We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   86 - Pyramisa Road | Behind Conference Center, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked this hotel on the internet and where really pleased with the out come, the staff where very friendly and always polite, and would bring you a drink without you asking after a few days as they got to know you.
I would go back there as it was a relaxing sunny holiday.
The Hotel has a number of swimming pools and has a beach area ideal for snorkelling.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade to sea view very good, and not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriseArabianBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear David,
Thank you for choosing the Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We would like to mention that each review and feedback is very important for us.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to see you soon and we remain at your service.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next arrival, if you wish so, in order to assist you with best possible and available room allocation.

Thank you,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    160
    41
    18
    13
See reviews for
303
404
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely holiday here. 6 of us stayed for ten nights.
At first we were a bit apprehensive after reading some recent reviews but we put this to the back of our minds and went with an open mind.
The hotel is well kitted out for children without it being in your face like some hotels, there was a kids club (my boy is 2 1/2 so too you to leave) he enjoyed popping in and had his face painted. Sponge bob Dora and barney all made an appearance one day which he loved. There's a kids corner in the main restaurant. Staff were great with children, they often made my boy fruit cocktails etc in a colour of his choice!
The a lacarte restaurants were lovely we used them most nights and didn't have any bother booking even for a group of 6- Not sure what this is about in other peoples reviews.. One night we made an error in the booking but the hotel changed the booking last minute at 8.30 and quickly accommodated us in our restaurant of choice.
The room service was fabulous, extra things were provided as soon as we asked.
The drinks service in the main restaurant was sometimes slow but not too much of an issue. The service in general was ok, some individuals in terrace bar were excellent but in general this probably needs improving overall.
We hired a speadboat from the company in the lobby which was good and we used the hotel taxi service a number of times for stress free transport- this was good value.
The fact that the resort wasn't quite finished- some rooms not finished didn't effect our holiday at all.
We stayed by the main pool mostly in the day, mainly for safety aspect with having a toddler the gradual depth pool was ideal. The music or entertainment wasn't too intrusive. Infact the variety and range of musice on different days was great (rhiannia, pink floyd, adele, dance- very varied!!) the men in our group played water polo and enjoyed that.
There does need to be more shade around the pool, we used the shaded area provided but on the hottest days the sun is too bright for the fabric and comes through- meaning the shade is pretty ineffective. The hotel really need to look at this.
The spa and gym and lovely and well staffed and equipped.
I've been to Egypt 4 times before and this is by far the better hotel. If people want true 5 star service then please just go to the four seasons and pay for it!! For what the current rates are for this hotel I cannot see how you can fail to be impressed!!
This is one of the few hotels I would like to go back to , taking into account the whole package and the cost it's a great option!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriseArabianBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We would like to mention that each review and feedback is very important for us.
We are glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We would like to mention that we are working on improving the service quality in general in our resort and all our team is doing their best to achieve finest results. We are taking note of your comment concerning the fabric of pergolas around the pool and department related will study the possibility of having better options (matching the hotel concept and requirements).
We hope you and your family will return soon and we remain at your service.

Thank you,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were two friends travelling alone for the first time in Egypt/Sharm El Sheikh to relax and get some sun. The hotel was just perfect!!! The room, the service, the restaurants, the beach, the quality of other guests, everything was amazing! We had one of the best vacation ever thanks to this hotel!
When we wanted to prolong our vacation by a couple of days and there was no availability there, we had to move to another 5* hotel, which was unfortunately a terrible experience from every aspect: service (very rude people), room, food, surroundings, noise, guests! Therefore, we are able to make a valid comparison between Sunrise Arabian Beach and the other type of 5* star hotels in Sharm. We strongly recommend the first! Most of the others are very old, badly maintained and with services of poor quality.
We didnd't have kids but we understood from parents we met on the spot that the hotels is ideal for families, too!
We definitely plan to go back in October-November!
A special Thank You to the management and the front desk people!

Room Tip: We chose a south side room which was very quiet and with splendid sea view!!! Excellent for couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriseArabianBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Valuable Guests,
Thank you for choosing the Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort and thank you for taking the time to post your review and recommendations. We would like to mention that each review and feedback is very important for us.
We are glad to read that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to see you in October-November and please do not hesitate to contact us for assistance prior to your arrival or information required.

Thank you,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Me, my wife and our two year old daughter have just returned from a very nice eight days spent here. Overall it is a very nice resort, but I suspect we were a little lucky to visit while the hotel was only at around 30-40% capacity. At full capacity I think it could be difficult to get a sunbed and the service might suffer, but I have to say this is conjecture.

As many people have said, the rooms are very nice and spacious (we had a deluxe room with two kingside beds), although some of the fittings and the finish are maybe not "5 star". Nothing that concerned us though. The aircon was very good with an auto setting at the desired temperature. The main reception and bar areas are impressive in architecture and decor, worthy of 5 star I'd say. The whole complex is very well kept, particularly the multitude of gardens and flowers, and at night the lighting creates a pleasant environment with hundreds of subtle lights.

The food was great, breakfast and lunch at the buffet had a pretty good selection, but bear in mind anything that is labelled sausage or hotdog is always going to be beef, they serve no pork at all. The a la carte restaurants were excellent, and we had no problem getting a booking for every night we stayed. I'd say that the food at these would be what I'd expect at a restaurant costing £15-20 for a main in the UK (outside London). We steered clear of the seafood restaurant as we didn't feel it was worth spending extra. The only down points at the buffet were that quite often we couldn't find a table that had been reset with cutlery and none of the staff seemed to look out for people coming in to make sure they had what they needed. A similar story with hot drinks at breakfast - there was no self serve option for tea and coffee and the staff seemed uninterested in offering any, and when they did the default was to not offer milk, bizarre.

