We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far to many Russians and undrinkable alcohol.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Sharm Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Melia Sharm Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Sharm Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Montazah, Ras Nusrani Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 154, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 230 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Redcar
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Far to many Russians and undrinkable alcohol.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have been to Sharm three times and this is by far the worst hotel I have stayed in. The hotel is run down and very shabby. Paint is peeling off the white wash walls and the paths are filthy, the pools were only ever cleaned once while we were there and only the bottom, leaving leaves and debris floating on the top all week. Althought the rooms were cleaned daily all the house keeper did was move the dirt around, the towels in the bathroom were not cleaned properly and were still stained with sun lotions and such. The bath was cracked and dirty and the plug was missing. The beds were like sleeping on concrete and unbearable, however when complained about this they changed the bed from two singles to a double with a much softer mattress. There were dirty pots left outside when we arrived and they were still there when we left even though I had told the reception staff and housekeeping twice about them. We also had ants in our bathroom and had to have it fumagated.
Now the food !!!!!, the dinner on the first night was disgusting and unedible, all the salad was mixed together in one bowl and look like a mush of nothing and the rest of tthe food was really awful, its was obvious the chefs were catering for the Russian palette. However we did complain to the management and the next day the food was much better with the salad items all in different bowls so you could pick what you wanted on your plate. The alcohol was absolutely dreadful and most were undrinkable. They only thing we could drink was the ouzo, red rum and lager and the soft drinks which were bottled and proper pepsi and 7 up,
The hotel was only about half full but unfortunately 80% of the guests were either Russian or Eastern Europeans. They are the most ignorant, obnoxious, bad mannered and loud people I have ever had the misfortune of associating with. They push into queues in the restaurants and bars shouting orders out to the staff and being very disrespectful. They appear to just want to drink themselves into oblivion and eat like pigs, spittting food from their mouths onto their plates and leaving a right mess with food all over the place. The noise they make around the pool is unbearable, luckily there were other pools were you could escape them.
All in all a terrible hotel never to be visited again, the good factor about this hotel is the staff, they are so pleasant, friendly and will bend over backwards to be helpful for you without expecting a tip every time.
I will say I did have a relaxing holiday with loads of glorious sunshine and nice views from the pool areas, but that was the only good thing about this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same, very unclean and nearly all facing the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Meliá Sharm for your vacation, as well for taking the time to write about your recent experience.
We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies.
At Meliá Sharm we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore you feedback is very important to us.
Every day the hotel welcomes guests from UK, Italy, Russia, Ukraine, Germany, Poland, Georgia and other countries. Our Chefs are trying to offer proper food selection to satisfy taste of every customer. Once again we are sorry if the selection did not please you.
All hotel public areas and pools are under regular control. Every guest area has own schedule for regular cleaning and treatment.
As you mentioned, if guest requests our assistance, the management and every team member are glad to help as comfort of your stay is our commitment.
We appreciate your valuable opinion and comments,
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    574
    451
    163
    63
    48
See reviews for
279
629
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at Melia Sharm for a week from 13th November. I honestly cannot fault the place! We stayed at the Rixos in May which was double the price however it would be Melia that I would return to.
As a very fussy eater I am always concerned about going all inclusive but I had no problem here whatsoever, there was plenty of choice and always a decent veggie option!
