We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and well run” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Naama Bay | South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Tynemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and well run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for two weeks in room 315. Room was 3 star at best but served the purpose and was clean and comfortable.The best thing about this hotel was easily the quality of the staff.Genuinely helpful and friendly, not 'playing for tips', and those I spoke to seemed to enjoy working for the company saying they were well looked after and it showed in their service. The Hotel is huge but never felt unable to cope. Excellent sun loungers were always available around all the pools and little bits of maintenance were carried out swiftly and unobtrusively. Anything I saw break was fixed within hours a sign of a well run hotel. Food was of a good standard for a high volume international buffet,but the highlight for us,was a paid for meal, in the on site Tandoori restaurant. The curries were absolutely fantastic, rich and tasty with no excess oil.Highly recommended. The hotel is placed at the quiet end of Naama bay with a pleasant 20 min stroll along the promenade to get to the more lively centre. We'd read terrible reviews of hassle and agressive touting in Naama butcfoundcthis not to be true for us. A single friendly 'no thanks' was usually enough to bring any exchamge to a close. The beach is broken up in to small private sections for individual hotels. Sonesta's section is ok. The beds are a little scruffy but have thick mattresses. There is an area roped off for snorkelling and outside this area is for motorboats and such like to come in to shore. I found during the day, inshore snorkelling to be very unpleasant with a lot of diesel and debris in the water. The coral was all but dead due to tourists. However the fish are there to be seen. Further out ,there is more live coral and less diesel but I found myself surrounded by large glass bottomed tour boats. TOP TIP. If you can haul your carcass out of bed, 6am til 8am the snorkelling is fantastic, with none of the unpleasantness ,noted earlier,present.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Steve,

Thanks for the valuable tips. The readers like those and it’s important to pass these little snippets of information on – it can improve the holiday no end. Thanks also for writing this review as it is clear that you enjoyed so many elements of your stay with us - hopefully enough to return.

We welcome comments from our valued guests as the feedback helps us improve the service and make changes , however minor they may be so we’ll take your comments and discuss them together to see what can be done and we thank you for this also. Very valuable.

Hopefully we’ll see you again in the not-too-distant future.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    686
    291
    109
    75
See reviews for
545
1,129
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed a week at this hotel and loved it, we can not praise the staff enough! They were amazing, so friendly, funny and welcoming. They always had a smile on their faces and were always up for a chat which was lovely. They're always willing to help and the waiters will remember your faces and what drinks you have etc throughout your holiday and make sure you're looked after the whole time. The food was lovely, something for everyone even the fussy eaters! They had themed nights every night e.g Egyptian, Italian, Chinese, Indian etc very yummy food! Entertainment was ok not great but we still enjoyed most of nights entertainment, personal taste I suppose :) the room was lovely, lots of space and clean. The hotels grounds are beautiful, with gardeners out everyday maintaining the grounds. We loved this hotel, loved the staff, loved the food, we just loved everything about it! Thankyou so much everyone at Sonesta! Would highly recommend staying here

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the recommendation and the “fantastic” review. It means a lot to the staff to see such nice reviews and comments about their work and it gives them a great boost.

Hopefully we will see you again soon and we’ll be ready to help you have another “fantastic holiday”.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

just booked for 3 rd time carnt wait.....brill hotel brill service best location RECOMEND..GET BOOKING...pools great about 5...gardens beautiful..food brill.even if a fussy eater,you will enjoy this hotel...staff brill,do anything for you...drinks great...rooms brill,go for the upper rooms good veiw...some shops on sight..narma bay a stead 20 mins down prom just ask for directions..you will have a good time at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review and done in a wonderful bullet point style – thank you so much for thinking of us and the readers on this forum.

It seems that you thought that everything about the hotel is fantastic and we couldn’t possibly disagree with you so we’ll just thank you and look forward to your 3rd visit.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Arrived in Egypt late in the evening and got to the hotel around 11pm. When we arrived we were quickly checked in and given a cold drink. We were then taken to the casablanca restaurant for some food - it would normally be closed by they kept it open for us knowing they were getting late arrivals.

