We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week in the sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   SOHO Square | PO Box 79, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #51 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
lincoln
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great week in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back from a lovely week away at the Sierra Resort. The weather was fantastic and the hotel was very good. Our room was lovely it had a pool view, on the ground floor overlooking the main pool area. The pool area was lovely; but get the sun beds early; Russians love squeezing into a small spot!!
The staff are great very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and good value for money. The food in the main restaurant was good, it was always cooked and presented well and the restaurant was very clean and again the staff were very good. We did eat in Soho square and the food there was very good, with a good choice.
We used the spa; this was a little dated but the massage and indoor pool area was very good.
We will defiantly be back to the Sierra and hope to do so next year.
Book you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ground floor with a pool view overlooking the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for all the positive and helpful observations. We are pleased that you enjoyed our 7 pools but if you prefer the sandy beach and the sea, it’s just a short walk downhill or an even quicker clubcar ride (for the less energetic) and they run half hourly. There you can walk out on our floating pontoon and go swimming or snorkeling and enjoy our spectacular reef – one of the best in Sharm. There is more coral and marine life diversity in the Red Sea than anywhere else in the world and it’s right here on the doorstep of the Sierra.
We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    722
    249
    103
    69
See reviews for
596
1,153
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel at the end of March 2013 and loved it. Having stayed at other hotels in Sharm at around the same time, I was surprised just how busy it was, however that didn't detract from the the standard of service in the bar, round the pool or in the restaurant.

Initially we had a room on the ground floor at the side of the quieter pool and although the location was ideal, the room was smaller than expected and the air-con louder! The next morning we were moved to a larger room without question and everything was fine. The guy who cleaned the room was called Shariff and he couldn't do enough for us - very friendly and the room was kept spotless - we were also kept well stocked with water!

Having previously stayed at the much more prestigious Ritz Carlton I can say the food in the Sierra's main restaurant was as good, if not better than the R-C. The obligatory 'egg men' were there every morning making fresh omelettes to order, and the evening meals were always fresh, hot and plentiful.

The other advantage of staying at the Sierra, of course, is that you have other places in Soho Square that you can eat - the Cafe Chino was particularly good for mixed grilles.

The beach was about a 10 minute walk away, although there is a complimentary bus from the hotel every 30 mins. The only criticism with the beach area is that it's shared with the Savoy - by shared I mean 70% the Savoy and 30% Sierra - the two areas being separated by a row of sunbeds!! Obviously the Sierra part of the beach was very busy in the morning with hardly anyone on the Savoy side. The other thing is that the hotels clearly thought people from the Sierra wanted to listen to loud inane music whilst they sunbathed,whilst the more refined clientele from the Savoy didn't.

Well let me tell you - a lot of people from the Sierra wanted peace and quiet as well!!!! In fairness we used to 'cross the border' and lie in the savoy side, with out blue and white towels looking conspicuous in the 'blue and black' section of the beach. No one said anything though, and it was the only way to escape the relentless banging of the music.

Pool areas were clean, although quite crowded, and with 7 pools to chose from there was plenty of choice. Again the main pool was quite noisy and the favourite haunt of the many Russians at the hotel, but the other pools were much more relaxing.

The Spa and gym were also good with a fair range of weights and cardio machines, certainly enough to keep you ticking over whilst on holiday. The free 15 minute massages were of varying quality, but overall a good set-up.

In conclusion, the Sierra is a good hotel with friendly staff who made our holiday very enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you request 'Link 3' you'll be near the secondary pool, which is quieter. Although n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for all the positive and helpful observations.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our aim of ensuring your holiday was both relaxing and memorable.

