We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for foodies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence to your Saves list
Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Fanara Street | Ras Om El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 stars 940 Reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not for foodies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at about 8.30 pm. We were taken to our room, which was about 200 yards from the reception. The reception staff were very friendly. Next morning we found out how far we were away from the main building. We kept fit walking from our room to eat 3 times a day. The food in the restuarnat was horrible. I managed to find something each day, but my other half could not find anything he liked exept the pasta, which was not too good.
We used the quite pool all the time as the beach looked beautiful, but unless you got up at silly oclock, there was no way you could get a bed, which were rammed ingether like sanrdines. We went to the beach once, and only stayed 10 mins as it was too crowded. We had a very relaxing holiday. I recommend a trip to soho square as you do not get hasseled to buy anything like you do in Sharm. And there are lots of nice places to eat.

Room Tip: We had a family room, which was very nice but was a long way from the main hotel. Try to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    372
    110
    53
    22
See reviews for
279
359
84
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have just recently returned from 9 nights, and just had to right a review, as I had a lovely time here.

Where to start......I think it's only fair to say that should you want to surround yourself with fellow British people this is not the hotel for you, yes there are British people here, but you will be in the minority, this was not a problem for me, but I understand it will be for some people.

I was a solo traveller, and my apartment/room was overlooking the main road, a bit noisy, but nice to watch the world go by, and was more then adequate for my needs.

The hotel itself is well maintained, with nice gardens, loads of security staff dotted around at all times, who were friendly. The view of the beach is stunning, and you will never grow tired of sitting on the cliff top overlooking the sea, however to get to the beach takes a fair walk or a few steps so be aware, but it's well worth it.

Now this hotel is not for those whom don't like exercise, at one end you have a stunning beach, and at the other end there is an Italian restaurant, now I suspect to walk from the beach to the Italian restaurant must be approaching a mile, and you have apartments dotted all along this stretch, with the main building nearer the beach, I suspect this is where the higher priced apartments are, and it seems these are undergoing refurbishment at the present time.

You have pools at both ends of the complex, with the main ones being at the beach end, where the animation team are based, along with the massage staff, who will try to get you to have whatever treatment you require, yes they are persistent, but the same applies at any hotel in Egypt, just humour them, and they will be fine. I did have my first every massage, which was very good I have to say, but after this lithe massage levellers left me alone. There also seems to be photographers everywhere as we'll, but as I was a solo traveller they left me alone. The relax pool at the other end is very quiet, never busy, and you will not receive any unwanted attention. Obtaining Sun beds at either pool was never a problem, and the pool/towels guys were first class, I must mention Matwally and Kareem at this point as they were brilliant with me, along with all the others on duty.

The beach is lovely, and the snorkelling amazing. The food in El Madina the main restaurant was always good, and there is an outside type BBQ two nights a week, which was also very good.

The best about the hotel were the staff, who were absolutely brilliant, despite the hours they must all work, and are a real credit to the hotel, hopefully you enjoy my review, despite the length of it, but some things deserve to be praised.

This was my first visit to this hotel, and my second visit to Sharm El Sheikh, would I stay here again, you bet I would.

Room Tip: If you want easy access to the beach, and pools with the animation team your have to choose the more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our first visit to egypt we were not quite sure what to expect ! On our arrival at the hotel we were greeted with the biggest WELCOME one could expect although it was 2 am --our flight was delayed 2hrs.--it got better from the breakfast on our our 1st day the staff were fantastic the food was excellent lots of choice the main restaurant --the poolside bar and eatery --the fabulous Italian restaurant you could eat all day If you wanted . The staff in this hotel were all genuinely friendly and many times went out of their way to help us enjoy our holiday .Weather was fantastic private beach beautiful sea --amazing coral only 50 yds off shore--overall a lovely hotel 5star quality at i would say 4 star prices --we enjoyed our holiday and we shall genuinely return next year . Well worth a visit .