Before we traveled i contacted the hotel and asked them if we could be given a quiet room away from the entertainment and said that from reading the reviews a room by the cactus pool would be great. We had booked a twin room due to the cost. When we were taken to our room we were so pleased to be by the cactus pool as we asked. Also it was not a twin room but we had a massive bed, bigger than a king size. The room also had a dressing area, a safe with no charge, a nice size bathroom, 2 smaller rooms with a single bed in each, a seated area with sofas, coffee table and a tv and a nice sized balcony. The room was perfect. The bathroom was a little tired but very clean. The only slight problem with the room was the noise of the air conditioning. Sharrif who cleaned our room was extremely friendly. It was our wedding anniversary while we were there and we came back to our room to find some wonderful towel art with flowers and our cards either side. It was a lovely touch.

The cactus pool was lovely. We got up early every day, before 7am and went down to the pool. It was hot enough to sunbathe at that time of day and was great to use the pool when it was quiet. The pool had plenty of sunbeds and it was usually easy enough to get a sunbed for those that like to get up later, although some people did reserve beds early in the morning and not turn up until late afternoon. It would be nice if this could be monitored. You could get fresh towels each day and they brought cold flannels around at midday which was very welcome in the heat. The pool bar opened at 10 am and the bar staff were lovely and friendly as were the towel guys.

We initially used the citadel restaurant which was quite some distance from our room, but then found the dome restaurant which was much nearer. It would have been nice to have a map left in our room really for such a big resort. The food was fine, i am a fussy eater and a vegetarian so on a couple of occasions there was no hot food for me but i managed fine. I am surprised by the review that stated breakfast consisted of bread and cereal. I don't know where they ate but breakfast has masses of choices. As well as bread and cereal there was pastries, freshly cooked omelettes, pancakes, meats, cheeses, sausages, potatoes, beans and more. You could pretty much have an English breakfast if you wanted and it is not a surprise that there was no bacon! There was plenty of alternative though, veal sausages etc. Lunch and dinner had different hot meals each day and always salad, bread, soup. There was always plenty of desserts too. There were several different juices available and as soon as you sat down you were brought some water and asked what else you would like to drink. I was a little ill after most meals but i don't think that was the food, but the heat.

The only bar we used was the cactus bar which is open until midnight and as well as the usual soft drinks,alcoholic drinks, coffee/tea they had a range of alcoholic and non alcoholic cocktails. We didn't see any of the entertainment as we tend to get up early, but from what we were told the shows were i think they were quite different, best couple competitions some nights and a fire show another. This wasn't really our thing though.

We only went to the beach once, but the sunbeds were really packed in and it wasn't for us so we went back to the pool but my husband did go down snorkeling a few times which he said was great.

The hotel has a few shops and you are not hassled when you go in. The only staff that hassled us a bit was the beauty salon staff. They would come round the pool every day and try to sell you treatments. Some accepted it when you said no but some were quite persistent, even showing disbelief when people said it was their last day and had no money left. My husband did have a turkish shave and a pedicure which he enjoyed.

We did not use the casino so cannot comment on that.

The first choice/thomson rep was Che, he was friendly and helpful and we booked a few trips through him. The VIP cruise and the Discover Sharm trips were great and value for money. The guides really looked after you. The trip to the old market one evening wasn't our thing and we were ripped off and hassled. We also went into Na'ama bay at the end of the discover sharm trip and were hassled there with some people being quite aggressive which wasn't nice. The trip into soho square was totally different as it has a no hassle policy. It was really busy there and as well as shops there were bars, restaurants and a dancing water fountain.

The airport coming home was awful. The queues were huge, the security not very good, we set off the screening alarm and they just shrugged and let us through. We also had to leave our luggage in the main check in area and put the luggage tags on. The toilets there stank and i could not bear to use them.

Take plenty of mosquito repellent, I only got a few bites but some people were covered and reacted badly, but there is a clinic there so you can get medical assistance if required.

