We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Avoid Absolutely!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicana Sharm Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mexicana Sharm Resort to your Saves list
Mexicana Sharm Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“To Avoid Absolutely!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We booked our trip to Sharm El Sheik via Icelolly.com who recommended us this horrendous hotel!!!!

We used to travel and aren't fussy at all but this place is by far the worst place we have ever encountered. A nightmare.

- Awful and dirty room (hair on the floor and in the sink, fingers prints on the wall, dirty carpet, broken lamp, empty pump dispenser and so on...) — and I don't even mention the state of the bathroom, hideous!
- Rude and unhelpful staff
- All inclusive — but very outdated with horrible food and drinks choices, absolutely disgusting. Indeed, there was not a single thing that was good in this buffet which was empty after only 15minutes.
- Starving stray cats on the terrace which isn't very inviting while eating

We didn't even stay one night, we left after the staff showed us 2 others rooms just as bad.

We'd have atrocious holidays if we'd have stayed at the Mexicana Resort hotel. This place should be banned and definitely not be advertised as a 4 stars hotel by ice lolly.

Do yourself a favour and steer clear of this place!

Thanks for reading, Isabel and Camille

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
The entire teams of the Mexicana Resort were regretful to read your perception of the resort, which did not comply with your expectations.

We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to make your stay a big success as we have done with other regular guests as well as the first -time visitors.
We will continue with full power and motivation to strive for excellence - hopefully, you will notice a difference during your next stay. I hope we will have a pleasure to welcoming you back again

Thank You & Best Regards,
Yours sincerely,
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    347
    187
    141
    105
See reviews for
218
435
63
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My friend and I took a last minute holiday to Sharm, nature of my work, to get sun and relaxation.

I booked online! Note to self More research next time. £1300 paid in all.

The latter 2 were reached and what made the holiday was the great people we met.
Checking in at 10pm due to flights, nothing was open even though we were handed a sheet of "Rules" by the reception to the contrary. We ordered a "McDonalds"! Good value and quick, but we paid so not "All inclusive".
I needed to be conectrd to the wifi, which I duly bought for the week. The next day I logged in only to find I couldn't. Apparently it for 1 computer only! 2 people with iphones and laptop mmmmm. The reception eventually sorted this but not till Wednesday. We arrived Sunday!

The food: It was terrible, if you were offered this in a pub in UK you would return it! Yes stooge was needed and delivered, but.... Terrible

Drinks: Not good, I wanted cocktails and a wide range, even if local, I got beer and vodka coke, only things I like. mmmmm If you want to relax on your lounger with a NICE drink, this isn't the place.

Food staff: Rude and offish! The customer is always right! mmmmm

Ba Staff: Mohamed ok, rest were offish! Ignored at bar and unless tipped regularly (All inclusive) then no table service with the basic drinks! Offered coke in a very small plastic glass at one stage! Horrendous, told to bring back glasses for refills as none left! HS?

Staff badgered for tips the whole time and it quickly became obvious that it was best to pay as you at least got things done.

On check out I was kept waiting while my room was checked!! Usual procedure?

Some might like, but I want a relaxing All Inclusive Holiday and value for money. This I did not get, pizza and steak bars never opened by the way and steak bar one of my casting reasons for booking. Will I go back? NEVER and as Chairman of British University Sports I am advising all NOT to use this hotel.

Bedroom fine only plus point.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

The entire team of the Mexicana Sharm Hotel were regretful to read your perception of the resort, which did not comply with your expectations.

We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to make your stay a big success as we have done with other regular guests as well as the first -time visitors.
We will continue with full power and motivation to strive for excellence - hopefully, you will notice a difference during your next stay. I hope we will have a pleasure to welcoming you back again
Yours sincerely,
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I would not give this hotel any more than two stars due to the lack of hospitality of the staff ranging from bar staff to management, reception staff were rude and unhelpful, bar staff were missing and hiding using mobile phones or eating, whilst people are waiting for a drink. The rooms also leave a lot to be desired when it comes to cleanliness, a/c was more like central heating, no greeting when entering dining room, no drink offered for at least half an hour, I am surprised this hotel has stayed open, have never experienced anything like this before.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest greetings from Mexicana Sharm Resort Sharm El Sheikh.

Thank you for your comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.
We apologize for what happened to you during your staying in our hotel, and we are doing the appropriate investigations to understand better as we are surprised that nobody has been informed of your difficulties and problems.
Please accept again my apologizes and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel, at which time I hope to speak with you personally to ensure your holiday with us will exceed all your expectations.
Sincerely
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

New to trip advisor but loved visiting this place had a great time pool sometimes a little crowded but had gorgeous weather food wasn't the best but I'm quite picky so I'll leave judgement to everybody else! Nice break with my boyfriend from rainy manchester and Liverpool!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at the Mexicana Sharm Resort.

