We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Gardens Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sultan Gardens Resort to your Saves list
Sultan Gardens Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 111, Coastal Road | Shark's Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Ellingham, Norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We returned the sultan Gardens for the second time 10.03.14 - 17.03.14. We were NOT disappointed. Every thing from start to end was perfect. We were greeted by a friendly Sultan Gardens employee at the airport who transported us safely to the hotel. On arrival we were checked in in the VIP area and served with a fruity cocktail. The check in was smooth and trouble free. As per our email request we were given the same rooms, Junior Suites which overlooked the pool. Within the room we had a large bowl of fruit and a mini bar stocked with complimentary soft drinks and not forgetting our keepsake mugs to bring home. Just lovely. on the second evening we went to the VIP evening for cocktails this gave an opportunity to talk with senior staff including Basel, the General Manager. Basel regularly could be seen walking the grounds talking to guests ensuring that every thing was ok. We did not have any problems, but I am confident if you did these would be soon sorted out. Food as expected was lovely and plentiful, lots of choice and always hot. We tended to use the restaurant in the morning and evening. (my repeat breakfast request of two poached eggs was remembered each day by the chef!) We were served extremely well by Ramy and Pondok. always a smile on their faces and nothing seemed to much trouble. We enjoyed food lunch time by the pool. This also offered a nice variety and we never went hungry! Pools although a little cold were enjoyed every day. There is the option of heated pools, one quiet pool and another smaller pool with water slide. This smaller pool was used for our daily exercise of Aqua gym. This was fun and thoroughly enjoyed. Pool drinks were served at our sunbeds by Amhed - Just wonderful. The pool man, Mohamed, Exceptional, he even retrieved something from the pool for us which was caught by the wind in spectacular style! Beach lovely, snorkelling off beach - Great, Sun beds comfortable and plentiful. Taf Taf, (Bus) available if too hot to walk to and from beach! Animation team simply superb! special mention to Moose and Ramy (our holiday would not have been the same without them) Kept us entertained all holiday! Also we were pleased to see Ehab in reservations, who always had a wave for us and a big smile! Reception waiter was great (don't know name to specially mention him) Departure, airport transfer, complimentary of the hotel was on time and as arranged, dropped off right at the door. I could go on and on, I have nothing but praise for this little gem! We have rebooked for November and cannot wait to return. Thank you Sultan Gardens!

Room Tip: Junior Suites overlooking pool 2 great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, General Manager at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear joaboa,

Thank you for continuing to choose the Sultan Gardens Resort and for taking the time to post your kind and detailed review. It was a pleasure to host you again and we are all looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,425
    1,142
    351
    109
    45
See reviews for
1,736
2,177
66
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Sultan Gardens and it just does not disappoint. So much so, my wife said "it feels like we've never been away" as we headed for our room. We are a family of 3 adults & have family room. They have 2 bedrooms. My sister in law is 47 but has a learning disability (downs). Every member of staff are absolutely fantastic with Ann. Many make a real fuss of her (Abou - her favourite, Mohammed, Maher -pool guy & supervisor, Abdelazim & Ibraihim, Lofty - restaurant, Ehab - reservations to name just a few. A would definitely recommend this hotel if you have someone with a disability, they will be treated with great respect. This is really important for us.

We don't move far from the quiet pool during our stay. The pool guys & bar staff are excellent, often anticipating your needs - bringing drinks without being asked for example.

The food in the main restaurant is very good, plenty of choice & variety & quality. My wife & I are fairly fussy esters but there is always something we can eat & usually too much choice! We were unable to visit the Indian (house of Spice) as Ann will not eat any spicy food even mildly spiced food. We did get to the Italian (Casa Mia) & can highly recommend it. These 2 restaurants are included in your all inclusive deal & should not be missed. They do get busy so book early.

The management are highly visible and approachable. In my opinion this shows the faith they have in the hotel. In the unlikely event that you have a problem with anything at all you can be assured that if it can be resolved it will be & quickly.

We will be going again. The fact that do many people return time after time is proof of the quality & value this resort offers.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, General Manager at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear PaulCapewell,

Thank you for continuing to choose the Sultan Gardens Resort and for taking the time to post your kind and detailed review. We are grateful to have your valuable feedback and also very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your most recent stay with us.

We all remain at your service and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Rather than list everything again I thought I would simply cover what had changed since our last visit in May 13.
1. Furniture on the terrace at the back of the hotel has been changed to rattan style with large shades available. Very comfortable and improves the appearance of the area.

2. Lunchtime buffet has been improved.
A BBQ is available everyday of whole fresh fish purchased from the market that morning.
On 2 occasions we had beef fillet ( fillet steak) with chips and cold beer. What a great lunch. Fantastic!!

