We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   SOHO Square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Wine Bar
Ranked #10 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Savoy was fantastic. Make sure you go for the S CLASS package, this included the best of the best for food and drink. All the staff make you feel as if you are the only people in the hotel. My wife and I have been visiting Egypt for years but this by far the best hotel we have stayed in and although we normally only go once a year we have decided to return to the Savoy in the next two months and have even asked for the same room.
WE LOVE IT.
Brenda & Billy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Brenda & Billy,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at The Savoy Hotel. We are delighted that you liked our resort with all its facilities and service.

We are also very pleased to know that you particularly enjoyed your experience of our S-Class Concept, which is a unique concept in the destination. According to our S-Class formula, we provide our guests with a wide variety of dining options in 14 different à la carte restaurants. At Soho Square, everybody enjoys a high standard of recreational facilities, including a variety of international entertainment and hassle-free shopping in one safe, managed resort. As we aim for a relaxing stay, we do provide a free massage session, bowling alley, billiards, and tennis and Ice-skating access

In addition, we are very happy to learn that the service which you experienced from our staff met or even exceeded your expectations; we are fortunate and very proud of the commitment from our staff. I shall pass your kind words on to them.

We thank you again for spending time to share your ‘fantastic’ review. Your comments are very much appreciated and we will be delighted to welcome you back again in a couple of months.

Kind regards,

Savoy Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,902
    481
    154
    70
    44
See reviews for
643
1,342
77
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

As someone who travels to a foreign country virtually every month I have experienced many 5 star hotels with no more than 3 star value. The Savoy is 5 star in every respect; from the front desk experience to the spacy rooms, to the variety of good restaurants and swimming options -- this list is endless. Maybe one suggestion: many leading hotels in the world now have free WiFi---I believe top notch hotels like the Savoy would attract many more visitors if WiFi was free---- this is 2013. People are attracted by different things than 5 years ago

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. It’s clear you had a great time and that you were all pleased that you decided to ‘take the plunge’ and come to Sharm. Yes, it is peaceful and calm and we haven’t seen any of the troubles that you read about in other parts of the country. It’s also perfectly safe to go out on excursions in the region.


With regard to our rooms at Savoy Hotel, we have very spacious, luxury rooms furnished with high quality sycamore furniture. Our rooms are designed to give guests a restful experience with spacious balconies or terraces overlooking the lush grounds and comfortable outdoor furniture from which to enjoy the tranquil Red Sea ambience.

With regard to the internet service in the hotel, most hotels in Egypt charge for internet use. However, after listening to our guests, an adjusted price has been implemented recently which means that we offer the service at cost. Meanwhile Wi-Fi is indeed free in SOHO Square.

Your safety is of paramount importance to us and we are glad that you felt safe and relaxed within the resort. We know there are extra security precautions throughout the region of Sharm El Sheikh but it really doesn’t get in the way of the guests having a good time.

Thank you for choosing the Savoy and for spending the time to share your thoughts - your comments are very much appreciated. And please tell all your friends what a haven of peace this is here in sunny Sharm El Sheikh. We will be delighted to welcome you back for your next visit in order to indulge you once again.

Kind regards,

Jacques PETER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in the Savoy, enjoyed it so much I have booked to return for husband's birthday in 2 months. We have visited Sharm on many occasions now and have stayed in the sister hotel to the Savoy which is the Sierra, the Savoy really is worth the extra money you pay. The service in the hotel is outstanding from arrival through to departure, from waiters, room staff, reception staff, bar staff, life guard and management. We stayed all inclusive "S" class which allows us to dine out each evening in Soho Square enjoying a variety of food without having a bill at the end, in my opinion this was worth the money.
Restaurants visited -
Steak House above Queen Vic, best steak we have had, excellent service.
Japanese again above Queen Vic, excellent and entertaining too.
Hot Rock within the Savoy, good meal, poor lighting, overall very good and something different (cook your own steak on the hot rock hence the name.
Rosemarino - Italian, food good, also enjoyed the light entertainment.
The main advantage of the hotel is being able to use Soho Square, there is always something going on, water fountains, entertainment etc.
Loved the holiday

Room Tip: I would receomend the Pool view rooms particularly on the ground floor we had room 4024 which allowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for visiting the Savoy Hotel Sharm El Sheikh on your recent vacation and for having taken the time to share your “Brilliant” experience on this forum. Your comments are very valuable to us.

