We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Naama Bay | South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nice clean and tidy complex. Rooms are spacious and we had one overlooking the pool (worth paying the extra for). Facilities were good and the Cactus pool is heated to temperature of a warm jacuzi - bliss!
Beach is packed with wall to wall sunbeds and full of Russian sunbathers!
Food was ok, not 5* standard but plenty of choice, hot and edible.Free wine, beer or soft drinks with lunch and dinner too.
All in all good value for money if you do not expect 5* but nearer 3-4*
We tried a massage in the hotel spa. Not great and lacks finesse but ok for £25 each.

Room Tip: Overlooking one of the pools. Cactus pool is quieter area but further to walk from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    686
    291
    109
    75
See reviews for
545
1,129
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 10 day holiday here and we did not want to leave! Everyone was so friendly and they make you feel at home.

Food was a different theme each night so there was always plenty to choose from, as well as ice creams and cakes throughout the day!

Special thanks to the animation team especially Moka, Sam, Valentina and Tony who made out stay such good fun with all the activities and the nightlife. They were brilliant, I shall let them off for making me compete in the 'Miss Sonesta' competition!! Also would like to thank Rashad and Ibrahim at the Cactus pool who looked after us all day every day!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My brother and I booked the holiday at last minute but was not disappointed in anyway. From the start we were welcomed to the hotel by the entertainment staff and made to feel right at home. However, we didn't see or hear from the actual holiday reps after being "Dumped" off - nice and classy Thomson...

The range and quality of food was always brilliant and being a fussy eater I thought I'd struggle. This was never the case and I was easily able to fill a plate. Not bad considering it was an all inclusive buffet.

Rooms were very tidy and all be it a little outdated (the TV) it was clean and always spotless after the maids had visited throughout the day. The beds weren't too bad either, little hard but nothing we couldn't work with.

As mentioned above, The Animation Team were awesome and couldn't do anything else to help you from sorting room issues to helping another holiday maker with a broken leg into the pool safely and still feel part constantly. The staff were friendly and not over pushy with evening events such as visiting nightclubs and giving further information on potential day trips / spa treatments. We would especially like to thank Tiberio Stolner for the water polo and entertainment along with Eslam Alaa, Daria Leshch, Amr Ecko and Carla Arnold to mention the least.

Would highly recommend the hotel and it's service in terms of resolving any issues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with outstanding staff who were incredibly friendly, helpful and sincere. Special thanks to Nasif who made me a special tea every meal time which was very much appreciated!
The food was cooked very well and chefs all friendly too. Amazing choice of breads that were always fresh. Gardens immaculate and gardeners also friendly.
Rooms a little jaded BUT very spacious and clean. The hotel had everything we needed.
Only one disappointment and that was the Russian tourists who were constantly and incredibly rude and arrogant towards the Egyptians!
Despite that, the hotel was quiet and peaceful at this time of year. Oh - must not forget to mention the waiters and bar staff - brilliant. Would definitely book again! Loved our 1st time in Egypt!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear LynnAndyGibson

Thank you for this lovely review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We found the complex very relaxing,beautiful grounds thanks to the gardeners working tirelessly from dusk till dawn.the rooms were very comfortable spacious and clean.the food was lovely(even with a fussy husband,there was always something good to eat)my only gripe was the tipping of people..quite uncomfortable when not used to it.would recommend the star gazing and snorkelling....amazing!!!Would definitely visit this resort again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Arry5amps

Thank you for your review , we are happy you noticed our gardens and that you enjoyed the service and accommodation at our resort , Thank you for recommending our resort to other readers and we hope we can see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

After trawling the net for a place to stay for 2 weeks in sharm for a family holiday I came across this fab resort in narma bay. As a hotel owner myself I am very fussy.
This was the place I had chosen for my family and myself and upon arrival we wasnt disappointed. The place looked lovely. Our luggage was taken to our apartment and was put inside. We had the first floor of the 2 floors. And the pool *cactus bar* was just yards from our apartment. Great choice of restaurants to dine in. We used the citadel most nights as they had traditional dancing and music. Very entertaining. They had themed food nights which was nice and matched the evenings entertainment. Most enjoyable. The staff where fab and very helpful. If you ever needed to know anything. Trips etc they pointed you in the right direction. As trips done through travel agent worked out costly. And can be easily booked through one of the people they know. Friends on the beach. Luna fun and water sports. We booked the majority of our trips on a vip basis through them and was not disappointed. We was very well looked after indeed. We will certainly be going back to sonesta beach resort. Had a great 2 wk holiday there. And I miss it already. Made so many friends staff wise. They love us brits. 5stars by me. Great place great location and great ppl. :-))))))))

Leann
Blackpool
Uk

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear leann1974

We really appreciate such a great review , specially when it comes from a hotel owner . We are very happy we were up to your expectations and that you had a nice time with your family .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a fantastic holiday - we were looked after by the most attentive staff you could ever wish to meet. nothing was too much trouble and we were spoilt to pieces. two weeks is not enough - but then two months would not be long enough - the sun shone every day, the Egyptian people were happy and smiley, the staff in the hotel were as good, if not better, than some of the staff in the five star London hotels I have stayed in.
In the Dome Restaurant look out for Fadi - one of the waiters - so attentive and smiley - everything a good waiter should be. the manager Nassef Ibrahim looked after us so very well, nothing was too much trouble and also, if you visit the pool bar by the citadel restaurant, make sure to look up Mohammed Hamdy (Buddy Holly) - he will entertain you most of the evening and is always happy and smiley. The cactus bar is run by Ibrahim - his attention to detail, big smile and sense of humour is essential when balancing the needs of multi national customers - he is an excellent ambassador for the hotel. raschid is the towel man at the Cactus pool - he is a very attentive, happy, smiley young man who takes care of you and the area around the pool - he is always working very hard, keeping the pool area clean and tidy and always with a big smile and sense of humour. the animation team are good fun - particularly Aurelie - who could forget that voice? and Moka and Mady everyone is invited (and sometimes encouraged) to participate in the action - pool games, exercise, volley ball, etc. you can join in or just soak up the sun but the food is so great at this hotel, a little exercise can only be a good thing. the guard who works from a little hut just past the casa blanca.restaurant on the way down to the beach greeted us every morning with a sunny smile and really made our day. he was new to the job and is such a lovely young man. the reception assistant manager, mohamed.said, helped us with a couple of teething problems when we arrived and everything was sorted out really quickly with an apology, a big smile and great attention to detail and this was all followed up with a courtesy enquiry to check all was well. his customer service is really excellent.
if you want to be well looked after by wonderful people in fantastic surroundings with the sun shining on you every day, then look no further - this is where you need to be!
شكرا جزيلا - pronounced "shucran gazeron" - Arabic for "Thank you very much" - practice it before you go - you will definitely be needing it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino

Address: Naama Bay | South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino Sharm El Sheikh, stretching across the sands of Naama Bay, overlooks the Red Sea and South Sinai desert and mountains. The resort's traditional Arabic domes and archways form a village-style ambiance. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, and seven swimming pools for relaxing laps in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El-Sheikh Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.