We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious stay in a wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort to your Saves list
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Royale Drive | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A luxurious stay in a wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We we greeted personally at the entrance by Taha and welcomed with fresh fruit drinks and cold citrus towels. A wonderful and friendly introduction; we were shown to our rooms and taken across to the restaurant.

The rooms themselves are fabulous, huge bed, massive TV and very very lovely bathroom. Housekeeping came daily and were friendly. There are three pools on site, heated so you can swim any time during the day. The bar around the pool offers cocktails and light lunch, both of which are delicious. We were invited to a cocktail meeting with management, who listened to our feedback and had no problem adapting immediately. (We asked that they serve iced coffee in the bar... Make sure to ask!). The pool attendant was very friendly and ensured everybody got a sunbed (no sun beds are reserved, so towels in a morning are ones he has put out)

The restaurant (Le Gondola) had a great variety of food, which was freshly prepared by the chefs exclusive to this restaurant. The waiting staff were cheerful and genuine. In particular we were served by a lovely guy called Bishoy, who soon learned our names and drink orders. He became our friend by the time we left and we were sad to have to go.

The beach is very busy, however the Le Royale has an exclusive section away from the hustle and bustle. The sea was very warm and pleasant to swim in, with brightly coloured tropical fish. Be wary of small jellyfish. My kids went parasailing and said it was fantastic. If you show your band, you get a discount and we bartered down the price a little more.

The weather was flawless, the heat was very tolerable and just right for sunbathing or having a swim.

Also want to mention, we made prior arrangements for transport from the airport through the hotel, by emailing them beforehand. They were there on time, very courteous and quickly transported us with aircon! (Far batter and much cheaper than coach transfer with tour operator)

5* and beyond!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    78
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
71
247
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a lovely hotel! From the welcome drink and citrus towels on arrival, to the friendly & efficient service from the front of house staff, thank you Mohamed Hassan. To Mohammed el Said for his above and beyond helpfulness, Ibrahim at the beach for his courtesy and friendliness, the very attentive, friendly and efficient 24 hour bar staff and not forgetting the fabulously Attentive staff at the Casablanca restaurant.... Ahmed Motada what a meal!!!!! Room 5157 was beautiful with a huge bathroom, bedroom and balcony. Very large bed, large table, huge comfy chair and footstool, large flat screen TV. Each room has a doorbell, something I've never seen before in a hotel. There are a number of warm pools to choose from with very comfortable sun beds. The pool attendant was also very efficient with a wonderful sense of humour and he ensured all had a sun bed and were comfortable. Superb stay in a very well run hotel. Apologies to any staff not mentioned in this review, you are all so good that it is impossible to remember everyone. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Went there for a time out with my husband for my birthday. Although it was cold here the weather was great at Sharm; not too cold to swim nor too warm to be uncomfortable. I chose this hotel because it rated the highest in Neema (Naama) bay, the place were cafe's and shops are. The hotel was actually the farthest from the shopping area, with Jolie Ville the nearest, but it was alright because we enjoyed the 15 to 20 minutes daily stroll to the Bay. We stayed before in other Sonesta hotels (the Beach and the Club) but this hotel was much more elegant, truly deserving its name. It was the cleanest hotel I've been to. I saw staff cleaning round the clock. From 10 pm to 1 am they were scrubbing the kitchenware so that it may sparkle the next morning. The tenants of Le Royal had access to Sonesta Beach hotel, which is adjacent, and has the beach and houses the restaurants. It is true we had to go daily to Sonesta Beach hotel to have our meals in the Granada restaurant dedicated for Royal visitors but it was alright since the walk to the adjacent hotel was shorter to the walk to the restaurant in the same hotel in some other hotels. There were many pools to choose to swim at, most of which were heated. The rooms were very spacious, larger than suits in other hotels. The staff-members and multilingual and very cooperative. They gave us seeds for the trees which they picked and dried themselves. The all inclusive offer included the burger bar inside Le Royal which my kids would've appreciated, so if you are not up for a walk to the main restaurant you can grab your meal there 24/7. There was a moroccan restaurant, Casablanca, available upon reservation, in which I had the best meal (chicken tajen), also included in the offer. Soft drinks included cocktails and fruit juices which were not available in Sonesta Beach, in comparison. I went for 4 days but I wish I booked more time there because it wasn't enough. I will surly go back, for a longer stay, with the kids!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were a party of 4 consisting of 2 adults and 2 children, the youngest only 8 months. My wife has been to Sharm previously so reluctant at meeting her expectations.
We were greeted with the utmost courteousness by the Front Office Manager ‘Taha’. We received a cold towel and a welcome cocktail after which we were escorted to our room. Check in was amazingly quick and hassle free. Once in the room we were given an in depth induction to all the room facilities and amenities, our luggage attended shortly.
Le Royale is only accessible for its own guests. This guarantees exclusiveness and also maintains peace and quiet. All Guests at Le Royale are all inclusive.
The Le Royale is located on the site of the Sonesta Beach resort not Club, which is across the street. Guests of Le Royale can use the amenities of both Beach and Club but not the other way around.

