We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the facts.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Rosetta & Jasmine Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tropicana Rosetta & Jasmine Club to your Saves list
Tropicana Rosetta & Jasmine Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just the facts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have just returned from two weeks at this hotel/resort. Here are the facts.
It is definitely a 3 star and not a 4. It used to be owned by Thomson but is now owned by Tropicana, which usually consists of 4 star accommodation so this is the poorer hotel of the group. Dont be put off because it is pretty clean and tidy and functions very well but it is a little tired in some areas.
It is located just 5 minutes at most from the beach but don't expect to actually see much of the beach as it is ALL segregated into ownership plots which various hotels have access to. However they are fronted by bars and cafes, so expect to pay for drinks. All your hotel will get you on the beach is access, a towel and a sunbed. We visited the VIVA beach once and never again as we didn't like being packed in like sardines.
The pools are pretty good, although the larger main one needs some work on it. Three of the pools have pool bars which you can swim up to, we loved these.
You are given fresh towels everyday for around the pool, brilliant idea.
The entertainment is a little poorer than expected but having said that the animation team are great. Fox is brilliant as an entertainment member and we had a wonderful time interacting with him.
Don't bother booking the Soho trip with Thomson for £10 as the hotel does its own trip for just £2 with the entertainment team.
Sunbeds are not to be reserved but try telling that to we British. Be warned some people keep the hotel pool towels overnight just so they can get their towels onto beds as soon as daybreak.
Their are two restaurants but we tended to stay at the Jasmine restaurant because the Rosetta is focused more for the Egyptians and as such the menu is slightly different. However both give really good variety. The staff will fight to get you your drinks and even keep you a table if you come at regular times, This is partly because they are indeed very friendly but also because they are eager to earn a tip. We waited to tip at the end of our holiday. Nothing is too much for the staff at this establishment and I have to say they are what made our holiday so enjoyable.
Security boxes are free and are located at the main reception. We used one and it was no bother getting access at any time. There is no WIFI at this hotel. Access is via landline at the Jasmine reception/bar. It isn't always working. You can get WIFI at the Star cafe outside but don't expect the discount it offers, we never got it. They also take a sevice charge which we weren't aware of (its a bit of a cheek as it is getting their tip for what was lousy service). We went once and never went again.
Their is a supermarket outside the hotel but it is a little dearer than the 24/7 just ten minutes walk up the road. The chemist is expensive too. We walked into Naama itself and shopped around.
Expect that as soon as you exit the hotel you will be hounded to buy something or use a taxi. Just say no thanks politely and keep going. What ever you do don't fall for the "just come into my uncles gallery and write good luck in English". We stuck to our guns and didn't fall for it but some or the other guests went in and got a shock when the door was shut behind them and another person appeared blocking their exit. It is a very nasty tactic to force you to buy something. If you don't buy then they will say it is a gift and then accuse you of stealing. It doesn't happen too often thank goodness.
Now the bad news: we were attacked by godzilla mosquitoes. Whatever you take with you make sure it has DEET in it as these mozzies are exceptionally bad. Be prepared that in some instances you may get bitten by something in the bed. I woke up with bites and found them to be different to the mozzies. It is quite common for mites or fleas to be transferred due to the sandstorms that happen. We just got a spray off the cleaner, stripped the bed, sprayed it and never had a problem after that.
The VIP cruise is to be recommended and Johnathon is exceptionally good as a guide.
Naama bay is quite safe to walk around day or night. The night life is very busy but you wont be disturbed at your hotel as it is far enough away.
Would we go to this hotel again? Well no we wouldn't because we like to try something new each time but we met alot of people that visit here every year.
This was the best holiday we have had for the interaction between staff and holidayers. The atmosphere is incredibly friendly and everyone seems happy. The staff are not to be underestimated either. Most of the staff have degrees, so are very intelligent. The reason they are in hotels is due to this being the main industry for employment. Our pool guy spoke four languages!.
So in rounding up: this is the type of hotel where the staff are what makes your holiday. Go expecting a three star and you won't be dissapointed. Go with plenty of tip money, sterling is loved here and so will you be. Happy holidays.

Room Tip: Dont have a room in the block next to the entertainment area (very noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    455
    229
    131
    127
See reviews for
290
600
37
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just back from a week spent at this hotel and although I can honestly say I have come back relaxed the hotel needs to focus on certain areas.

We never expected 5 star as it was a last minute break, however the following is brutally honest and not everyone will agree:

Room - The room we were given was an upstairs room with a balcony overlooking the "relaxing pool". It was very clean, had air conditioning, the balcony was in full sun from morning till night and the bathoom had a fantastic power shower.

Pools - There are 3 pools on the complex, the relaxing pool (part of the Jasmine block,tiled with swim up bar and where most of the British visitors were based), the main pool (part of Jasmine block, concrete lined/painted and needs updating) and a smaller pool in the Rosetta block (primarily used by the Russian visitors).