Room Tip: our room 1326 facing morning sunshine-away from the lively pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I travelled in late october with my husband and three children aged 3, 5 and 9yrs. I had never visited Egypt before or had an all inclusive holiday and the holiday had been quite cheap so I wasn't expecting much, however we all had a brilliant time. The accommodation was spacious with comfortable beds for everyone and a separate room. The service was very good and child friendly. There were two pools the one near our room was mostly deserted. The food was what you would expect from a buffet, but BBQ by the pool was good. The beach and sea is perfect for children and felt very safe. Both the 5 and 9yr old were able to snorkel and see some amazing fish. On a practical note- the hotel provides beach and swimming towels so I didn't need to take any and you will need long trousers for one of the restaurants. I would certainly recommend these hotel for families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Well this is the SEVENTH time we have stayed at the Fanara, we have now started to call it our second home because we love it so much. When we went in June of this year the hotel had started the renovations to improve things and update the hotel,so we were a little bit disappointed not to have the room we requested, but on arrival this time in October some of them had finished,and true to their word we were the first guests to stay in the suite which is absolutely fantastic the decor was really nice and the rooms were just brilliant,Allah couldn't wait to show the suite to us, he was so enthusiastic it was contagious. It was so brilliant to see so many friendly faces who always make us feel so welcome. The whole place is just a delight to be at, can't wait until we go back next year,

Room Tip: Room 1327 is one of the suites, very large rooms and a great big balcony to sunbathe on when you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is one of the best hotels i liked in Sharm el Sheikh, will surely do it again.
The food is georgius, the thema restaurants are perfect and of course the italian cook makes the perfect al dente pasta everyday again. Thanks to him. Very clean and up to date.
The vieuw is fantastic, looking on ras mohammed. Very good choice, and if you want quitness, go at the pool at the end of the hotel, you will be charmed...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We love snorkelling and there is no question that this hotel is fab for snorkelling straight off the beach. According to the rep this is the best hotel for snorkelling in Sharm. The days we spent on the beach were great and we saw so much sealife. If that is what you are looking for you won't be disappointed.

We were disappointed with the rooms, we were in a family room (6121). Family rooms are behind the main building and stretch back to the road. The room was very tired on arrival our sheets were stained and we had to get them changed. The air conditioning in the main room didn't cool and the air con in our bedroom was wedged up with paper. The curtains were falling down, the door didn't lock, the safe had run out of batteries and the bathroom had cockroachs. On the upside the staff were very friendly and tried to fix the problems. Unfortunately they tended to be patch jobs in a faulty towers fashion! For example they just jamed the patio door shut so we were unable to use it all week. The batteries in the safe were replaced with more flat batteries.

Rooms are in need of updating and it seems that it is underway. So be warned at the moment (sept 2012) the sea view rooms are being updated. They have closed one side and boarded them up. AVOID THIS HOTEL IF YOU WANT A POOL HOLIDAY the construction is right beside the pool and all day there are power tools on the go.

The up side of the construction is that the hotel is half empty and therefore the beach is not over crowded. If you are planning to have a beach holiday and snorkel you will have a good time but go prepared for a mixed experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room. If you have a family room ask for one closer to the main building. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence

Address: El Fanara Street | Ras Om El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 378 rooms & suites 4 stars Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence has a prime location overlooking the Red Sea & the national park of Ras Mohamed. Moreover, it's only minutes away minutes from Naama Bay & Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. The resort's contemporary flair is a perfect environment for relaxation. Guests can enjoy diving & snorkeling among a myriad of other water activities along the magnificent coral reefs in a protected bay right in front of our private sandy beach all year round. With the resort's wide variety of F&B outlets; guests are truely spoilt for a choice. Ownering the resort's excellence in service & green efforts; it has received a lot of accolades that include: Travelife Gold - 2012, The Travel Republic Customer Recommendation Award - 2011, "5 Stars" Green Star Hotel Award - 2011 & a number of awards in 2010 such as Hotelo Gulet Austria "Best 100 Hotels", Guete Siegel Reisen.de Award & 2 Cristal Certificates of Achievement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Iberotel Club Fanara And Residence
Iberotel Hotel Fanara Residence
Iberotel Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.