We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Rotana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Rotana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Rotana Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sharks Bay | P.O.Box:296, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

we have just come back from a 1 week stay at the grand rotana. From the moment we arrived I was impressed welcomed by all staff in reception and upgraded without asking. We were on an ultra inclusive basis which included lunch and dinner at the al a carte restaurants. Breakfast was a little disappointing the same every morning, also bear in mind egypt is a muslim country so no pork is served. Silk road restaurant for dinner was amazing and we ate there every night. The hotel was very quiet probably only 30 people there so there was never a problem with sun loungers or slow service at the restaurants. I have a 3 year old son and he went to the kids club but there were hardly any children, only one or 2 egyptian children at any time. The girl who ran the club didn't seem to interract with the children very well and my little one didnt like going there much.
Rooms are a good size and everywhere is very clean. The sea is beautiful and you can see many tropical fish from the jetty or you can go snorkelling. Overall we had a great stay at this hotel and would definately go back when it is a bit busier!

Room Tip: rooms in building 1 are the best as they are close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Mrs. Amanda,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and please note that your comments will be shared with all concerned departments.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon in our lovely resort.

Best Regards,

Karim Nahas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    214
    82
    42
    30
See reviews for
211
396
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

spent wonderful time at your resort,best service,best hotel,spa,swimming pool,whole entertainment.will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Ms. Roza,

Thank you for your kind words and would like to assure you that your comments will be shared with all concerned departments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Karim Nahas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Rotana in January for a week as we were in need of some summer sun. We had a really lovely time and it will always be a special place to us as my partner proposed to me on the jetty over the sea, it was very romantic!

The hotel and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, comfy and clean. We had complimentary drinks on arrival which was a nice touch (especially as Easyjet had lost my suitcase so I was feeling particularly frazzled). It was very quiet when we stayed but the staff were attentive without being intrusive, at times we were the only people by the pool so it would be interesting to see how busy it gets in the summer.

The breakfast and evening buffets were incredible, so many delicious foods on offer from around the globe, something for everyone. We tried all restaurants and they were good. It certainly isn't cheap but the quality is good. The bar was good and we had a water pipe which was nice. One night we stuck around to see the belly dancer, I normally don't go in for organised entertainment but it was fun.

The snorkelling straight off the jetty was AMAZING. We went out on a day boat trip (my partner dived and I snorkelled) but I'd say the snorkelling right outside the hotel was just as good as the boat trip and free (if you're a hotel guest).

It really felt like real luxury and I would definitely go again, I didn't try the spa but I will next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon.

Regards,

Karim Nahas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

amazing hotel, amazing location. like paradise. rooms are i food is lovely, except for the buffet.whish we did not like the palms beachfront bar is excellent. we skipped breakfast and had late breakfast, early snacks (11.00am) at the mezzulana bar and palms such as chicken ceasare wrap feta wrap, cheese crossiants. hotel is huge, golf carts needed to get round and are at your room within minutes.majority of staff are lovely and very helpfull. air con is the best, and after staying at the hilton namma bay for one night unexpectdley (horrendous hotel), i would say say the air con is the coldest in sharm, which you need. rooms are excellent. pool is huge with water slide for adult and kids, infinity jacuzzi pool very relaxing, and we had our pick of sunbeds, even when we got up one day late at 11.00am. only downside first day we arrived at 11.30pm, onyl to be told nowere was open to get food or drink, an only way was to pay for room service even though we had payed for all inclusive, at least a courstey meal for that day would have been nice, also the hotel advertises a club, but this was not open at all and the sky bar has very little atompshere, and closes by midnight. very relaxing in the day, but to relaxing by night and a bit boring if not for this it would get 5/5.
ultra all inlcusive very good with vodkas rum most spirits and some cocktails inlcuded, and all food and snacks and ice cream, must do visit pacha on a thursday night, quad bikes through desert , and do a scuba dive, learner session in the pool and then half an hour down to 7meters in the red sea which is amazing and so clear with all the reefs and fish, for £40.00 is a must do

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Sir,

I was delighted to receive your comments regarding the service and hospitality provided by our team members.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is only through your valuable comments that we can continue to improve our products and services for you our valued guests. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team and share the good feelings you have experienced.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Karim Nahas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Grand Rotana Resort & Spa - Sharm EL Sheikh is considered a Luxurious Hotel , Yet with Good Price. I will give you a Brief about my stay experience ( 3 Night / BB ):
A - Room : Very Comfortable Rooms , Very Clean & everything seems to be still new or just re-innovated. They offer you daily complementary Bottle of Water in the room. Stick to Building "1" the nearest to Beach , Pool , Main Restaurant and Everything.