Staff were all friendly and always going over and above to make your stay special. Waiters remembered our drinks and greeted us by name every day! Special mention to Erika on the animation team, she made our holiday. She came to speak to us on our first night and tried to get us involved but we said we were just there to relax. Erika still came back to speak to us every single day, she is a credit to the hotel and really made us feel welcome. Katya who taught yoga was also really lovely.
You do get pestered a bit about trips, treatments etc but if you are polite and tell them you aren't interested they leave you alone. The two guys from the beauty salon came to chat to us every day too and even came to wave us off when we left, very sweet of them.
We stayed in room 2015, the view was absolutely beautiful. It's so peaceful and quiet. Room was perfect for us, no problems at all. They guy who cleaned our room was also brilliant, couldn't do enough for us.
The only negatives I can think of are the Russians (not the hotels fault!) and the DJ round the pool during the day. We spent our time on the beach but could still hear him and it absolutely drove me up the wall..as someone else said its a bit unnecessary.
Made a trip to Naama Bay..never again. We didn't feel safe at all, people kept trying to touch us and pull us in to shops, we ended up spending 3 hours in the Hard Rock Cafe to pass the time before the taxi came!
All in all a great holiday, would absolutely recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting the Meliá Sharm and taking your time to write the review.
We appreciate all comments of our customers because they help us improve our service constantly.
I am glad to learn that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
Concerning the music at the main pool, we will put more supervision on it. However two relax pools at guests disposal without any activities and music.
Thank you for the valuable comment.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you at our hotel during your next visit of Sharm El Sheikh.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is our second time to this hotel. Firstly some of the staff especially Mina who works in the bar work so hard and try so hard to keep the guests happy, he made everyone laugh and was a real part of making this trip enjoyable. He'd remembered us from two years ago! Thank you Mina you really are a star. Now the food, it's a shame but the food is boring, same thing night after night and the managers are so miserable, the poor staff don't get time to smile etc for the grumpy managers standing guard! Unfortunately they stand guard, don't speak and actually cause more bad than good. Certain guests were trying the food and putting the spoons back on the plates, they were rude and we were asked at one point if we'd finished by a member of staff so he could move our table for the other guests! I would recommend that the restaurant has a two week rolling programme of food and that the staff actually have a theme to follow instead of wearing things that we've got no idea what it's meant to be.
The hotel was clean and tidy, we never had a problem with the room. Drinks were fine. The sun was out and hot and that is what I go for, my husband goes for the diving and we were both happy with what we wanted from the holiday. Would've been nice to have a smile from managers, animation tried, but wasn't exciting.
Spa staff, diving and water sports sellers were a little annoying and the English paper seller was a pain!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are grateful to you for your preference in selecting the Meliá Sharm and sharing your experience at the website.
We are glad your husband and you were both happy with what you wanted from the holiday.
Please accept our apologies for some inconveniences experienced during your stay.
We want to note we are really striving for constant improvements paying lots of attention to food, beverages, service at our restaurants, bars, and any place of our hotel.
Let us also note we try to satisfy different tastes of our international guests. Hence, we do have theme nights at the main restaurant; such as International, Italian, European, Mexican, and Oriental.
We will provide more control and supervision on the Main restaurant food and service and will keep doing our best to make our guests satisfied.
Thank you again for the feedback.
Sincerely hope to have a pleasure to welcome you again at the Meliá Sharm during your next visit to Egypt.
Best regards,
Inna Igonina,
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is our 3rd time in Sharm, 7th time in that T'Eygpt but the first time at the Melia (or any Melia Resort)

