We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT STAY THERE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Sharm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Sharm Hotel to your Saves list
Luna Sharm Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   City Council st, | Om El Sid Cliff, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT STAY THERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT STAY AT LUNA HOTEL IN SHAREM EL SHAKIE.
I traveled with 20+ people who all have the same opinion as me. It was a disaster of an experience. They say it’s a 3 star hotel but trust me it doesn’t even deserve a quarter of a star. Let me start with management, they are extremely rude. They serve better food at a homeless shelter or at least it’s not expired or moldy. A Family member attempted to eat pasta and it had a moldy taste to it, when they approached the cook, he confessed some of the food is old and it’s due to poor management. The rooms and pool, let just say they did a great job with their photography on the site. The pool is extremely small and does not have any type of fun activities. Other hotels in the area had 7 pools, volleyball net, slides, basketball net, and a bar within the pool. The rooms have very uncomfortable beds and only provide you with ONE pillow. I entered the bathroom and they accidentally placed a rag for a face towel on the towel rack by the sink. The shower head was broken and needed to bend over to use the bottom half of the shower (which barely worked)
AND BY FAR THE WORST THING AND MOST DIGUSTING THING THERE. While I was in the pool, I would smell a stench all around the hotel. I saw some of the hotel staff doing some gardening and I thought it must be the fertilizer. By my 3rd night returning from the beach, I smelled the stench from outside the hotel. I asked the staff, do you have to place fertilizer everyday around this time, can it wait until the guests are asleep because the smell is horrible. He informed me it was sewage water. They use sewage water to water the plants EVERYDAY. We saw so many insects in the rooms, stuff I never seen in my life.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    112
    99
    74
    93
See reviews for
82
173
45
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My partner and i read reviews on trip adviser some good some bad but went to LUNA SHARM Egypt with an open mind. 14 days all inclusive we arrived at 10pm and the all inclusive had ended so we had to purchase food and drink.Our room was a pool room view very basic with aging towels and dirty sheets which on three occasions i asked to be changed.this is not an all inclusive hotel you have breakfast lunch and dinner nothing in between the bar opens at 10am and shuts at 10pm on the dot the alcohol is watered down.There is nothing there for family's with young children and they charge you for ice creams.The food is FOUL in a word and there was a lot of diarrhea and sickness which included myself and could not leave the room for 2 days.so we ate out after that i could not face the food in there it was disgusting.The staff are sleazeballs and whistle blowers they did not like the English talking to each other about all the DODGY THINGS that was going down in there con men around the pool charging what they like for excursions and massages and tattoos and totally ripping people off.The Hotel doctor is a conman and tried to rip a young couple off for HUNDREDS OF ENGLISH POUNDS.!!!! The place is run down with broken furniture the pool is unsafe with broken tiles. THAT SMELL people comment on is disgusting and I also live near farm lands and believe me they do not smell like that I still had that smell up my nose for days after returning home.I watched the pools being treated with chlorine while children were still swimming in the water no health and safety regs there, There was no entertainment so we made our own.I AM A NORTHERN LASS FROM A WORKING CLASS BACKGROUND, i saved all year for an holiday i wasn't expecting the RITZ but the whole place was a rip off.the food the beer the lot!!!. There are so many beautiful places to go where your treat with respect and cared for which enables you to indulge in your holiday do not go to this hotel you are wasting your probably hard earned cash you will regret it.The good points where the 45 degrees sunshine and some cracking people we met but hey!!! you can get that lots of better places than Egypt. The Egyptians are rude abusive and pester you where ever you go they are all over you they have no respect and just see pound signs....I was being sworn at and insulted by a boy my sons age not good.this is an honest review it was a DUMP IN MAJOR NEED OF REPAIR

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

When we arrived and shown to our rooms i must admit i was a little disapointed it wasn`t quite what i was used to ,towels were clean but not as white as i would have liked and the rooms a little dated HOWEVER after a couple of days i realised that we had come to the right hotel as we settled in and enjoyed the rest of our stay,the food was fine and the service was good Serif the restaurant manager provided exellent service ,my heart ached for Ali the assistant manager who`s wife was in hospital having a baby and could not go and visit because it was a ten hour journey and he could not afford to be absent from work.There was Egyption families staying at the hotel and this made it all the better as we had such good fun with them ,the rooms were cleaned daily so our beds were comfortable and often had the towels shaped into swans and hearts .Ali`s little baby girl passed away in hospital without him ever seeing her and he still came to work each day with his broken heart .I often wonder just what some people expect on holiday i would srongly advise them to stay at home because their whinging often spoils other peoples holiday and can just say one more thing? ,yes they recycled the water to use on the land and it did smell at the time this happened early morning and guess what ?when we arrived home they were spreading the fields here with a similar solution ,human sewage i think its called ,so please future guests don`t be put off by all you read from other travellers give them a chance they are doing there best thats all we expected xx

Room Tip: choose a room away from the resaurant as guests sit outside till late
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

stayed at luna for 2 weeks what a joke food was like pig crap the beer was warm as hell entertainment there was none oh a belly dancer once aweek lol not a clean place at all you know its bad when u get a take-away instead after being out staff were brill just a shame about the hotel bet it will not be there next year stayed at water park last night aqua blu that is heaven compared to luna shame please never stay here you will regret it

