We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Gardens Resort

Save Saved
You added Sultan Gardens Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sultan Gardens Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 111, Coastal Road | Shark's Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% OFF - BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #16 of 230 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“3rd visit.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

After visiting the sultan gardens for the 3rd time with 12 friends, I have to say that we are still satisfied with the hotel. So much so some of the party will return at Christmas. The staff are certainly better than they were previously and the management team make an effort to be seen by the guests. I think its important to say that whilst we all have a vision of a 5 star complex, standards vary from country to country. Our experience has been overall fantastic, the weather amazing and yes i would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Block 800 - great for the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear ahobson01,

Thank you for continuing to choose the Sultan Gardens Resort. It was a pleasure to host you again and we all look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,978
    1,020
    317
    104
    42
See reviews for
1517
1951
55
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Quality of food was good especially Casa Mia. Upstairs in main restaurant was adult only so nice and quiet. Sparrows flitted about during breakfast which some might find offputting. Not really hygienic to have them there.
Drinks were usual all inclusive. Beer and red wine OK .
Our room had a lovely view of Tiran Island and was very clean although not updated. Old style TV.
Snorkelling area was wide and easily accessible. Some idiots were feeding fish despite the warnings. Beach had quieter areas which we preferred. A long way from beach bar so it would have been good to have the Tiran bar open too. We didnt tip early on so staff didnt bother to come up to us after the first day. Tables and chairs needed a good clean on beach terrace. Sometimes rubbish from previous days lunch was still lying around. We liked to sit in the shade and eat & beach area was always full.
Most staff were lovely but one or two lacked basic customer service skills not smiling at all. They were the exception though. Restaurant staff upstairs were always charming and Abu at the main pool bar was an absolute credit to the hotel. Just a smile and friendly greeting is all you need.
Animation was very good. The team worked hard to make the evenings enjoyable. The different nationalities blended well with good humour thanks to their skill. Chinese & Fakir shows were excellent as was the whirling man.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained as are pool areas but didn't feel the hotel was on a par with others we have stayed in and find its rating quite out of synch with my own opinion. I'm not fussy, don't expect to be waited on or fawned over and wasn't expecting 5* luxury, yet I felt slightly disappointed having read the rave reviews. Some areas of the hotel are very run down with piles of paint pots and a ladder abandoned on the beach terrace which doesn't give a good impression. There just seems to be a lot to do to bring it up to the same standard as other hotels.
Having said that, we enjoyed our time and found nothing to really spoil our stay. I wouldn't worry if you have booked, you'll be well looked after but I won't be returning like so many others.

Room Tip: Block three rooms have great sea views and are close to the beach. Not refurbed though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Diddlydancer,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will be sure to act upon it. It is our hope that you will reconsider a return visit in the future.

Thank you again, both for your patronage and for your helpful comments.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel. My wife and I have been to Sharm for the past 4 years at different hotels, hoping to find one that we wanted to return to. After trip advisor reports we thought this was the one. Unfortunately it wasn't. The snorkelling was amazing, a large area to swim in and a short pontoon to get to it. The entertainment at the hotel was also very good, the Chinese show was incredible and the animation team work very hard to make your holiday enjoyable. The food quality was very good and the Italian restaurant is worth a visit, book this when you arrive to avoid disappointment. Some of the staff are very friendly, the guy at the quiet pool bar is not very welcoming and could use some customer service training. What lets this hotel down is the run down areas, and there are a lot. The Tiran beach bar is not open and the other beach bar has no character, just a concrete block. We spent our days at a terrace overlooking the beach and rubbish was not always collected each day. We had a great week in the sun and will be back in Sharm next year looking for THE hotel to return to.

Room Tip: 342 to 350 have great sea views, request a sea view when you book. These rooms are also very quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear terryc768,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry that our resort was not for you. We would like to take this opportunity to stress that upgrades and maintenance are always ongoing in the resort and that while there are some areas that still need renovation (the Tiran bar for example) these are few and far between when compared to the vast areas which have been recently renovated and are on par or superior to facilities found in brand new resorts.

Thank you again and we hope you will consider a return in the future.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have just returned from our 3rd visit and had another lovely holiday. We stayed in a refurbished family suite which was lovely.
Food - the buffet restaurant was good. The last weekend in Oct seemed to be an Egyptian holiday and the hotel was at full capacity. The restaurant coped but it was not a relaxing or peaceful experience! The service however by Mohammed El Syed, Amr and Syed was exceptional once again. I am so impressed at the high rentention rate of very good staff.
Casa Mia - food was ok, menu limited. We thought service was poor and we were very disappointed that the manager refused to let us sit outside on one of the many empty tables. MY main was cold, when I complained I was offered a guest comment card. Poor show really.
Pools - lovely, clean
Entertainment - what happened to the Micheal jackson show, we were gutted that this is no longer running. Fakir show and Chinese acrobat shows were very good.
Trips- we went quad biking this time and thought it was ace, good value for money.

