We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week away from it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Om El Seed Peninsula, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 Reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A week away from it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Its been a while since I visited this hotel, almost 3 years, but my stay here will always be a favourable experience.

Large clean rooms, friendly welcoming staff, large rolling lawns, many pools & terraces. I needed a week away from it all & thats exactly what I got at this loverly hotel.

Room Tip: My room was perfect, but I don't know about any others, there are so many!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    286
    167
    91
    46
See reviews for
234
591
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Big resort, very spacious rooms in the hotel, many outdoor facitilies, from a nicely shaped shallow water pool for wading the kids, to lawns and terraces, and access to the Red Sea beach, albeit a bit far from the main hotel building.
Great variety of dishes served at breakfast, three (or maybe four) restaurants for dinner, covering traditional Egyprian food and international cuisine.
Abundant staff catering to your needs, always friendly, helpful and curteous. I had a small incident of not feeling well, and it was incredible how they looked after me, visiting me at my room with fruits and asking for my welfare.

Room Tip: Look for a room further away from the pool preferably with a terrace facing the lawns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Let's forget the whole stuff about '5 star standard differs by country' as I write this review having stayed at proper worthy 5 star hotels in similar countries to Egypt and resorts such as Sharm like Mexico, Jamaica and Turkey - none were as poor as what my group encountered at the Ritz.

Just some context - we paid for 5 star price for a 7 night stay. What we received was far from it.

Our biggest issue was upon arrival, we had booked a sea view room and a garden view room, and specifically asked for these to be as close as possible together. On our arrival after 5 hour flight from London, we discovered our rooms were 4 blocks away - unacceptable given we had small children, we had specifically requested this and we had packed different things across different suitcases due to weight allowances at the airport on departure.
We immediately complained and asked why surely there wasn't any garden view room closer to the rest of our group's sea view room - there were 2 blocks of garden view rooms closer - but hotel refused to help, saying hotel was at capacity(!) (Not true or even close judging by lack of guests at breakfast, dinner or in hotel in general!). Hotel refused to negotiate or compromise and we had to spend our 7 night holiday inconvenienced due to their total incompetence at carrying out a request or attempting to look for an alternative!

Rooms are very dated, and very worn out. Our 'refurbished' room did not look great, cracks around the bath tub, mirrors stained, floor cracked, minibar/fridge never stocked once and shower leaking all over floor after every use. TV had 2 english channels... Very strange for a '5 star' hotel. Cleaning we noticed was very cursory and the man was usually done in 5 mins... Suspicious to say the least! Especially when the hotel was so empty - barely 10% capacity why the need to compromise on room cleaning quality?

Meals were absolutely atrocious! The welcome girl at the front of the restaurant never once said good morning to our group, upon telling her size of group and where we could sit - she left us to find table ourselves!? This is not 5 star standard! Tea and coffee service for breakfast terrible - sometimes a wait of over 15mins for serving even when total lack of other guests and dining area is quiet! Had to ask for absolutely everything - milk, sugar, extra cups - staff need retraining in basic customer service asking guests if there is anything else and SMILING more! Poor choice for breakfast MOULD on juices, FLIES everywhere and NOTHING done to prevent this - probably explains our illness and other guests we spoke to during our stay.

We stayed during last week of October, but there was NO activities whatsoever. There is no darts, water polo, tennis, football, snorkling or anything!!! Very surprised. No music around pool in day - feels like a ghost town and completely lacks any atmosphere at all - not a very pleasant environment. Swimming pools were OK but the lazy river is an embarrassment! Not only does it basically not work - took 20 minutes to go around because the water current is so weak, but also full of leaves which were never cleaned out over 7 days and also cracks and paint all over the place around the (rough) edges.

Overall, for the price we paid and the poor room, poor service and food choice in restaurants and lack of anything to do during the day at the hotel, the place is not 5 star by any stretch of the imagination! This place would be lucky to pass as a 4 star - with the poor service we encountered it is worthy 3 star hotel and has a long way to go and much more staff training and a general overhaul to undergo before reaching 4 or 5 star standards.

