We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“very pleasant staff, very tasty indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay

Bombay
Soho Square, Sharm El Sheikh 169, Egypt
(+2-069) 360-2752
Website
Update restaurant details
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bombay Indian restaurant with gourmet chef Tilakraj from Delhi who demonstrates his wholehearted devotion to Indian food, be it lusciously spiced lusciously spiced curries or succulent meats cooked in the tandoori ovens. you will be assured of a truly outstanding insight into Indian cuisine. Imported Indian sauces such as melonin masala or jawatri powder are used in different sauce-based dishes, such as Karachi gosht, with tender lamb coked in a rich and delicious sauce. The menu includes vegetarian dishes.Dress code applies: no-shorts, no flip-flops
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very pleasant staff, very tasty indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

On our visit to Egypt, we dined at this indian restaurant when missing traditional home food. The staff were very pleasant and attentive and the food was very tasty. Reminded us of being back home. Would definitely go again. Authentic food, calm atmosphere and just as modern as in England!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    111
    20
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic Indian Cuisine... in Egypt(?!) :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

As an Indian person, the last thing I expected to be eating on my holiday to Sharm el Sheikh was Indian food. However, we went along to Bombay and enjoyed some of the best butter chicken we've ever tasted.

The menu is varied and has something for everyone.

In terms of the dining experience, the staff could not have been more accommodating. At the end of our meal, my sister requested masala tea (not on the menu). The manager, Sujith Sankar, said that while it was not available on this occasion, he would ensure that it was available on our next visit.

The very next day when we returned unexpectedly (that's honestly how good the butter chicken was), true to his word, Sujith delivered on his promise. :-)

So the bottom line: in the 7 days we were in Sharm el Sheikh, we visited Bombay twice. Both times we could not fault either the food or service and therefore would very highly recommend it. (We'll definitely be returning for more butter chicken and masala tea!)

Many thanks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing meal.. Fantastic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The menu had great selection and the food overall was very good. The lamb was tender and cooked in a richly spicy delecious sauce. The miced kufta was tasty and prettily presented.. The staff were friendly and the resturant manger Sujith was so friendly. We will coming to Bombay on our next visit to sharm.

B - Iraq
27th June 2013

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Some of the best Indian food cooked by Delhi Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed 12 nights 's' class Savoy and ate at the Bombay restaurant 4 times. As an Indian from England, you can imagine the competition this place faced - but 'NO CONTEST'!!!! We will go back to Sharm for this 'exceptional' food experience.
The Chef came out personally each night to ensure his guests were enjoying the food. The staff were at hand at all times - great experience.
Thanks all
Jay Patel

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Visited Sharm and stayed at Savoy 's' class. Of all the restaurants Bombay was one of my favourites. The starters and the lamb dishes were excellent. Staff were very attentive. The girl at the main entrance needs a special mention as she is very pleasant. Visited 3 times in 10 day holiday. You must try.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Bombay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Bombay to your Saves list