We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb b&b in Sharm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sinai Old Spices

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sinai Old Spices to your Saves list
Sinai Old Spices
Roissat area, Sharm El Sheikh 10069, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb b&b in Sharm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Excellent little b&b in Roissat, just outside of Sharm, with a brilliant atmosphere. There are only four rooms, impeccably decorated and thought out, very clean and with great facilities. The breakfast is brilliantly organised, and the patio and yard are great for lounging about in the afternoon sun. Mirko who runs the hotel is very friendly and flexible about pick-ups and other arrangements, and you even get a mobile phone to use during your visit!

The only downside is the location, but they have a taxi driver who offers very reasonable prices for driving into town or to the airport. Every little detail at the b&b is planned and perfect, and staying here is a real treat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
25
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very nice rooms, each with it's own personality, bathroom and kitchen area.
The inner court is lovely and also is the entire roof were you can enjoy the sun and everything around.
The owners are from Italy and they were very friendly and helpful.

Sinai Old Spices is a very good place two escape from the crowded city life. Just that you will need to get a taxi to get to the sea side (the taxi is quite cheap ).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Catherine, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I think this must be the best bargain in Sharm! The rooms are immaculate and the service and hospitality at a very high standard. Lovely, lovely, lovely. I'll be back soon, inshallah.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for seven nights in January and had a lovely relaxing break away from it all. Sinai Old Spices is a lovely place to stay if you are looking to escape from the hustle and bustle of a holiday within the resort. The rooms are lovely and there are several places to sit and relax within the B&B compound, including a roof terrace with views over the local area. Breakfast consists of cereal, milk, bread for toasting, yogurts and local jams as well as tea, coffee and bottled water every day. The Italian lady who runs Sinai Old Spices was very attentive and even made lemon cake on one of the days and brought it round to all the rooms!

There is, I'm sorry to say, a bit of a downside to staying here. The B&B is situated in a village about a ten minute taxi ride from Naama Bay or Old Sharm. The reviews that talk euphemistically about seeing "the real Egypt" are correct. There is nothing here for tourists and the streets are strewn with rubbish along with random herds of sheep and goats, and wiry looking stray dogs and cats. Be aware that you have no option but to take taxis. It is not within walking distance of anywhere and even if you tried, the roads in the village all look the same so you wouldn't have a hope of finding the place again if you left on foot! The owners have an arrangement with a local taxi company so the trip to and from Naama Bay will cost you 35 Egyptian Pounds (£3.90) each way. The trip to and from the airport is 100 Egyptian Pounds. Over the course of a week this amounts to well over £100 in taxi fares. They provide you with a local mobile phone with the taxi company's number pre-programmed in so you can call them when you want to be picked up. I'm not trying to put anyone off as this really is a lovely little oasis of calm away from the pushiness of Naama Bay and Old Sharm (and boy are people here pushy) but I think people should be aware that you are quite out of the way when you stay here.

Overall - lovely relaxing place but shame it isn't about two miles closer to the coast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My girlfriend & I have just spent a great 3 nights at Sinai Old Spices.

We stayed in the Saffron Room, it had everything we'd need, a huge bed, great bathroom and a kitchen area with a fridge, hot plate, toaster, kettle, coffee, sugar, cups, plates etc. Breakfast was yoghurt, toast & fruit juice left for you to have as and when you feel.We didn't need it in January but the room had air-con, it was also equipped with a TV that could pick up satellite channels.

Sinai Spices is a 10/15 minute drive or so from both Old Sharm and Naama Bay, out in an old Bedouin town nestled underneath a hill so you are by no means in the thick of it. The place has a fantastic roof terrace, we spent a good few hours catching some sun / reading up there.

Desi provided us with a mobile phone so we could call a taxi to take us where we needed to go. It would add up if you were going in and out of town a lot but can't see why you would do that. The driver was extremely polite and a really nice guy. He took us to see the mosque on our way home from Old Sharm one evening.

The owners were lovely and extremely helpful, we got a transfer to and from the place and any questions we had were answered with a smile.

In short, if you're not a resort type of person and you don't mind being a bit out of the way then this is the place for you - we had a great time there and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Saffron and thought it was lovely (as long as you like the colour orange / saffron
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This hotel is nice and good for short stay in sharm and very cheap any way we like it we cant go wrong with them

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Sinai Old Spices has much to recommend it: very tasteful décor and comfy accommodation, generally quiet, good internet access and a recommendation by the owner of an excellent snorkelling beach. But its location is far from the coast and decent restaurants (a nearby kebab place serves chicken kebab which looks like anything but chicken) and you have to add in taxi fares to and from. The biggest drawback, however, is the self-catered breakfast--sugared yoghurt, fruit drink, sugared cereal, white bread and jam. Ugh! It seems so out of keeping with the tastefulness of the furnishings. A bit of fruit instead of all that junk would make a big difference, along with providing soap if not shampoo. All in all, I think one could do better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sinai Old Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinai Old Spices

Address: Roissat area, Sharm El Sheikh 10069, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventually in Sharm el-Sheikh you can have the opportunity to live in total freedom away from the busy tourist routes. Nestled at the foot of a rocky mountain, suspended between sea and desert, the Sinai Old Spices B&B is born on earth inhabited by the Bedouin of the desert, just minutes from the central Naama Bay and not far from the best beaches of the coast. The Old Spices B&B will offer an alternative holiday combining the quality and warmth of a family run accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sinai Old Spices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinai Old Spices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.