We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own private aquarium” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Gardens Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Red Sea Sunshine
Ranked #9 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Your own private aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had been promised a sea view room. You could see a narrow strip of sea above the rooves of other rooms and the rugs were badly stained. They changed our room without argument and all was good from then on. Breakfasts are excellent. Restaurant on beach poor with no prawn dishes on menu. Thai restaurant was very expensive. We were told that we had to book a table to ensure we could have a Thai meal but ony 5 tables were occupied! Snorkelling was fantastic with reef just off the beach with huge variety of fish of all colours and sizes. All staff were incredibly helpful and we would like to stay again. An easy hop from UK for a weeks visit.

Room Tip: Ask for South facing room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Mr Ray

Thank you for staying with us at the Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh. My apologies if the first room was not up to your expectation and we will check on the rugs in the rooms, to eventually replace those in need. At the same time I am pleased to read that our associates solved the situation immediately and to your satisfaction.

Our new Executive Chef Hartmut is currently working on new menus and I will pass on your comments with regard to the Prawns.
Wtih all due respect I can't see prices in Sala Thai as overly expensive, the average spent per person (excl tax and service) is about 200 Egyptian Pount equivalent to about 19 Pound Sterling. Agreeably imported alcoholic beverages can be on the high side due to the 350% import taxes.

Reservations shouldn't be "a must" but are recommended, for us to better allocated preferred in-door or outdoor seating, which pending on the season of year can be a challenge, this in addition to unforeseeable last minute walk-in customers.

Very nice to read your comment with regard to staff friendliness, which surely I will pass on to our teams.

indeed our house reef is one of the nicest in the area, perfect for either an easy snorkeling or a deep sea dive.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    351
    107
    39
    20
See reviews for
418
793
47
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have recently returned from The Hyatt in Sharm and it is definitely up there with one of the best holidays we have had. The hotel is nearly perfect as the other reviews state, it is beautifully maintained, with stunning gardens a very nice private beach and three pools one of which is for adults. (This is strictly enforced). The staff are all excellent, very friendly and helpful and the breakfast and dinners are the best we have had in any hotel. Breakfast is HUGE with just about every choice you could possibly want. The Souk in the evening is not only a clever concept but also excellent and if Thai is your thing then that is good too... we went twice in two weeks.

It is worth noting that The Souk is included in your half board which is just as well because if it wasn't it would severely limit your evening options. It is also worth noting that happy hour is quite reasonable with two beers costing around £5.00 and a bottle of Egyptian red wine at dinner around £20.00.

Our room was lovely. We asked for a sea view room which from what I could see was the majority of rooms but if you want to ensure a good view e-mail the hotel before you go and ask for a higher floor room as we did. I am not too sure if we had a refurbished room or not but it was large with a very comfy bed, fridge, bath and separate shower and a great view. Another good tip is to take some strong mosquito repellant, believe me you will need it. We did and were not bothered them unlike some of the other guests who seemed to get bitten quite badly.

We went out to Naama Bay only once during out two week stay. I would say it is for the 18-30 crowd and from what I hear is very lively in the evenings. We went during the day and you need to be prepared to be harassed by traders. On the way to Naama Bay we passed a variety of hotels that we had looked at prior to booking the Hyatt and we are so glad we dismissed them. Certainly The Hyatt is quiet and probably too quiet for some but if you want the buzz that Naama Bay offers then there are plenty of hotels there to choose from or if you are in the Hyatt it is just a short taxi ride away.

Not all hotels are perfect and there are a couple of negatives some of which I accept are not entirely the hotels fault. During our first week there was an Egyptian holiday and the local families that were guests came across as not only rude, but also wasteful. The men would shuffle around two yards in front of their wives and kids constantly on the phone. Phone's should be banned in the restaurants but I would imagine if this was enforced the hotel would go bust! These local families would also stock pile huge amounts of food on their table only to then leave it. One man and his wife we witnessed at breakfast collected a vast amount of cakes and a salad that the husband carefully garnished with olive oil and lemon juice only to then leave it to the ever present sparrows whilst he had a cigarette. On the way out we passed his wife spooning Nutella onto a freshly made crepe! When you see some of the poverty in Egypt the people who do this should be ashamed. Lastly on the negatives are the usual problems that most hotels face and that is noisy air conditioning and sunbed reserving. God only knows why as there are lots of sunbeds which by the way are unbelievably comfortable.

These negatives whilst annoying would not stop us returning to this fabulous hotel. If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings you would be hard pushed to beat the Hyatt.

Finally should you go you are bound to meet Gamal in the Cascades restaurant, Islam in the Thai and Butros in the bar. All three are genuinely nice people, it was a pleasure to meet them and the Hyatt is luck to have them as staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room. Take mosquito spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Mr Holly,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting your feed-back. I am very pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and services provided.