May we thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sierra Resort in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is the first time in 35 years of travelling that I have ever been back to the same hotel but the Sierra proved worth it. I travelled with Thomas Cook this time given the overall value of the package - not least for the airport transfer so that taxi drivers do not try to rip you off at the airport! I cannot understand why this resort is not rated higher given its location, added value all inclusive benefits & importantly the key area of service. The staff seem to have a genuine desire to please - for example we asked to be moved twice without any problem & this was despite the fact that all the rooms are more than adequate & kept spotlessly clean. The hotel is situated in Sharks Bay adjacent to the fantastic Soho Square shopping & entertaiment complex & opposite its sister hotel the Savoy. Whilst not directly overlooking the sea it is a short shuttle ride - which runs every half hour - to a private beach with acces to a fantastic coral reef just off the jetty & a nice food court offering sandwiches & drinks all day. On site the Sierra has 6 great pools including an indoor pool within a Spa complex that offers a number of treatments albeit quite expensive. You do however get a free 15 min massage & sauna as part of a series of benfits including other vouchers for free bowling, ice skating and culture show in Soho square. Best of all however is the additional all inclusive drinks outside the hotel if you want a change ie at the Queen Vic pub just outside the resort & the main fountain bar in Soho Square where there is always some level of free entertainment. There is also entertainment every night at the hotel & the animation team work hard to provide the usual type of programme for all ages. There are other food courts & pool bars onsite which offer a variety of options to the main restaurant & bar. Whilst it is probably fair to say that the food is not 5* it is certainly not worthy of complaint & varied enough to satisfy all tastes. The food however may be the one thing that could be improved but there is again another significant benefit if guests want a change & that is the Akuna Matata food court option in Soho Square which offers a variety of fast food outlets which are again part of the all inclusive package. These are certainly not a la carte restaurants & not my cup of tea but great for families. There are however around 6-8 a la carte restaurants in Soho Square which give Sierra guests 35% off the bill - including restaurants in the Savoy - so we took advantage of these on a couple of occasions. The Sierra is well maintained throughout by hardworking gardeners & there is even a mini golf course in the grounds! Overall this is a superior hotel unlike most in Sharm where there is often little option other than to stay in & around the hotel complex. The fact that the Sierra is literrally adjacent to Soho Square - which is a top-class shopping & entertainment complex in its own right - is a real plus & the area of Sharks Bay is a far superior location than Naama Bay in my view. I really cannot understand anyone that can detract from its overall quality and whilst there may be a few small areas that could be improved, for outstanding location, value for money & service this should be in th top 10 resorts in Sharm in my view.

Room Tip: It is quieter away from the main pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is our pleasure to have provided you with a great holiday and wonderful time at our resort, where you were made to feel very welcome.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully in the near future, to enjoy another wonderful vacation.

Please, accept our warmest regards from Sierra Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the first time we have ever returned to the same hotel for a second time. We had such a great time last year we had to give it a second go. It did not disappoint!
We E:Mailed about two weeks before we arrived asking for a ground floor room with a pool view and we got a mail back telling us that they would try, and they delivered.
Great room, big walk in shower, clean. The cleaner Mohamed attended to everything we asked for and nothing was too much trouble.
Food was good and always something to please the palate
Soho square a great place to just go and chill out with no hassle.
Staff as always their usual happy selves and a special thank you to the following: Ossama (Lobby bar), Joseph and Emad (sunset bar and pool), Thank you for looking after us.
Congratulations to the babies that have been born since last year and the one's that are to come, (you do get time off!)
When we first arrived we said that we would probably not come back next year but after about a week I think we probably will.
Thank you to everyone at the Sierra and we will see you next year.
Colin and Liz Chapman

Room Tip: All the rooms around the sunset pool are quiet and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Chapman,
Thank you very much for your review.

It is always pleasing to hear that our guests were satisfied with the facilities and service during their vacation and that you plan to return at some stage in the future.

Once again, we thank you very much for your report and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Sierra Resort.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