The hotel was lovely, and if i ever returned to Egypt i would happily stay there again but it is unlikely we will return to Egypt as it wasn't for us.

Room Tip: A room by the Cactus bar will be quiet and by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Amanda and Glenn,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and I thank you for this detailed review.
We are conscious that when our guests arrive late at night they may well be a little peckish after a long day’s travelling so we try to keep one of our restaurants open after hours to ensure they have at least a snack or so before they go to bed.

It does take a while to find your way around the resort but maps are available and you soon get used to it. The Cactus pool is the favoured hang-out for the British and I’m so pleased you enjoyed it although we do try to ensure that sunbeds are not reserved without being used. The pool-boys will always help you find a place to relax there.

There is a lot to do in the hotel and outside and I’m glad you took advantage of a couple of excursions to get out and about and explore the town a little, although it does come as a bit of a disappointment to us to learn that you probably won’t be returning to Sharm.

We hope you do.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Where to start... third time at this hotel and it was the best holiday we have had. I am the first to admit that the hotel is slightly dated but the staff are incredible and the hotel is very clean. The food is fantastic and we had no problems with tummy bugs.

The main restaurant is brilliant and Nassef Inbrahim has to be the most fantastic manager, he really went above and beyond to make our holiday so fantastic, table every night, our glasses were never empty always offering us different food and making sure we were happy with the food selection. We were always joking that he was fattening us up but he was absolutely brilliant and we cannot thank him enough for everything he did for us, he is a lovely man and we cannot thank him enough. Yousef at the main restaurant was also brilliant and made us laugh every night. I have mentioned these two because they served us the most and we got to know them well, but all staff really are fantastic, we barely went to the other restaurants just because we liked them two so much. Most English people are placed together around the Cactus pool which is just as good but we prefered to stay at the blue wave this time.

The animation team are also very good, no English but they try very hard with activities throughout the day and night. Totti the manger is lovely and is always around making sure everything is running smootly and customers are having a good holiday.

In the day we sunbathed around the blue wave pool, and on a night if we stayed in the hotel we also went for drinks here as it is the main pool, the drinks are good and the bar is always very clean. The staff again are fantastic, Fawzy Abbas manages all the bars in the hotel and is amazing with all customers, again such a lovely man who is always having a laugh making jokes and again is brilliant. He looks out for all his customers and staff and we cannot get over how hard they all work. At the blue wave pool Ahmed Mouneir is fantastic always laughing and joking, chatting away, bringing you drinks and again the team were all brilliant and couldn’t do enough for you, Ahmed, Hosam, Saad and Adeal who actually moved to another bar at the hotel but again all were fantastic. The staff are brilliant and made our holiday always chatting always making you smile but overall always working very hard to make sure all customers are happy. They are a real credit to the hotel and if all the staff mentioned were to leave we would probably not go back they are that good.

We have been to Sonesta three times now and are already trying to work another week in somewhere this year. The hotel is lovely but it is the staff that make the holiday I have never been anywhere where they work so hard and are so friendly and kind, they don’t just serve you they go out of their way to do what they can for you, get to know you and make you laugh. We cannot thank them enough and it was horrible leaving them, we will be definitely keeping in touch and going back to see them. I was close to tears saying bye and waiting for the coach to arrive yesterday.

The hotel is great and very clean, the food is brilliant and I would recommend trying the Egyptian pudding on a night. Only a short walk to Nama bay which is brilliant for a cocktail and shopping. Snorkelling again is fantastic you don’t have to go on a boat trip to see lots of the fish as you can see lots just at the hotels beach but I would recommend booking a boat trip around Tirin Island. There is never a cloud in the sky so if you want warm weather it’s the best place to go.

Thank you to all the staff especially the ones mentioned for a fantastic two weeks you really did make our holiday the best. Loved it and hope to go back very soon.

Christie and Joe.

Room Tip: English are usually placed around the Cactus pool the rooms are the biggest around here so dont ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Christie and Joe,

Thank you so much for the huge vote of confidence in the Sonesta Beach and we appreciate you taking the time out to share your experiences on this forum.

