We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Il Mercato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Iberotel Il Mercato to your Saves list
Iberotel Il Mercato
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hadabet Om El Seed, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very clean with meticulous and fast service. Room was spacious with a lovely view. Roof pool was a big plus for us. The restaurant was clean and efficient. Breakfast buffet was very good, and the themed Dinner buffets superb. A delight to eat there. Hotel management and staff were always helpful and responsive. A great relaxing place to stay. We will be booking this hotel for next year.

Room Tip: Rooms to the West side are quieter. Ask for a Superior room for extra room space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,170
    950
    278
    86
    52
See reviews for
580
1,542
268
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had visited Egypt for my birthday with my girlfriend. We really enjoyed our stay, I was very impressed with the level of service from the hotel staff overall. Everyone was very friendly two people in particular Karim on the reception desk and Emad in the dining area. Because of the level of service provided by both. Karim arrange to have a birthday cake in my room. Karim always made sure we had everything we required. Emad was a very helpful individual always allocating us to a table with no wait. And a drink ready for us before we even sat down. I was impressed with the food. My girlfriend is a very fussy eater but she enjoyed the selection. Hotel room was clean, thanks to all the staff for a wonderful holiday especially to Karim and Emad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed from the 12/11-19/11 really enjoyed our stay here. The food was one of the best ive had in an all inclusive hotel.
I would say that the grounds do need work and probably be wouldn't be classed as 5* . However the lobby, pool and bar areas were lovely.
Would definately go back, staff were friendly but not too much.
Definately worth a visit!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, west yorks.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at El Mercato from 8th november to 15th november 2012 with my girlfriend and stayed in a Deluxe room (1227) which is in the main building, the room had a very comfortable and massive queen size bed plus a nice pool view and balcony.
The room was very nice and was cleaned daily by a lovely guy called mohammed who left us some towel art twice during our 7 night stay which was a nice touch.
My only complaints about our Deluxe room was the constantly flashing smoke alarm right above the bed at night and that there wasnt any tea or coffee making facillities in the room which for a deluxe room in a 5 star hotel i would expect.
We did ask for a kettle at reception and on a 3rd time of asking we did receive a kettle to brew up so it wasnt really a problem although the hotel should have a kettle and cups in every room in my opinion.
Arrival at the hotel found a warm welcome but we wasnt very happy with the amount of time we were waiting for our cases to arrive to our room so i ended up going back down to reception and taking them up myself as we were tired and hungry after a long full days travelling and just wanted to change and get something to eat and drink etc.
The food at the hotel was nice with lots of choice but i felt it wasnt any better than the quality or choice of meals id had on my previous stay in egypt at a 4 star hotel so was a little surprised as this is classed as a 5 star hotel so expected the food quality and choice to be a little better.
The meals are on a themed basis Oriental/French/English/Italian/Mediteranean/Indian etc but failed to have an Egyptian meal night and only offered a small selection of Egyptian food at meal times which was a shame as we were in Egypt after all.
The restaurant staff like every one of the hotel staff are brilliant and very attentive and are very hard working friendly people, this includes the hotel taxi service which is both reasonably priced and very reliable, our driver for 3 nights was called mohammed and although his English wasnt great he was very friendly and bang on time every time.
There is a nice shopping plaza conected to the hotel with no hassle shopping which has some nice gift shops and restaurants in it, the shopping plaza even has a Mcdonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut if your sad enough to need these everyday eateries whilst abroad, that said theres also a Starbucks and Costa if you fancy a nice coffee.
The hotel is very beautiful except for the rear of the hotel where you get the shuttle to the beach this really needs to be finished off to the same standards as the front of the hotel as it lets the hotels apperance down slighty.
The shuttle bus to the beach is good but a little confusing as to when it runs as it didnt stick to the time table whilst we were there, also i would suggest that the shuttle bus should run every 30 minutes rather than every hour as if you miss it thats a big chunk of your day wasted.
Another thing to note is that the hotel has access to 2 beaches, the sandy beach which has an all inclusive food and drinks shack on the beach, the shack is very scruffy and grubby so much so that someone actually commented to us that they were surprised the hotel associated itself with the shack.
It had loads of flies landing on the salad, burgers and hot dogs and i saw staff smoking whilst cooking etc, (not very appealing) we only used this beach once then used the reef beach as we are more into snorkelling.
The reef beach is more laid back than the sandy beach but has no all inclusive food or drink available which is something the hotel should look into and provide as there is a beach bar and restaurant at reef beach and surely the hotel could work something out with the restaurant owner.
The reef beach restaurant is very nice though and quite resonable you can get lunch and a drink for 2 people from around £8, the only downfall with this beach is that if theres a breeze blowing the red flag goes up stopping you from snorkelling, we had 3 days of red flags sadly but still managed to get a quick dip in the afternoons on these days luckily.
All in all we had a great time at the El Mercato and both said we would definately return, hopefully the next time we visit some of my comments will have been noted and amended by the hotel management/owners and our stay will be even better.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone including friends and family as its a very nice hotel with very nice, hard working friendly staff, Hopefully me and my girlfriend will be back at the El Mercato soon as we both missing being there, Thankyou El Mercato for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and myself stayed here from 12/11/12 o 19/11/12. We had picked it because we intended to spend the week diving and the Dive Centre we use ELITE Diving is basically next door. Our initial welcome at the hotel was very warm and we were attended to promptly by very efficient reception staff. We had asked for a room in the main hotel and paid a little more for it. Our room was on the ground floor and the patio doors open out onto one of the 4 pools. The room was a little in need of some TLC, (Glass shower panel grouting etc) but there was nothing wrong with it that a bit of cosmetics would not fix. It was exeptionally clean and kept so by Amr, a lovey young man who could not do enough to make our stay perfect. We had great air conditioning in the room and we never had one mosquito in the room. We went half board as we were out most of the day but the breakfast and dinner buffets offered huge choice and variation. The restaurant staff were always helpful but not in your face all of the time as I have experienced in some hotels in Sharm. The pools were very well kept and the roof top pools and bar are an excellent place to chill out and look out over the mountains and the lights of sharm.
If you fancied a change of scene then a short walk out of the hotel and in the same complex took you to a number of bars and shops and a huge ampitheatre where egyption families and tourists all go to have a meal or a drink. I read a couple of disappointing reviews on this site before we went and so was ready to pick up on these points but it just did not happen. Friendly staff, lovely clean and welcoming hotel which we will definatley return to.