We do appreciate your positive review of the hotel and its facilities. The Savoy and Soho Square offer guests a unique experience. The luxury of a hotel and resort with its own private beach fronting the Red Sea and the buzz of a square mile of restaurants, bars, discos and shopping. By day, enjoy sunbathing, swimming or the best scuba diving in the world. In the evening, be part of the excitement in Soho Square, the centre of the town's nightlife.

Thank you for the good comments on our colleagues’ service. We do work hard with our staff to ensure that they enjoy their job and this shows in the service they offer. Accordingly, the Savoy team spares no effort to ensure that all guests enjoy the same high-quality service.

The high-quality restaurants at the Savoy Hotel reflect the authenticity of each tradition. Each restaurant has been designed to provide unobtrusive intimacy for those wishing privacy and the flexibility to accommodate family and larger groups. Soho Square is a great entertainment centre to have on the doorstep. A hassle-free, safe place to dine, be entertained, to shop and to meet friends.

Glad to know you liked your rooms and the cool elegance of marble and wood reflects the Savoy’s luxurious décor. Each of the rooms and suites is furnished with high quality fixtures, designed to give guests a restful experience. The contemporary, superbly furnished rooms have balconies or terraces that overlook the lush grounds, the pools and the tranquil Red Sea.

We thank you again for spending time to share your ‘brilliant’ review. Your comments are very much appreciated and we will be delighted to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jacques PETER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in the Savoy. This was our second visit to Sharm and this hotel knocked the previous into a tin hat!

The service in the hotel is outstanding from arrival through to departure, from waiters, room staff, reception staff, bar staff, life guard and management. We were made to feel so welcome and we were constantly being asked how are stay was, and could they do any more for us.

The hotel is comfortable, clean and modern. We had a ground floor pool room which was spacious and well appointed with a large bathroom. We slept soundly every night and were even offered a pillow menu!

The food is excellent. We booked the half board 'dine around' which allowed us to eat in any of the hotel's many restaurants including those situated in Soho Square. We never had a bad meal. Highlights are Hot Rock for a steak that melted in the mouth, to East, Thai and the Chinese restaurant which boasts a live 'reef cam'. I would not book full board unless you want to drink to excess.

Special mention goes to Mohamed the lifeguard. Every morning he would have sunbeds ready for us with plenty of towels. He was cheerful and good fun engaging in friendly banter every day and can make some interesting headgear for the guests sculpted from the towels! He was without question a memorable part of our holiday.

We cannot fault any of the staff but our second special mention goes to Islam Bedir the Maitre D' Hotel, head of food and beverage. He seemed to be at most of the restaurants we ate at and was always concerned that our dining experience met our expectations. It did!

This hotel is only a short transfer from the airport, has superb facilities, excellent food, fantastic service, a good sandy beach and an amazing reef. We snorkeled most days from the jetty off the beach and the sea life was rich and diverse.

