We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caligula Hot Rock

Caligula Hot Rock
Savoy Hotel | Sharm EL Shiekh, Sharm El Sheikh 169, Egypt
0693602500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 247 restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Soho Square introduces a new and unique style of cuisine to Egypt The Caligula nightclub has been re-launched with a new entertainments concept. The hot rock dining and ballroom dancing! A piece of volcanic rock is heated for over several hours before being brought directly to your table. You then have the pleasure of being able to cook a dinner of your own choosing from a large and varied menu. Ancient cultures have been using this method for thousands of years, it is also very healthy as no oil or fat is used during the process, all the nutrients are sealed within. Hot rock dining is a very relaxed and sociable way to eat. There are no lengthy pauses in conversation when the plates of food are served and everybody "tucks in" as you cook the food at your own pace. This ensures that every last piece is hot and fresh. The whole method of dining becomes more leisurely and slower, where everybody tends to pause for conversation far more frequently. Only the freshet cuts of meat and fish are selected, you can choose from such sumptuous delights as Australian loin of lamb, black Angus beef ribs, Cajun salmon steaks, prawn and calamari skewers, plus much more.
Hull
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

What an experience. You have to visit this restaurant if you are in Soho Square. To cook your own steak to your liking at your table in a romantic setting with the works it is a memorable experience. The puddings are to die for as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    47
    9
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Liked the choice of meals - not just steaks on offer.
The tomato and olive loaf that comes with all of the meals is so delicious it is too easy to eat it all and then be too full for the main meal.
A good choice of veg, sauce etc to go with the main meal.
Dislike - could do with being a little bit lighter. Although the menus come with little lights as does the warning note telling you not to touch the hot rock that the steaks get cooked on, the setting is very gloomy. This would not stop me eating there though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“food review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

on our trip to sharm el sheikh we went to the caligula hot rock restaurant , nice setting but very expensive the service was a little slow but the food wasnt to bad but not to everyones taste

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haacht Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OH, NOOOO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Caligula Hot Rock is located in the Savoy hotel, where the Savoy "Caligula Night Club" used to be. Because of the opening of the Panacea Night Club outside the hotel on Soho Square, the place is now a restaurant, occasionally open for "dinner and dance", but most of the days just restaurant. Guests sit at tables arranged around the dance floor. The room is decorated "Rom Temple" - style, so one sits in something which reminds me an "Aida" decor.Temperature is very low, and when you have been outside (march: some 28-32 degrees Celsius), one can easily catch a cold, as my wife did. Since discos do not have normally a large kitchen, the solution for serving food at this place is easy: let the guests cook their food on hot stones... We ordered as a starter a tuna tartare, it had no taste at all... seasoning was almost not in the tartare... Next came a tuna steak. There was no oil on the meat, so much of the lovely fish tried to stick on the stone. Cooking had to be done with knife & fork, so not a big success... Guests have a choice of sauces; unfortunately we chose for the Bearnaise... which came as a sort of yellowish dressing, cold and fluid; this had nothing to do with the real thing...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great experience and excellent steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I had read mixed reviews about this restaurant but I was really interested in the hot rock cooking thing so I was desperate to go there and did so on our first night at the Savoy. We were S Class all inclusive so it was inclusive on our package which was really nice. We both had steaks and they were MASSIVE! They come out blue and they you simply cook each piece to your liking. I have never had such a tasty steak it was just lovely.
The side dishes are all high quality too but to be honest the steak was that big I struggled.
Good wine list, if you are on s class the White Cape Bay (australian) is a lovely one and its included.
I had the cold rock dessert which was sorbets and ice cream and it was lovely too. The service in Caligula is excellent and we had attentive waiters both times we eat here who couldnt do enough for you.
The music is great too and we asked for some different types and they just switched it for us!
Setting is amazing, overall its a really fun, romantic and enjoyable experience, loved it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caligula Hot Rock also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Caligula Hot Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caligula Hot Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.