We are glad that our resort’s facilities and services were satisfying and you enjoyed your stay. The team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

Once again, we thank you for your recommendation. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have never written a review before, however because we had such a brilliant holiday I felt the need to do one. I won't lie, it's not 4* at all. More like 3. But the staff are what makes this place. They are brilliant. The food is nothing amazing, but it does the job and it's the same for the rooms. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and well looked after. But the staff were absolutely amazing and the best days were spent by the pool having a laugh with all the staff and other guests. If you are going there ask for; Cath Robinson. She is a star. She knows the area and has been there a few times. She also organised a few nights at the hotel which were a blast. The hotel don't realise what a gem they have in that one. I will be going back again needless to say. Brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: Do not get a pool view room as you will get more mosquitoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Mexicana Resort Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank-you very much for your kind comments and the “5 out of 5 - excellent” rating you gave our beach resort. We really appreciate your support and the team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you to our resort again very soon, at which time I hope to speak with you and personally ensuring your holiday here in the sunshine will exceed all your expectations.

Blessings from us all at the Mexicana Sharm Resort.

Yours sincerely,
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Where do I start? we just come back from another fantastic stay in Sharm and during this holiday we stayed again at The Mexicana, its still a fantastic place to stay, clean, friendly and located to namma bay, old market and el macarto, the beaches the hotel use are some of the best in sharm and only a short bus ride away, if its value for money your after, then this is the hotel for you, they must be doing something right, its full of people who go back year after year, keep up the good work, see you again soon xxx the spa is also very good and worth a vist whilst there

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your summary about your recent holiday at the Mexicana Resort.

It’s really a great pleasure for us that you spent a lovely holiday at our property and that we could meet your expectations. The staff and I are pleased to hear that our resort’s facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your vacation.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was my first visit to Sharm el Sheikh and I would definitely go back on the basis that we went from 30th March to 7th April and had daily temperatures from the high twenties into the mid thirties.
Overall we found that although there was a lot of hassle from people wanting to sell you spa treatments, trips or water based activities, it was conducted in a friendly atmosphere.
Having said this, I would not go back to the Mexicana hotel.
The resort has seen better days. There is an air of neglect including protruding and rusting manhole covers, old paintwork and in our case, outdated room furnishings.
This is definitely not an all inclusive resort by any means. There are set meal times and the advertised pizza corner, steak house and Italian restaurant were never open. No fruit juices available, but there are sweet fizzy drinks, hot drinks, water, beer and spirits,from 1000 to 2300. Ice cream is free for children from 1600 to 1700 only, but adults have to pay. If you want a drink after 2300, you pay. Drinks are in small disposable plastic beakers. The food ranges from average to poor. The potatoes are often not cooked properly and some dishes such as the fish pie are inedible.
Another issue for British people are the large number of Russians. They will push in front of you at meal times. When we went to the beach a small bus was overloaded and the Russians literally just barged past to get on board.
The beach busesare free. Coral beach apparently has a complimentary bar supplying limited fizzy drinks, but we heard from several other guests that the staff were seen swigging from the drink bottles. I would add that we didn’t see this, but didn’t want to take a chance and took our own drinks. Sandy beach is not part of the all inclusive, so we took a hotel packed lunch. However, this didn’t stop the staff there continuously harassing you to buy food and have a drink. After a couple of hours of non stop hassle, we went back to the hotel pool.
Our room was dated, but clean. The main pool is huge and is filtered water. The sun beds have mattresses and most of the sun shades worked. • Most of the staff are very friendly. They are also honest as demonstrated when I dropped my watch and it was handed back.
We made several trips to the spa and all the treatments were value for money with good customer care and service.
There is a disco once a week and there is also a karaoke night, which seemed to be promoted by a holidaymaker. Again it finished at 2300 hours exactly. Other than this there is no entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest greetings from Mexicana Sharm Resort Sharm El Sheikh.

Thank you for your comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.
We apologize for what happened to you during your staying in our hotel, and we are doing the appropriate investigations to understand better as we are surprised that nobody has been informed of your difficulties and problems.
Please accept again my apologizes and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel, at which time I hope to speak with you personally to ensure your holiday with us will exceed all your expectations.
Sincerely
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mexicana Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexicana Sharm Resort

Address: Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#110 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mexicana Sharm Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mexicana Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexicana Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Mexicana Sharm El Sheikh
Creative Mexicana Egypt
Creative Mexicana Sharm Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexicana Sharm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.