or chicken kebab, there was also a Moroccan theme one night for a bit. Dinner also provides 'healthy corner' which is always boiled pasta, boiled rice, boiled veg and a meat of their choice. I do not understand why they couldn't supply this at lunch time too.
Meal times in general were such a let down not only due to food that was supplied but because of the attitude of the Russians who take everything in one foul swoop leaving nothing but empty tubs behind, piling multiple plates up with food and then leaving lots of it. The hotel really does cater for Russians, speaking fluent Russian but broken English. The Russians even presumed everyone else was too as they would see us and realise we're not local Arabic and spoke Russian at us.
The Animation Team try and get people to join in with activities as they weren't very busy, but calling me 'lazy' isn't going to get me to join in. The waiters kept trying to take our plates away at meal times before we'd finished it and they made it into a game between them joking can they take a plate when I had lots left to eat. This got very annoying.
We took a taxi to old town one day for an afternoon using the hotel service, very cheaply 40LE round trip, and went to Hollywood with the Animation Team one night, it costs 30LE each, but really is over hyped by the team, there were the dancing fountains which were pretty but saying there are 120 shops is slightly bending the truth.. 120 holes for shops yes..about 20 actually vending.
We found the lunch and dinner serving times too late (1pm and 7pm) in general and the lack of food available between these times not good all inclusive practice. The fact they have icecream time only for kids is also negative, along with the pizza./burger menu available if you pay, it is all inclusive hotel, these things should be included.
If you are nice to the towel men, you will get nice towels, if you are rude, expect small brown towels!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saleh T, General Manager at Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Sunshine Karate Chick,
You certainly would not get small brown towels from the towel man. All the towels are yellow and white striped and all guests are treated with equal respect.
If you did not like the room you were allocated you could have asked the Front Office if there were any other rooms to look at. The food at the various mealtimes is varied and caters for several nationalities and we don’t serve mash potato at every meal (unless you ask for it). You could have had a word with chef at any time if you wanted something special laid on and if the ingredients were available he would have done his best to help.
All in all you have to remember the price you paid for your holiday. If you want steak and fish and lamb chops for dinner you will have to pay three or four times more than you paid here. We serve honest, straightforward, healthy food which represents excellent value for money.
Thank you for your review and perhaps we will see you again.
Best Regards,

Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had very mixed expectations before we arrived at the Poinciana Hotel as we had seen so many bad reviews of the complex before we left the UK. To our surprise, on the whole we had a good experience at the hotel, we had an issue with our room as we had booked a twin and we had been booked in to a double, this was changed with little fuss within minutes we also had an issue with the shower which maintenance men came to fix within 30 mins. The reception staff would call and check if all was ok every other day and it was obvious they were keen to please.

Our first experience of the food at the restaurant wasn't great. There was not much variety if you were picky with your food, mash potato, Sausages with Peppers and Onions along with salad and courgette wasn't what we had expected for breakfast, however we did find that the staff cooked fresh eggs so we were eating egg on toast every day. Lunch was much the same - breakfast's left overs, transformed in to different dishes. The vegetables were very tasty so we tucked in to them! The meat was always in short supply dished out by the chef. Two spoons and your done! The restaurant staff were overly attentive - they were very sweet and keen to talk on our first night, but as the week went on they became annoying and very childish playing one off against another - not professional at all times.

We booked Taxi's through the hotel and this was good - Alex looked after us well and made sure that we got picked up at the end of the night.

The Animation team were entertaining, a little too touchy feely and rough at times thinking it was acceptable to sit on you, punch and play fight, when you are a customer you don't expect that! We decided to go to Pacha with Tarzan and Alex from the animation team and got totally ripped off paying 100 EGP each - with one free drink, there was a group of 5 so it came to 500 EGP between us, when we realised that entry was free that night and that transport to and from would of only cost 80EGP for 5 we were not too impressed even more so - the reps who had been telling us to go all week- never went!!! Sam and Roka were great never harassed us, they were both friendly. It did get a little annoying being woken up by Alex and Tarzan when you were asleep so I think that a do not disturb card on the sunbed would be a good idea.

We had high expectations of the beach as the bus was always packed for the 8.35 trip - however - when we arrived it was more like a building site - litter cascaded from the previous day. The sunbeds were not on the same level as the sea so it wasn't as picturesque as people had said!! We lasted an hour before taking the bus back to the hotel - which we then noticed how far we travelled we could of walked back as it was a very short walk!

You could tell that the hotel needed some love, loungers rickety and some broken along with parasols that allowed more sun in than shade! Gardeners and ground staff were all very friendly.

We spent all of our week at the relaxation pool being looked after by Safwan who always made sure that the fridges had diet coke. The Alcohol was pretty gross so we were thankful we brought some vodka on the flight over! The pool food was amazing!! If only we had realised this before the last day maybe we wouldn't of been so bored with beef stew and chicken on the bone!!!

The sales people who come and sell excursions, spa packages etc etc around the pool did get a little monotonous as the week went on, it was always best to negotiate and never ever take the first price. The Spa package we booked was pretty rubbish, the hot tub was cold, the steam room wasn't steamy and the massage didn't relax you as you were worried your toes and fingers may be pulled out of their sockets!!