Don't bother looking for any other hotel in Sharm - this one is outstanding and we will most definitely return for another week of rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay at The Savoy Hotel. We are delighted that you liked our resort with all its facilities and services.
Thank you for the good comments on our colleagues. Mohamed the lifeguard and Islam Bedir the Maitre D' Hotel all appreciate your comments! The hotel has a very popular employee recognition program for rewarding those who are specially mentioned by guests. They are awarded points and receive cash and other prizes. They also receive excellent training, work 8-hour days rather than 12 as in many hotels and enjoy superb recreational facilities in their accommodation including a pool and a gym, plus excellent salaries compared with other hotels.
We do appreciate your positive review of the hotel and its facilities including the comfortable rooms, beach, and hotel service. The Savoy and Soho Square offer guests a unique experience. The luxury of a hotel and resort with its own private beach fronting the Red Sea and the buzz of a square mile of restaurants, bars, discos and shopping. It's the place to be and to be seen. By day, enjoy sunbathing, swimming or the best scuba diving in the world. In the evening, be part of the excitement in Soho Square, the centre of the town's nightlife. The cool elegance of marble and wood reflects the Savoy’s luxurious décor. Each of the rooms and suites is furnished with high quality fixtures, designed to give guests a restful experience. In addition, there is the pillow menu with five different types to ensure your comfort and a good night’s sleep.
The high-quality restaurants at the Savoy Hotel reflect the authenticity of each tradition. Each restaurant has been designed to provide unobtrusive intimacy for those wishing privacy and the flexibility to accommodate family and larger groups. The Hot Rock restaurant you highlighted with the Roman design, nice atmosphere and music. Cooking your own choice of meat or fish on a hot rock to your own taste can be very satisfying and Soho Square is a great entertainment centre to have on the doorstep. A hassle-free, safe place to dine, be entertained, to shop and to meet friends.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon in sunny Sharm El Sheikh.

Kind Regards,
SAVOY Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights at The Savoy,was an absolute pleasure! The staff were the best asset,really great service, stayed all inclusive - which is called "s-class" for any confusion, meant we could eat in all restaurants and drink in bars in Soho Sq which was great. Restaurants in Soho Sq were great, great food, and great service.
Facilities were great, plenty of restaurants, great pools, the all inclusive was brilliant, all named brands, and staff were very good at making sure you always had a drink! Have been to Egypt a few times, stayed at many 5 star hotels and Savoy is by far the best, already planning my next stay! Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your kind words and taking the time to place a nice review. The Savoy Hotel Team is very proud that our services were up to your expectations.

According to our S-Class formula we provide our guests with a wide variety of dining options in 14 different restaurants. At Soho Square they enjoy a high standard of recreational facilities, including a variety of international entertainment and hassle-free shopping in one safe, managed resort. As we aim for a relaxing stay, we do provide a free massage session, bowling alley, billiards, and tennis and Ice-skating access

With reference to the high-quality restaurants at the Savoy Hotel, they reflect the authenticity of each tradition. Each restaurant has been designed to provide unobtrusive intimacy for those wishing privacy and the flexibility to accommodate family and larger groups. Also guests may choose from the array of international fine cuisine on offer dining at Soho Square. All reflect dining excellence, with only the best local and imported ingredients, including fish caught locally the same day.


We are very happy to learn that the service of our staff met your expectations. We train them well and we are proud of them too. We will pass on your kind words to the relevant departments.
Once again, we would like to thank you for recommending our resort.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just come back from 2 weeks at the Savoy and had a brilliant time. We had the ultra-inclusive package (S-Class) and it worked out superbly. What the S-Class gets you is unlimited food and drink in the hotel and at most of the restaurants in SOHO Square which is literally on the doorstep of the hotel. The accommodation is very good, comfortable and spacious with a minibar. The hotel itself is spacious with a number of bars and restaurants. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. You also got a few freebies like a game of bowling, free laundry (7 items), free entry into Culturama ( a brief history of Egypt) and a free half hour stress relief massage. We've never had so many cocktails (champagne and otherwise) and the food at the restaurants was excellent, especially the Indian (Bombay) and Tempanyaki and also the Entrecote Steakhouse. There are 3 pools (1 unheated and 2 heated).There were plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas (although to be fair the hotel wasn't full by any means). I can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and so could walk out to the sunbathing/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your kind feedback and taking the time to place such a nice review.
The Savoy Team is very proud of our superb, professional hospitality and delighted that you enjoyed it.

