We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chris straugheir says its awsome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicana Sharm Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mexicana Sharm Resort to your Saves list
Mexicana Sharm Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“chris straugheir says its awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

fantastic place with fantastic staff ,goda ahmed jasmine bill ayman and hend all made our holiday special and all the waiters and reception staff were fantastic the food is nice but got a bit boring so need more options but my worst critic was the wifi used to be free now they charge and it is not good signal but I will be back ,,,,,again see you all soon

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Mexicana Resort Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank-you very much for your kind comments and the “5 out of 5 - excellent” rating you gave our beach resort. We really appreciate your support and the team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again very soon, at which time I hope to speak with you and personally ensuring your holiday here in the sunshine will exceed all your expectations.

Blessings from us all at the Mexicana Resort .

Yours sincerely,
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    346
    187
    141
    105
See reviews for
217
435
63
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in egypt and i would say that the staff in this hotel were great.

Food was plenty, allways hot, and seemed very fresh. Without sounding snobby, im not a buffet kinda gal, but was allways kept clean.

Our room was very very nice, clean massive comfortable bed.

Only issue was, me and my damily live in egypt, and where we live has a heated pool, in dec/jan you defo need a heated pool as the water is breath takingly cold.!!!!

It clearly states that this hotel has two pools (one heated in the winter)

I asked the hotel manager several times to turn the heating on, but with no joy.!!!! As this was my husbands week iff as a family was looking forward to swimming with the baby, but OBVIOUSLY this dream was dashed.

The only other issue, as is no diet soft drinks. So if you are diabetic or on a diet, may struggle


Would return, but april-oct when pools dont need to be heated

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sirs,

we appreciated a lot your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your staying in Mexicana. Thanks a lot for being here and really wish to meet you again in our hotel,

Regards
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A group of friends going away, well priced and happily go back.

However, food was basic, at times a little repetitive but does the job, all inclusive is a little annoying this time of year (January 2014) some bars were closed due to volume (lack of) of guests. Some staff were extremely friendly and helpful whilst others just did what they had to.

Double room was spacious with more than enough space to unpack comfortably into drawers and cupboards. House keeping came daily and bedding changed frequently, very friendly member of staff. General cleanliness was to a high standard.

Pools are very clean and well kept with sun loungers surrounded. Although don't expect to leave your towels on the loungers and come back to them after lunch. They will be moved ;-)

Nice to see the hotel continually making minor repairs where required and overall well kept.

Evening entertainment consisted of traditional dancers and music with a fair sized dance floor. Not much entertainment for young children though.

Room Tip: Apartments are better and avoid staying on the boundary near the back of the hotel, there is a gener...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Mexicana Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank you very much for your wonderful summary about your recent vacation at our Mexicana Hotel and we are very pleased, that we could provide you with a great holiday.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us here and to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly accept our warmest regards

Your sincerely,
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

went here in june with my partner, loved it so much that we brought my mum n children bk in oct. Mohammed the bar man is lovely, he works 10-10 every day! And nothing was to much trouble, u show him respect he will show it bk. Hossam, talk talk, mido moz moz, the head chef they all made it so special for us! Treat me and my family like royalty, nothing was to much trouble from them all. Get a taxi into nab bay to the three crowns... An english pub, the most amazing fillet steak, and so cheap! Rooms are amazing, so spacious, foods good, we got friendly with the chef, he would cook us what we wanted even if it wasnt out. No entertainment on a night but we didnt mind that, few times we went down to coffee shops with the waiters. Tesco sharm tours just down rd, use them for quad biking, dolphins etc. Franco and bob in perfume shop were so polite always asked us in there shop for a drink n chat! No pressure to buy. Would recommend, i will hopefully be bk there again this year. Thank u mexicana xxxxx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at the Mexicana Hotel.

We are glad, that our resort with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your stay.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such detailed review and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Mexicana .

Yours sincerely,
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay at the mexicana i have been coming to sharm el sheikh for 10 years an this is 1 of the nicest places i ever stayed at .
We had a 1 bedroom apartment over looking the small pool , it was very spacious an nice to have lots of room to move instead of being crammed in , a big flat screen tv , a kitchen with all the essentials an the bathroom was lovely .
The hotel is very clean and well kept , the staff are very polite ,friendly and prof and work so hard and could not do enough for you mohammed at the small pool brought me drinks with out even asking and the waiters in the restaurant will top your drinks up before the glass is empty .
About the food lunch time was very basic but ok and the evening meal was my favorite so delicious an plenty of choice chicken , beef , fish potatoes fresh vegtables and pasta and some nights we even had lamb yum yum and my favorite desert was fried dates so delicious.
I did hear some people did moan about the food but its egypt if you want fish & chips go to benidorm you get what you pay for as this is a very inexpensive hotel with exellent value for money .
The free gym is very impressive one of the best ive ever seen in any hotel and the spa & spa staff are amazing i had lots of lovely massages fm hend she is amazing snd so caring and a nice pedicure fm senso , the spa is very clean and other some great treatments at reasonable prices .