I’m so pleased you found that the Blue Wave pool was your favourite place and you enjoyed the animation there. We also have the relax pools but each to his own as they say.

We also welcome your lovely comments about the staff and we shall let them know you mentioned them.

Do try and sneak in another week’s holiday this year if you can – we’d love to see you.
With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

First let me preface this by saying that I have stayed in numerous 5 star hotels around the world so I have experience in what the 5 star rating means. Also I understand that in certain countries, their star rating is higher that what the UK equivalent would be. We paid £700 odd each for 1 week so we did expect a reasonably high standard.

We stayed for 1 week commencing 25th June to 2nd July. Upon arriving around 11pm, we were the only people to get off the Thomas Cook bus to stay at the hotel and I was a bit let down by the appearance of the entrance as the previous hotel we dropped at (Xperience Kiroseiz Park) was quite grand. Anyway, we checked in at the dated and old fashioned reception. We were given our room key (2724) and told our bags would be taken to our room and that we should go and have something to eat at the hotel they had kept open for us. We were hungry so we were happy that there was food. This was in the Casablanca restaurant which is also old fashioned and dated and when we got there, it was simply small lamb burgers, chips and bread. We ate it, didn't think it was particularly warm or special and went back to reception to be taken to our room. The walk was about 15 mins and we were overlooking the cactus pool. This is where all the British people are placed.

The next day we missed our meeting with the Thomas Cook rep due to a mix up in local time so we never had any dealings with him/her so can't say if they were helpful. It was 9:50am so we thought we would get some breakfast as they stop allowing people in at 10am for breakfast. We got in and were told to "hurry up and get something" as it closed at 10am. I didn't think we would be rushed, I just thought they would stop letting people in at 10am but would allow those inside to finish their breakfast without hurry.

As it was 10am, we couldn't get any sunbeds at the cactus pool so spent our first day at the Blue Wave pool. This is where the majority of the Russian guests are and also where the animation team are housed. Blaring music is not what I would call relaxing for your holiday. Every 10 mins, we were pestered by someone asking if we would like to join aqua gym or play darts or play water polo. We were also pestered numerous times by people from the beauty salon, the health spa, the indian restaurant, excursions etc.

Our room was very big, a family room I think with a super king size hard and uncomfortable bed, bathroom, separate dressing area, separate bedroom with bunk beds and living space and balcony. The balcony was fantastic was a beautiful view of the mountains and sunset in the evening. On our first morning, my boyfriend noticed blood on our bedsheets. We both checked ourselves and none of us had been bleeding so I can only assume the bedsheets were not clean when we got there. The room is dated but adequate. Not overly clean with dust on the table and skirtings.

Food - The only thing that is included in your "all inclusive" is the Citadel buffet, Le Dome buffet and Casablanca which you have to book in advance. The indian and La Gondola italian you need to pay for; you get a 20% discount. The food at the buffet was lukewarm, often repetitive and bland. We did always find something to eat but the variety was very poor. The wine ( I had Rose) was also horrible and warm. We decided because the buffet was so poor to try the indian and la gondola. Both were fine, but not "a la carte restaurants" as expected - you were just given a menu. The wine was somewhat more drinkable here. Very reasonable prices.

Staff - Most that I encountered, and this was few and far between because they all seemed to address my partner and totally ignore me (i.e. "Hi sir", "have a nice day sir", "how are you sir") were nice enough. The bar man at the cactus pool was a bit strange and said to me one day as I went to get us drinks, "You should put on some weight, be a bit fatter". I thought this was a bizarre comment and a bit inappropriate. The cleaner, Sherif, was a nice man and remembered both of our names and always ask how we were. The gardener people also do a good job of keeping the gardens tidy. A lot of the staff don't speak good english so don't really understand you which is frustrating.

Illness - Both my partner and I became ill during the holiday. We have been home 48 hours and I am still violently ill with upset stomach and sickness. I think this may be due to ice in the drinks or the way the salad was washed. Also there are a lot of flies around the restaurants and the food was never piping hot.