Restaurants - There are three 1) Rosetta 2) Jasmine 3) Italian. In the Rosetta and Italian you wonder why there are so few tables compared to the space whilst the Jasmine has more tables than the space can hold and you are forced to share with other guests whether you like it or not. Also finding crockery which is not chipped, cracked or cups with saucers is a lottery.

Food - here is where the changes are required. Every day the food was the same with little variation. As stated in previous posts there is a main salad bar but again this was the same everyday and everything was covered in chopped corriander. Main meals were very basic, repetitive, Egyptian flavoured and for an all inclusive hotel I wasn't coming home heavier than I went! (Thank heavens McDonalds, KFC, Pizza Hut and TGI fridays were a short walk away!) I may be deemed over crtical but I can only eat so much chicken and fried onions with rice!!!

Pool Snacks - Alternate days were chicken and fried onions (again) in a bap with chips or a burger in a bap with chips.

Drinks - cannot complain apart from the small plastic skiffs so take your own thermos mug.

Service - Another area for improvement. Some members of staff were friendly, others just interested in taking money off you. e.g. After a long flight the last thing is demands for money before getting on the coach, the bell boy refusing to leave the room without a tip and then the security guard expecting a tip for showing you how to use the money exchange/ATM in the lobby!! Any problems with the room were instantly rectified even in the evening or early morning (toilet wouldnt flush and room handle came off in my hands).

Naama Bay - Always walk along the beach promenade into town and back again to the hotel otherwise you will be badgered left right and centre by street hawkers, taxi drivers and the like. Tip - avoid the camel men and do not fall into the trap of asking to take pics as payment is then expected after!

To sum it up - if you want a quiet holiday in the sun with a clean room and not too fussy re food then this is the place to go. The weather was perfect and it did the job.

PS if you have mobility issues this is not the hotel for you as loads of steps and sharp incline slopes to overcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our second year back. We were not sure how it was going to be as its never as good as the first time. How wrong!! It was as good if not better this time and as we went a month later than last year the weather was also warmer and therefore even more enjoyable. The staff as always were again so very helpful. Restaurant Manager Waled was always there with a welcome at each meal and the food was also good and varied. The Jasmin Restaurant we feel has more choice and is popular with the British, and we think, more friendly. I had a birthday there this year and was presented with a birthday cake. They just have a knack of wanting to please you! The Italian is also a nice change and we enjoyed the food very much. Naama bay - which you can walk to (out of the hotel to the right, across the road and through the Hilton) is lovely in the evening lots to see and bars and restaurants along the way. Have fun with the locals, although they hassle to get you to buy - cheap as chips and cheaper than Asda - just be firm and say NO and walk away.
The Viva beach belonging to the hotel is a lovely beach (if a bit crowded). ask for Emma to get you the best value for drinks and the lunches are brilliant if you want to stay at the beach and buy lunch (pretty cheap and good choice!).
Also a good trip is the bus to the Old Market which will cost pence - about 10 pence - if using the local bus outside the hotel - running all the time. great place for haggling and bargains - again lots to see and we have been a few times and there is always something else to see.
The trips (and there are quite a few to choose from) are great if you want something different. Last year we did Cairo and all that offered and a great experience to be able to see this wonder of the world - we also did the quad bikes (and again this year) and we are both touching 70!!!! Brilliant is all that can be said about that. Nice boat trips, evenings out etc

Room Tip: ask for sunny side of pool - we love floor level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennoway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just back from a week at the Jasmine and can't fault the staff, especially Waled Senior Restaurant Manager and Elsyed Bar Manager at the Jasmine Club for their great friendly service. The choice of food was good, plenty of fresh vegetables, salads and their was always something that we could eat although the lunch menu had a better choice than the evening meals. Rooms were clean and air conditioned. The complex is on three levels so is not suitable for anyone with mobility problems. Local drinks in the hotel were good, chilled draught lager at main reception and top pool bar was refreshing. Cannot fault the holiday, met some lovely people and the atmosphere was nice and relaxing. Great holiday if you cannot enjoy yourself here you can't anywhere, make the best of what is available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just came back yesterday from a one week vacation at Tropicanna Jasmine Club.
Let me 1st thank the animation team especially MIDO who showed us a very good time with all the assistance and activities provided.

Let me start with the tips and advice.

Take the all inclusive package. The food is amazing and u have a huge variety to choose from. The alchoholic Drinks are also free, and u'll get use to it in short period since it's local.

We got our own alchohol the 1st couple of days from the DUTY FREE area ( Rose' wine and lebanese ARAq), then back to the local stuff, not bad tho.

umm, what else, the rooms at the Jasmine area are nice, the main pool is splendid.