We are also very pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience of our S-Class Concept, which is a unique concept in the destination as shown below. With regard to excellent food at the Indian restaurant (Bombay: an authentic Indian cuisine) , Teppanyaki and L’Entrecôte Steakhouse we have passed your compliments to our Chefs. According to our S-Class formula, we provide our guests with a wide variety of dining options in 14 different à la carte restaurants. At Soho Square, everybody enjoys a high standard of recreational facilities, including a variety of international entertainment and hassle-free shopping in one safe, managed resort.

S-Class offers 14 à la carte restaurants; Hot Rock Dining (hot stone cooking); Morgana Restaurant (International); Seafood Island (Seafood); Eest (Pan-Asian); Rosmarino (Italian); Tirana (Buffet); Bombay (Indian); Zen (Chinese); Mai Thai (Thai); Luxor (Middle East); L’Entrecôte (Steak House) and Teppanyaki and Sushi Bar (Japanese). In addition there is the Café Chino (Lebanese Café), and Akuna Matata (Falafels, Mexican, Noodles, Mana Pizza, Hola Tapas and Fish Market). You can also enjoy free drinks and some alcoholic beverages in all bars in Savoy; Safari Bar (Lobby), Le Balcony (Terrace bar), Rocky Pool Bar, Cave bar and the White Knight Beach Bar. Also in SOHO Square there are bars and cafés such as Mandarin Bar, Electric Bar, Fontana Bar, Queen Vic Pub, Ju & Co, Al Kahwa and the Salon De Thé. There are also two discothèques, Caligula and Pangaea. In addition, we have a large panoramic display Culture is Culturama in different languages English, Russian, Italian and Arabic that surrounds the audience in a curved shape. It can be customized to have different shapes. It is based on projection technology where 9 projectors connected to a single workstation project a seamless image on 9 flat screens. With Culturama, we invite you to have a journey through time starting from 3000 BC till modern. Through this journey we are going to visit a wide selection of Egyptian history highlights including King Cheops, the builder of the great Pyramid, visit many Egyptian temples, and discover the Coptic and Islamic monuments around Egypt. Do not miss the tour in Cairo & Alexandria as well.

As we aim to help you relax during your stay, on S-Class we do provide a free massage session, bowling alley, billiards, tennis and Ice-skating access and much more. But for all to enjoy no matter what board-basis, don’t miss the dancing fountain, the night life and more than 150 shops for no-hassle shopping, all in an ambience of entertainment.


There are five swimming pools at the Savoy - 3 adult pools (2 heated in wintertime) and 2 children's pools (1 heated in winter time) - offering a relaxing day on sun loungers, protected by parasols. The main feature is a huge three-level swimming pool formed like lagoons, with a gentle slope for kids to paddle. There is underwater music in the pool surrounded by creative rock formations that lead down to the Savoy's secluded White Knight Beach.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon in sunny Sharm El Sheikh.

Kind Regards,
SAVOY Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 269 cities Reviews in 269 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have been to the Red Sea many times over the years - to Sharm, Taba and Dahab. We have found that the general standard of hotels has improved over the years, together with the hygiene. We booked the Savoy a few days before we flew out. We do not like to eat buffet food, apart from breakfast, so wanted a hotel with lots of restaurant choice. We were here from 18th to 25th March.

The weather was beautiful every day. Max 30 in the daytime and a mild 20 in the evening. Some evenings a light breeze required a cardigan or wrap. Hardly saw a cloud - do they even have a word for "cloud" in Sharm?


Sharm airport arrival - poor

Complete your landing card on the inbound flight if possible, as it saves some time at customs. Staff gave them out on our Thomson flight. No visa is required if you are not going out of the Sharm area, you will just need your passport stamping by customs. Go to the visa desk if you need a visa for excursions etc. We went through customs swiftly.

Baggage collection is always a game here. There are no information screens anywhere telling you which carousel your bags might be on. Even the screens above the individual carousels either have the wrong information or are just a blank screen. So just follow everyone else and go to a belt that is moving and then hope for the best. We split up over 2 belts and kept our eyes peeld for our bags. Those crazy people who had black suitcases had a really tough time!! Why is it still like this in 2013!!!


