We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AA Grand Oasis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AA Grand Oasis Resort to your Saves list
AA Grand Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Shark's Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 5331, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just got back last night from 7 nights at this hotel. We had never been to Egypt before. After several weeks of agonising over the accommodation and location; we decided to stay at the AA Grand Oasis.
Upon arrival, our bags were taken in to the hotel and we were given refreshments while the reception staff checked us in.
The reception/foyer is truly grand, spacious, well decorated and the environment is welcoming.
The room was nice, spacious and clean, nothing too fancy, but ideal.
The staff are very very friendly, accommodating and would do there best to make you happy and comfortable. A big thank you to Osama (Barman), Mostafa (Breakfast grill), Biko (Water spots) and our room cleaner (1st floor -forgot his name, Oops).
The hotel is clean, well maintained and there are many staff around, cleaning, gardening etc etc.
Approximately 95% of the hotels guest were Russian, queuing up, waiting patiently didn't appear to be something that they do, therefore dining could be a challenge. To over come this, we went to Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner 1-2 hours late, to avoid the rush. The food was not the best, although there was lots of it. We ate a similar diet throughout the week stay at this hotel- therefore we found a 7 night stay suffiicient - because of the menu and not the accommodation.
There are 2/3 swimming pools, lots of sun lounges and a pool side bar. The beach is lovely, but staggered. There is also a Beach Bar and grill, music, lots of snorkelling and activities on the go (The beach is not suitable for young children as it is staggered, no sand, but very small stones/gravel), the poolside is better suited for young children.
The hotel is near many other hotels, such as the Savoy and the Rejana. In the evenings, many guests leave their hotels and spend the evenings in Soho square. Soho square has lots of shops, bars, eateries, live entertainment, ice skating, cinema, etc etc.
I would recommend this hotel and would happily return again. The hotel is also suitable for children.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    184
    112
    51
    61
See reviews for
120
240
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just back from 10 nights at tha AA.Couldnt fault the hotel or staff but found the food a struggle.The staff at the beach bar were both excellent and amound the best we have come across,a mention to Amr and Mustafa.The hotel was clean along with some very well kept grounds.Staff were always around cleaning or doing jobs.We were delayed by 8 hours after using easyjet and being diverted to Milan and then left with no staff or information.Finally arrived after midnight but were welcomed and shown straight to our room and then onto the restaurant.This was a big surprise but very welcome after our start to the hols.Most of what had been said about the hotel we found to be true,that is.

easy check in and out.
mostly good friendly staff.
slightly tired decor.
clean but comfy room.
1 cold and 1 warm pool.
more Russians than brits.
food caters for this but we always found something.
no upset tummies !!
soho square close by for presents,meals,drinks if ness.
evening entertainment found in soho and no hassle !!
well kept grounds.
3 restaurants which we tried,Italian was best.
warm weather and good snorkeling.
queues around evening meal times.
noisy a/c in room but got used to it.

We found that most of what we expected but a special mention to the boys at the beach bar.If the manager reads this please know that these 2 are by far your best staff.Would we go again,maybe if they had more variety for the brits at meal time.Overall a good holiday but not a great holiday due to various things.

Room Tip: Room near pool a little noisy after 11pm if drunks around pool.Shut doors if ness.a/c can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have just got back from a 10 day holiday at this hotel. I was a little apprehensive because of some of the reviews I had read, but I found the hotel was spotless, the rooms were very comfortable spacious and clean, the bathroom was a little weiry but clean. The hotel itself I could not fault. The gardens are lovely and very well maintained. The beach area is well maintained but some of the sunbeds need repairing and I would imagine in the height of the season would become very crowded. The staff are very friendly and work very hard/long hours. As with many other reviews the only thing that lets this hotel down is the food. I have stayed in quite a few hotels in Egypt and the food has been good, but the food at this hotel is very poor, you certainly wont put on weight because the portions that are served by the staff are very small and the choices of side dishes and salad bar is very poor, thank goodness their bread rolls are lovely and therefore bulk up the meals. The Italian restaurant and Oriental restaurant are very good. Would I go back to this hotel? Yes, but only in low season as I would imagine any other time it would be very over crowded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a first class hotel. The staff were, without exception, polite, friendly and helpful. They did everything possible to make the stay enjoyable. It would be impossible to pick out individual members as they were all excellent. The rooms were large and comfortable with all equipment well maintained. The cleaning throughout the hotel was of the highest standard. There was always somebody cleaning the public areas, whether sweeping, emptying ashtrays or polishing. The food was very good with a wide variety to choose from. A minor irritation was that they seemed to be a little under staffed. Often at busy periods they would run out of cups and sometimes there was a short wait for tables that were awaiting cutlery but the delays were never serious and I am sure that this will be corrected soon. With two swimming pools and a paddling pool plus the sea there is no shortage of activities. Beach towels were provided free which is a very good idea. I see some other people have commented upon the number of Russian visitors. Yes there were a lot of Russians but with very few exceptions they were very nice people and a pleasure to meet if you took the trouble to try to communicate with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Angeles, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed at the AA Grand oasis for a fortnight this febuary and i cant think of too many things wrong with the place at all/ the reception area is very impressive and so were the staff on it my check in was very painless.they took all my luggage and me to my room and explained everything from the aircon the safe the tv very thorough. the lobby area was very well staffed mohamed the bar man kept me well supplied and when my drink was low even with maybe a hundred people in the bar area i didnt have to wait long for a fresh one. some of the russian guests were rude and not at all freindly but all the staff treat them the same way that their rudeness deserved. the polite english folk got alot better treatment then the ruskies . i have read on here some negative reports of the food and i myself am a very picky eater but i always found plenty to enjoy on the buffet and asked for more on many occasions and was always allowed.amany was the hostess of the restaurant and greeted everyone with enthusiasm and warmness.the pool area was spotless the gardens even for me not a green thumb i will ever have were spactacular to say the least and the beach area was awesome ill definately go back there there is hundreds of hotels in sharm el sheikh but for me theres only 1

