We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE BUT....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort to your Saves list
Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 101 Shark Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“NICE BUT....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have been onece,
very nice resort, too many russians.
food avarage but every one of us get food poison. grill very good.
NO ACCESS FOR WHEELCHAIR USER.
drinks is the same as in most of the Egyptian hotels.
For more info please get in touch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    188
    116
    114
    136
See reviews for
213
259
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

we arrived on a thursday evening and as we pulled up we was not to impressed and that contiued through recption and to our room , the room was suposed to be a junior sweet and it was just a big room none to plush torn curtains the air con was almost useless the room needed a bit of tlc to say the least a good way to describe it was tired ...
went to dinner in main buffet dinning room and had to watch other guests to find out if we were shown to table or to find our own ,
food was not to our taste but thats more to do with us than the hotels fault
but i will say it did not look nice and was far from hot
2 of the other restaurant was closed , why i have no idea and no one seamed to know or care
chineese restaurant was not good at all
tandori was very good had both set and pay menu
to sum this hotel up it is very tired and in need of some tlc
the food is ok ( just about )
DO NOT GO THROUGH ARCADE they drive you mad worse than soho square which was a good night out
ok now for some good points

the staff ar great on the whole the pool bar waiter zenio was great allways had a smile and a warm greating
the pool boys were allways there with towls ready
the entertainment team were great big thanks to becca, sophia , and the crazy Ahmed who made days by the pool a good time
the gardens and grounds a well maintained and the whole place is spotless
so in short tired hotel , food ok , 3 * at best , great staff nice pool n grounds not a hell hole but not a palace either

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Rooms: Dirty, smell of dead mouse, hair on sheets, dust on floors, no soap, no shampoo, empty minibar, TV from 1980, bathroom cleaned last year. Baaaaadddd

Service: Irritating, they dont care about tips anymore, not listening, just want money from you for trips. I have allergy on them now.

Food: 2 days ok, than you want to kill yourself and looking for at least KFC

Drinks: Alcohol has like 2%, juices too sweet, cocktails bad, good coffee, little water

Restaurants in Hotel: In Chinese one we had 6 cockroaches on table

Pool: Too loud, music the same each day. Better go to beach far from this craiziness

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

3rd time at this hotel and unfortunatley under nw management this time and 3 restaurants were closed whilst refurb was going on. Great staff and food though and loveley location!
Animation team are fab! Pool staff are loveley but watch out for the paper boy! he will sell you a sun and come back for it when youve finished to sell to someone else!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in June for 10 nights and it was by far the best holiday we have been on for a long time. the staff were so friendly and couldn't help us enough, rooms were immaculate everyday and same with all areas of hotel. Entertainment team were wicked and you can book all activities in the hotel so if you were uneasy of going outside you didnt need to. The bus service to the beach was brilliant if you were to lazy to walk or disabled we walked most of the time as it only takes 5mins from the main building NOT 15mins as others have stated. All in all we can not say one bad word about this hotel and have recommened it to many of our friends who will be going very soon!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just had 10 days at Pyramisa, was not told that the hotel had changed name from sea magic, caused a bit of confusion at airport trying to get our transfer. On arrival missed evening meal by 2 minutes but they took us into restaurant and gave us a plate of cold food that looked awful, stuck to beer instead. At reception they gave us a form to sign that said we were from netherlands and an envelope of information all in dutch ( we are English) good start. Booked through co-operative and thought we were with cosmos, but found out we weren't and had no rep. Food was acceptable most of the time, waiters very good kept bringing glasses of beer without having to ask. Not much to do at night except sit at pool bar and get eaten by mozzies. Got a dodgy stomach but I think it is because at pool bar they only rinse the glasses instead of washing in hot water. Have to fight with towel boy every morning, he wants to carry your towel for you, quite capable of carrying it myself. Boat trip to Tiran Island with scuba diving very good booked it with Mustafer at coral diving. 3 restaurants closed down, snacks were left overs from breakfast usually a few danishes only. Don't go through shopping arcade, very persistent. Went to Naama bay in a taxi from outside hotel, very scary, no seatbelts, light on dashboard flashing, no air con, fumes coming up through back seat from exhaust and they drop you off at their friends shop and they expect you to buy something, avoid it like the plague. Got a taxi through the hotel to soho square, very nice slightly dearer but very professional and cool. All in all not a bad holiday for 1st time in Egypt, but would not go again, flight too long with no leg room and sick of the dodgy stomach, will stick to Greece in future. Also got ripped off at airport, they charged us thirteen pounds each to get a visa for excursions or day trips, but was told later at hotel that he should of said if we were going to go to Cairo or out of Egypt not just day trips!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