B - Staff : Very Polite Staff and friendly. During our Check-In , when the Receptionist knew that we will be travelling Back at 10:00 PM , she offers us a Late-Check-Out till 9:00 PM without Extra Charge. This is considered really a very nice touch from them. Most other hotels in Sharm EL Sheikh refuse to let you stay after 12:00 PM ( The Standard Check-Out Time ) even if you need just 1 Hour to avoid sleeping in the Reception until your Flight time.

C - Food : We were staying on BB Base , So we just tried the Breakfast ,But from the Quality of the Breakfast & the Different Selections , I can tell that the Dinner must be GREAT. We even met a British Couple and they also mentioned that they liked the food very much. You know, If the BRITS say it is Great then it is Really GREAT !. ( Main Restaurant serving the 3 usual Meals+ 1 Asian Cuisine + 1 Seafood Cuisine + 2 Snacks Bars ).

D - Pool : 1 Main Pool. Very Nice & Spacious and surrounded by many seating areas. You will always find a shady place near the Main Pool. Also there is the Jacuzzi Pool. It is a Heated medium Sized Pool with a Wonderful view over the Sea. Best time to use this one is from 5:00 PM till Sunset. And the Good thing that it is Never Crowded.

E - Beach : Very Long Beach with Seating Areas & Lazy Hammocks hanged from Palm Trees scattered everywhere. Again , you wont suffer until you find a Spot for you on the Beach. Different Spots and Views are available everywhere.

F - Overall Atmosphere: For those who likes a Relaxing Vacation. This is the PERFECT Place. For those who likes the Action and the Activities , Maybe you will get a little Bored. They used to have an Animation Team but due to Customer Complains they Stopped their Activities. We noticed that all the Animation Equipment is there ( Volleyball Playground , Tennis Court , Music on the Beach...etc ) , But the Animation Team are Not available.

G - Diving Center : Camel Diving Center. Excellent & Professional Diving Center. Thanks to Georgio - The Diving Center Manager.

H - Water Sports : There is a Resident Water Sports Hut on the Beach Called SharMania. They offer the usual Stuff ( Para-sailing , Speed Boat , Banana Boat , Excursions...etc ) and they are very friendly.

Room Tip: Building 1 is the Best. The Nearest to Everything , Beach , Pool & Main Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Mohamed,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you once aging in our lovely Resort.

Best Regards,

Karim Nahas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have visited Egypt many times and can say Grand Rotana met all of our expectations and more. The food is excellent with plenty of choice. The staff are friendly and genually seem happy in their work, always willing to help. All areas of the hotel are well kept and clean.
we had an amazing stay.
i would recommend this hotel for couples and families, there is something for all.

Room Tip: A room on the beach has fanastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was my second stay at the Grand Rotana within 6 months and it never fails to impress!

The hotel premises are functional & with beautiful landscaping giving easy access to the breathtaking beach front & amenities. The coral reef surrounding the beach here provides hours of incredible snorkeling fun.

The beach-front rooms offered breathtaking views and sunrises are a unique feature at this hotel. The sound & sight of the Palm Trees swaying in the wind are mesmerizing.

We stayed at the Grand Rotana in May 2012 as part of a Yoga Retreat and we could not have asked for a more idyllic setting. Daily Yoga sessions at the Lido Cafe at 6:30am is a memory I shall treasure forever!

Although the buffet luncheon was somewhat lacking in imagination the incredibly attentive and friendly staff - most notably Ahmed and Ramadan ~ who more than made up for it! The Palms Bar Seafood is delicious with generous portions and great sea views while dining.

One of the highlights of our stay was a Cruise to Tiran organised by the proficient Camel Dive Club. Special thanks go to Antonella and her team (Francesco & Tulio) for being such amazingly informative ambassadors of the Red Sea and it's hidden treasures. They gave their time generously and the boat lunch and dives they arranged were superb.

This was an amazing experience overall and I whole-heartedly recommend the Grand Rotana and look forward to going back again very soon!

Room Tip: Go for the beach front rooms - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Rotana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Rotana Resort & Spa

Address: Sharks Bay | P.O.Box:296, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#61 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Rotana Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms Bar & Grill Located on the beach front, Palms offers BBQ, Seafood catch of the day mixed grill, crispy salads and exotic cocktails throughout the day. Guests can relax under the shade of the beach hut and enjoy a refreshing drink while admiring the spectacular view of Tiran Island and the Red Sea. Palms Bar & Grill is included in the Ultra All Inclusive Formula Opening hours from 09:00 AM till 18:00 Pm In Winter from 19:00 PM till 22:30 PM In Summer from 09:00 Am till 18:00 PM & from 19:00 PM till 23:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Grand Rotana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Rotana Resort And Spa
Grand Rotana Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Rotana Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.