We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Om El Seed Peninsula, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great relaxing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have recently returned from a week stay at the Ritz Carlton. We did not stay in a Club room, however the "normal" room we had was a decent size, appeared fairly newly decorated and had a decent size bathroom with separate shower and bath. Despite reading reviews suggesting staying in a Club room, we didn't feel we needed these extras, as we stayed on the beach until fairly late each day, so would not have benefitted from the lunch/afternoon tea, etc. The staff are all very attentive and friendly, and as the hotel is it's own private complex you don't get hassled as beach and pool areas completely private and for hotel guests only which is great vs other hotels in Naama Bay or Sharks Bay.
The beach is very clean and well kept with a floating jetty to get to deeper water for a swim. Our only gripe was the Italian resort next door who played music with a very vocal DJ each morning which took a bit of getting used to, but we managed to block out!
The restaurants are all nice, though quite expensive, but there are other restaurants and bars a short ten minute walk from the hotel if you want other options. Breakfast is in the Cafe and there was a great selection of food.
Overall was a great stay and very relaxing, a good destination to escape the winter in the uk with guaranteed sun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    286
    167
    91
    46
See reviews for
234
591
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have just come back from a week at the Ritz Carlton and had a brilliant holiday. Completely disagree with the review below (posted nearly a year after going?!!) - the buffet restaurant was of a very good standard and the staff were both welcoming and attentive.

We ate once in La Luna (the Italian a la carte restaurant) and had a very enjoyable meal - although we did actually have better meals in the buffet restaurant. La Luna, along with the other a la carte restaurants, was chargeable but was reasonably priced at approximately £16 for a large fillet steak. Imported wine (Jacob's Creek) is very expensive at £80 per bottle however bottles of beer are a more reasonable £3-£4.

The hotel was probably about 25% full when we were there which was great for us and most days we pretty much had the top pool with the lazy river to ourselves. There is a great jetty leading to the reef with some beautiful sea life.

The rooms are large and clean with housekeeping twice a day and 2 bottles of mineral water provided each evening. We had a sea view room (214) however this can be quite noisy as the adjoining hotel does have loud entertainment until approximately 11pm.

The hotel could do with some touching up here and there however they did seem to be doing this whilst we were there without any inconvenience to us. The gardens are beautifully maintained.

The staff were brilliant and very helpful - and a credit to the hotel.

No stomach bugs or illnesses - just be careful and clean your teeth with the mineral water provided and this helps prevents such things.

The hotel is definitely of a high 4 star standard and I will be returning again (this was my second visit). The weather was great - in the nineties! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try an avoid the rooms at the back of the hotel adjoining the next hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The look of the hotel overall is well kept, particularly the gardens, which were tended and sprayed for bugs each day. The beach was small but well kept, the pool area was very pleasant and the guys looking after it were very friendly and attentive especially if you tipped!
The restaurants were very nice but wildly over priced, the buffet was drab, lacked any atmosphere, the staff here were less friendly as they were dealing with half board guests and probably got less tips! The cocktail bar drove us crazy every night, it took forever to be served drinks even tho the bar was dead and we were the only ones sat there!!!
The outside area is beyond the hotel is neon, dirty and felt unsafe to me. We therefore didn't leave the hotel again and felt a little trapped. The ritz Carlton looks great but once you peel back it's mask it's really no better than an average 4 star..and we all were ill when we arrived home and stomach cramps that lasted for weeks!! Thanks but no thanks...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first time in Sharm and we stayed for a week at the Ritz Carlton. But it will not be our last. We loved every moment of it. We stayed in a Club room, on the recommendation of several people on this page, and would endorse all favourable comments. The staff in the Club Lounge were all very nice, professional and extremely helpful. The first 4 days we managed to eat all our meals in the club lounge, by using the 5 daily presentations. Then we ate at the Cafe, which was having an Indian themed night (a bit unfortunate as I am not a fan of Indian food, altho what I did eat ws very pleasant). Then on our last night we went to the Japanese restaurant which was very good indeed. I have difficulty walking and the staff everywhere in the hotel were all so kind and helpful and they even lent us a wheelchair, which made things a lot easier.
We will certainly go back and next time will be for 2 weeks, so that we can take a few trips out and around. This time we just didn't want to leave the lovely pool and the gorgeous weather at all!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club if you can, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was my 4th visit to The Ritz-Carlton, the first being in 2006, and my husband's 2nd visit (he popped THE question in the lagoon in March 2008!). We had a feeling that we might be disappointed on this visit but NO way. We booked through Fleetway Travel and got a really good deal with an upgrade to a sea view room and half board. The staff are all so well trained - polite,smiley and nothing is too much trouble for them. The grounds are really lovely, the gardeners do a fantastic job. The bedroom was extremely comfortable and the room was always spotless and cleaned while we were at breakfast. All in all we had a fantastic holiday and we will certainly return. The Riz-Carlton is without doubt a winter holiday gem!

Room Tip: Having been 4 times and had 4 different rooms, I have found them all to be very acceptable although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had fabulous time at the Ritz, in February 2013, beautiful gardens surrounded by water to walk and absorbed the sunshine. Good size bedroom and bathroom, the only downside it was a twin and not double. The views from the bedroom was amazing of the sea, the gardens and the bridge. We loved sitting on the rocking chairs during day gazing at the sea, swimming pool and sunshine from the lobby balcony. Romatic evenings spent in the lobby with perfect lighting and live band. The heated swimming pool should be slightly warmer. Feel good winter break with friendly staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms were same size but different views, we saw 3 rooms but ours had fantastic views but tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having enjoyed a wonderful holiday in the Ritz-Carlton last May we decided to return for some winter sunshine. As I said in my previous review we were impressed with the hotel but the new General Manager has made some excellent improvements with ongoing renovations.

Once again we booked the Club room for our 10 night stay to enjoy the many benefits including 5 presentations of food along with alcoholic drinks and free wi-fi. The staff in the club room (Rifke, Sharif, Elaina and Mohammed) are pleasant and work extremely hard and we received friendly attentive service at all times. They are very professional and have to deal with different nationalities some of whom have a brusque manner.

My only gripe is that the Club Lounge is possibly a victim of its own success and at times felt rather crowded whereas the lobby bar where you purchase your drinks was empty most evenings and the entertainment played to a small audience.

We dined in the buffet café and found a great improvement in the food with a different choice each evening of Italian, Thai, Egyptian, Mexican, Spanish, French and Indian. We also dined at La Luna where the food and service was excellent.

All the staff are helpful and there are always lots of sun beds and the pool attendants are very willing to assist you. We enjoyed riding along the lazy river. The hard working gardeners are the unsung hero’s who toil to keep the grounds looking immaculate.

We look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Om El Seed Peninsula, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#69 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a luxurious resort, the Monte Carlo Sharm el Sheikh allows you to step into a world of relaxation and indulgence, where the finest Egyptian hospitality is guaranteed. Individual, elegant & refined, our rooms offer the ultimate in comfort & convenience. As an unsurpassed diving & snorkeling destination & just 20 minutes from Sharm el Sheikh International Airport, The Monte Carlo offers all year round sunshine in a setting of 100,000sqm of beautifully landscaped gardens, crystal clear pools & lazy river & overlooks the environmentally protected coral reefs of the Red Sea. Recalling an era of gracious living, The Monte Carlo offers the personalized service & deluxe amenities required by todays discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ritz Carlton Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Egypt
Ritz Sharm El-Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.