We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Four Seasons Boulevard | Sinai Peninsula, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Escape Package
Ranked #2 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,187 Reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

We stayed in the Sharm el Sheikh Four Seasons at the end of an Abercrombie and Kent tour of Egypt. We had stayed at the Four Seasons Nile Plaza in Cairo and felt this one could not possibly compare. Wrong! It far exceeded our wildest expectations. The rooms were excellent, the grounds were this side of Eden, and the staff absolutely couldn't do enough for you. The snorkeling and diving staff were outstanding, as was the actual snorkeling. You could see beautiful sea life without leaving the small pier beach area. Yes, the internet connection was expensive, as was the food, but it was safe, tasty and presented beautifully. Anything you could possibly wish for you could get. Played golf at Jolie nearby and it was just ok but they were very nice there, too. Hotel had limo service available and it had very nice cars and they also did all they could to help. Don't miss an evening in Naama Bay. Really nice. We just wish it wasn't so far away so we could go a few times a year.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    140
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
437
466
31
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Four Seasons Sharm in April of 2005. We were on our honeymoon and first stayed at the Four Seasons in Cairo before heading to Sharm. The Four Seasons in Sharm was beautiful. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a small refreshment and the staff checked us in. They were very helpful and brought us immediately to our room. The room we were in had a fully tiled floor so it didn't feel as plush as the room in Cairo. Obviously (this is a beach resort not a resort in a city so there are reasons why the floor was not carpeted). The bathrooms were well appointed and all of the toiletries are L'Occitane. I tried to buy the Lemon Verbena shampoo and conditioner when I got home and found out that L'Occitane only makes it for the Four Seasons.

Our first night in Sharm, we ate at the buffet in the FOur Seasons. The food was terrible, it felt like we were eating at a bad buffet in Las Vegas. It was very surprising because both of the Four Season's restaurants we had tried in Cairo had EXCELLENT food.

The following day we headed down to the beach and camped ourselves out on two of the fold out chairs. The staff was wonderful and came over right away to setup umbrellas for us. They also came around with wet towels to wipe our hands, and small thirst quenchers. Of course, the menus were there if you wanted to order a drink or a bite to eat.

While in Sharm, my husband and I tried two more restaurants at the Four Seasons and the only meal we thought "fit" our expectations was the one we ate by the beach at the beachside restaurant.

The snorkeling from the beach at the Four Seasons was AMAZING. It was beautifully clear water and while it felt a little cold at first, everyone was having an excellent time. The FS rents out snorkeling equipment on a daily basis so we did that whenever we decided to snorkel.

In all, it was an excellent trip and we really enjoyed the water and the beach. The amenities within the room were ok, but nothing spectacular. But, that didn't bother us because we were barely in the room!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

The Four Seasons is by far the finest hotel in the region of the Read Sea. There is absolutely no other hotel to compare it to, and the Four Seasons worldwide standards reflect in almost all areas. We have been to this hotel 3 times and funny enough each time it was a different story. The first time was just a few weeks when it opened and there was a serious service inadequacy. We even had a club sandwich delievered to the room which in turn fell by mistake to the floor. I saw the boy actually shove it back in the plate and when we asked "what are you doing?" he replied "but the floor is clean!!!" That was to laugh about or perhaps cry?

Anyway, this incident aside, the GM of the hotel at the time was very efficient to listen to our feedback being travel writers, and took into immediate action everything we said. Generally the ambience, design and gardens are beautiful. The restaurants are good too although overpriced and especially the wine! The Italian Il Frantoio could have been much better. The Spa is good too. The pool areas are lovely.