1) On arrival with a delayed flight (actually checked in on 09/09/12) all outlets shut; no food on plane; couldn’t even rustle up a cake & cup of tea; told to go to room & order room service-no leaflet in room with what numbers to call or what was available for room service-which would have been charged. The receptionist at this time was rude, surly & unhelpful. (ZB246 London Gatwick 08 Sep '12 14:55 Sharm el Sheikh 08 Sep '12 21:05). Thankfully we never saw him again & rest were helpful & polite. Should also provide trip details & prices in room too.
2) Do not know who our rep was as never saw or heard from them once; by chance we discovered the notice board on day of departure when going to business centre to try & phone to see what time our pick up was for the airport!
3) No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
4) On arrival to room; distinct weird smell-most likened to skunk (!) probably a chemical possibly to deal with the cockroach infestation?
5) Many times a day in bedroom & bathroom I killed adult & larval stages of Blatella Germanica-cockroach species-we also saw these in the large buffet restaurant too.
6) Many minor maintenance issues not dealt with-In room broken toilet roll holder; broken toilet lock; ceiling falling down in bathroom; drawer in chest of drawers wouldn’t shut etc. This issue is true across the hotel site.
7) Bed was like sleeping on a stone!
8) Single occupants only get 1 key card; so every time you leave the room you have to take the key out of the ‘electric meter’ so room boils up; drinks in fridge go warm etc.
9) At 10-00am every day by main pool animation team come out to same boring load tune & do the same dance bellowing out what activities are on for the day-the same things everyday at same time-why not display this on a prominent blackboard & keep the peace! The animation team however, are nice, friendly & helpful-particularly Ahmed & ‘Mr Jamaican’!
10) All the waiters & bar staff by pool & piano bar & main buffet are friendly & helpful & can’t do enough for you-and endure the most rude behaviour from many of the Russian guests; who don’t seem to know the words for please, thank you or what common courtesy is at all.
11) Food at buffet caters for the 90 per cent occupants who are Russian-and not enough middle eastern fare. Breakfast fine; but lunch/dinner became very repetitive; gald I was not staying for longer than a week. Drinks all taste a bit weird; don’t try rose & or white vino you will lose the enamel of your teeth!
12) Only the large & small buffet restaurant open in day for breakfast & lunch-no snacks in between, or after lunch anywhere. In evening we tried Chinese one night turned up without booking it was 75% empty & were told we couldn’t eat because we didn’t book; said well it is quite full!!! They did then seat us (as one waitor recognised us from buffet in the morning); but it was a set meal; not Chinese & very, very salty. Did not try Indian. All other outlets were shut for food during our 1 week stay.
13) I was not ill-but both of my friends had stomach upsets.
14) This hotel is not in Sharm el Sheik; Sharks bay is a £8-10 taxi drive from main Sharm el sheik & old town & market. No bus service; shuttle does go round resort though.
15) Beach very disappointing-mostly gravel pits; furthest is sandy, but only a 10 yard sandy bit at far end to enter sea. Snacks at this bar not too good!
16) Cleopatra’s deal in the Spa was relaxing & good value if a little rushed!
17) Coral Diving to Ras Mohammed National Park-3 stops good value; but the instructors need to be calmer for first timers-even made me nervous & have scuba dived & snorkelled on many occasions! Good value though.
18) On departure (ZB247 Sharm el Sheikh 15 Sep '12 22:20 London Gatwick 16 Sep '12 02:45) we had to pay to keep room till 20-00 despite the fact we did not check in till 09/09/12 so we effectively had 6 days food & room & paid again for 7th.
19) In short this is not 5 star, it is not 4 star it would struggle to be a 3 star! Managers here need to take a trip to 5 star hotel in Caribbean/Thailand to see what they need to do to bring this up to a 5 star standard. If you want 5 star DO NOT go here!

Room Tip: If you hav a push chair, or are infirm don't go here hundreds of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort

Address: PO Box 101 Shark Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#76 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#107 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star All Inclusive resort ideally located on the heart of magnificent Sharks Bay. Resort facilities include 861 rooms, chalets and villas with exotic sea and pool views, the largest swimming-pool in Sharm with artificial waves, indoor swimming-pool, 5 restaurants, bars, disco, kids club and SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramisa Sharm El-Sheikh Resort And Villas
Pyramisa Sharm El-Sheikh Resort & Villas Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Pyramisa
Pyramisa Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Pyramisa Sharm Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.