Hotel arrival - 4/5

We emailed the Savoy to ask if they would collect us. They offered a fixed price of £15 each way, so no haggling with sweaty taxi drivers. Aman waiting with our name on a board and a lovely, clean E-Class Mercedes. A fine way to start the holiday.

A good first impression of the hotel. A large, open foyer with a Japanese style pond in the middle and a quaint wooden bridge. A fast check in, with polite and efficient staff and no queues. A pleasant cold drink on arrival. The porter took our bags to the room. No hard sell on check in, they just asked us if we wanted to pay extra for all inclusive - $115 each per night.

Room - 3/5

Room 6131, garden view. We chose the cheapest category in the hotel. We often do this - if the room was awful, then we pay to upgrade, but the room was ok. We paid £57 per night B&B for 2 people – a great deal. We booked via Travelsoon.com 3 days before we flew out.

A large room, well painted with no marked walls etc. but rather plain and dated. Clean and tidy with plenty of floor space. A very comfy super king bed with pillow menu (we did not use it). Old style TV (you don’t see this very often in 2013). Lots of international channels. Plenty of sockets for phone charging etc, with European 2 round pin sockets. Lots of storage and a large wardrobe. All ok, just not fancy enough for a 5* hotel really. A small fridge with nothing in it, but you can ask reception to stock a mini bar if you want. Tea/coffee facilities with fresh milk supplied free by room service if you wish.

The bathroom was large, but dated. The shower screen was too small, so water sprayed onto the floor every shower. Plenty of towels and toiletries.

A great balcony, with a large table, a comfy sofa and 2 large chairs. I’m glad we did not pay for an upgrade, as we had a fine sea view, albeit over the roofs of the block in front.

Good daily housekeeping. The cleaner also called early in the evening to see if we wanted anything, towels, tea bags etc. We usually needed more towels, as we'd used some to dry the floor after showering!!

Swimming pools 5/5

1. Top pool - large, shallow but unheated. Calm and serene.
2. Middle pool - shallow & heated. Busiest with children.
3. Lower pool - heated and deep. Generally quiet.

You could get full sun all day up until approx 16.30. There were plenty of good quality sun loungers and large sunshades everywhere. We never had a problem getting a place any day.

We sat by the lower pool. Get your towels on day 1 from lifeguard at the top pool. They give you 2 cards when you check in, return them on departure. Our pool attendant at the lower pool was Mohammed. He was very friendly and helpful and kept his pool very clean. The lower pool was warm, but deep if you are not a good swimmer. Good waiter service around the pool and Mohammed cleaned our sunglasses most days.

Beach - large for the Red Sea, with 3 sections - on the left, a small section for the Royal Savoy clients. In the middle, a large section for Savoy guests. On the right, a small and very busy section for Sierra guests. Sierra is part of the same hotel group, but is located away from the beach on the far side of Soho Square. They provide a bus to the beach for Sierra guests. There are 2 floating piers over the coral, with a sectioned off sea swimming lane in between them. Plenty of snorkeling opportunities. Kit available from dive centre by beach. There are toilets near the beach, which were clean and air conditioned.

Gardens - 4/5

Pretty good for a desert region. Not quite tropical, but good, with lots of statues and fountains - especially nice towards the beach. The gardens are well maintained and the staff were always busy cleaning and tidying. Everywhere was immaculately.

Food - 5/5 - lots of choice

The main reason why we chose the Savoy. We have done “All Inclusive” numerous times, all over the world, but we are now moving away from it. Not because of the cost, but as we get older, we just don’t eat or drink enough to justify it (though we still do AI at Sandals in the Caribbean, where there is no choice). So we like B&B more now. Every evening, we ate at Soho Square, which is at the front of the hotel entrance. We paid a max total of £30 for a 2 course meal with beer, or £45 total if we had a bottle of Egyptian wine. The local wine and Sakara beer is ok. There is absolutely no way, between us, that could we eat and drink £160 per day, after a large breakfast. We bought some duty free gin on the way out, at £11 a litre, and had an aperitif on our balcony every night. If you can eat and drink $115 (£80) each per day then go AI, if not then go B&B. There is a very high import duty on imported wine, hence the prices are really stupid. Who would pay £60 for a bottle of average Chilean wine?