just back yesterday from the sierra,from the time we arrived at check in everthing went so well.the staff are so friendly at reception and we were inroom in 10 minutes.spotless clean room.the hotel is kept spotless with cleaners and gardeners constantly working to keep it that way.the food is nicely presented and there is a good choice for all tastes.the staff in main restaurant keep everything flowing well so no waiting around to get table,waiter service for drinks and help yourself for food.we stayed at adult pool and here i must thank rafeel our pool attendant for being so helpful and for a chat and a laugh each day he is one of a kind so polite and can not do enough to help all guests he is a great asset to the hotel staff.also bishoy our barman at pool he will come around all day making sure u have all the drinks and snacks u need try his mango milkshakes well done and thanks to him also if u meet eid the gardener give him a smile and a wave hes a great laugh.last of all thanks to soby in looby bar for lookin after us so well.great location next to soho square also try restaurants there excellent food.lots to do in hotel and soho square if u wish ice skating bowling etc.all i can say is we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sierra Resort for your recent holiday and for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our aim of ensuring your holiday to be both relaxing and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I spent one week at the Sierra in March, it was our first time in Sharm so we had no idea what to expect. We need not have worried, the first bonus is the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Sharm airport. The hotel is lovely and the staff are great. The meals were nice, plenty of choice and we found that we didn't need to go out looking for an alternative place to eat. Service by the pool, bars etc. during the evening and in the restaurant was excellent. The rooms were nice enough but not a lot of wardrobe space and they were cleaned every day. The bath robes, slippers and toiletries were a nice touch.

We did get some free passes for the spa, massages, bowling etc. but we were so comfortable around the pool and enjoying the sun (avg temp 38 degrees) we didn't bother to go. Other people that did try it said it was nice.

Soho Square is nice for a quiet walk during the evening. To be fair there isn't much to do in / around the hotel so if you are looking for a really lively holiday this probably isn't the place for you. If you are looking for sun and relaxation though as we were you can't go wrong!

A few bits of advice for anyone that is new to Sharm as we found it a bit difficult to get this information: 1) you should have vaccinations before you go (we got them via the nurse at our GP practice and she looked up the recommendatation so knew eactly what we needed) 2) the exchange rate in Sharm was better than it was at home and we were told this isn't unusual 3) actually no-one was bothered about being paid in Egyption pounds, they offered everything (and I mean everything - shops / tips) for English money so I wouldn't worry about how much in EP's you take with you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our thanks to you for writing your lovely review with reference to your recent first holiday at our sunny Sierra Resort.

We very much appreciate your supporting words and it’s really wonderful for us that you enjoyed a relaxing, truly unforgettable experience at our resort.
We look forward to seeing you here once again here to spend another amazing stay with us

Kindly accept our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My sister, grandmother and I returned from the sierra last night after a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. We changed hotel last minute after hearing that our previous hotel was undergoing renovations, we are delighted that we did!
As mentioned by others this hotel is not a 5 star by our standards but the staff are amazing and we were treated like VIPs from the moment we arrived. The room was a little basic but had everything you need for a comfortable stay.
We spent most of our days at the adult only pool and it was very easy to relax. Joseph the lifeguard was very friendly and entertaining and always made sure we had a nice spot to relax. Emad at the bar had an amazing ability to read our minds, he'd be there with a drink just as you were thinking you we're thirsty! One day my grandma mentioned that she liked a Bloody Mary for breakfast and the next day he had one ready for her arrival.
The restaurant and bar staff were all great, Sobhy in the lobby bar needs a special mention as he was particularly entertaining and very good at his job.
Milad one of the managers and others helped us to practice our Arabic which was fun.
The food was good as breakfast was great, lunch at the snack bar was lovely and fresh and the restaurants in soho square are excellent value with the discount. The buffet was good but it's nice to have the option.
We also tried the spa and the massages were lovely.
Overall it is the staff that make this hotel, if you book it you will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is always pleasing to hear that our guests were satisfied with the facilities and service during their vacation and that you plan to return at some stage in the future.

Once again, we thank you very much for your report and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Sierra Resort.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sharm El Sheikh

Address: SOHO Square | PO Box 79, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#30 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#32 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#63 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sierra Sharm El Sheikh 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Sharm El Sheikh international airport and Na'ama Bay, the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh hotel is the perfect destination for those who want to explore the Red Sea and beyond or alternatively kick back and relax. The Sierra Sharm El Sheikh is superbly located next to Soho Square where you will find a variety of restaurants and bars, ten pin bowling, ice skating rink, the Ice Bar, daily entertainment shows and live bands. This is an exciting destination with enviable all year round temperatures.For more details please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sierra Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Egypt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.