It's worth saying it is a big resort, and where you stay could make a big difference to you. At the top end are the restaurants, reception, spa and the main pool, then leading down towards the beach there are another two levels with smaller, quieter pools and the beach itself, which is small but well serviced by a bar/restaurant. The cabanas cost £20 a day but are worth it for a bit of privacy and space. I would say it takes an averagely fit person at least 5 minutes to walk from the restaurant to the beach, it's not too bad but in the heat you'll think twice before setting off.

The main pool is large and spacious and has a sloped 'beach' on one side which our daughter loved paddling in and out of. There's also a kids pool which was a good size and has good access next to the main pool. The Animation team staff were friendly but not pushy, offering aerobics and other activities for those that wanted to. Every evening they put on a kids disco for half an hour which was run very well and the kids encouraged to join in with songs and dancing.

So the only real criticism we had was the slightly random service we received. Sometimes drinks were served in tiny plastic beakers, sometimes in large glasses. A whole day might pass by the pool without being offered a drink, but the next day we got asked every half an hour. We hired a cabana for two days, and on the the first we received Strawberry Dacquiris without asking and had great service. The next day we had to keep going to the bar ourselves, and were told that Strawberry Dacquiris would cost extra. The are other minor inconsistencies which gave us the impression that the staff didn't quite know what was standard and what wasn't. Also some of them appeared quite surly when I asked for something which tended to put me off bothering, although on the whole they were very pleasant and helpful.

I would urge the hotel to consider giving newly arrived guests either a small tour of the hotel explaining the facilities and services, or at the very least better documenting of the services.

One last thing, which I'm quite sure will result in seem serious aggravation when the hotel is busy - reserving beds with towels. Officially the hotel has a 'no sunbed reservation' policy, but it seems this is not enforced at all. We stayed right by the 'relaxing pool' but didn't get to use it because the few beds that are available were routinely "blue towelled" by 08:30 with their owners no where to be seen until they returned from breakfast.

Reading back this sounds a bit negative, but we really did have a very relaxing time in a lovely pleasant environment with not much to fault it really. The staff were always willing to help and pleasant, although sometimes you just had to ask rather than wait to be asked.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The rooms are spacious and well maintained. There is a nice pool, ideal for kids. Buffet is very nice. The a la carte restaurants are OK, but not really special.
Family room is great, 2 separate rooms. We had a great family holiday here !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel on the 8th-16th. April. Reading people's reviews sometimes makes me angry especially trivial things which you get in any hotel. The decor in this hotel complex is beautiful. Well spread out and the settings at night look wonderful. It has 4 Ala' carte restaurants which you pre book 3 days prior on a booking system.All amazing food and makes a change from buffet. Would be nice if you could book in less time as we only had a week and did not get to eat in the seafood restaurant. We had sea view room in chamomile rooms.(named by flowers) next time I will book marigold by main pool...all lovely rooms...clean, spacious good tv, coffee making etc... . The staff everywhere where always so pleasant and helpful. I would name them all but as there where so many through out the complex it would be impossible. I am booking to come back in October! Thanks to all the staff at the beach, pool, restaurants, cleaner, front desk, the lady who is guest relation desk, animation team and sherif at the shops(great bags/ souvenir etc...) my son has his open water padi and did 4 dives the staff in the dive centre were great.....looking on line to book for October now!!thank you for an amazing time ☀☀☀☀

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just arrived home, after a wonderful seven days of total relaxation. Fantastic facilities, stunning setting, staff can't do enough for you a special thank you to both Mohamed's who were very helpful and made us feel special, we had a swim up room and it was absolutely beautiful.food was great a massive choice there really is something for everyone none of the free for all and battleground we have experienced in other hotels. My one bit of advice be wary at sharm airport even Thomas cook reps were telling us to wait in a queue we knew we didn't need to be in (visa) we had no intention of leaving hotel as we were there purely for a break in the sun, the reps were dismissive and we wasted a hour needlessly, it is such a pity that the airport experience is so negative, it would also be helpful if Thomas cook could make sure there transfer drivers knew where your hotel is after a long journey, a stressful airport experience, to waste more time driving in and out of hotels looking for the one we were staying in beggared belief, we will return to this hotel won't book via Thomas cook again !!!!!!!! Martin and Rose (sellars)

Room Tip: Rooms in level c d and e do have a number of stairs so beware if you are not as mobile hotel staff w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort

Address: 86 - Pyramisa Road | Behind Conference Center, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNRISE Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort offers guests an unforgettable and luxurious escape to enjoy an ultimate holiday. Each with an own private balcony or terrace overlooking the Red Sea and the garden surrounding, the 420 guest rooms are thoughtfully designed and exude the spirit of Arabian elegance and enchantment.Complemented by a host of comprehensive amenities, all rooms and suites are adorned with the convenience of Telephone in room, LCD Flat screen TV with international channels and News, WIFI Internet (free of charge), in-room safe, coffee and tea making facilities, mini bar, individually controlled air-conditioning.Several room categories guarantee to satisfy all guests' needs. Families will find their personal haven in the spacious family rooms, featuring a master bed room with king size bed and 2nd bed room with 2 double beds. Experience a new level of pampering in our different suites with private Jacuzzi bath, that cater our discerning guests all the comfort and luxury for an unforgettable stay. Room Types• Superior Room• Deluxe Room • Deluxe Swim Up Room • Family Room • Executive Swim Up Suite• Executive Suite • Dining & Bars For the ultimate gourmet enjoyment at SUNRISE Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort an excellent selection of dining options awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.