And the amazing part was the Jasmine club-pub area, where we met alot of lovely people from the UK and had lots of chats and drinks.

Night life is not bad. Go with the Animation team . they'll arrange everything from A to Z. Everyday u'll go to a different club.

Finally, It was a great vacation and a great value for money. Met lots of new friends and felt like i knew them from ages.

Naama bay sucks by the way, too much hassling and nagging considering that i can even speak Arabic (Lebanese).
Glad to have made the right choice, thanks to all the lovely people and staff in the hotel :)

Room Tip: request a room in the Jasmine area near the main pool. 2511 and 2512 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our 5th trip to Egypt and our 4th stay in Sharm el Sheikh, so we have previous experience already.
As the title of the review states, the hotel is a bit of an enigma and has been giving me a dilemma of how to review it, as it seemed a bit Jekyll and Hyde to us.
On arrival at the Rosetta, there is a massive hill to climb from reception to the Jasmin Resort which is daunting after a days travel. We got to our room and the "luggage" guys just would not leave the room for a very long time, even though I told them "just arrived..no money", asking for tips on arrival just doesn't start a holiday well.
We were just in time for Dinner on arrival, so we went to the restaurant via another lot of high steps to climb. We could immediately see that this Hotel would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues.
The restaurant was always clean and the staff very friendly, with the chefs always willing to arrange any special requests for the following day.
One night we tried the Rosetta restaurant and this proved to be the complete opposite, very quiet and staff a bit too aloof. It was a bit strange when the Rosetta restaurant manager was moved to the Jasmin, as he suddenly became the life and soul of the party.
The same can be said of the 2 bars, Jasmin informal, with the Rosetta bar being more formal and less friendly.
The food in both restaurants is similar but with a larger choice in the Jasmin, where the British appear to be accommodated.
We managed to find something to eat each day, but on reflection we just about got through our 2 weeks without having to resort to going out to dine. Quite a few of the meals were lacking in taste or seasoning which let the hotel down.
The rooms were cleaned daily although broken bits of tablet soap remained in our shower floor for 4 days and the usual towel art was hit and miss although not important to us. Rooms are a good size with comfortable beds, fridge and hair dryer but safe located in
Rosetta hotel main reception which is free of charge.
After 2 days, the housekeeping staff decided that we did not need the extra bed for our daughter in our room and just removed it. We had to complain to get it back.
We used the relaxing pool and had a great time there, the swim up bar was perfect with the bar staff and Chef very friendly and always refilling your glass and coming round the pool area bringing you drinks to you.
The pool attendant, I think is name is Gaber was absolutely brilliant. If we had not changed our sun-bed towels the night before, he would come round to see if we wanted new ones, without any hassle the next morning. He once changed them whilst we were having breakfast without asking, such attention is appreciated.
There were a number of nationalities staying in the Jasmin, the vast majority we conversed and interacted with and enjoyed their company, however there were groups of Russians who seemed determined to get drunk and annoy both residents and staff with rudeness, jumping queues and wasting vast quantities of food.
As I stated at the start, this review has proved difficult compared to all the others I have done. Yes we did have a good holiday mainly due to the "friendly" guests and most of the staff with a special thanks to Alexandra, Shehata and Basem .The endless daily sunshine also helped but there were some niggles which detracted from the resort.
Would we go back again? I don't think we would based on other hotels we have stayed at in Sharm el Sheikh, but might consider it if future reviews indicate the niggles had improved.
I could go on for ages, but I would gladly answer any points...good or bad if anyone has any questions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

we have stayed in sharm many times and the service in this hotel was better than almost all. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, helpful and frankly couldn't do enough for us. we had plenty of laughs with the bar staff and the dining room staff at the Jasmine restaurant. Special thanks to eid, sameh, ahmed and mahmood who were always happy and having a laugh.
so the hotel itself. our room was spacious, clean,massive bed, air con that worked, lovely shower with hot water any time. Food was ok, there was always something we could eat, service in the restaurant 1st class. all inclusive booze 11am to 11pm ( strictly finished dead on 11pm ) was ok. little gripes if you want to be picky, the wine in the restaurant wasn't ever chilled and during dinner we would often get different wine. Not much the hotel can do about this one but the 6.30 arrival from Russia flew over every morning and woke me up.
But i'm in the real world this cost us £25 a day each for all inclusive so it was ok. it isn't a 5 star hotel so they are not going to serve the top quality stuff, but for the money it was ok.
We would go back here again so it must be a reasonable place as we are quite fussy in our old age!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room by the bottom pool at Jasmine and choose a big bed which looks out the back instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Rosetta & Jasmine Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Rosetta & Jasmine Club

Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Rosetta & Jasmine Club 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropicana Rosetta & Jasmine Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropicana Rosetta
Tropicana Rosetta Sharm El Sheikh
Tropicana Rosetta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Rosetta & Jasmine Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.