We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, the staff are just delightful and cant do enough to welcome you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sharm El Sheikh, Naama bay, El salam Road (Peace Road), Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 2 and Get 3 nights
Ranked #77 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, the staff are just delightful and cant do enough to welcome you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We have just returned from the Marriott Resort where we stayed in the Beach Hotel. There are two sections, the Mountain (from which you need to cross a road to the private beach) and the Beach (from which the beach is directly accessible) Much has been reported in the press recently about the troubles in Egypt, as a result of which the Red Sea resorts are currently empty. There is absolutely no trouble whatsoever in Sharm area nor has there been; the demonstrations have been confined to the major cities, many hours drive away. We have seen no problems at all and it was very interesting to be in the Country following the news on CNN whilst Mubarak made history by stepping down. We very much hope stability now continues as this lovely Country deserves to have its tourists back.

Due to the quietness at present the staff had lots of time to chat to us which they will happily do without imposing on you. When they realized we were interested in their views on their current political situation they were happy to elaborate and we learned loads from them.

The hotel buildings pools and gardens are beautifully maintained by polite and friendly staff who made sure we were well looked after and comfortable every day.

The food is good quality and well presented. at the breakfast buffet the chef is on hand and will prepare you fresh eggs or omelette to order in addition to the numerous other items available. Due to the quietness of the hotel at present the evening half board buffet had been suspended and we were upgraded to a la carte in the on site Italian Restaurant where we were very well fed.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It is a 10 minute stroll into the main area of Naama Bay, so far enough out to be peaceful for sleeping without being inaccessible. We strolled out every night and there are numerous bars and restaurants on your doorstep for a change.

The weather is lovely during the day in February especially mornings and up to 3pm. On the warmest day we were still on the beach after 4 pm. Day time ranged from about 22 - 28 degrees! Evenings are a little cooler - we needed a warm cardigan.

We made good use of the small on site gym most days - again Staff very helpful and obliging

This is our third visit to the Marriott and we would always stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it.

The only disadvantage on this occasion was that a trip to Cairo was not recommended, but no doubt that will only be a short term problem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    409
    157
    74
    53
See reviews for
268
572
53
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We returned on home on 17th Feb from our first trip to Sharm, having spent a week at the Marriott in Naama Bay during the troubles in Cairo and had been a little apprehensive about going but so glad we did. There is absolutely no trouble at all in Sharm, however, because of the troubles, all Russian, Italian, German & Scandinavian countries had cancelled all their flights & pulled their passengers out 3 weeks ago and there were only Brits and a few Egyptian families holidaying in the area, which whilst it was great for us, was devastating to the Egyptians as they were losing a lot of money in the hotels, shops, restaurants and bars.

Because of the low occupancy, as we arrived on the 10th Feb, the Marriott Mountainside had been closed & those guests who had booked into there were all upgraded to the Beachside hotel. We had booked to stay at the Marriott Beachside and had a pool view on the 1st floor. The rooms are large, comfortable, well appointed with two double beds, loads of drawer space, iron & ironing board and safe; plus a beautiful bathroom with the best power shower we have ever had. Fresh towels daily and bed linen every 3 days plus 2 x beach towels each, available at the pool desk or on the beach daily.

Although the hotel had 250 rooms, there were only 15 actually booked in, therfore they accommodated us all in one block; all the restaurants except one were closed, however the food was good and the menu choice excellent. All the staff couldn't do enough for us, they were so grateful that we had still come to Egypt and it was sad to see that because all the hotels were similarly affected, the area was so very quiet. During the week, half the staff were laid off for 3-4 weeks until the tourists returned.

Each hotel along this stretch of coast have their own beach and the Marriott is definately the best - there were approximately 500 beds and 6-10 of us there each day. The sea is warm, there are safety bouys indicationg where safe swimming is, no evidence of sharks at all and the multitude & abundance of fishes within 5 yds of the shore. Despite the lack of tourists, we had a brilliant time, the Egyptian people are so friendly, helpful and accommodating; the Marriott is a wonderful hotel and we will definately stay there again next time we visit Sharm. The only downside to the holiday was the return journey with Thomas Cook - we had booked extra legroom seats which were by the door - it was FREEZING. A request for a blanket was denied as Thomas Cook no longer provide blankets except on long haul flights, despite knowing that these seats are cold which I think is a disgrace! Don't sit in row 31...........

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed at the beach side of the marriot resort on a bed and breakfast basis and absolutely loved it. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very
good, with something to suit everyone.( best omelettes I've ever had!).
We booked a sea view room and although the room wasn't huge and the balcony was the smallest one I've ever seen, this was more than made up for by the beds, very, very comfortable.
The location of the hotel is just about perfect, far enough away from the bright lights
of Naama Bay to be relaxing but close enough to stroll along the promenade to this
very lively part of Sharm.
I was a bit worried about going to Naama Bay at first, after some of the negative views I've read about getting hassled by the local shop owners, but we found that a simple,
but polite, no thank you did the trick. Talking about tricks don't fall for the business card trick. They'll ask you if they can give you one of their cards and to just step inside their
shop to get it. It's once your inside that the hard sell starts. So again a polite no thanks and keep on walking!
This was our first time in Sharm El Sheikh but won't be our last.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed on the beach side and really enjoyed it. The beach was clean, with food and drink service available. Not sure what the food complaints were, as posted by other reviewers, we really enjoyed the restaurant out by the beach and the breakfast buffet was extensive and good. Everyone in our party had a wonderful time and the price was right at approx $160/night.
We arranged a camel ride out to a Bedouin camp for tea, which was fun. And we hired a boat for a day of snorkling. Both trips for ten of us was approx $300usd, which we found to be a great low price.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Great pool and great beach! Fantastic staff! Good asian rest. I went with my family and we had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were very well looked after by all of the staff, and we liked their slogan ' walk in as if you own the place'. The manager of the front desk was excellent and made us feel very welcome, even down to remembering our names and room number. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and kept very clean by Mohamed, who took his cleaning extremely seriously, and also made fantastic origami shapes out of the towels every day! We ate in the Japanese restaurant, again fantastic food and service. We thought the breakfasts were very good and the best out of the six or so hotels we stayed in whilst in Egypt. Down sides were no wifi or tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We got this at a good price and liked to be in Naama Bay. We have stayed at the Hilton Fayrouz before which I found much better. We had booked the Mountain side resort but used the beach at the sister hotel with no quibbles. My main reason for giving an average rating was the quality of the food at breakfast. It was nowhere near as nice as the Fayrouz or the Marriott Golden Renaissance where we stayed in June. Beds were comfy and rooms serviced daily

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort

Address: Sharm El Sheikh, Naama bay, El salam Road (Peace Road), Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott is beautifully suited on the promenade of the Red Sea shore on the popular Naama Bay, where you can find all the shopping malls, "Sheesa Cafes", international bars and restaurants as Hard Rock Cafe and Little Buddha Bar. The Resort featuring 216 Rooms and Suites on the Beach Building and 304 Rooms and Suites on the Back Building, all water sports are available with experts instructors, animation team, children activities,3 swimming pools one of which is seasonally heated, fully equipped health club, gymnasium, sauna, steam room & massage and delectable delicious & creative cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Marriott Sharm El-Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.