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAManagement, Manager at AA Grand Oasis Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing ‘AA Grand Oasis, and for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are all so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your holiday as much as you did. I will pass on your comments to all our team but especially those who you felt deserved a special mention. It is so important for us to understand what we are doing right so we can continue to maintain our high level of service so all our guests have a holiday as fantastic as you did. It was a pleasure having you and your family’ stay with us and we hope you will return again in the near future. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had a pleasant 5 days here in January. To be honest the hotel's interior is very tired but for me, the lovely beach and fab weather compensated for that. Yes the English are defiantely in the minority and the food caters more for the Russians but no upset tummy while I was there so that was a plus. Disappointing that wine was only available in the dining room, seemed especially strange as cocktails and spirits were part of the all inclusive package but wine wasn't! In my opinion this hotel is great if you are on a very low budget which I was, but yes if you can afford another £100 or so extra - I am sure you could get somewhere plusher. At the end of the day it is a case of you get what you pay for. Swimming pools, beach and gardens are very well kept and hotel is quite grande just in need of a revamp.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Like many other posts on here we were wanted to make up our own minds with regards to this hotel. Wish we had now listened! This hotel is impressive when you first arrive but it doesn't take long for the cracks to appear.

If you are British please avoid this hotel like the plague! This hotel is catered for Russians and Muslims and the food reflect this. We arrived late on Tuesday just in time for the evening meal! We went into the restaurant and could not believe the Dickensian slop we were presented with! Being tired from the journey we picked at what was before us and left to go to our room for much needed sleep.

The next morning, being hungry from the lack of decent food from the night before we eagerly made our way to the restaurant again for breakfast. I could have cried! We dined on a boiled egg, ham, cheese and croissants. Wish we had stocked up on the pastries before we knew what lunch had to offer!! Being a 4 star hotel you expected more than fries, with a choice of chicken, liver and some sort of sausage with peppers being served on a polystyrene tray with cutlery! Disgusting. However terrible this was you had no choice but to eat it. At this point we booked to eat in the oriental restaurant that night for the BBQ! Once again, avoid avoid avoid. It was in -edible and we left most of it. To drown out sorrows we headed for the bar. We then ordered a gin and lemonade for myself and a vodka and coke for my partner! Surprise surprise these we could not drink! They both tasted the same and neither tasted of gin or vodka.

The next morning we again had the same breakfast and headed down to reception where we asked to speak to the manager. We were asked to take a seat and the receptionist would call us when available. Didn't wait long when we were asked to go and speak to the customer relations next the main reception desk. Having told her about the food and drink she seemed to brush our concernes to one side and basically told us that all spirits tasted the same in Egypt!!!! Having been to Egypt many times before and can honestly say this is untrue! She also offered to open the bottles to prove so!!! We felt out concerns were not taken seriously and fobbed off. Complaining does not get you anywhere and so we are now sitting in our hotel room waiting to hear back from our travel agent about being moved to a 5 star hotel. Will update soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAManagement, Manager at AA Grand Oasis Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the AA Grand Oasis and taking the time to write your comments on Trip advisor though you had spent so short time in the hotel. We are very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy the food in our hotel. We offer a buffet in the main restaurant every mealtime that incorporates food from all around the World, as we have guests of many different nationalities staying with us. The lunch meal you had mentioned in your review is a pool snacks served during lunch time. We have 3 Al La Carte restaurants where guests can choose from a BBQ meal, seafood or Italian cuisine all included in our all inclusive concept and many guests comment positively about the food we provide there.
Your concerns have been taken seriously and reported to the hotel manager, but unfortunately you denied any individual treatment to satisfy your gastronomic preferences.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us and hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday

Kind Regards
AA Grand Oasis Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AA Grand Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AA Grand Oasis Resort

Address: Shark's Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 5331, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#75 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#105 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AA Grand Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your AA Grand Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aa Grand Oasis Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Tropicana Grand Oasis Hotel
Hotel Tropicana Grand Oasis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AA Grand Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.