We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Rotana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Rotana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Rotana Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sharks Bay | P.O.Box:296, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Grand Rotana is definitely to be be recommended for those who want a quiet unstructured holiday with attentive and friendly staff.

The food is consistently good with prices equivalent to UK and cleanliness in bedrooms and public areas is of a high standard.

It was very nice to be up-graded to lovely sea view rooms and our request to be interconnected to our teenage daughter was met. Any small issues were immediately rectified by a phone call to reception (the shower did not work and the safe stopped functioning)

My husband & daughter had a complimentary massage due to our spend in the food outlets.

The large pool was not heated(very cold) but the infinity pool overlooking the sea was - I don't know if this was just the time of year.

We booked a Quad Safari through Sharmania (affiliated with hotel) - it was great fun, very safe and good value for money.

This is our second trip to Grand Rotana - we booked it through a package last year but returned independently this trip. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Mrs. Sarah,

Thank you for your kind words, We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and be sure that your comments will be passed on to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Karim Nahas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    214
    82
    42
    30
See reviews for
211
396
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I travel quite a lot; Grand Rotana was one of the best hotels / resorts I've been to, Great location, atmosphere, facilities, and very responsive and friendly staff. I do have some comments about house keeping quality and cleaningness not enough though to be a complain. Hotel manger and Reservation manger were very professional to start with in handling my booking, receptionist expected me and showed his concern because I didn't call for airport transportation (I decided to drive at the last minute) the hotel is just amazing, I was there during Eid holiday, so the hotel was like 100% occupied, it kind of affected the speed of service but they always called back and followed up. The only thing that really bothered me was the mosquitoes, they need to do something about it, I know there is not much to be done about that but still, I couldn't enjoy the balcony after sunset.

Room Tip: Building 1 is very convenient, located at the sea front and close to the pool, higher number are clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Elesseily,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please note that I have also discussed with the Departmental Managers concerned your remarks, and assure you that action will be taken to correct these points. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Karim Nahas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed three nights in November. Friendly service, great restaurants, great room and the snorkelling is great.
Don't miss this opportunity to come when crowds are down

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments will be passed on to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Karim Nahas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed at this hotel a few days ago on business trip for 3 nights. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

The Good:

Good room with a sea view, clean and spacious
Attentive and friendly staff
Prompt room service
Good onsite restaurants including a bar / grill on the beach with nice food and great atmosphere
Away from the touristy areas (15-20 mins) so quiet
Can smoke pretty much anywhere inside the hotel (although for some it may not be an advantage)
All amenities on site i.e. bank, exchange house, salon, shops etc although everything is overpriced as you can imagine in a hotel of this class

The Not so Good

Internet down for 2 days (service provider fault, not hotel's)
Room cleaning is not very prompt. Some days the room was clean and done by 1 pm and on others they were still cleaning at 4 or 5 when we go to our room

In summary, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please note that I have also discussed with the Departmental Managers concerned your remarks, and assure you that action will be taken to correct these points. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Karim Nahas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Club Rotana for one week from 10th November. Overall we were very happy with it. This was our 1st time in Sharm and didn't really know what to expect. All of the staff without exception were extremely helpful and friendly. It was great having breakfast each day in the small Club lounge away from the canteen feel of the main buffet. The complex was very well kept and surprisingly quiet especially in the evening. The room cleaning was adequate.Probably the best of the restaurants is Silk Road. We went there after a recommendation from Marcus, the head chef and were not disappointed. The other restaurants serve good food and are worth a try. My only criticism is the lack of availability of light snacks. If your feeling peckish at lunchtime there isn't any option apart from a full meal. The hotel arranged a couple of trips out for us and made sure that the transfers went smoothly. The glass bottom boat was a bit disappointing but I think that was more to do with the fact that is was too windy and the captain was struggling to keep the boat steady. The trip there and back by water taxi was alot of fun. The other trip we tried was quad biking. This was also good fun but there were too many people and we kept having to wait for the stragglers. The stops at the "Bedouin tents" was a waste of time. I loved the snorkelling which is just off the end of the jetty. Don't bother trying to get a spot by the infinity pool, it's taken over by the Russians! However the main pool is huge. There is entertainment every night in the Sky Bar but it's far enough out of the way if its not what you want. One of the days we took a taxi to the old market. What a horrible place! It was dirty and smelly. Maybe its better in the evening when darkness covers a multitude of sins and everything is open. We certainly wouldn't have risked eating in one of the restaurants after what we had seen. As long as you are firm, you don't get hassled too much. If you are looking for sun and relaxation then this would be a good place to try

Room Tip: Ground floor room facing the sea are lovely and have their own small garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel and swimming pool are good.
The swimming dress of my son was stolen from the balacony room. So, do not reserve or accept any room at the ground floor. Especially, the hotel does not pay any attention or do anything seriously. Even, we do not hear sorry from any hotel staff.
Dr. Sherif Kassem
sherif_kassem@yahoo.com

Room Tip: Do not reserve or accept any room at the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Mr. Sherif,

Thank you very much for getting in touch with us and i would like first of all, to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Please be informed that we checked with our lost & found department regarding your missing stuff and nothing was handed over to them.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience that it may have caused you and would like to assure you that this situation does not reflect that our standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Karim Nahas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

went there in october with my friends and had an amazing time! From the beginning to the end the staff were extremely helpful, answering all our queries on the spot! we had an upgrade straight away which was really nice with a sea view.
The food was very tasty, the best restaurant to go to would be the one on the beach - nice selection of seafood!
There are all the facilities you need while on a beach holiday - the spa room, tennis court, gym, even opera in the evenings!
Special thanks to the lifeguards on the jetty that really helped and motivated us to do some snorkelling, otherwise we would have missed the chance to see the most beautiful corals and fishes!
so definitely going back there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Rotana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Rotana Resort & Spa

Address: Sharks Bay | P.O.Box:296, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#61 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Rotana Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms Bar & Grill Located on the beach front, Palms offers BBQ, Seafood catch of the day mixed grill, crispy salads and exotic cocktails throughout the day. Guests can relax under the shade of the beach hut and enjoy a refreshing drink while admiring the spectacular view of Tiran Island and the Red Sea. Palms Bar & Grill is included in the Ultra All Inclusive Formula Opening hours from 09:00 AM till 18:00 Pm In Winter from 19:00 PM till 22:30 PM In Summer from 09:00 Am till 18:00 PM & from 19:00 PM till 23:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Grand Rotana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Rotana Resort And Spa
Grand Rotana Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Rotana Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.