I went with my Missus for 2 weeks from 11th November through Thomas Cook.

Our first impression of the resort and the Lobby, Grounds, Pools, Beach area etc were very good. It is a nice looking Hotel and has a certain nice ambiance as you walk throught the outside area with various running water, pools and plants.

However when we were in our room althought the layout was as good as could be expected the decor was very tired. The fridge was plonked on the floor and not in the cupboard where it should be. The bathroom utensil holders were all rusted and loose. - The bath rail would of come off if I had used it steady all my weight.
We heard of someone putting their foot through the bath and cutting their foot aswell.
When we put the shower on the water ran down the side and out onto the floor. We had to put a towel down every night to mop water up.

However the rooms were cleaned every day to the usual high Egyptian Hotel standard with clean towels etc.

The Hotel had a few places to eat.
The main buffet restaurant -Spices- was probably the best buffet I have had over recent years.
there was a lot of variety to choose from.
If you sit in the same area every day the staff get to know you and remnember your drinks etc.
They are very good.
I know some people have put that they think that the buffet choice isn't that great but we (and the people we met) thought it was good.
The only problem we encountered was the 'eggman' some days didn't produce the quality of omelette or fried eggs consistently. A minor gripe.

The O grill was OK - We used it a few times during the day -It was used mainly by Brits who had come with Thomas Cook(its free for TC holidaymakers) I just thought that you had more choice and could eat however much you wanted at the buffet restaurant which was also quicker.

The Italian where you could go once per week was poor. It had good service (very good in fact) but I felt the choice wasn't that extensive or good. If you wanted a non inclusive bottle of wine it would nearly double the cost of the holiday!!!!
We never ate at the Beach Bar.

The animation team worked hard but to be honest although we started to get on with them we felt that the night entertainment was poor. I appreciate that the host has to do it in a number of languages but the rest of it was poor - If you see a swirling dervish dancing with fire on the beach one night you dont really want to see him swirling with light sticks inside the next.

However the team did get people up around the pool doing keep fit and belly dancing etc so it was good during the day.

When you are by the Pool or the Beach you do get the usual people coming round offering excursions, massgaes etc.
They are ok if you don't want to book with them and they will smile and say hello every day. we didn't feel pressured to do anything that we didn't want to.

At this point I would like to praise Tito, Chico and the people in the salon.
These guys were really friendly every day and Tito also got me some plasters when I scratched my leg one morning. A credit to the hotel.

The only thing which may stop me from staying at this Hotel again is that there should be somewhere else to go at night. It could do with a sports bar or similair - a few people that we met commented that they had to go to Soho Square to watch the football.

We ended up spending 10 nights in the hotel and 4 nights out.
The nights we were in were mostly spent at the Lobby bar. This was where we met most of the people that we spent time with.
The bar staff in there were brilliant. Friendly, funny and talkative.
Special mention to Shebl, Saeed, Mina (swears very good in English) and Fares. They made the holiday so pleasant and funny.


A few people have mention the 'Russians' although I believe there was Polish and Ukrainians termed Russian by people. There was a general consensus of the Brits (and some staff ) that they are rude, not polite and push in everywhere. I sort of agree but don't let it put you off going as it is sometimes funny to watch.
I learnt the Russian for Thank you and amused my self greatly in the bar by saying it to the barman whenever someone ordered a drink and didn't say it.
A cultural difference shall we say!!

We had a good relaxing time and we both enjoyed the time spent at the Melia Sharm.
We met some nice people and was treat with respect and friendliness from our hosts..

I would go back for a week but any longer I would need somewhere else to go at night, also the rooms need sprucing up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review.
We are glad to learn you have enjoyed the time spent at the Melia Sharm where you met nice people, were treated with respect and friendliness.
We are sorry to know some experience of yours was somehow disappointing. Please accept our sincere apologies for that.
In the Meliá Sharm we believe that it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for. With this aim in mind, such comments as yours are of greatest importance and assistance to us.
Hotel Management Team and Guest Experience Department are always at guests’ disposal for help and assistance. But if guests don’t inform us about inconveniences experienced, we cannot solve situation immediately to the satisfaction level.
Unfortunately you did not give us a chance to assist you during your stay.
However, I took notes of all your comments and will pass them to the heads of corresponding departments.
Once again thank you for your valuable comments; we highly appreciate them.
We hope we will be able to demonstrate the improvements during your next visit to us.
You are cordially welcome back to the Meliá Sharm!
Best regards,
Inna Igonina,
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