Myself and my wife were in shock given the first impressions but it was not till the next morning when we were truly mesmerised by the grounds/pools and the luxurious ambience of the complex.

Room

The room was a standard type, all rooms have the same decor and furniture. It had all the luxury you would expect from a boutique luxury hotel. The room was spacious and clean with marble flooring.
All furniture was high quality wood with glass tops.
A Queen bed which provided amazing sleep and comfort. There was also a Chaisse lounge chair with foot rest and a comode with a 42" flatscreen and a DVD player. I managed to connect my External Hard drive to stream movies.
Ironing board and Iron placed within the wardrobe units. The wardrobes itself were spacious with wooden hangers. Shelving to the top of the unit.
A kettle resides above the minibar with tea/Coffee but no milk. The minibar was not so cold and as always, pricy.
At the end of the unit there was an electronic Safe which was large enough for my DSLR Camera,Tablet and phones. We were shown how to set and use the safe.
My only sniggle is that WIFI is not free, the charge was quiet high at £48 for the week. This in my opinion should have been free for all guests being a luxurious 5* hotel.
The A/C control panel is wall mounted and worked effectively with no issues.

Bathroom

A bidet, a toilet, a bath and a separate shower. Two sinks (His & Hers) with shaver point and a magnifying mirror for men. Everything was marble and looked high quality. Full height mirrors on both doors.
L’Occatine shower gel and shampoo with Elemis hair conditioner. These were replenished daily.
They also provide 2 adult robes free of charge with adequate towels.

Tha balcony was large also and had two nice wicker chairs and a table. Depending on you location you will pretty much allways overlook one of the 3 pools. The whole room is keycard controlled.
You are given one towel card each and you know what they are for. Because we checked in during the evening, it wasn't untill the next morning when we saw the beauty of the whole complex. It truly is amazing how much effort was put into this hotel.

Should you require anything, you just make you request and staff responds in the best possible way.
There is a slight downer, if you would call it that.

Beach

Le Royale has its own Private area which is on a raised section which has no direct access to the water. To access the beach you have to make your way down through the Sonesta Beach area.
I was very disappointed with the beach area, this is not an issue with Le Royale but the entire Naama Bay Beach which from the Private Le Royale area looks like sun beds packed like a tin of sardines.
Due to the exclusiveness for Le Royale guests, there are plenty of beds all day but most Le Royle Guests tend to stay within the Hotel grounds.
We went to the beach on 2 occasions but sun bathing by the Pools would be a wiser option.
If its a nice beach your after then this is the wrong resort. If its a nice stroll on the beach your looking for then you’ll be disappointed.
Excursions can be booked with ’diamond geezer’ on the beach at Luna excursions. Make sure you haggle. He will give you good rates.

Pools

Babylos – Heated and the largest of the 3 Pools. Suited for families with smaller children. Small Whirlpool adjacent to the main Pool. Small 50cm Pool for younger children and babies. Please note that Sunbeds go quick so best to arrive early. The Babylos Pool also gets shade to one side of the pool so if you want sun stay nearer to the Bar. The depth is 12cm with the deep end at 160cm. I would like to say a very gracious Thank you to Moamen (Pool Boy) for his attentiveness to our requirements and for putting up with the never ending requests.
Ceasar Pool – Suited more for adults and described as a quiet Pool. Perfect for relaxation. Music playing all day long. The depth is 125cm in its entirety.
Bellagio Pool – Direct access to pool from Bellagio Rooms, Whirlpool also separate to Pool.
During peak periods the sun beds are almost all taken so arrive early.
Food La Gondola/Tandoori