We are indeed proud of our gardens and landscaping, a crew of up to sixty gardeners are working around the clock in maintaining the various areas, which particular in summer can be a challenge due to increased water consumption as a result of the hot weather conditions.

Glad you liked the various swimming pools which are heated throughout the winter months from October - April up to 28 degrees.

Our Souk Restaurant is actually based on Arabian Market concept with different food stalls, in addition to the coins being used as symbolic payment.
Credit to Chef Awon and her team at the Sala Thai restaurant, which has become over years I would say one of the preferred dining venues in and around Sharm El Sheikh.

Mosquito can be a plague in Sharm, depending on the season, this despite our fumigation of the property in the early morning and again in the evening.

Indeed Naama Bay should be explored at night, when all the shops and bazaars are in full operation, in addition to the colorful lighting which gives it all a very lively feel. Yes, be aware of sometimes "aggressive" shop keepers, trying to sell and sell more..

It seems you had stayed with us during the busy Egyptian school break with the hotel running close to capacity. My apologies for any inconvenience caused during that period. I agree with you and wish we could ban mobile phones - yet it might well cause another revolution.

Thank you for your comments for Gamal, Islam and Butro, it will be pleasure to pass it on each one of them.

Last but not least, it would be pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and if ever we could be assistance in allocation a specific room, please do let us know.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Very grand hotel and fantastic personal beach with wonderful coral to explore everyday!
We asked for a sea view room as it was our honeymoon and basically got a view of a tree! I was told the sea was in that direction. We then got moved to a room where we could see the sea and it was great until we got told we were being moved due to refurbs! ... Finally settled in a room with an even better view right within a stones throw from the beach so despite the hassle we got there in the end!
The room cleaning guys always did a fab job so got a good tip!
The food got a bit annoying after two weeks especially at lunch time as we would of liked a cold lunch now and then but breakfast was amazing despite the long que.
The pools were great and always found somewhere with no trouble.
I would defiantly reccomend this hotel and would go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for staying with us for your honey-moon. My sincere apologies with regard to the assigned room, I agree with you that in particular for honey mooners the best room possible should be made available. I m glad that eventually the situation could be sorted out to your satisfaction.

I am very pleased to read that our housekeepers did a good job, and I would imagine your gesture of a tip was much appreciated.

Your comments with regard the food are duly noted and our new Executive Chef, Hartmut, previously at the Park Hyatt Canberra in Australia, is working on various changes in this regard, my apologies for the queues during breakfast, it seems you had been here during a peak period when the hotel was running to capacity.

Indeed we are fortunate with our various pools to include a lazy river pool, the middle pool with water slide as well as what we call the quite pool exclusively for adults. This in addition to secluded private beaches with its own jetty to ensure direct access to the sea.

We would hope to welcome you back again to our resort, in the meantime best and sunny regards from Sharm El Sheikh,

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been going to this hotel for many years and have always had a great holiday.
The hotel is in a great location. The gardens are well established and no matter what time of the year we visit, there are beautiful flowers everywhere.
The hotel is in Gardens Bay and there are five dive sites for the scuba enthusiasts. The snorkelling is pretty amazing too!
The staff are very friendly and good with children. They cannot do enough for their guests and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We always enjoy the food in the resturants, the quality is very good and cooked to a high standard.
I am a Celiac and Chef is always happy to make gluten free bread and cakes for me.
Sharm is still suffering from the recent events in Egypt. We have continued to travel to Sharm during these difficult times and never felt we were not safe.

If you want a 5 star hotel with outstanding facilities then the Hyatt in Sharm is the one you should book.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mrs Annie

Thank you very much for being one of our repeat customers, coming back to our resort year after year. It is very nice to read you enjoyed you stay, the hotel facilities and services provided.

Indeed we are very fortunate with our preferred location to be at the "entrance" to Nama Bay, and for having one of the nicest reefs and beaches in the area, which makes ideal for both snorkelers but also experienced divers, to experience the beauty the Red Sea is offering.

I am very pleased to read our new Excecutive Chef Hartmut could assist you with your strict diet and in particular with regard to guests who are on a Celiac diet, we were able to progress with specific menu items, or to be more proactive on a case by case basis.

It is good you mentioned the topic of security which I believe is of interest to all visitors to Egypt. I agree with you, whilst the Cairo and some of the cities nearby had their fair share of problems and incidents, Sharm el Sheikh fortunately until to date had been unaffected, even though it is always recommended to double check the regular publication of the Embassy and / or to quickly send us a mail. We are always more than happy to share our views.

I would hope to welcoming you back again to our resort in the not too far distant future and if in the meantime we can be of any assistance, please do let us know.