Having gone back again and again, the last time we found the service a thousand times better, much more proffessional. The only thing we found to be slighty anoying was that the crowd around the pool was too Cannes or Nice, that is too glitzy and fake for a relaxed location such as this. The entire scene was like something out of a Vogue magazine shoot and believe me this is not an exaggeration. One just sat there watching the ladies parade in their very promiment logos, and attitude for that matter. Not a very easy going ambience if one is with a family and especially children. One wants to be relaxed and not in front of a mirror all the time! This aside, we had to struggle to find a bed by the pool every day because they were always absolutely packed with the same people!! It should be known to these crowds who think this great hotel is in the Read Sea, that this is Sharm El Sheikh, not Monte Carlo.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2006

This hotel is truly superb. We always stay five star and this was better than most - up to and beyond the Four Seasons standard. From the moment we checked in and were offered chilled towels and fruit smoothies while the formalities were dealt with, we knew this was a special place.

Rooms: Big, new and very clean - comfortable beds with high qulity Egyptian linen and good pillows. Very good TV system - no pay movies but four movie channels in English plus the usual US and European chennels. Bathroom was huge, very well equipped and very nice L'Occidental cosmetics including (nice touch) after sun lotion. Housekeeping is excellent - nothing is too much trouble and room was cleaned, and towels changed twice a day. Another nice touch; we never had to ask for ice - the ice bucket was refilled twice a day with ice made from bottled water (we checked). The water in the complex is safe to drink as it is purified using a reverse osmosis system. Make sure to upgrade to a deluxe seaview as the view alone is worth it. When we checked in we were given a room with a partial seaview and when I asked to move to a room with a better view, even though the hotel was full, this was sorted within 20 minutes.

The Complex: The resort is big - the rooms are spaced well apart for maximum privacy and we never heard a sound from our neighbours. The gardens are immaculately kept with an army of gardeners unobtrusively at work throughout the day. As the resort is so spaced out, decide whether you want to be by the beach/pool or near the main hotel areas. The best suites are nearest the beach but the furthest from the bars, restaurants and spa which are at the top of the complex. Rooms here, have the best views. There was never a shortage of sunbeds though the beach area was the busiest. The whole hotel is beautifully finished, with seemimgly no expense spared on understated luxurious materials.

The Service: Immaculate Four Seasons service with the staff knowing our names from day one. The staff truly anticipate your needs and know what you want - water was brought to us each day by the pool, in an ice filled chiller - another nice touch. While in the sun, we were offered fresh fruit, chilled lemon scented towels, iced drinks, mint tea and a sunglasses cleaning service.

Restaurants and Bars: The best restaurant is Il Frantoio, managed by the charming Fabio, recently poached from the Burj al Arab in Dubai. The ingredients are flown in daily from all over the world, and this is without doubt one of the best restaurants in Egypt and it is not too expensive, though is definately London prices - about £120 for two including Egyptian wine. Alcohol generally is expensive, but non-domestic wine is not worth the price - a Jacobs Creek Reisling is £60. Arabesque serves a terrific menu of middle eastern food, all served to excellent standards. The Reef Grill is very good for lunch with great views out to sea. The Waha restaurant by the main pool is also very good, and a very nice place for a pre dinner cocktail. The nicest bar for us was Nafoura, in the main complex, with a great cocktail menu and a wonderful, relaxed atmosphere as well as a bewildering choice of Shisha pipe, scented and flavoured tobaccos.

The Spa: Excellent spa, well managed and very well appointed. Treatments run at around £65 but are very good. The gym is excellent, well equipped and next to a good sized lap pool. Great hammam and sauna, though the whirlpool is small and not powerful enough.

Overall: If you like to have a drink in your room then make sure you bring it in duty free. If you arive without, you have to purchase non-domestic alcohol in the Duty Free Shop in Naama Bay within 48 hours of arriving. The local shops sell only fake spirits such as Smiroff and Jonny Walker!

