We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicana Sharm Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mexicana Sharm Resort to your Saves list
Mexicana Sharm Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

Me and my then fiance stayed at this hotel during the end of Feb and beginning of March.
It is one of the last hotels that the coach drops you off at and does not look so great from the outside but do not let this fool you.
Reception is rather nice and the people are very helpful.
Do not be surprised to find something broken in your room so that the handymen can come and fix it for a tip. Oh, and by the way, you have to tip everyone.
Comfy beds with huge walk in showers. Same as the rooms, massive!!
I wouldn't bother going all inclusive as the food really is not all that great, trust me, i love my food and bed and breakfast is more than enough. Breakfast comprises of pastries and some cereal. Or if you're feeling brave, a very greasy omlete.
The food is really cheap out there but the alcohol is very expensive. Buy a few bottles from duty free as the international stuff is like the price of gold!
Oh and the cab drivers will do their best to rip you off, be firm and pay the fare that is displayed in their windscree. Should be 40 egyption pounds. If you get a minicab from the hotel, more than likely you will get the same driver day in day out which works out much better for you.
If you are footy nut like me, if you come out of the hotel and tunr left and walk to the end of the road, there is an English bar which shows the matches and serves a decent burger and beer. Nice if you can't be bothered to go to Naama Bay.
Naama Bay is only about 7 minutes from the hotel by cab.
But you do have to check out the Camel Bar in Naama Bay, there chips are simply amazing along with the atmosphere when the footballs on.
In Naama Bay, go to the restaurant next door, called Pomidori or something, excellent food and even better desserts. Go for the Creme Brulee, i guarantee you will thank me for the tip.
Another good place to eat is the big mexican place, can't remember what it's called though.
Anyway, back to the hotel, you may find the pressure in the shower a little weak, just contact the reception and they will den some round to fix it.
There is a brilliant pizza place by the pool which has to be tried.
If you get this hotel and flight for less than £350, grab it, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Liked — The two huge pools, location to Naama Bay
  • Disliked — Water pressure of the shower
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    346
    187
    141
    105
See reviews for
217
435
63
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sharm
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

The Hotel Mexicana was everything we expected. Small, clean, quiet, friendly but close to and cheap by taxi (2 GBP...no more!) to Namma bay and Old Sharm if you want a bit of a nightlife.
The room was spacious with large beds, clean and a rather nice touch of petals arranged on the beds every day.
The complex has two swimming pools, one small ,one large both clean and a sunbed saved by the towel man for price of a smile ( a tip at the end of your stay optional).
The staff were very friendly and tried very hard to facillitate our every whim.
The entertainment was practically non exsistant but don't let that put you off. We had some great nights in the bar, mainly due to the other guests and our sheer determination to make the place rock...they will keep the bar open as long as people are having fun (and paying!).
Our only problem was the food(but we sort of expected that) and the limited AI.
The food was rather limited in choice (when you hanker after a macky D's, you know you are in trouble!). The so called All Inclusive is (pardon the pun) illusive. All meals having to be taken in one place at specified times, reductions if you eat in the steak house or Italian ...but the same food anyway ...so why pay twice?
The drinks were free from the swimmy up bar during the day and from the dining room at lunch time...limited choice for children...glow in the dark fizzy orange stuff, sprite (limited stock*)
and full fat coke, ice-cream free from 5-6pm...who cares/knows what the time is when on holiday?. Boil in the box wine and warm beer for the adults.
As for pharros revenge...expect it! As a party of 5 we all had it in varying degrees. Don't use the local chemist as we were ripped off, paying £17 for a pack of tablets that we got for £1.50 in Namma Bay. Take the local jollop as Imodeum won't hit the sides, 2mg as opposed to 200 mg...no contest!
In conclusion, don't go AI. Enjoy the hotel, eat out and enjoy.
* Spent a long evening talking to Management, keen to please... made sprite, cold beer and wine available... Well done Said ( i told you, you would get a mention!)
Ps Do the boat trip, great value for money ...if you book through Sam...fantastic day . x

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Mexicana for a week (thankfully it was no longer). The staff on the whole were pleasant (especially the pool lads) however it seemed as though we were being checked on what we ordered at the bar and as we left the hotel. We were continually pestered by people wanting us to shop with them that it got very annoying and we didn't leave the hotel much at all. This hotel certainly didn't give the All Inclusive service which I have had in the past. Unless you ate in the restaurant, anything you got ie snacks etc at the pool bar, were charged for. A lot of people were complaining about the quality of food and that there had been several cases of upset stomachs. The food seemed to be warmed up and served again and even served for breakfast from the evening before. This was a last minute booking which ended up costing us a great deal of money because we ended up eating out all the time. I would not rate this hotel as all inclusive - children could only get an ice lolly at the pool bar between 4pm and 5pm - any later they would not get served. The bars closed at 11pm and if you had a drink on the table at 10.50, you would not be served a further one.