All Inclusive here is called “S Class”. B&B and half board get 25% discount at restaurants in Soho Square.

Hotel restaurants

Tirana - main restaurant. Breakfast, lunch and buffet dinner. We only had breakfast here. Normal hotel fare. Good selection of everything you could wish for. Egg cooking stations, etc. Plenty of fruit. Very attentive staff.

Eest - Asian. Only open in the evening, but not every night. We did not eat here.

Hot Rock Caligula - Only open in the evening, but not every night. We never found where this place was??

Morgana - International. We never saw it open at all.

Romarino - Italian. Only open in the evenings, but not every night. We did not eat here, but heard good things about it and the atmosphere looked quite nice with a lady playing a violin.

Seafood Restaurant – open for lunch every day and some evenings. A fab location overlooking the beach, with lots of shade and a gentle cooling breeze. It reminded us of a Greek Island setting. One lunch time we tried the fish of the day (sea bass or red mullet that day). Barb really hates fish bones, so I asked the waiter twice if it was filleted. He assured us it would be, no head or tail and filleted with no bones. When it arrived, after a long 40 minutes wait, it was butterfly style, ie flattened out, with all the bones still in. We picked away at the flesh for 10 minutes, left most of it, then departed.

I mentioned my concerns to the manager on the way out. He said that they could not fillet the fish because of it’s size. Well, we chose the fish from the ice counter and they were a good size, and if you can’t fillet a fish, then don’t tell us you can. If we had known, we would have chosen something else. A seafood restaurant that can’t fillet fish is not much use, in fact for £42 for one course and a beer each, it's really rubbish in my view. We tried again another lunchtime and went for a safe pizza. Again it took 40 minutes to arrive and was ok. Such a shame, as the location is lovely.

Soho Square

Located at the front entrance of the hotel. We really liked it here in the evenings, as the hotel seemed very quiet - everyone was at Soho Square. Security at both entrances. Plenty of nice shops, bars and restaurants, plus nightly shows and dancing fountains to music every hour. The area is very clean, with lots of lovely statues and fountains. No hassle from the shop owners, but you can haggle on price. There are ATM machines and a change machine. We took mostly UK pounds and had some euros and US dollars from previous trips. Everywhere will take any currency. You can give them £ or dollars or euros and get change in any currency. I tended to get change in Egyptian £, to use as tips. There is an Egypt Air duty free shop, where you can buy spirits, wine, fags etc at good prices. You need to go there within 48 hours of arrival and take your passport. Customs officers are in the shop checking.

There is a supermarket in Soho selling just about everything (the all important tonic for our G and T). If you go out of Soho Square to the right out of the hotel, then there are lots of local shops and a larger supermarket.

Directly opposite the hotel entrance is a block of 4 restaurants, with an outdoor section on the ground floor and the main restaurants upstairs. The downstairs area serves food from all the restaurants above. We booked a restaurant most nights, as we had seen some people being turned away at busy times and some given a wait time of 40 min. You can phone 0 from your room anytime after 13.00 to book. Lots of restaurants in Soho Square, as below. 25% discount for B&B and half board. S Class can eat anywhere with local wine by the glass.

Bombay - Indian. We ate here twice. Lovely, light Indian food. Good service.

Mai Thai - Thai. We ate here twice. Great authentic Thai food and good service.

Zen - Chinese. Shares a large room with Bombay. We did not eat here, but it looked nice.

Luxor - Egyptian. We ate here once. Pleasant, if dull flavours after the Indian and Thai. Good service.

Fusion 21 - Mediterranean. We ate here once. Just ok. Nice setting and atmosphere good, but average food. Good service.

L'Entrecote - Steak. We did not eat here, but we visited and it looked very popular.

Soho Sushi – Sushi. We did not eat here, but we had a look around. It was completely empty at peak time.