Something has to change here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just returned from sharm, after our forth stay at the ritz Carlton and we were not disappointed. Fantastic Staff, so friendly, nothing was too much trouble, excellent food, another great holiday. Unfortunately my husband damaged his knee on the aeroplane as we arrived and had to spend some time in hospital. The staff were tremendous and could not have supported me and my 2 boys anymore than they did. I especially need to say a big thank you to Waleed. His visits to the hospital, ensuring we were looked after at the hotel, and that we were still able to enjoy our holiday, I will never forget. Thank you also to hany and the life guards who took my 2 boys snorkelling so they could enjoy the fish. We will be returning again to see you all - the wilkinson family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just returned from our second trip to this hotel this year. We love the hotel, always go for a Club room and love the Club Lounge and in particular the lounge staff. They cannot do enough for you, and they are so professional and dedicated to their duties that they truly make the lounge a wonderful experience. Now the down side, the hotel management have suddenly decided to allow children into the Club Lounge, as opposed to the previous rule of over 12 years of age only. What a mistake ! On our final day we were treated to children running around and shouting, the parents doing nothing to control them, and the poor staff doing their very best to maintain their outstanding quality of service, whilst at the same time trying not to have an accident whilst the children charged around out of control ! The children were also touching the food on display, even picking it up and then putting back down on the display. The hotel management say this is an error that was made in the booking system, and will return to the previous rule at the end of the month. We will wait and see ! Such a shame to ruin this wonderful lounge, which is not child friendly, and probably never designed to be so.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I am afraid the Ritz Carlton did not live up to our expectations, a good hotel but probably not worth the extra money you have to pay.  We were booked into a Club Room with use of the Club Lounge, this was a real plus and I would recommend it to everyone.  Our room was clean, bright and airy but not on the particularly large size.  The room was kept lovely and clean and the room boy certainly provided a super service.  The service in the Club lounge was excellent and could not be faulted. We were on 1/2 board and the service in the main restaurant was poor with the waiters not really providing a service unless they were asked, they also frequently got the very basic requests wrong, the exception was the young lady Maitre D who was friendly and welcoming.  The pool service was also pretty poor and on plenty of occasions we had to collect our own towels and erect umbrellas etc, in fact there was no service!  The pool we used was huge but it was in need of a good clean around the surrounds and was poorly maintained.  There was no entertainment at the hotel and at times it felt like a ghost town with very low occupancy rates.  The beach area was reasonable and the snorkelling from the pontoon was spectacular.  There were three good A La Carte Restaurants (by reputation), we ate in the Blue Ginger courtesy of the hotel but unfortunately the food was not much to write home about!  We experienced a very mediocre buffet on the beach front which led me to make a formal complaint.  This was dealt with promptly by the hotel.  We thought much of the hotel was in need of major refurbishment to bring it up to standard.  During our stay the staff went on strike, this did not affect us particularly, but it was amusing to see the lobby full of waiter, cleaners, gardeners lying around whilst the management  did their best to keep the hotel going.  
This all sounds pretty gloomy but we did enjoy our stay, we met some lovely people and the weather, as normal, was wonderful.  In summary, another enjoyable holiday in Sharm but the Ritz Carlton did not live up to its reputation, and did not deliver the extra bit that we thought we had paid for.  

If you go, opt for bed and breakfast with a Club upgrade.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Have been at the Ritz Carlton for first week of a two week holiday. We paid for Club Room which is well worth the extra....but be aware...new rules now state that children are allowed into club lounge...If you need a little peace and tranquility you will not get it!

Room Tip: Would not return because of change of policy re club rules....but club rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Om El Seed Peninsula, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#69 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a luxurious resort, the Monte Carlo Sharm el Sheikh allows you to step into a world of relaxation and indulgence, where the finest Egyptian hospitality is guaranteed. Individual, elegant & refined, our rooms offer the ultimate in comfort & convenience. As an unsurpassed diving & snorkeling destination & just 20 minutes from Sharm el Sheikh International Airport, The Monte Carlo offers all year round sunshine in a setting of 100,000sqm of beautifully landscaped gardens, crystal clear pools & lazy river & overlooks the environmentally protected coral reefs of the Red Sea. Recalling an era of gracious living, The Monte Carlo offers the personalized service & deluxe amenities required by todays discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ritz Carlton Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Egypt
Ritz Sharm El-Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.