3. Met the Executive Sous Chef ( no.2 chef on site) Mohamed Moustafa. Saw him in so many places wondered if he had a twin brother! He was everywhere. He really wants to hear your opinion of the food and if he can help you in any way. He arranged for me to have a pizza that was not on the menu at the Italian restaurant - much appreciated.

4. Having now visited 5 times we are 'Ashgar' members of the Loyalty Members Club. A new benefit for us this time was 6 hours of free internet access. Very useful, just would suggest that it's use should not be restricted to be used in 7 days.

Staff as always were fantastic. Big hello to Mohamed and Ahmed at the big pool, Ahmed and Ihab on the outside terrace for the restaurant, Ibrahim at the quiet pool, Lofty in the restaurant. Thanks guys for great service.( Apologies for any misspellings!)

Basel; as always a pleasure - see you next year.

Regards, John & Ann

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, General Manager at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear jontytiger2006,

Thank you for continuing to choose the Sultan Gardens Resort and for taking the time to post your helpful and informative review. It was a pleasure to host you again and we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed our most recent upgrades and improvements. We will continue our upgrades and we look forward to hosting you again soon for your sixth stay with us.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we could not fault anything at the SGR. As this was our second trip, we took advantage of the complimentary shuttlebus service and were greeted by friendly staff and were appreciative of the bottles of water provided.

The reception staff were very efficient and we were soon shown to our room. We were given room 264 and the room itself was very clean with a fabulous cleaner, however; it was quite noisey as it was close to where the animation team held their activities.

We booked into the Indian, Italian and the Fish Market restaurant and all of them were top class. We dined in the adults only restaurant and received first class service from our waiters, Ahmed Kamal, Tamer ElSayed and Alaa Abdelmeged. There was always a vast selection of food with a different theme night each evening. Whilst there were notices stating that the hotel supported the reducing food of waste, it was annoying to watch Russian guests fill their tables (and also bags to take away) of food and then leaving it uneaten.

Around the pool it was ideal for us as all the childrens activities took place in one pool so it was always very quiet and relaxing. All the pool staff at the double pools deserve a mention as each and every one of them were extremely friendly and drinks were regularly delivered to your sunbed.

Sophie from the animation team deserves a mention for being so friendly to each holiday maker and spending time chatting to them even if they did not want to take part in any of the activities.

All in all it was another fantastic holiday that is filled with wonderful memories. Each and every member of the team cannot do enough for you and are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, General Manager at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear MissKaren3139,

Thank you for continuing to choose the Sultan Gardens Resort and for taking the time to post your detailed and helpful review. We are grateful to have your feedback and we all look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Have just returned from a lovely week at the SGR. Greeted at the airport by a very friendly and helpful driver from the hotel for our complimentary transfer. Upon arrival was greeted by an efficient receptionist but not afforded the same courtesy of a complimentary drink like the russians were getting. Check in was quick and efficient and was quickly on our way to our room.

Nice size room and very clean, if a little dated, but I understand that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment of rooms.

The restaurant was very nice and we ate upstairs in the adults only area every day. Plenty of food and excellent waiters only too willing to get you drinks and clean your plates. You were all lovely and helpful. The only downside was the birds flying around.

The hotel grounds are immaculately kept and even the gardeners and maintenance staff wave and say hello to you. We have never stayed in a hotel with such friendly obliging staff. They are a credit to the hotel, except the very rude man in the handbag shop. No tolerance of customers who only want to look and not spend money.

85% of the brits we spoke to have returned year after year and we can understand why.

A big shout out to the staff at the quiet pool. You were all very attentive and so friendly.

The italian restaurant and indian restaurant were lovely and is included in your stay. Please make sure you eat there.
I could go on and on but if you are thinking of booking this hotel please do as you will have a wonderful time.