We booked a camel ride with one guy who was selling around the pool - after our money had been given he never engaged in conversation with us again. We arrived in the "desert" and got dumped out of the van, we were taken by a guy who couldn't speak very good English out to the Boudin tents, at one point we nearly got thrown off but it didn't phase the guide. He was going faster and faster, my friend got a really bad bruises as the camels were going too close to each other trapping her leg, no matter how much we said he didn't listen and at one point we were quite scared! The trip was sold as Camel Ride along with Tea in the Boudin Tent - little did we know we had to pay for the drinks over and above what we had already paid!! At the end of the trip we were taken in to a room to view the pictures taken at the start of the ride, we walked in to a dirty room got told to sit and then the pictures were shown to us on a laptop with authentic Egyptian background music, we were shocked to catch a rather large rat run across the room!! We were then told if we wanted to buy the pictures it would be a further 220 EGP - when we said we didn't have that he said what did we have and snatched our money and began to count it - in the end we paid 80 EGP which was all we had between us, we were then made to feel uncomfortable and told not to tell anyone what we paid!!

We will defiantly be returning to Sharm and are already planning our next visit later this year but we WILL NOT be returning to the Poincianna Hotel. If you are not too picky with your food, you like lots of attention and are happy to play fight and be roped in to activities then this is the hotel for you!! We are looking for 100% relaxation with a lovely pool, beach and good food.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saleh T, General Manager at Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, as any comments about our hotel are important for us and we care about it.

Regarding your comments, that lunch is the same - lunch menu changing on daily basic. And lunch - it is not left overs from breakfast - for each meals all items are fresh.

Restaurant staff are attentive to all guests and they care about the guests and this is not overly attention.

About Animation team - we took your comment seriously.

If you did not like excursion, which you did with a guy, who was selling around pool - you should to come to Management at the same time and we can take our actions if he did something not correct.

Regarding Alcohol - it is not gross, it is local Alcohol and all hotels, which are working on All inclusive basic, use it.

Also if you do not like the SPA packege, why you did not mentioned this during your stay? Anyway, as we told before, each comment important for us, so we checked hot tube and it is hot, not cold.

Thank you once more about posting your comments.

Best Regards,

Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I saw the comments about the Animation Team in the previous review and find them very difficult to believe, members of our party went clubbing with them and had a great time and definitely were not ripped off, also to make exchange rates clear 100 Egyptian pounds is about 8.60 pounds Stirling... Return taxi fare, club entry and a drink for 8 and a half quid??! that's always pretty reasonable wherever you go in the world! Also the Animation team liked to have fun Tarzan, Alex and Sam if you weren't up for that a firm polite no always worked, please listen to all the other positive comments about these guys and the good work they do!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saleh T, General Manager at Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting you review about Poinciana Sharm Resort on Trip Advisor. We hope, that you really had a good time here.

Also thnk you for you supporting of Animation team and for understanding.

Hope to see you soon

Quality & GR Manager
Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I are due to arrive fir One weeks well deserved holiday. We have lived apart due to my husband having to work away for a long time and have saved very hard to be able to afford one week only . I was concerned to read recently that there is no free wifi. Can you confirm if you have wifi access and if it's free as I need to be able to keep in touch with home and my family. My other question is do the rooms have tea and coffee making facilities for the quests?. Any other helpful information you can offer would be very welcomed. I also have one more request. I have a disability. I find it hard to walk too far and was wondering if our room could be in a fairly centralised location to most things in and around the hotel?. We are due to arrive Saturday 8th March about 6 to 7 pm. Thank you again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saleh T, General Manager at Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all, thatnk you, that you booked our hotel for your vacation. We hope that you will enjoy it and all hotel team will care about you.

Regarding you questions;

1. We have a Wi-FI, it is with extra charge, we can offer for you discount 50%.

2. Tea and coffe making facilities in the room with extra charge.

3. We do not have especial facilities for the disalble people, but we can offer for you room near to the Restaurant and if you will need wwheelchair (free of charge).

Waiting for you on 08.03.14

Best Regards

Quality and Guest Relation Manager

Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

First time in Egypt and i really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Staff were amazing and always put a smile on your face! I have an food allergy and restaurant manager was always asking if the food was okay and if i needed anything just to order it! Animation Team were fantastic especially Sam who was my favourite!! Breakfast was a little disappointing need more fruit choice! Other than that i would definantly recommend this hotel for anyone's first time in Egypt!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saleh T, General Manager at Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for the posting your review about our hotel. We are delighted that you had a good time during your stay with us and that you enjoyed the facilities of the resort.
Thank you for your warm words to our Animation Team. Also thank you for you constructive criticism about more fruit choice for the breakfast..

Looking forward to see you soon.

Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Poinciana Sharm Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments

Address: Om el Sid - Hill | El Hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh 4545, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#106 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#119 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sharm Resort is conveniently located on Om El Seid Hill, with a spectacular view of the Red Sea and just a short stroll away from the brand new shopping arcade “Il Mercato” and the international dancing hot spot “Dolce Vita”.Choose from a variety of spacious rooms, family suites and villas with private balconies or terraces and multiple views of the pools, gardens or the sea.Our large, centrally located outdoor pool includes a children's pool. You can also relax on one of the private beaches and explore the Red Sea by snorkeling or diving ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm Resort And Apartment
Grand Sharm Resort & Apartment Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Creative Grand Sharm Hotel
Creative Grand Sharm Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poinciana Sharm Resort & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.