We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent by all means” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Gardens Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #8 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,676 Reviews
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent by all means”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

One of the best hotels in Sharm Elshiekh .... I have been there for 4 nights with my family... Check in was very is simple ... Room was spacious and with very nice view. Pools are very good. Breakfast buffet was excellent but the dinner buffet was not the same level (but still good). The free access to the Spa is very nice add-on. The hotel need to start thinking about some renovation ... However the overall quality is still very good. I did not see any animation team. Simply: I recommend this hotel for everyone.

Room Tip: High floor to have good view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Islam

Thank you very much for staying with us here at the Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh.
I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed our hotel, the facilities and services provided.
Your comment with regard to renovation are well taken, we continuously working on soft refurbishment of our facilities to maintain and to improve our standards.

We would much look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future, and it would be a pleasure to be of your assistance again.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    351
    107
    39
    20
See reviews for
420
793
47
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Hyatt. This was our first time visiting sharm el sheikh and I have to stay if it wasn't for the beautiful hotel it would not have been a great holiday and we would not be returning. Apart from snorkelling/scuba diving there is little to see or do without it taking up too much time. The old market is not a cultural experience it is not nice, and as for soho square, it is a tacky tourist attraction with no nice restaurants and a lot of shops selling fake designer goods- was an experience i'd rather not have bothered with!

However, as for the Hyatt, the location was absolutely perfect, about 5/10 mins from the airport but you would never know it while you're there. The hotel is located on a hill and there are 3 pools that are designed beautifully. 3 restaurants are all lovely- Sala Thai being fav, and beach bar is gorgeous for lunch. Breakfast has everything you can ask for and more including chefs freshly preparing pancakes and omelettes in front of you. Ate at the Souk restaurant one night where all inclusive meals are provided. There is a good range but would not recommend going all inclusive in comparison! The hotel restaurants are the gem of the place and the souk restaurant is always very busy and you are forced to watch ghastly live performances.

The gym is good and the beach is peaceful with a jetti where you can rent snorkles if your not planning to dive and can see the fish and coral not far from the hotel beach, at your own pace and time.

The best thing about the whole place is the staff. They are all so attentive and make your stay that much better.They are all so helfpul and never annoying and don't expect tips- all tips are shared out between all the hotel staff. The staff always put as at ease about asking for anything or asking any questions, this welcoming aspect was the highlight of our holiday and we would love to go back!! This was the most relaxing holiday ever and as a young couple was our best yet! The hotel was not busy during june- mainly older english couples and young russians and young egyptian families. From now on we will always trust the Hyatt Regency hotel chain and have had an amazing holiday well worth its value!!
If you want a quiet, relaxing get away for a short stay in the sun this is your place. If you don't like the sun and heat and you like some activity and culture do not go to sharm el sheikh.


My one and only fault i would have is, the free wifi is only available in the reception foyee, which some people complain about but i did not see it as an issue in the slightest. However, the wifi is service is terrible it is awfully slow and really needs improvement! Secondly, noticed a few areas where construction could be dealt with- poolside drainage broken all the way along on 2nd pool, and decor in cafe fresco where breakfast is served is rather dated.

Room Tip: Nearest to beach so easier access to pools and beach. Higher than ground level so sea view is seen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Jennifer

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hyatt, as well as for your detailed review. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time with us, in particular with your comments towards our restaurants. Credit to Chef Hartmut and Director of F&B Brian and their culinary teams, which surely I will pass on to them.

Also I am very glad to read that the service of our associates met your expectations, making you feel welcome and taken care of.

We are working currently on a WIFI solution for all guest rooms - currently free in the Regency Club lounge and at low speed in the hotel lobby.

Last but not least, we have a maintenance program in place to include an ongoing soft refurbishment program for our guest rooms, to maintain our facilities back and front of house.

We would hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future, please do let us know if ever could be of any assistance.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Hyatt and all in all it was a very enjoyable holiday. On our arrival we were told that we had been given a room upgrade but if this was so I am not sure that I would have liked the original allocation. Our room was at the far end of the boundary of the development, on the ground floor, and I felt was in need of modernisation. None of the furniture or furnishings matched and the armchair looked as though it had seen better days. However, the beds were amazingly comfortable, the room was kept very clean and being on the ground floor, was a very easy walk down to the beach.

As the hotel occupancy was very low, presumably due to peoples' fears (I understand unfounded in this area of Egypt) about possible political uprisings, there was never any competition for the best places around the pools or on the beach. We also felt that because of this there was no need to upgrade to the Regency Club - the general pools were all virtually empty and the different areas of the beach meant that you could be on your own if you wanted. The reef in front of the hotel is fantastic but sadly it is not a secret. Every weekday up to 30 dive boats would moor off the beach and empty hundreds of divers/snorkellers into the water for an hour or so which inevitably brought much noise to shatter the peace of the day. Thankfully only a few moored over the weekend.