Located in Sonesta Beach which is a few mins walk from Le Royale. We did feel that the hotel would benefit from having a restaurant on site and something for the Hotel to consider. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was all Buffet. Breakfast was the same every day consisting of the normal continental breakfast. Lunch and Dinner varied every night with international dishes. Food I can honestly say was always hot and to a very good standard. The Chef is doing an amazing Job as I have read some negative reviews but no problem during our stay.
Only negative would be the lighting, all tables have a tea light which makes it impossible to view your platter. If trying to achieve a romantic feel then this is the wrong route to achieve this.
Tandoori is a menu which all Le Roayle Guests receive 20% discount, did not try the food there but other Guests recommended.
The staff, however, were fantastic, special Thanks to Ridha and Charlene.

Food Babylos Pool Bar

The food at the pool bar was nice enough and considered a late lunch in case you miss lunch at La Gondola. Although I would have preferred more choice, they basically offer a selection of baguettes/burgers and salads, whilst I would have preferred some fish dishes. But that's just my personal preference.
Note: Food is not permitted to be consumed by the sun beds.
Unlimited soft drinks/cocktails, hot beverages and snacks. This was great for the pool

Food Citadel/Casablanca (Sonesta Beach)

Citadel is for the Guests of Sonesta Beach (all inc), but Le Royale Guests can dine there also, food is pretty much similar with a buffet style and varied live entertainment at dinner. Good if you want live entertainment bt do you really want to mix with the Guests of Sonesta beach?
Casblanca also located in Sonesta Beach is located near to the Beach. Le Royale Guests need to reserve a table 24 hours in advance. Not tried the food but if you want a romantic meal this has the ambience. Not really suited for families.

Naama Bay
10 minute walk along the beach promenade, all the hotels back onto the promenade. Be warned you will be hassled by every Tom, Dick and Ali.
We ate at the Fairuz Lebaneese Restaurant which was excellent and price was similar to UK.
All the shops sold the same items so make sure you haggle at everything. We managed o get items for 50% below their initial asking price If they don’t agree there will be others who will. Try and shop at the stalls and not flashy shops.
Free WIFI is available at many of the Cafes/Shisha Places.

All in all, we would be happy to return to this hotel if staying in Naama Bay. The gardens and grounds are amazing, and the staff concerned should be highly complimented. They work extremely hard.

If it’s a nice sandy beach you are after try another resort like Nabq Bay or Sharks Bay.
Finally, we would like to extend a very personal thank you to Moamen at the Babylos pool for his attentiveness to us during our stay..
Thank you for making our holiday so special. You are a wonderful ambassador for your hotel.

So, if you would like a boutique luxurious and safe environment, have your holiday at Le Royale. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My partner and I, along with my brother, sister, mother and aunt have recently stayed at Le Royale for a week, booked through Thomas Cook.

We had a very relaxing, luxurious, hassle free holiday, with lots of sun, food and drinks! If you are looking for a peaceful, sun filled break, where you are treated with respect and well looked after, this is the hotel/holiday for you.

Swimming Pools

Le Royale has 3 main pools, one of which is heated and has a pool bar. We spent most of the day by this pool as it was so warm! The wider Sonesta complex has lots of other pools. We never had a problem with finding sun beds – an attendant helps you with this and gives out towels.

Rooms

The rooms are extremely spacious, luxurious and well equipped. They have large beds, TV and balcony. There is a bath and separate shower; the fittings are of very high quality as is the décor. The bed was a very large double, complete with a soft mattress topper and thick, high quality duvet. Rooms have a safety deposit box and fridge/minibar.

Beach/Sea

The Sonesta Beach has its own section of beach, exclusive to hotel guests, with an elevated portion of this, exclusive to use of Sonesta guests. The beach has two beach bars serving drinks and snacks, sun loungers with umbrellas, a jetty, pontoon and watersports. The sea is shallow and very clear; there is sand an coral on the seabed. Snorkelling felt very safe as there were no obvious currents and there is a cordon to ensure boats do not encroach. The sea is teaming with tropical fish!