Queen Vic – English pub with food. We did not eat here, but it was packed every night.

Lots of bars to suite all tastes. Plenty of things going on inclusing an ice rink!!!

Soho Square was so much busier than the Savoy at night. Even though it had the same owner, it seemed to have sucked the life out of the hotel at night. The hotel seemed dead at night and Soho was buzzing.

Service – 5/5

Impeccable and faultless at all times. Well trained, polite, friendly and efficient staff. I wish all hotel staff were as good as here. If I could give more than 5 out of 5, I would. I tend to tip staff regularly with small amounts, as they don’t earn very much, but I don’t think it mattered if you tip or don’t - the service seemed perfect at all times whatever.


Other 3/5

Wifi $5 half an hour
$8 an hour

Oh come on, when are hotels going to stop charging stupid amounts for wifi. Make it cheaper and everyone will buy it. No matter, as it was free in Soho Square and fast enough for most things.

Did not use the Spa. Not pestered too much from staff selling excursions etc.

Overall 4/5

If you want a full on 5*, then try the 4 Seasons next door at 4 times the price. This is a fine hotel with good pools, a nice beach, superb staff and great value. The real bonus is Soho Square, which gives you a great selection of restaurants, bars and entertainment. We would come again to the Savoy.

The Royal Savoy, which is a more upmarket sub-section of the hotel, looked very quiet.

Airport on the way out – terrible

It's like a zoo. The departure lounge was packed. There is no flight information, just men walking around shouting flight and gate numbers. The screens above the gates are either not working at all or have the wrong information. All of this shambles would disappear if they just had information screens like every other world airport!! One of the gents toilets was closed for "maintenance", the other had no hand towels and water everywhere – just awful. The owners of the hotels in Sharm should visit this departure area regularly to see what impression their customers leave Sharm with. All of the hard work the hotels put in looking after their customers on their vacation is wiped out by this shambles of a lounge - and this is the impression that you leave with - not good for return bisiness. If I owned a hotel in Sharm, I'd be giving the airport a very hard time indeed. Still had a nice week though!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the SAVOY Hotel and for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about All SAVOY Group Services and facilities. It is nice to read that overall you have enjoyed your stay in the Hotel.

Arrival
Many thanks for your comment about your arrival procedure we are very happy to learn about your impression upon your arrival to our hotel, professional and efficient check in. our team are committed to The SAVOY standard.

Room
Thank you for your comment regarding the rooms. Indeed, we have very spacious, luxury rooms furnished with high quality furniture (SAKAMORA wood), our rooms designed to give guests a restful experience. Its very large balconies or terraces overlook the lush grounds and comfort furniture outdoor in the tranquil Red Sea ambience.
At the SAVOY, we are modernizing our services according to our dynamic guests’ needs and the Hi-tech trend. Therefore we were in the process of upgrading all the technologies in the rooms. Currently all the televisions in the hotel have been replaced with LED sets. Moreover they are equipped with interactive facilities which allow you to order room service, arrange your wake-up call and other new features. In addition to hundreds of channels that will satisfy all the nationalities’ tastes.
Our guests mostly prefer mini bars to be kept empty, although there is a card to fill in if you would like your mini bar filled.
Constant maintenance program in place to ensure the high standard of accommodation , our specious marbled bathroom with bathtub and fixed shower, heated mirror , make-up mirror ,hairdryer , luxury bathroom amenities and bathrobes and slippers, always praised by our guest
We are very pleased to read that our associates in housekeeping service were up to your satisfaction.

Pools
Many thanks for the excellent rating of our pools’ facilities and services. I agree we are selecting the best and highest quality in terms of products for our guests. These sunbeds are chosen according to certain criteria of our Hygiene standard which is the highest in the destination.
Also we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the weather (Sharm’s Sun) and to highlight our employees’ names who succeed to deliver a professional hospitality.
We would love to know also the best waiter name as they are awarded to their excellent service and we shall pass your special thanks to them.