This is a hotel which deserves its reputation as one of the best in Africa. It is refined, beautifully run, with some of the friendliest staff I've ever come across. The whole operation is slick and efficient and this is a wonderful place to really chill out and recharge. We took a taxi to Naama Bay - chilled water and towels were waiting for us, and when we were collected again, more refreshing towels were on hand. This resort is a destination in itself, and very few guests leave the resort more than to just check out the souks in town. Everyone we spoke to on our journey home, not staying at the Four Seasons had been ill at some point due to water or food, and though the Four Seasons may be on the expensive side, who wants a holiday ruined with a bad stomach? I cannot recommend this place highly enough and we will definately return year after year.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset- england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

The room we stayed in was super, dressing room, bathroom (huge shower) very comfortable bed,It was kept spotlessly clean, Cleaned and tidied twice a day.
The patios and gardens were very attractive, clean
The staff were excellent nothing was too much touble.
Food in the reef bar was good with lovely views across the sea.We ate lunch there everyday. The Italian was very nice food was excellent, a bit pricey
We stuck to the egyptian wine as imported wine was very exspensive.Breakfast was great - huge choice, well presented and cooked. The arabic restaurant was not to our taste, we thought the food over priced for what it was.Room,service,gardens,pool all were really excellent. Food was o.k. but not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. Hardly any guests there as Egypt is suffering a severe down turn in tourism,Since the bombing.Which is a pity as it has so much to offer.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

We stayed at the Four Seasons last week of November and 1st week of December. We would agree with the positive comments made in the other reviews. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were extremely helpful. Would agree with the comments on drinks, even the non-alcoholic drinks were double the price of other hotels. A bottle of Evian at dinner would set you back approx 4 pounds sterling! However you can purchase a bottle of Nestle Water for half the price.

Food is expensive but was of a very high standard with prices on par with London. You will need to add 12% plus 10% plus 2% tax to each food bill. A curry, for example, would be about 8 pounds plus tax per person. A two course meal (for 2) in the Italian restaurant without alcohol was about 50 pounds. We were slightly disappointed with the breakfast – we’ve certainly had better.

We were concerned with the airport being so near that we would have planes flying overhead which was not the case. You did occasionally hear them land and take off but it didn’t bother us and in no way spoilt the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel.

Our room was beautiful, downstairs with a small courtyard with settee and table and chairs. We did however ask to move to an upstairs room as we could hear the people above us the first night but were told that an upstairs room was a supplement of 74 pounds per night! So be warned that the ‘basic’ rooms are downstairs. However to be fair, we never heard the people again after that night.

The weather at the end of Nov beginning of December was quite hot about late 70’s early 80’sF. The hotel was really quite the first week but by the end of our 2nd week had started to get quite busy. We never had a problem finding a sun bed on the beach or by the pool.

Taxis from the resort to Nama Bay (tacky place) was about 5 pounds although of course they may actually ask for 10. A taxi can be taken from outside of the hotel. Be warned they drive reckless and the car reeks of fumes! A limousine from the hotel to Nama Bay is around 10 pounds.

All in all a wonderful hotel, a great place to go and relax in beautiful surroundings. We would certainly say the best hotel in the area and would be happy to recommend it to all our friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2005

My wife and myself,have stayed at the Four Seasons,several times since it opened,in 2002.
The place is classy,with excellent architecture,
decoration ambience and service.
Its an oasis of calm,tranquillity,a perfect place
to relax,and enjoy the sun and the sea.
In my several lenghty stays,I never found a
single fault,honestly.
Of course its expensive,and thats how it should remain,since there are other cheap options at Sharm.
This place is for connaisseurs only,and not for
the ever complaining misearable guests,who want the
best,but they are never prepared to pay for it.
The food options are very adequate,we never had a
stomach upset in all our stays,and in summary,
this is the place for people in the know.
Thanks

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Address: 1 Four Seasons Boulevard | Sinai Peninsula, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#15 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rare among international sun destinations: a desert-and-sea hideaway - combining the Sinai Desert's guaranteed year-round sunshine and sand-swept landscapes with the Red Sea's turquoise waves and world-class diving. Four Seasons welcomes guests to Sharm El Sheikh's most complete resort: an oasis of lush greenery, swimming and spa, where authentic Egyptian traditions come to life with thoughtfully personalised care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Four Seasons
Hotel Sharm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.