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for our Honeymoon for a couple of nights which we had booked through Abercrombie and Kent.
The hotel is in a great location ideal for scuba diving and having some beach fun on a private beach. The breakfast buffet was amazing with a selection of food from every continent to satisfy every taste bud, from freshly baked breads to exotic fruits and even porridge and granola for those who don't like adventurous (like my wife)!!
Hyatt are known for good service and great locations and this resort met the mark for our special time together, when we visited in Jan 2007!!
Sharm El Sheikh is designed for tourists and this is apparent when you arrive in Nama Bay, which has a casino and a Hard Rock Cafe as the main attractions!!
We went for authentic activities like Camel riding in the desert and quad biking in the dunes!! which my wife found scary!
Hyatt is definately worth residing at if you just want to chill out in a nice hotel or if you want to explore Sharm and all its delights!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Newly Wed's,

Thank for your feed-back with regard to your recent stay with us and spending your honeymoon with us - all the best wishes.

I am very pleased to read that you were satisfied will all the arragements, in particular the breakfast buffet seemed to have made a lasting impression - credit to our new Executive Chef Hartmut who joined us mid November last from Park Hyatt Canberra, Australia.

Indeed the house reef here in front of our hotel is considered as one of the best for diving and or snorkeling, which sometimes can lead to "congestion' of the external dive boats passing by and stopping for a half an hour dive.

Sharm El Sheikh really has developed a lot over the years, with a complete infrastrucure to include international hospitals, French and British schools, all the well known Fast Food chains but also good free standing restaurants i.e Fares - Seafood, last but not least an ever increasing variety of casinos and open air discos to feature famous DJ's from around the globe.
Last but not least, despite the ongoing negative press related to demonstrations and issues in and around Cairo, Sharm El Sheikh yet so far has been unaffected and it is continuously busines as usual and always worth a vacation.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again,

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We have reciently returned from the most magical stay at the Hyatt. We started our holiday at the Ritz Carlton but we so disappointed with the tiredness of the hotel and the quality of food we decided to move to the Hyatt wish was the best decision we could have made.
On arrival we received a lovely warm welcome and got an upgrade to a beautiful sea view room which was stunning.
The pool areas and beach area are immaculate and the gardens are beautifully maintained.
The choice of restaurants and food was also very good. The Souk was a tasteful and relaxed outdoor eating experience where you could have choose from a large variety of themed chef stations where they would prepare your meal freshly for you while you we're able to enjoy fantastic entertainment. The Thai restaurant was very special and the quality of the food was superb.

Our stay was faultless and the staff could not have been more helpful. We will hopefully be returning to this hotel again for some winter sunshine and relaxation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable comment. It is very nice to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us, including the facilities and services provided.

We indeed focus and invest a lot on landscaping and gardens, with a team of up to sixty dedicated gardeners working around the clock. In particular in the summer it can be a challenge when between 800 - 1000 m3 of water are needed on a daily basis due to the excessive summer heat.

Great to read you enjoyed the culinary offers of our restaurants and bars, credit to Director of F&B Brian and Executve Chef Hartmut and their teams for a job well done.
The Sala Thai restaurant in particular has become one of the preferred dining venues in Sharm, with Thai Chef Ms Awon, her husband and a recent newcomer from Thailand, are mastering the Wok.

On behalf of our teams, we would look forward to welcoming you back again to our resort,

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency for seven nights as our second destination on an Egyptian Holiday and what a mistake it was not to have booked two weeks.
The hotel is literally the best I have ever stayed in and would not hesitate in recommending it as a destination it was simply amazing.
Everything the hotel has is fantastic the suites, restaurants , entertainment and pools are really five stars plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Mr David,

Thank you for your great feed-back with regard to your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us including the services provided.

I would agree a week is too short to really enjoy Sharm, definitely another reason to return for another time. The weather in particular during the European winter months from October all the way through April is fantastic, sun shine guaranteed with some very few exceptions.

We would look forward to welcoming you back soon to our resort and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime please contact us at your convenience.

Kind regards

Stefan Gaessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort

Address: Gardens Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#34 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tipped as Egypt’s most lavish hospitality resort, Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh combines ultimate luxury and exotic style on the edge of an aqua oasis in South Sinai. Three beach coves lead to one of the most spectacular diving sites, the Gardens Bay. The rooms are large and comfortable, with stunning sea views and all the comforts of modern living presented at the highest standards. Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh’s many and various in-house facilities offer something for everyone; the array of bars and restaurants will satisfy the most discriminating gourmand, the Kid’s Club will keep the younger guests entertained while Club Olympus houses a fully equipped gym and aerobics studio and its Moorish style spa area offers sauna, steam bath, whirlpool and plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hyatt Sharm El-Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.