Entertainment - The animation team are annoying and the entertainment at night is laughable. I know it is geared towards all nationalities but it is just so bad it is cringeworthy. The only bars open are the pool bars or the lobby, which you also have to pay for. The pool bar, especially the blue wave pool bar was roasting hot at night and you could not get a seat. Also there was no atmosphere. We found ourselves bored at night with nothing to do. We had an early night most nights. Also the cocktails are ones you will never have heard of and are not very good. They don't serve wine outside the restaurants and the spirits are watered down. The beer is also terrible.

Beach - Don't bother going. The sunbeds are practically laid on top of each other giving you no private space and the beach is tiny and not very nice.

Overall opinion - As I said above we paid £700 odd each for a week. I am so disappointed at how poor this hotel is. The whole place is dated and old fashioned. Boring at night, bland and lukewarm food and drink and the tag "All inclusive" is completely misleading and all inclusive implies that everything is included however you get there and hardly anything is included. The best thing about the holiday was the weather, roasting hot and I was honestly looking forward to going home which is not like me at all. The fact I was so ill didn't help. Being pestered constantly is not my idea of relaxation and the hotel should stop this. The hygiene at the restaurants also needs looked at. Having flies landing on food and tables is not hygienic at all.

Would I recommend this hotel? Absolutely not. I can only imagine the people rating it excellent or very good have never been to proper 5 star hotels before or have very low expectations of a holiday.

Please feel free to message me to ask any questions. I am a very frequent reviewer on this website and others so I am not just writing a bad review because I feel like it.

Tips - 1. Take mosquito repellent. I bought wipes from a store called Home Bargains, they are called Xpel mosquito wipes and these kept bites at bay, I only got 1 and usually I am eaten alive.

2. If you are british, or even if you aren't and just prefer a more relaxing pool, ask for a room at the Cactus pool.

3. Avoid the hotel altogether. However if you have booked, please don't expect 5 stars. I would give it 2 stars at most.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Nikki,

It is very clear that we didn’t meet your expectations on this trip but there are a few points on which I would like to comment.

I am very surprised that a member of staff in the breakfast restaurant told you to hurry up as this is very out of character and certainly completely the opposite attitude of that which we promote in training. The other staff member who suggested you put on weight should also be dealt with. If you have any names or descriptions I would welcome an email with more information so that we can deal with them.

I’m sorry you felt obliged to sit around the activity pool with the music and the animation team. However, there are several pools to choose from and it often takes our guests a day or two to decide which one is for them.

Housekeeping should be checking the sheets before they go on the beds so I apologise for this. We have your room number so we should be able to trace the person responsible.

The food is prepared and served within strict hygiene and temperature controls. The fresh salads and fruit are washed in filtered water and the ice is made from filtered water too so your illness did not come from this area. Flies are an unfortunate environmental fact of life wherever you go in a hot climate and we have a number of defences against them so they do not affect the food.