First time in Egypt and it was perfect. Food choice was plentiful and could not be faulted. Staff were so helpful and as we took the time to talk and say hello it made a difference. Basic politeness is not rocket science and is understood around the world. RUSSIANS TAKE NOTE!! Taxi driver comment on dropping us off was that this was a nice hotel. If the locals are impressed then it must mean something. The hotel was indeed good in every respect. Impressive, spacious laid out well and had everything you needed. Rooms were kept spotlessly clean. At night the place lights up with colourful shimmering pool lights which just adds to the holiday mood. The bar staff are funny and helpful and Emad is a real character who always made us laugh as did Salem in the restaurant. Chiko was a star during the day and always chatted and told us about lots of things we could do and see so find him as soon as you can for good ideas. Had a massage on the beach followed by champagne with friends as the sun went down. Magical! Erika from the Entertainments team worked her socks off all day every day. Always lighting the place up with her smile, dancing and hotel activities. Thank you Erika. The pool music sound system was perfect as was the music choice. Did get a little tired of the shouting in the microphone by the poolside DJ which seemed unnecessary. The old market and desert camel ride had to be done. Snorkelling is unbelievable. Will be returning to the Melia hotel as soon as I can as it has so much to offer.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good so don't worry. Stacks of storage space. Hair dryer supplied
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are grateful to you for choosing the Meliá Sharm for your first visit to Egypt and sending your detailed review.It’s a pleasure to know your holiday with us was perfect: the hotel was indeed good in every respect, and you had everything you needed.
We are happy we took a good care of you, and all our management and staff did their best to make sure you were looked after and happy.
Thank you again for the feedback sent. We are glad our hotel has so much to offer, and you will be returning to the Meliá Sharm as soon as you can.
Looking forward to welcoming you during your next visit to us.
Best regards,
Inna Igonina,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

On arrival the staff were brilliant and helpful...all staff and waiters were brilliant....food was good ...and Tito and staff in the on site boutique were very friendly and worked very hard they are a credit to the hotel ...many thanks to everyone and Tito and his workers.....thanxs

Room Tip: Room 2102 brilliant room with view of pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the Meliá Sharm and writing your feedback.
It’s a pleasure to know you have had a wonderful holiday, and your overall impression is very nice. We are glad to know you describe our staff as brilliant and helpful; you have enjoyed the food, the room, and your overall stay.
Will be looking forward to welcoming you during your next visit to us.
Best regards,
Inna Igonina,
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just returned from the Melia Sharm quick check in, lovely room no2014 the only problem we had was my wife put her heel through the bath while having a shower cutting her heel we informed reception they didn't seem to be bothered. The hotel is in a great setting over looking the sea with just a few steps & slopes to get to the beach. There are a few pools on site only one heated, the large pool by the swim up bar is cold but great for swimming. We found that the music was too loud inside & out side. There are a few things going on in the day, you will get pestered for boat trips ect just tell them no they soon take the hint. We found the food to be very good, many thanks to Ramadan & his side kick Salam for looking after us hope to see you both soon. We tended to eat at the grill bar at lunch which was lovely. Evening meal was a bit of a bun fight as it was full of Russians with no manners, they would barge in front of you they can not get enough on their plates they are very waste full, its a shame to see so much food go to waste. The hotel was very full but only a few English. The weather was fantastic 50c in full sun every day, we found all the staff very friendly & helpful, its a hotel that we would return to as it felt like home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your opinion about the stay in Melia Sharm Hotel.
Comments of our guests are very important for us and we take them very seriously.
We are glad we could provide a decent holiday for you; you have enjoyed a lovely room, great hotel setting, nice pools, very good food, and very friendly, helpful staff.
We are grateful for the positive as well as negative sides mentioned; they are already taken into account.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the experienced inconveniences; we will do everything possible to improve our service.
Once again thank you for your detailed and valuable feedback. We are happy our hotel is a hotel that you would like to return to as it felt like home.
It will be our pleasure to serve you again at the Meliá Sharm during your next visit.
Best regards,
Inna Igonina,
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Sharm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sharm Resort & Spa

Address: Montazah, Ras Nusrani Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 154, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Sharm Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sinai Peninsula in the "Montazah Ras Nasrany Bay" area along the Red Sea shore, just 7 km away from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and from popular Na'ama Bay with its wide range of shops and bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Melia Sharm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Melia Sharm Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.