We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As usual great☺” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Gardens Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #8 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 Reviews
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“As usual great☺”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What can i say.... As always Hyatt will never disappoint you. The hotel is perfect in every way (the only complain would be about the mosquitos, but again mosquitos are all over all Sharm's hotels). The beach is beautiful, the pools are great, my son loves the slide more than any other water park. The rooms have a spectacular view. The food is excellent ( the best breakfast ever in Sharm el-sheikh ). The entertainment is good. The stuff are all nice, and more than qualified. Thanks again Hyatt for always being the same luxury great friendly hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Hyatt Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us again. It is very nice to read that you have again enjoyed our hotel, facilities and services provided.
Indeed the mosquitos can be a plague and we are doing our best with fumigation in the early morning hours and again in the early evening, in addition to the special plugs in the rooms, but as you already mentioned, this seems to be an issue all over the Sharm depending on the season.

We would hope to welcome you back again to our resort soon, please do let us know if ever we can be of assistance in the meantime.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    351
    107
    39
    20
See reviews for
420
794
47
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our fourth time at what is considereed the number 2 hotel (after 4 Seasons) in Sharm. Reception in particular is poor.No welcome greeting and promises to phone back for various issues never materialising. Our first room was in the newly renovated block next to the Regency Club pool but since that was rightly reserved for Club guest our pool was a fair walk away. They suggested we order a Golf Buggy but I felt this an inconvenience.We sometimes need to go back to the room and didn't want to wait until the pool boy was around to call a buggy. The next day they moved us to a room close to the pool with excellent views but noticably in need of renovation. The shower door wouldn't close so the bathroom floor was always wet if anyone had a shower. We were told it woudl be put right but wasn't. The make up mirror was also facing the sink and couldn't be manouvered so impossible to use it.We had to call for soap and creamer as they were not always replenished.
There are good points e.g., most of the staff are excellent. A lot of employees who had been with the hotel many years had gone home and some newer member of staff do not yet have the Hyatt ethic of customer service. Our room cleaner was obvioulsy expecting a tip as he followed us all over on our last day. I do believe in tipping and gladly tipped many who I felt had looked after us really well. The food is excellent and the various speciality restauarants are a credit to the hotel and the equal of top eateries anywhere.We ordered the limousines airport transfer service which I consider excellent value at £20 each way. Its not far but its a great start and finish to be transported in a Mercedes with water and magazines on hand. There is a regular shuttle service into Naama Bay but we never left the hotel this year.
I dont like to critisise the hotel as the General Manger is a hard working porfessional copying in difficult times as tourist shy away from Egypt and the fully inclusive and lower priced resorts are attracting the available tourist more than the high end venues. Its still good but not as it was.And Naama Bay is a little tacky.
Some friends of ours - who we met at the hotel last year - had an issue in a jewellers and lost £90 when the owner said the credit card terminal was rejecting their card and they have to pay cash. He accompanied them to the bank and they inadvertantly overpaid. When they realised their mistake they went back to the shop who obviousy denied the overpayment. They had the bank tickets and went straight to the Tourist police to complain. As it was one persons word against another there was a stalemate. The shop eventually agreed to offer half the loss and paid back £90 leaving our friends still £90 out of pocket. A gesture of good faith they said but a lesson to be learnt. Egypt is great and we'll go back to Luxor again but for our love affair with Sharm el Sheihk is over.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the pools if you intend spending time sunbathing there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Hyatt Guest

Thank for staying with us at the Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh, as well as for your constructive feed-back which will contribute to maintain and to improve our standards.
You detailed report obviously single out areas of concern, which I may assure you will be addressed internally and to take corrective action accordingly.

We are continuously working on updating our facilities both front and back of house which includes soft refurbishments of our guest rooms.

It is indeed that due to the decrease of tourism a number of employees had left the country to look for employment outside Egypt, yet we would hope that with gradual business recovery some will return sooner or later.

Credit to our new Executive Chef Hartmut and his culinary team, for their consistent and creative performance.
I agree with you the extra money for a private limousine is very well spend and ensues hassle free transportation, even though I can also recommend our free hotel shuttle three times a day to Namaa Bay and back to the hotel.

I truly regret your friends' back experience with the shop downtown, which I don't think is the norm, yet any case of abuse should rightfully reported to the tourism police.

Despite your somewhat unpleasant experience, we would hope to welcome you back to our resort again in the future, it would be our pleasure to be of assistance with your arrangements.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Regency Club for 4 days and we didn't want to leave! extremely quite & clean. Everybody at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The reef is breathtaking. we specially enjoyed the Regency club for privacy, private pool, beach & dining areas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Hyatt Guest

Thank you very much for your visit and vote of confidence as the best hotel in Sharm. I am very pleased to read you were satisfied with all the arrangements and enjoyed your stay with us.