I am sorry that you cannot recommend us but I’m sure you have read the majority of reviews on this forum by sensible, intelligent people who would recommend us like a shot.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Travelled as a couple to the Sonesta Resort 8th June for a 2 weeks full of apprehension and anticipation of what lay ahead, this is my own review and some recommendations Ithink could improve upon , as everything in life can be improved on.
We arrived at the resort about 10-30pm, and were informed of our room and that the Casablanca restaurant was open until midnight for both food and drinks which was considerate and needed , this level of service was to follow for the fortnight . First impressions very favourable, well maintained gardens, beautiful lit pools with their bars to our room 2825 near the Cactus pool area.
The rooms are extremely spacious, with a small dressing room which was a surprise, a shower over a bath, huge comfortable bed, steps down into a lounge area with TV, leading out onto a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. There was also another section with a spare bed in which was good I thought handy if we had a fall out during the holiday. In daylight it seemed even better, the air conditioning unit when on full blast was noisy, but not that this was an issue, as once the room temperature had cooled the unit was turned down and was almost silent.
The start of an extremely relaxing and enjoyable fortnight had started. The Cactus pool seems to be occupied by the British tourist and “Sammy the towel”, couldn’t do more to accommodate his guests while keeping the area spotless, cold midday flannels were an added and a welcome treat. The guests also seemed able to interact and socialise with each other, which is also a huge bonus on holiday, we had Lennie as our camp guide, who although from Elsmere Port, seemed to know his way around Nana Bay! However he failed in his attempts to get a Welsh darts champ out of retirement, far too relaxed for that.
The Food was OK at both Le Dome and Citadel restaurants and for a change try the Casablanca that needed to be booked a day in advance but hardy that much trouble, which is covered in the all-inclusive package. Shame there wasn’t food available in the day at the beach bar, but it’s not too much trouble to walk to the resorts restaurants and we needed some excuse for some exercise each day!
The Beach is small, but not so you couldn’t find a spot to enjoy the sun, with both Ibrahim & Achmed, always there with a smile to help guest with towels and beds. Beach-bar man Mad Moo Mohammed doing a fine job with a smile. Many thanks to you all for adding to our holiday experience. Iechyd Da.
The beach, small with course sand and has a rocky entrance to the multi-coloured Red sea does hold a secret, that the brochures do not inform you of, the unbelievable fish and coral just below the water and a few metres from the shore. A tip is purchase some sea-shoes, mask and snorkel and indulge yourself in what can only be described as being in a fish tank an absolute holiday treat. It really was if you were in a Jacques Cousteau adventure.
We did take the VIP snorkelling boat trip, but found this to be rushed for the customer to enjoy the scenery of the Red sea. However, we did mention this to the tour guide so hopefully the Divers who swim with you will accommodate this suggestion into their future dives. Another event we booked was that of the fish evening on the beach, which is paid locally at the Sonesta Hotel. In our view the food was reasonable, but why have a guitarist, who I think mimed, then a belly dancer gyrating to different soundtracks and finally a talented Egyptian male dancer twirling to an array of music until the correct music was found made it farcical. These Faulty Towers scenes were entertaining enough but why do it while the food is being served to the guests? Surely the staff should understand that there will be no crowd participation while a lobster is sitting on a plate waiting to be eaten. A suggestion is keep the cost down by dispensing with the entertainment brought in and allow the waiters to entertain after the food has been cleared away.
Our other suggestions to improve the satisfaction of the customer would be at the Cactus pool, as good as it is, some attention should be given to the bar and seating area in the late evenings and night. Better lighting around the area and the seating area, with the provision of an area of soft cushions or bean bags and low tables to helping guests recline and relax at the end of their evening. Another consideration is that of some background music at the bar or even invites guests to compile their own tracks to add to the ambiance and sense of village community the hotel offers.
But on the whole a totally enjoyable, relaxing holiday, made more enjoyable by the customer service presented by the staff and the unexpected treat at the end of the beach. Many thanks to the sonseta Beach Resort. Hope to see you very soon. Rob and Alyson, room 2825.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Rob and Alyson,

Your review is most welcome and we thank you for taking the time to write such a methodical and comprehensive account of your time spent here. We shall pass your lovely comments on to the staff you mention who will be delighted to know that their names have appeared in print and that you remarked on their good service.

We will take into account your comments about the entertainment at the romantic dinner but I must say that your description is certainly not the kind of evening we usually provide our valued guests. I do apologise if it spoiled your evening. Your suggestion about the Cactus pool will also be considered by the team as we always want to look at ways of improving the guests’ experience.

I’m glad you liked the unexpected “treat at the end of the beach”. We do have one of the best coral reefs in Naama Bay.

Hope to see you soon.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino

Address: Naama Bay | South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino Sharm El Sheikh, stretching across the sands of Naama Bay, overlooks the Red Sea and South Sinai desert and mountains. The resort's traditional Arabic domes and archways form a village-style ambiance. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, and seven swimming pools for relaxing laps in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El-Sheikh Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.