Although breakfast was very good we did not feel that the food in the restaurants in the evening, other than the Thai restaurant, was anything above OK. However, a trip into Neema Bay provides a good selection of restaurants and is only a short taxi ride away. It is always worth asking the gate guard to talk to the taxi driver before you get in to confirm exactly what you will be paying or alternatively, for a few extra pounds over the price of a taxi, the hotel will provide an air conditioned car to take you wherever you want.

Although the above contains some negatives, these were definitely outweighed by the positives - the wonderful staff who could not do enough to help, the beautiful grounds, the beach front with access to the sea and the amazing reef. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Hyatt Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us, as well as for your constructive feed-back. My apologies if the allocated room did not meet your expectations, I can assure you we are working with a continuous soft refurbishment program to maintain and to improve our facilities.

I agree with you the number of boats out at our house reef can be annoying at times, unfortunately the area is beyond our direct control and we frequently voice our concerns with the authorities for better control.

I am pleased to read you appreciated our Thai restaurant, which I would say is one of the best dining venues in and around Sharm, yet I regret you weren't impressed with the other dining facilities. If you would have a minute and could send me a mail at stefan.gaessler@hyatt.com with some additional comments of how we could improve, I would be most grateful.

Last but not least, we look forward to welcoming you back again to our resort in the near future, please do contact us if ever we can be of any assistance.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rnd
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited Hyatt Regency Sharm in previous August. Those stay was really beautiful: very nice room (in 5th building, as I remember), excellent food (we were at B&B basis, so we eat at Sala Thai restaurant and tasted room service - both of them were very good and tasty, breakfasts were good too).
Beautiful territory, plants and pools, polite and friendly staff - everything for guests. We were at Hyatt after Ramadan holiday, so there were a lot of guests, but even in the situation of full-booking, the hotel did it best.
Next week (July, 9) we are going to visit Hyatt Regency again! Hope our stay will be even more nice, than previous one!

Igor&Anna Kalashnikov from Russia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Anna

Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back next week. You might be worried about the situation and I can assure you yet so far, Sharm is as normal as ever, feel free to contact us again prior to departure.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ive visited this lovely hotel for my one year anniversary 3 weeks back. It was a lovely experience,
everybody made me and my wife feel like home and special, from the most Junior of staff to the General Manager him self. What I love about this hotel is that the grounds are beautiful, you can walk around endlessly and never get tired of the view. The resturants are all top noch.

Its a shame the Egypt is going through some political problems, but that didnt stop the Hyatt to give its all. And luckelly Sharm is not effected with this at all.

I would strongly recommened this hotel to anyone that will go to Sharm.

Advise, its worth paying a little extra for the club room and its benefits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Rawahih

Thank you very much for staying with us, I m very pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us, and in particular the gardens. We indeed put a lot of attention to the grounds and landscaping, employing close to sixty gardeners who are doing a great job.

Unfortunately the country is going again through some tough times, even though here in Sharm yet so far it is business as usual - we all hope for the best.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked a last minute honeymoon, and all we wanted was sun, sea and relaxation, with a bit of added luxury.

The Hyatt met our brief perfectly. Quick and friendly check in, then driven to rooms in golf cart. Room was modern and easily met 5 star standards. Lovely comfy bed and linens, flat screen with good range of English channels. All the expected amenities - Mini bar/tea & coffee facilities, fridge, robes, slippers, walk in shower, lots of wardrobe and draw space, toiletries, safe, fresh fruit and flowers kindly left for us by our cleaner. We had a great view of the sea, and a nice quiet private balcony to have an evening drink. The room was very clean ( just a hair in the bath) and cleaners came twice a day to check you had everything you needed. Everything we used was replenished every day.

All the staff were so friendly, always greeting you. Special mention to Sabah at the Souk, Handy, Cascades Team Leader, and Mohammad the breakfast pancake chef. But they are just a few, all the staff are a credit to the hotel!

Grounds and pools were beautiful and were always being cleaned and maintained, with good service around the pools for drinks/towels etc. 3 pools cascaded down the hill, all with great landscaping and features- waterfalls, river, jacuzzis, etc. Plenty of sun loungers and no silly towel reserve service. Adults only pool was our favourite, very peaceful. We were glad too that the kids club and pool was away from the adults pool. Nice private sandy beach too, lots of spaces for sunbeds and lovely shallow water. Jetty and on site diving centre were a great addition. The hotel is located in a top area for snorkelling, so enjoy! Waiter service on beach kept me stocked up with cocktails, and beach side restuarant served the best prawn wraps. Making my mouth water thinking about them!