Food

Le Royale has its own restaurant (Le Gondola) (exclusive to Le Royale guests); it is located 3 minutes walk from the main Le Royale complex; though guests can use any of the many restaurants that are part of the larger Sonesta complex. There is a Lebanese restaurant, which you can visit once during the week and a Tandoori restaurant, which is chargeable; I believe guests receive a 20% discount. The food at Le Gondola is varied and well cooked. Breakfast includes all the usual cooked options. There is always a large selection of breads, salad and desserts. Cuisines change daily, including curries, cooked meats, goulashes, lasagnes, to name but a few. There are many pool bars which also serve snacks such as burgers, paninis, salads and sandwiches.

We found the food to be tasty, well presented, fresh and of a good standard.

Drinks

The hotel bars serve local alcohol based cocktails (lots of fresh fruit juice mixers), also available without the alcohol. Ice coffees were also introduced mid week after guests requested that these be included in all inclusive package. Wine; red, white or Rose is served at meal times, though chargeable if wanted at a Pool Bar.

Staff

Staff were extremely friendly; responding to emails prior to our stay (arranging which rooms we wanted and airport transfers). The staff are friendly and approachable; they couldn’t do enough for you but were not overbearing or intrusive.

Possible Improvements

More fresh fruit available as part of the buffets at meal times and at the pool bars.

Not allowing pushy sales people from Spa/Watersports/Beauty Salon to enter Sonesta Beach – they hassled us while we were sat by a pool – though they are not allowed within Le Royale complex.

Room Tip: We were in contact with the hotel after booking with a tour operator and they asked which floor/if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm not going to write pages of information because you'll still read another 10 or 20 reviews and forget what I’ve written anyway, so let's keep it brief and to the point!

We've stayed at the Sonesta Beach and now Le Royale within 12 months of each other. Le Royale is better. It has more modern rooms, the beds are really comfy and the bathroom is large and to Western Europe standards. Don't get me wrong, we loved the Sonesta Beach too, but we prefer Le Royale now although we'd happily stay at both again.

Why do we prefer Le Royale, well, it just feels more luxurious. The swimming pools look fantastic, quite grand and the heated swimming pool during the Easter break was just wonderful, so warm! The food is basically the same as the Sonesta Beach as you eat in their complex and the restaurant for Le Royale guests serves the same foods.

For us it's the staff that make it. From the moment you step out of the cab you are greeted with such warmth and the reception great you with your name before you've even opened your mouth. A drink and a cool towel whilst you get ready to be taken to your room just start the whole experience off nicely. And it's the same everywhere, even the Security Guard stands up a bit when you near him and he always says "hello". The pool guys, the barmen and Ibrahim at the beach itself are just amazing, staff that feel like friends when you leave.

We were a family of 4, 2 adults a 13 year old and a 2 year old (Livi - everyone knew Livi at the end of our stay) and we wanted a relaxing week in the sun. Le Royale ticked every box for us and we'll go back again and again for sure.

If you want 'high end luxury' and a genuine 5 star experience, it won't be what you're looking for but then you can't really compare the two. For value, you won't go wrong with Le Royale, we love it and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sharm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

All previous reviews that claim this hotel to be excellent are true and accurate. Our family experience can attest to the quality of service, friendly staff and cleanliness of this hotel. Without exception all staff are superb. So I will offer an opinion as to what I believe would have enhanced our stay. First - a more exciting choice of food at the Gondola restaurant. The food was fine, but themed nights and variety would improve what is a very predictable buffet. The hotel would benefit greatly from a five star spa. The current facility is not 'nice' at all. If the hotel invested in a facility that is comparable to the Le Royale hotel it would make an absolute killing. Instead you can use the on site independent salon (which butchered by feet) and you may choose to visit a 'not so nice' outbuilding with a range of massage treatments. Having said this, I merely point out what would have made a great holiday even better.

We would not hesitate to go back to this hotel, it offers uncompromising service, wonderful rooms and total relaxation.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the byblos pool as this is the only heated pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort

Address: 3 Royale Drive | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, is a boutique property on the Red Sea. The resort offers 165 oversized luxurious guest rooms and spectacular suites with upscale amenities and opulent finishes. The resort features 3 magnificent pools and 2 of them are heated in winter from November 1st till April 30th.The resort has a fine-dining Italian restaurant, bars, and lushly landscaped gardens.A Health Club is available at the Sonesta Club across the road .Just 10 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.