Beach
The SAVOY beach is one of the best in the destination as awarded by WTA (World’s Leading Dive Hotel in 2011) for travelers seeking to discover the wonders of the undersea realm, although they can see it lively while dining in four of SOHO Square restaurants (Zen, Bombay, Luxor & Mai Thai) presented by our underwater cameras.

Thank you for the nice comments about the ROYAL SAVOY & Sierra Hotels.
As the Royal Savoy is a (Unique complex) in terms of Accommodation luxuries rooms & Villas, facilities and the Royalty of service, in addition to a private beach for its guests.
Sierra Resort is a boundless paradise, an exceptional concept of Leisure for couples as well for families who are able to access the beach free; and transportation is provided for crossing the road.

Gardens
We are also very pleased to know that our special teams, who are thoughtful about the Hotel Landscape, public areas cleaning were very obvious and recognized by our guests.

Food & Restaurants
In regards to the our food service and restaurants, Thank you for mentioning all restaurants and venues in Savoy & SOHO Square, where you have experienced and others we do invite you to try in your next visit.

At SAVOY Group, a numerous of fine dining of international cuisines is available in Savoy and SOHO square.
Eest restaurant (Pan Asian), is through the week open according to our operation also a similar Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant in SOHO open daily for who would like to change and try different ambience.

Morgana restaurant is open frequently in summer in such special occasions, Gala dinners and BBQ nights a great atmosphere by the beach.

Indeed Rosmarino restaurant, I would proudly say one of the best restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh, well known for its authentic Italian cuisine and consistent high quality of service.

We are also very pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience of our S-Class Concept (Unique All Inclusive)
SOHO Square is the Middle East’s unique square mile of fine restaurants, bars, fabulous shopping
and entertainment for visitors from all around the world. Indulge in some fabulous hassle-free shopping, high class boutiques and shops, before sampling the exquisite international and local cuisines. Concerning your comment about the Seafood restaurant, we do regret that you did not enjoy your experience there. We have spoken to all concerned and have taken steps to ensure that there will be no recurrence of this misunderstanding. It was possibly a language issue and as a result of your comments we are updating our vocabulary list in our extensive language training scheme. Thank you for flagging this up.

WI FI
With regard to the internet service in the hotel, I would assure to you that most hotels charge for internet use. However, after listening to our guests, an adjusted price has been implemented recently which means that we offer the service at cost. Meanwhile Wi-Fi is indeed free in SOHO Square.

Royal SAVOY 5 stars deluxe flavor
We are very grateful to invite you to The Royal Savoy and Villas, express the epitome of excellence, an intimate environment of exclusivity. Its Unique concept, where our guests are indulging the Royalty of Services. Facilities, Private Pools & Beach
Our nine stylish Royal Savoy Villas ( Villa Cairo, Villa Alexandria, Villa Aswan, Villa Luxor, Villa Queen Nariman, Villa Queen Farida, Villa Queen Nazli and the Superb & Fabulous Villa Cleopatra) Awarded by WTA (Africa & Middle East leading Villas)

We are proud to read your nice feedback about our associates in the SAVOY and they have lived up to and exceeded your expectations. The SAVOY Hotel is doing a great effort and looking after its internal customer’s satisfaction as well. We are fortunate to employ a great team of industry professionals. they receive excellent training, work 8-hour days and enjoy superb recreational facilities in their accommodation including a pool and a gym, plus excellent salaries compared with other hotels.

We invite you to come back to enjoy the loyalty program privileges through which you can redeem your points for room upgrades, free meals and more. If you did not enroll at the first visit, feel free to contact The Savoy Club Program to enroll and have all the program privileges for your next visit.

Kind regards,

SAVOY Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Address: SOHO Square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Sharm El Sheikh offers its guests more accommodation options than ever before. In addition to the beautiful hotel and surroundings, we also present the Royal Savoy and the Savoy Villas. The Royal Savoy is an exclusive category of accommodation: a self-contained 'Club' wing, with impeccable style and services that redefine the meaning of luxury. The Royal has its own private lounge, pool and beach area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Savoy Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.