All in all very disappointing.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

wonderfull experiwnce, lovely staff, wonderfull food, will recomend everyone, specially family...top star

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Well!!!! what can I say??????
Went to Mexicana and we found the hotel well presented,with nice staff, well nearly all of them..lol...
My partner Lesley and I stayed in a room that was for want of a better word OK, but it was only on the day of leaving that we found out that we were in a self-catering room, perhaps the kitchen should have given it away but it was only when I saw the all inclusive rooms that I realised we had been diddled, as it was a darn sight worse for wear than we should have had, we had NO hot water until the day before leaving, and when we did get it no matter how much you turned on the cold it was still too HOT.
Virtually ever body we spoke to had Ramesees revenge but on a BIG scale with griping stomach pains and BAD, BAD, BAD Diarrhea and the general concensus was it must have been from the way the glasses was washed out on the bars with the de-salinated water but NO drying!
But as has been mentioned before..... was the totally useless All inclusive (didnt realise all inclusive meant FREE Diarrhea)
Ihave been all over the world and have never ever experienced service anywhere like it, I know that I will have people saying You shouldnt have booked it all inclusive / what do you expect from Egypt, but we had no way of booking B&B with the tour operator.
The General Manager of this Hotel want's to get off his backside and go and talk to his guests and discover what they want, because I know from the general feeling that I heard spoken about people would not be interested in paying it a 2nd visit until it is run a bit better ..if ever.
Now to the GOOD bit...
Thanks to Bill and Lin and girls (Kent)..Mick and Jan (Geordie?Maccam's)...Karen and Steve (Welsh)..Jim and Colleen (Zummerzet) and Paul and Elaine (Geordie's too I think)...what a great bunch you were and thanks for putting up with me and my chatter....By the way Lesley is DEAF thats why she puts up with me..lol.
Seriously you lot made the holiday very worthwhile and we WILL do that Murder Mystery weekend.
Thats all folks.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Myself F 26 and boyfrend 22 went to Egypt for a relaxing, sunny, holiday. On arrival we got to hotel around 7pm. Tired and hot we were met in reception by a gentleman who showed us to our room - take some loose change as he hovered for a tip and all we had were notes. Our bags were taken off us in reception and arrived shortly after the doorman left, he hovered as well for a tip - so we're weren’t very happy about that! We found it quite rude esp as we had only just arrived and were not quite sure on what to do etc. We spent most days either by pool in the morning and beach in evening or vice versa. The food was good, always something nce to eat and plenty of it. House wine wasn't too bad. we were AI and found it very worth while. The shuttle bus was good and frequent and the beaches were fine. The one beach was much better for snorkelling and we had the most fantastic time in the sea. The fish we saw were amazing. We managed to book a scuba diving day with corel diving and it only cost us £25 each for a day, everything included - meal too! It was out of this world. a bit scary as neither of us had any experience but so worth it. Fish were ace! we even saw a dolphin on the way back - it was the best day of the holiday. the hotel was clean and all staff were friendly. Would definitely go back there. we booked through bookable holidays and it cost us £330 AI 7nts

  • Liked — flowers left on the bed
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

We found this hotel, on the whole, very clean with friendly helpful staff. Our room was lovely and big with fantastic air conditioning (which was a complete must!!). Our biggest gripe about this hotel was the smell from the water used to water the plants. We found out that this is because it is treated sewage water, which whilst being hygienic enough still smells rather acrid, especially in the morning and the evening.
Having read previous reviews, we chose not to go all inclusive, which was somewhat of a blessing, as we heard many grumbles and complaints about what was on offer. The breakfast was fine and set us up for the day. However, be aware that there are no restaurants outside the hotel within walking distance, though a cab to Naama Bay is only about £2.50.
Also be aware that the sunbeds get taken VERY EARLY INDEED!! It seemed that people were getting up when it was still dark to bag their sunbed under an umbrella - again a necessity as it was over 40 degrees every day.
We were both ill, as were many other guests, not only in our hotel but all over the resort. This is probably down to the heat, and change of diet, however this did not affect our holiday too much.
We took a trip to the pyramids by bus, which was a full day's excursion - 24hrs!! It was truly amazing and well worth doing, but BOOK BEFORE YOU LEAVE THE UK as the prices more than quadruple if you book in Egypt through the reps.
All in all a good holiday and good value for money, though also be aware that the hotel is in the middle of a development site which is ongoing.

  • Liked — It was clean and the flowers were lovely
  • Disliked — It smelt
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mexicana Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexicana Sharm Resort

Address: Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#109 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mexicana Sharm Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mexicana Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexicana Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Mexicana Sharm El Sheikh
Creative Mexicana Egypt
Creative Mexicana Sharm Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexicana Sharm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.