I have just returned from a 11 night stay at The Melia Sharm. May I just point out that I have stayed in Sharm on 3 occasions prior to this visit and have never been let down, hence my 4th visit.
I can now say that after this experience I will never set foot in Egypt again.
First impressions look good with the massive lobby area and marble floors. All fur coat and no knickers though I'm afraid!!
Wrong rooms at check in.
Key cards didn't work the doors.
Daughter had to sleep on a camp bed' shoved in the corner.
Rooms and beds needed rearranging to accommodate us at midnight. With chairs just thrown on the balcony.
Beds rock hard.
Fridge not working.
Light bulbs missing.
We stayed in cell blocks 4050 and 4051.. Not the best of starts.
Not to worry, we thought, we had to pick up our passports and our magical all inclusive wrist bands in the morning from reception, so we could have a word then.
It took 3 days for the extra towels and pillows to arrive!!
We asked to speak with the manager on 4 occasions, just to be told he was busy and would make time to talk to us.... Never did.
I appreciate that he is a busy man. Mainly due to the fact he is so busy replying to these Trip Advisor reviews, trying to defend his hotels reputation and ensuring that the tour operators don't drop his hotel like a stone and opt for a pub crawl through Iran as a preferred option as a relaxing family holiday.
Any way, still not put off we all headed to the pool to start our relaxing luxury holiday.
Dirty, filthy pools with a DJ who thought he was in Ayia Napa or Ibiza. Shouting on his microphone from about 10 in the morning till 12:30 and then again at 3pm till 5pm. Shouting " your sister is a w**#e" on one occasion, everyone in da house and making grunting noises on every beat ur, ur, ur Melia Sharm party people!!
Sold as a nice relaxing location on the beach, turned into 11 days of ridiculously loud music with a DJ who continually offended people, and made himself look and sound stupid.
We found out that the DJ happened to be the manager of the Animation Team who were subjected to complete humiliation twice a day by this fool, doing the same half hearted dance twice a day, to the same music for 11days. They were clearly embarrassed and very fed up with this, day in,day out, dancing to people who just wanted to relax and were sick and tired of the same old rubbish over and over again.
There was no escape from this bombardment of noise, you could still hear him down on the jetty. About 400m away!
Not enough sun loungers, broken parasols, dirty towels. You name it you got it. This is a 5* Hotel remember. What a joke!
After day 3 we all wished we had booked the Authentic Japanese POW Experience and relived Tenko for 11 days. You can find this holiday in the Thomas Cook " We will lie through our back teeth, just to get your 6 grand, holiday of a lifetime experience brochure" next to the pictures of the Melia Sharm.......
We stayed all inclusive which entitled us to a free dinner at the A La Carte restaurant once during our stay, which had to be booked in advance. It was my daughters 17th Birthday on the Friday and decided to make this a special treat. We spent over half an hour arranging this two days in advance with reception and asked if we could arrange for a birthday cake to be there at our booking. " Not a problem we will send our own cake to her room at 5pm, complements of the Hotel" and if you would like to have another one for the meal then there will be a small charge" Not a problem, quite reasonable in fact. We arranged to have the cake waiting for us on our table that had been reserved down at the restaurant and must of told the lady who organised this for us a hundred times that we didn't want any fuss, not to be presented by the Animation Team singing Happy Birthday dressed up like Fred Flintstone, like they did every day by the pool. Just a surprise cake, on our per booked table at 9pm on Friday.
Friday came no cake in the room as promised, no surprises there. Four telephone calls to reception by my wife and two return calls from reception later, being told " no we didn't say that, but you have ordered a cake for tonight" etc etc The cake arrived an hour later.
Turn up at 9pm to our "You must reserve your table in advance A La Carte" to find a table set for 4 not 5 as in the reservation book. I stood around for 20 mins before they decided to drag another table over and perch me on the end with no plate, cutlery or anything. Pathetic!
"When do you want your surprise cake then?"... Nice one there goes the surprise!!
It eventually turned up at 10:30,after we had been moved outside to make way for another family, delivered by Mini Mouse singing happy birthday in Arabic, then in English with waiters banging trays and waving lighters about. Oh and the food offered on the menu isn't the food you get and my son had to wait 15 mins longer for a pizza than the rest of the family that they forgot to cook. 5* Hotel this!!! Not Happy.
Food in the main restaurant was very good during our stay. A little repetitive at times but very nice on the whole.
All drinks round the pool are served in plastic glasses that have been through a dishwasher that many times they were starting to degrade and recycle themselves. All the drinks were warm as they were served from a sink, not from the fridge and this was the same in the lobby bar of an evening, only this time in a chipped glass...... Nice!
I personally felt a little bit sorry for the bar staff and waiters, they all wanted to give good customer service but knew they just couldn't deliver, which in turn made them miserable, rude and abrupt. This sometimes made you feel very uncomfortable asking for a drink, as you knew it would be thrown at you with the mandatory " your welcome" when you actually know they wanted to say "sorry.... It's the best I can do.... I hate working here and I'm fed up!"
On a positive note the grounds are well maintained as the sound of lawn mowers at 7am each morning goes to prove. Accompanied by transistor radios blaring out " knees up Mother Brown" in Arabic, gaffer taped to the top of each gardener's mower.
We decided to do some scuba diving, not to experience the fantastic fish and explore to coral but to escape the noise. £120 for two of us. Excellent tuition and well worth the money.
We also booked a boat trip for all 5 of us to do some snorkelling and visit Tiran Island.This cost £100 for just over two hours. This was the best time we had on the whole holiday.
Went to the water park too, again just to break up the endless drone of drum and base. Promised 30 slides, there were 10, but by this point we were getting used to being lied too and promised the earth by staff members so we just enjoyed ourselves. Good day out in the end. At a good price too I must add.
The overall holiday was poor to say the least. Don't go and save your money!! I could carry on but this review is now getting on my nerves as It must be yours. Avoid this hotel like the plague!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Meliá Sharm for your vacation, as well for taking the time to write about your recent experience.
We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. At Meliá Sharm we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore you feedback is very important to us.
Your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and I assure you we will take actions on the mentioned issues.
Unfortunately during the stay you did not request any assistance in the room and we hadn't got chance to correct your experience. According the Hotel records, on 6th of August during the stay you requested to check the Mini Bar fridge at 19:15 and the order was done at 19:35.
The operator of Meliá Connects line gave a courtesy call to your room and got confirmation that you did not need any other assistance in the room.
Also during the meeting with Guest Experience Coordinator you ordered a Birthday celebration and did not request to see the Manager.
Due to high operation as of Eid public holiday the complimentary Birthday cake was delivered to your room with the delay. My apology for the inconvenience. However for the complimentary amenity we never guarantee delivery time.
The A La Carte Restaurant was reserved for you at requested day and time but you arrived later on 30 min that why the staff was need some extra time to arrange a table for you.
We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion, once again thank you for the valuable feedback.
Guest Experience Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.