We were staying B & B, so we ate at the hotel only when we didn't want to venture to Naama Bay 5 mins in a taxi away ( a bit too loud and tacky for us, but food is up to 1/3 cheaper than in the hotel, just remember to factor in the taxi fare and haggle, every driver tried to charge us more than the last). Although the hotel food was worth every penny. Breakfast was in a sunny room over looking the pools down the hill to the beach. Great way to start the day, a huge choice from fresh pancakes/waffles/eggs cooked to your liking, to fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, cheeses, English breakfast. All with lots of fresh juice. Not a big fan of the coffee but that's me being picky as a coffee lover.

We also ate in The Souk, open air dining at its best. We had a choice of lots of freshly cooked cuisine, from Italian, Asian, Egyptian, Steak bar, fresh seafood. The entertainment was here as well and did the job, fire breathing, dancers etc. But loved The Souk, had a great feel to it, lots if atmosphere, great staff and food. Shishas are available here to have at your table. And loved the coin concept, a bit of fun but it did add something ( just make sure you do your sums when ordering to keep track of your spending).

Cascades pool side cafe was also good, burgers especially. But all food here to us was 5 star, we love good food and were not let down once.

Drinks - we drank mainly beer and cocktails, well considered cocktail menu especially in The Piano bar. Cocktails had enough alcohol and were well executed.

Shops upstairs around the roof of the Souk had a range of stuff from swim wear to jewellery, gifts and a salon. But a bit pricey in the shop that sold toiletries/ magazines. Nearly £10 for a 2 month out of date fashion mag! I read all my books too fast, so ran out of poolside reading. There were bookshelves by each pool but 90% of the books were Russian, French and German. Not an issue but I would like to suggest stocking daily European newspapers in the shop. Although a poolside waiter went searching for English books for me bless him! That's service!

So all it all we had a wonderful time here. I was worried about getting ill as it was my first time in Egypt, but everything was so clean here there was nothing to worry about and bottled water was provided free in the rooms. The staff were so friendly, they loved their jobs and you could tell.

And finally - what made our trip was a snorkelling trip booked via our Thompson rep from the Old Market. We swam past a stingray and saw dolphins, wow! The reefs in Sharm are great for snorkelling ( although sadly they are declining and losing their colour due to tourism).

Also being invited for complimentary cocktails with the General Manager Stefan was a nice touch. Congratulations on a wonderful hotel.

I would go back again in a flash and will book again for my birthday in the winter. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Hyatt Guest

Thank you very much for your visit and your positive and detailed review. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed our hotel, facilities and services provided, I will surely pass on your comments to our teams, and in particular to those employees who you have mentioned by name.

We indeed invest a lot in our gardens and landscaping in general which in particular during the hot summer months June - September can be a challenge, we are fortunate to have our own desalination plant on site which makes us independent from local water supplies, and in addition to ensure consistent water quality for our guests.

Plenty of dining options down-town, to include all major fast food restaurants, in addition to a vast variety of clubs and discotheques, operating until the early morning hours.
The best with the taxi drivers is to negotiate and agree on a fixed amount before you enter the car.

We pride ourselves for very strict and high hygiene standards, our hotel is one of the very few which are certified on ISO 22,000, which includes our own hygiene department and close partner ship with an external consultant, to regularly audit and inspect our facilities.

We would hope to welcome you back soon back again, please do let us know if ever we could be of any assistance.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Occupancy during the week we went, the last in May, was low. We got great pool and beach side seats whenever we wanted. Service was great as was the snorkelling, gym and spa. Food was expensive, count on around 50-60 gbp per day for two for lunch and dinner. We ate in the courtyard area once, which was cheaper, and though the food was good the music/shows were, for us, not what we wanted to accompany our dinner.
Only bugbear is the cost of water, thoroughly unnecessary to charge 2.2 gbp per 1.5ltr when its 70 pence for 5ltrs in a local shop.
We will be going back and will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Hyatt Guest

Thank you for staying with us at the Hyatt, reading your review I assume that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and already at this stage we would look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

I do understand your concern with regard to the restaurant prices, which i can assure are in line with other hotels of this level in the destination. This also considering that we pride ourselves for using prime products, of which many are imported and therefore come at a higher cost.
Obviously we won't be able to compete with the local shop when it comes to the selling price for water, since the shop keeper is fortunate by not having operational expenses like a hotel of this size.

Nevertheless and as earlier mentioned, we would be pleased to welcome you back again, please contact us if ever we can be of any assistance.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort

Address: Gardens Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#33 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tipped as Egypt’s most lavish hospitality resort, Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh combines ultimate luxury and exotic style on the edge of an aqua oasis in South Sinai. Three beach coves lead to one of the most spectacular diving sites, the Gardens Bay. The rooms are large and comfortable, with stunning sea views and all the comforts of modern living presented at the highest standards. Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh’s many and various in-house facilities offer something for everyone; the array of bars and restaurants will satisfy the most discriminating gourmand, the Kid’s Club will keep the younger guests entertained while Club Olympus houses a fully equipped gym and aerobics studio and its Moorish style spa area offers sauna, steam bath, whirlpool and plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hyatt Sharm El-Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.