Room Tip: 500 block rooms are quiet and close to main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear emmaSheffield_Uk,

Thank you for continuing to choose the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. We appreciate your taking the time to write your comments regarding the new Casa Mia restaurant. We apologize that your meal in this restaurant did not match your expectations and we will make sure your next meal at Casa Mia is a delicious and delightful affair.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday.
Having read previous reviews of the Sultan Garden hotel I was slightly aprehensive we would find our holiday a let down. I had no reason to worry.
The service was amazing.All staff were very helpful.
The buffett restaraunt had a huge range of food which changed daily, but as the hotel became busier the restaraunt seemed more disorganised.
We had two great meals at the Fish and meat restaraunt and were lucky enough to get into the itallian on two occassion. Not everyone else was so lucky.
Everywhere was clean and kept tidy. The beach area needed more staff to keep on top of the glasses at times.
We spent most of our time at the quiet pool where we were spoilt by all the staff. Having drinks delivered without asking is a good touch.

We were not unwell and felt the hygiene was of a very good standard. Our friends did on the other hand have a couple of days of diarrhoea treated quickly in the pharmacy. This did not stop them from having a good holiday.
Shame if there was something nasty going round and this lets the hotel down.This should be investigated.

Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful 10 days.
If we are in need of a break we will certainly think of visiting again.

Room Tip: No need to book a suite , just ask for a room with a sea view.Especially a room that has been upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Kt l,

Thank you for continuing to choose the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. It was a pleasure to host you again and we all remain at your service and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my first visit to sultan gardens, some friends recommended it to us so we all went together. We got the room we wanted which was straight out onto the pool, we got a refurbished room and they were very nice :) the food was very nice and the staff in the restraints and bar were so friendly and helpful, always talking to you and making sure you were okay. The entertainment on the night was very good, the animation team do a great job of organising the shows they put on. After me and my friend Ashleigh who went with me went to someof the parties on a night time which again are put on by the animation team, these were really fun and Rammy and moose were so nice. Me and my mum and some friends went to the spa and had a scrub and massage this was very good and I would definitely recommend the massage. Me and Ashleigh went ton the crazy couch with was very fun and also went snorkelling which is so good as you an see all the coral reef. We have already booked for us toga second time at new year 2012 and I can't wait!

Room Tip: Either out onto the pool on the bottom floor. Or sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Lucy B,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsclere
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the first time my family and i have ever returned to the same resort, and after our successful visit in Apr and the dismal weather we had in the UK this summer we decided to take the plunge and go for it. After booking i made contact with Sultan gardens to request an area of rooms and the possibility of arranging for there in-house Taxi. Within 24hrs i had an email from customer services informing me that were classed as VIP's due to our returning custom, a complimentary shuttle bus would be there on our arrival, and our room request would be pretty much guaranteed. On our arrival all was as stated and we relaxed straight into our holiday. For those who have never been, the complex is big, clean and extremely safe. The food is plentiful, and a great variety every morning, lunch and evening time. The staff are friendly, and always happy to help. Even Basel (General Manager) was on hand around the pool area to answer and queries. Casa Mia the Italian restaurant, was a better experience now it has moved and the set menu's are no longer, the food was great. A big thanks to Ahmed and Abo at the pool bar and Ramy & Maro from the animation team these are the guys that make great holiday memories. Will my family and i be going back, you try stopping us. Please don't hesitate to contact me with any question about this resort.

Room Tip: Upper 200 rooms are great for being near the children's pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear DamianCox,

Thank you for choosing to return to the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. It was a pleasure to host you again and we all look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sultan Gardens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Gardens Resort

Address: P.O. Box 111, Coastal Road | Shark's Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#13 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sultan Gardens Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located just 5 km from the international airport, the Sultan Gardens Resort offers superb accommodation in the heart of one of the most popular resort destinations in Egypt. The resort boasts 220 meters of private sandy beaches, and is nestled between the seas and the beautiful mountain ranges of South Sinai. This resort has all the amenities you would expect of 5* resort including water-sports, live entertainment, fine dining, and easy access to local nightlife. The resort boasts 520 spacious rooms, suite and villas, newly refurbished and brimming with modern comfort. All rooms feature a private balcony or terrace with sea, pool or garden view. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. When it comes to recreation and entertainment The Sultan Gardens Resort offers a wide variety of choices. There are four large outdoor swimming pools, two of which are heated, as well as a professional diving center, a variety of water sports from windsurfing to jet skiing, basketball, volleyball and foot ball courts, kid's club with jungle gym, two tennis courts, an eighteen hole mini golf course and a fully equipped health club and spa. There is also a hotel singer and a team of professional animators who entertain you throughout the day and put on nightly entertainment in our outdoor Roman style Amphitheatre. In Addition, the resort offers you same day laundry service and 24 hours room service. All rooms come equipped with digital safe boxes free of charge as well as high speed internet access ports, satellite television, individually controlled air condition, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with long distance calling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Otel, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sultan Gardens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Gardens Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sultan Gardens Sharm El Sheikh
Sultan Garden Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Gardens Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.