The bad points for me was christmas eve & new years eve gala dinner in the website it says the bar closes at 6 pm and drinks are to be served in the main restaurant , but what the website does not say is the all inclusive drinks finish at 6 pm ! Then we was given a piece of paper telling us from 6pm we have to pay for drinks most only sold by the bottle not a glass and if you bring your own drinks you have to pay for it price depending on the brand , the only drink i like is baileys and as its imported i was told if i want to bring my own bottle i had to pay £20 . This i did not agree with and thought it was wrong .

Also if you want any trips book with the tour shop down the road called brothers dont use the man in the hotel alex he is very rude & iggnorant we booked a trip he over charged us for it was suppost to last 15 minutes we was on the tube 5 and then left on the side of a dirty busy road for 1.5 hours to be picked up discusting !

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Mexicana Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank you very much for your wonderful summary about your recent vacation at our Mexicana Hotel and we are very pleased, that we could provide you with a great holiday.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us here and to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly accept our warmest regards

Yours sincerely,
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I travelled to Sharm with my wife and friends to dive for a few days in Jan2014 . I booked on line after reading varied reviews on Tripadvisor. Whilst I got a good deal for the weeks stay I was very disappointed with the Mexicana . On arrival I was greated with apathy by the door staff followed by a similar lack of attention at reception. After collecting our room key we were escorted to our room. The room had a lovely aroma of stale tabbaco which greeted our senses as we entered. On further inspection we discovered that the curtains on our patio doors would not close as the rail was badly damaged but nothing that two Egyptian boys couldnt fix. They couldnt fix it actually but did shout at each other for a while, which always helps. The room was filthy, the small table looked like it had been wiped with a cold, dirty cloth. We asked to be moved and we were taken to a no smoking room, (stale tabbaco smell not quite so bad) which was a little cleaner. That evening we visited the one resturant in the hotel. Again the level of cleanliness was unacceptable, the floor was being mopped with a old dirty towel ! Again the staff here were busy talking to each other and were not interested in helping the guests. I have stayed in many hotels in Sharm and have never seen such disinterest from staff before. We retired to the bar area. The bar looks like it was last cleaned a month ago and the stock keeping leaves a lot to be desired. Beer is served in plastic glasses and wine is decanted from a box to a water bottle ( looks a little like a sample for the doctor). As we sat I heard a coffee machine slurpping behind me so I asked for a cappuccino! No chance, the machine was being used for hot water, the coffee is instant ( tastes like chicory ) .
It was also noted that at the bar and resturant there was always someone sat on a chair in a leather jacket watching and chatting but not able to serve customers. Who are these mystery men?
Whilst the hotel is clearly tired I suspect that new management,a vigorous training programme and a change of culture may make it acceptable.
Would I stay here again? What do you think?

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
Warmest greetings from Mexicana Sharm Resort Sharm El Sheikh.

Thank you for your comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.
We apologize for what happened to you during your staying in our hotel, and we are doing the appropriate investigations to understand better as we are surprised that nobody has been informed of your difficulties and problems.
Concerning the mystery men, please let us explain to you that we think you are talking about our cashiers, that usually are controlling the bars and the restaurant.

Please accept again my apologizes and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel, at which time I hope to speak with you personally to ensure your holiday with us will exceed all your expectations.
Sincerely
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Clean, tidy and well presented. Just a few signs of fair wear and tear. Could use a better tv set and channels. Food was excellent as was service. Yes they are snappy about unreturned glasses but they also brook no poolside accident possibilities with glass - or plastic (as seen elsewhere).

The drinks were drinkable and the Mexicana did not run out of beer (as endured elsewhere).
The shops next to the hotel were low hustle, the optional trip and taxi rates fair. For entertainment the Belly Dancing and the Whirling Dervish were unmissable. Thank you all for
a great stay alround.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sirs,

thanks a lot for your kind review, and it was our pleasure to have you here in our hotel.
Wish to see you soon again to enjoy and relax in Mexicana, be free to contact us any time and it will be our pleasure to meet you again,

Regards
Mr Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mexicana Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexicana Sharm Resort

Address: Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#109 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mexicana Sharm Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mexicana Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexicana Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Mexicana Sharm El Sheikh
Creative Mexicana Egypt
Creative Mexicana Sharm Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexicana Sharm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.