Truly our house reef is considered as one of the prime spots in the area, easily accessible though the jetty at our beach.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort in the future, please let us know if we can of any assistance in the meantime.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We love this hotel it's chic but not too posh that you would be made to feel uncomfortable. Quiet understated luxury, calm and tranquil surroundings, set in beautiful gardens with three pools on three levels. The best snorkelling reef right on your own door step. Good food entertainment is ok but low key but improving. The souk restaurant is a winner as is the Thai. Staff can't do enough for you they love the Brits because we are polite and grateful for all they do for us. Rooms are a bit tired but everything is still comfortable and we are not in our rooms for long. Lots of walking so not ideal for the anyone with difficulty with mobility but they do have golf type buggies to run guests around. There are Mosquitos so take jungle juice with you. Only 35 percent occupancy so come on visit Sharm it's safe and a long way from Cairo where there is a small spot of bother. This is an ideal winter escape weather guaranteed to be hot we like May the best and only five hours from Luton. Immigration is a nightmare they can't get it right with long queues coming and goi g u fortunately. But once you have passed this irritation you will be in paradise. We had massages this time in the spa which were amazing. Just topped off our wonderful visit. We will return again next year. Fingers crossed. One tip we settled our bill daily to avoid any confusion.

Room Tip: Sea front only for us or regency if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Hyatt Guest,

Thank you very much for your fifth visit, thank you for your support and loyalty to our hotel. It is very nice to read that again you have enjoyed our hotel. facilities and services provided.
In particular you mentioned the Souk and Sala Thai, credit to the Executive Chef Hartmut and his culinary team as well as Chef Awon from Bangkok and her team mastering the Woks.

We do our best to maintain and to improve our facilities back and front of house with continuous upgrades and improvements, yet thank you for your constructive feed-back.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back 'home' for a sixth time soon, please contact us if ever we could of any assistance.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Hyatt in sharm is the best every body says that in sharm , the staff can do anything for you happily, they have great reef and coral for snorkeling on the beach , I can say the breakfast is really nice and very tasty , free shuttle to airport and free shuttle to nemma bay ( night market , shesha , restaurant , entertainment ,....) till early morning . Thank you Hyatt for upgrading me to a suite my wife was very happy .

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mohiddin

Thank you very much for your review and positive feed-back, I am very pleased to read you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the hotel facilities and services provided.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again to our resort in the not too distant future, please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This Hotel I have stayed at several times on trips to Egypt. Every part of the hotel is squeaky clean.
The rooms have always been good and the breakfast buffet one of the best that I have known. Special thanks to Pierre in at the bank within the hotel, who was extremely helpful.
Had supper one night on the end of the floating jetty, best place ever to experience the sun going down or rising.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Mr Richard

Thank you very much for staying with us again. It is very to read that you have again enjoyed our hotel, the facilities and services provided.

I will make sure Pierre at the bank will receive your comments, he indeed is doing a great job as the branch manager of the Arab African Bank.

Please to hear you enjoyed the special dinner on the jetty, truly a great spot for a romantic setting.

We would hope to welcome you back again to our resort in the future, please let us know if ever we could be of any assistance.

Kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

So, our third visit and were welcomed with "Welcome Home" and that's just how it feels. We love it here and we will be going back for a fourth, fifth,...............visit.
The Regency Club allows us to do what we like on holiday-relax, swim, relax, relax, drink, eat, relax, swim and so on. The staff are exceptional and many have been there every year. The rooms and large, clean and well equiped and lovingly looked after by the staff. Food choice is great throughout the hotel and the coral reef just off the beach is spectacular. Please look after it if you go and dont walk on it!!
Special mention if I may to Mahmoud in the club and Shoeb on the beach. He could not do enough for us. Good luck on his wedding day in June.
Thanks again Hyatt Sharm we love you!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Melvyn

Thank you very much for staying again with us at the Hyatt, your continued loyalty and support are much appreciated.
It will be with great pleasure to pass on your comments to our teams and in particular to Mahmoud and Shoeb.

It is very nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us for the third stay and we would look forward to welcome you back 'home' for many more times in the future, please do contact us if ever we could be of any assistance.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort

Address: Gardens Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#33 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tipped as Egypt’s most lavish hospitality resort, Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh combines ultimate luxury and exotic style on the edge of an aqua oasis in South Sinai. Three beach coves lead to one of the most spectacular diving sites, the Gardens Bay. The rooms are large and comfortable, with stunning sea views and all the comforts of modern living presented at the highest standards. Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh’s many and various in-house facilities offer something for everyone; the array of bars and restaurants will satisfy the most discriminating gourmand, the Kid’s Club will keep the younger guests entertained while Club Olympus houses a fully equipped gym and aerobics studio and its Moorish style spa area offers sauna, steam bath, whirlpool and plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hyatt Sharm El-Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.