Just want to say once again what amazing staff and a lovely time was had and we look forward to returning soon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, General Manager at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear nailgirlessex,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for taking the time to post your detailed and kind review. It was a pleasure to host you and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We remain at your service and we look forward to your return.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We travelled to this hotel during February half term and having listened to News reports and seen thast other countries were not visiting we were a little worried about what we would find.I have to say what we found totally blew us away, this is a super hotel and i cannot speak highly enough of it, the staff were wonderful so friendly and attentive nothing was too much trouble, Henne our room guy was great always making sure the room was spotless and that we had a supply of bottled water, the waiters at meal time soon got to know what we drank and kept us topped up with tea at breakfast and beer at lunch...what more could we ask. The pool waiters soon caught on that we went for a walk to the beach first thing in the morning( snorkelling from the beach was amazing never seen fish and sealife like it) and would be waiting on our return from the beach with clean towels and cool drinks.
The food offered at all meals was very plentiful and varied and being able to visit the Indian and Italian restuarents was an added bonus.
The highest praise i can give this holiday is that on the flight home non of us could think of a single thing we had not liked about the hotel or holiday, we will definately be returning for another holiday at this super hotel.
An added bonus for us was that a family wedding took place whilst we were staying at the hotel and it was lovely to see an eygptian wedding party.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, General Manager at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear 784Eileeng,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for taking the time to post your kind review. We are extremely pleased to read that you so thoroughly enjoyed your first stay with us and we all hope you will return soon.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was a bit apprehensive about Egypt, but the other half was keen to get to the sun. We arrived around six on the Saturday night and the booking in process was nothing like I had ever experienced before. We were told to sit and relax on the seating and a non alcoholic drink was brought to our table. The check in staff came to us to deal with all the process of passports etc and after our journey, was very welcome.
We were shown to our room, which looked inviting. The room was well laid out, large and clean with a sea view. Maybe a little dated furniture and bathroom but we were pleased with it.
After getting cleaned up, we went for dinner, expecting fairly good food after reading everyone's reviews. The quality was first class and the meat dishes were superb. If you like cake as a desert, this was the only disappointing issue for me, as they are all a bit firm. All the food in the main restaurant was very good and we had no problems.
We tried the other restaurants and my opinion on each is as follows:
Indian - absolutely stunning food, but tiny amount.
italian - same as above
Fluer de Lys (Cajun) - Lovely if you like all sorts of seafood, miles too much and stay away from the creamed spinach unless you're very very keen on salt.

On the Sunday, we were expecting rain. We knew before we arrived it was forecast. I have to say, the hotel staff were totally un-prepared for the absolute deluge that happened. They stood in the reception area taking photographs of the rain and ten minutes later panicking as it gushed through the reception area. All the hotel staff, including the Owner/Manager were getting stuck in. Seven rooms in our block were damaged.
We returned to our room to watch TV, but power and lighting were continually tripping out and we expected a cold buffet for dinner. As we entered the dining room, we were flabbergasted at the food laid out. The staff and management have my undoubted admiration in making sure that their guests were fed.
We went out on a trip snorkeling with a rep we found in the hotel. an organised trip and well worth the £29 each we paid. A fantastic experience. Includes transport food and drink on board the boat. some other trippers from other hotels said that it was the best food they had had since arriving, so be careful where you book,
We also went to Namma Bay and the Old Market. we both wished we hadn't bothered. If you go, be prepared for hassle like you've never seen and if you don't buy, they get aggressive and shout that you are insulting them. Go elsewhere and save the heartache.

Now for the staff. I have to say, the Owner of the hotel is a very clever man. His staff are hand picked for service and they are all trained in English, Russian and Italian. Service is second to none and I have never seen anything like it before. I would recommend this hotel in a flash. There are some who deserve recognition in particular Mohammed at pool 2/3, another Mohammed in the reception bar area, (looks a lot like Mr Bean) and a waiter in the main restaurant first floor adult only area. sorry, didn't get his name, but has an American accent.

Also, in a previous review, I made complaints about our Eastern European friends and the way they ate. This time, I eat my words. they were friendly and well mannered, so much so, I would pick out some British people for criticism on their manners this time.

If you think you might like to go to Egypt, stay here. you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, General Manager at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear markydsparky,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for taking the time to post your kind and informative review. We are grateful to have your valuable feedback and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all hope that you will return soon and we remain at your service.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultan Gardens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Gardens Resort

Address: P.O. Box 111, Coastal Road | Shark's Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#14 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sultan Gardens Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located just 5 km from the international airport, the Sultan Gardens Resort offers superb accommodation in the heart of one of the most popular resort destinations in Egypt. The resort boasts 220 meters of private sandy beaches, and is nestled between the seas and the beautiful mountain ranges of South Sinai. This resort has all the amenities you would expect of 5* resort including water-sports, live entertainment, fine dining, and easy access to local nightlife. The resort boasts 520 spacious rooms, suite and villas, newly refurbished and brimming with modern comfort. All rooms feature a private balcony or terrace with sea, pool or garden view. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. When it comes to recreation and entertainment The Sultan Gardens Resort offers a wide variety of choices. There are four large outdoor swimming pools, two of which are heated, as well as a professional diving center, a variety of water sports from windsurfing to jet skiing, basketball, volleyball and foot ball courts, kid's club with jungle gym, two tennis courts, an eighteen hole mini golf course and a fully equipped health club and spa. There is also a hotel singer and a team of professional animators who entertain you throughout the day and put on nightly entertainment in our outdoor Roman style Amphitheatre. In Addition, the resort offers you same day laundry service and 24 hours room service. All rooms come equipped with digital safe boxes free of charge as well as high speed internet access ports, satellite television, individually controlled air condition, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with long distance calling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sultan Gardens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Gardens Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sultan Gardens Sharm El Sheikh
Sultan Garden Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Gardens Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.