Room Tip: dont stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed in such a lovely way :) All the staff were friendly and smiley. They were always so helpful when you needed assistance with things and inquiring about things. Our room was lovely and tidy when we were there, it was cleaned daily with fresh towels. We even had a swan made out of a towel put on our bed :) I felt very at home at Luna Sharm, mainly because of the lovely staff and such a beautiful place.
The food was ok, just a little repetitive, but it nice and enjoyable. However the manager did make me and my sister spaghetti bolognase, chocolate cake and stuffed peppers, yum yum, which may I add was delicious. The manager is very accommodating to preferences and all you have to do is ask :)
There are lots of opportunities to participate in lots of exciting activities such as swimming with dolphins, quadbiking and snorkeling etc.....
Me and my sister had the most amazing holiday, the weather was lovely and we spent most of our time lying on a lilo in the pool. We met some lovely people out there :)
Overall, it is a lovely hotel, with lovely staff, nice tidy clean rooms with balcony's, good food, plenty to do and most importantly beautiful weather :) :) :) GREAT HOLIDAY XXX

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Where do i start
the hotel
its very dated and worn out most things are broken.when we where shown to our room ther was no toilet roll (needed !) the patio door would not lock and the tap was broken off the sink and left that way.the room was clean as it could be mozzies every where and a nasty smell of sewage every nite when they watered the grass.after complaining they moved us to a different room still no nice.

The food

restarunt was very dirty and the food u could not eat most nites dirty rice and raw fish in grease that was ment to be sauce bread was so old u could not cut it to eat

bar
the bar was ok apart from being sticky all the time mohamood was realy nice and helpfull the sprits are not nice cheap as they can get.one of the bar staf fanced my wife and when i went to the loo he took our beer and tried to get her to drink vodka not so good

pool

the pool was ok cloudy most of the time but people from russia will sit on your towles if you are not there.the towles supplied by the hotel are very dirty so if u must go take your own

the rest
we booked a trip with the hotel rep amen what a liear we did not get what we paid for so complained only to get 60 pounds back and told to complain when we get home.if u want to book a trip see the guys selling in the hotel they are the same trips and cheaper and they are insured.
My wife was ill the hole time we where there becouse of the poor quality of the food and ive been ill since we got back and having to go for lots of tests.
I have saved the best for last my wife took her diamond engagement ring off as her finger was swolen and put it on the table in front of here in recepion we was with my son i was paying for mc ds we had delivered.one of the staff stole her ring from the table when she turned to talk to my son so we asked for the police to be called but they said no it will give the hotel a bad name so what so i went behind the bar and took a bottle of gin and still no police.please dont go to this place you will regert it so many people left as it is that bad.this is a true account of our ruined holiday

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Well if you like rice bread and sloppy fish and veg u will love dinnertime here just got back after ten days and the dinnerstaff give u just 2 hampster sized pieces of meat u get kicked out of your room at 12 and your wristband cut off and will not give you anyfood drinks and if u have a late flight and no money u starve because of the greedy staff i got back to my room after it had been cleaned and i went to sleep then as i got to sleep the cleaner was banging on my door for a tip after i had put a do not disturb sighn on the door some of the staff are pervy and sneaky you had to wait about 10 mins to get served a drink and we paid for all inclusive ahhhaaa wot a joke the bar was open ten till ten afta ten you had to pay wich proply is a scam the staff pull off for extra money do not book trips wiv d bald geeza go wiv d geeza at d computer neer d shop A african divers he is the best person to book with and does not mug you off and has really good trips and reda is a good laugh but most off the staff r dodgy i wud be mad to go back to that hotel that stunk of a pigs rear and had letterbox ppl everywere nickin food and putting in there bag and pushing in que but met good people out there that made the stay a lot better you get hassle in naama bay and tirizana beach so avoid them if soo trust. Me i. read the reviews before coming here decided it cant be that bad but it is hell staying there

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Sharm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Sharm Hotel

Address: City Council st, | Om El Sid Cliff, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luna Sharm Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Sharm Hotel is an attractive low rise hotel that is located amongst palm trees and beautiful scenery. This hotel offers comfort and great value for money and is ideal for families and couples. This elegantly designed hotel is located in heavenly place of Om El Sid Hill only in a few miles from Naama Bay the center of Sharm-El-Sheikh. The Old Market of Sharm and famous street "Il Mercato", where you can find a number of cafes, restaurants, shops and even an Aquapark are nearby. A cozy hotel is proud of its excellent service, spacious and comfortable rooms and good food. The convenient location of the Luna sharm Hotel allows to inspect the Sharm-El-Sheikh or to visit Naama Bay independently. In addition, the hotel is close to the bus station from where buses depart to Cairo and Dahab. The hotel complex is represented by two two-storey buildings, whose facades are decorated in typical Arabian style. The interior is without any frills: everything is very easy and very comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luna Sharm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Luna Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Luna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Sharm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.