Room Tip: Book in the main hotel if you dont want to walk a long way to meals, pools etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went to Sharm el Sheikh for the first time on 30th Oct - 6th Nov, booked through low cost holidays and got an absolute bargain! All inc at this fab hotel!
The hotel is beautiful, very big, not near the beach but that didnt bother us as there is 4 pools!
The food in the restaurant was excellent- something different every night and the pool side snack bar was really nice too.
We upgraded to a room in the main block as the higher up the room number the further away you are... but the staff are so friendly and will happily take you by buggy to your room!
The management are excellent- very professional and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble!
The massages were amazing, the entertainment staff were good fun and play some good tunes round the louder pool! there is a quieter pool if you fancy though!
We were three girls travelling together and felt completely safe at this hotel and its surroundings, met a big group of lovely people and have an amazing holiday.
Would definitely reccomend and will be returning :)
(I personally wouldnt do the transfer through low cost again- just get a taxi at the airport or arrange the hotel service as this was great on the way back!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block - may have to pay extra but definitely worth it ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in the main part of the hotel with a pool view, we really enjoyed our stay and want to thank all the staff for the exceptional hospitality.
We would recommend this hotel and return, this was our first time in Egypt and we were very impressed, not too keen on the guys with the camel at the end of the road :(
Naam was very lively and Soho also a definite must to visit, the water park was clean, no long queues for the rides and all inclusive a better choice.
The food in the main restaurant and the lunch meals were very nice, we had no problems with tummy bugs or mosquito bites, i would recommend Repel 55 while you are there and strong vitamin 5 tablets before you go, also go to the doctors for injections.
Thanks again for an amazing holiday
See you soon!!

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms in the main building with a balcany facing the pool, king size beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Il Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Il Mercato

Address: Hadabet Om El Seed, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#75 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Il Mercato 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel IL Mercato is the latest premium luxury Egypt city hotel added to our portfolio. This exclusive five star hotel located in Hadabet Om El Seed is right in the centre of IL Mercato Promenade which is home to some of the biggest International brands. IL Mercato promenade is an inspired creation from well-known Italian architect Daniele Morelli. Professor Morelli, a Renaissance expert who studied at the prestigious Accademia delle Belle Arti in Florence, is famed for his ability to accurately create contemporary buildings that are informed by iconic classical Roman and Venetian architecture that share the same sense of style, time and place.The lively, dynamic and exciting IL Mercato Promenade offers residents and visitors to Sharm El Sheikh an enchanting shopping and entertainment experience away from the city’s commotion. With 286 spacious and elegantly furnished guest rooms, Iberotel IL Mercato provides a comfortable and exquisite base to explore what is an unforgettable experience. Special facilities in the hotel include a very large spa with sauna, massage rooms, Jacuzzi, and swimming pool ( opening soon) as well as a fitness centre and three luxurious swimming pools (two heated during winter) located around the hotel.Iberotel IL Mercato offers a choice of fine dining including one main restaurant, one à la carte restaurant , one lobby bar and one snack bar offering different cuisines to cater for all tastes. It is the location in the heart of IL Mercato that makes Iberotel IL Mercato so unique and so exciting. Experience the most dazzling street market where shopping meets entertainment. Stroll and drink in the renaissance-style atmosphere or stop at one of the many street cafes. La Piazza, in the centre of IL Mercato, is the place to meet or take in festivals, concerts carnivals, and theatre from dusk until dawn. The more adventurous night owls can light up the bight with excitements and the driving beat of various clubs, discos and bars. Facilities Hotel facilities are excellent, including a selection of buffet style, a la carte restaurant, bars and shops. Three swimming pools (two heated during winter) are available for guest’s convenience. Iberotel IL Mercato also offers 24-hour concierge and room service, free shuttle bus to the beach, beauty centre, doctor service is available 24 hour, laundry service and fax service are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberotel Il Mercato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Il Mercato Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Il Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.