We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cathedral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heavenly Cathedral

The Heavenly Cathedral
Hey El Noor, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The heavenly Cathedral was absolutely beautiful inside, beautiful paintings and very peaceful. The guide was very good and explained everything in detail, I'm glad I went!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“SHARM AT NIGHT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Amazing and very interesting visiting the Cathedral, Mosques etc. plus enjoying the walking around the large stores in old Sharm.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most magnificent Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visited 'The heavenly Cathedral' as part of the City tour in Sharm el Sheikh. It looked amazing outside with the stained glass windows but when we got inside.....we were totally wonder struck! What a beautiful magnificent building and the artwork was out of this world! We almost stood there with our mouths open!!! Everywhere you looked from the walls to the ceiling....the most perfect, colourful intricate artwork depicting the bible stories of Moses and the other saints. I have seen the cathedrals in Italy too but I found this much more impressive. No one should leave Sharm el Sheikh without visiting this cathedral!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful. Well worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Well worth a visit. The interior is simply beautiful with frescoes and stained glass. Photography is allowed so take a camera, and if you have one, a small tripod for low light shots. Please bear in mind they insist on shoulders and knees being covered, so dress conservatively. I understand that in the past, a gown of some sort was provided for those attending who did not meet the dress code, however, this has stopped, or has stopped for the time being.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Amazing place you will be wowed when you go inside its amazing not much from the outside just looks like a normal church but the paintings and chandeliers are wonderful we were gobsmacked make sure you have a camera!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Heavenly Cathedral also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to The Heavenly Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heavenly Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.