We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a rip off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sahara

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharm El Sheikh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Sahara
Save
You added Grand Sahara to your Saves list
hadaba street | 201 hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh 201, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“what a rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very disappointed. the photos used to promote this hotel (and I use the word loosely) are clearly old ones. This hotel should be sued under the trade description act.
The taxi driver took us to the Royal Grand because the taxi drivers do not know this hotel by this name. Although the manager maintains it is the Sahara Grand Sharm It is more well known Poinciana and was previously known as the Creative Grand Sharm. All letterheads etc still have Poinciana on them. Sahara is the group that has taken the hotel over and I would suggest that they need to take good look at this property.
We arrived at 5.30pm and were taken into the 'reception'. This is like nothing I have ever experienced. it was dirty and unwelcoming.
we were told that we had been upgraded to a suite which was very roomy but the furniture was battered - the lampshades were dented and the furniture shabby. I immediately had to request the room be sprayed for mosquitoes and this was done but a window left open so a waste of time.
We went down for dinner at 7pm when the restaurant opens. Again this was dirty and there was very little choice - egg plant au gratin, fish pieces, potatoes, rice and some limited salad stuff which looked dry and as if it as leftover from the night before. Despite us being there the minute they opened the food was cold and we could not eat it and had to go out for something. During the night the air conditioning squealed waking us up several times.
Breakfast the next morning was just as abysmal with egg plant au gratin being served again along with mashed potatoes and beans. No evidence of cereals, fresh fruit and salad stuff was dried and the meat and cheese on offer curled up at the corners. there were some bread rolls and bread for toast but no nice fresh crust bread and rolls you would expect. There were freshly cooked pancakes, omelettes and fried eggs on offer as well. The restaurant does have air condtioning but this is very poor and only over the door as you come in.
After these experiences we went to meet with our Hotels4U rep and told him we wanted to move. he wasn't much help and said that we would have to email them and request to be moved. This would have been difficult as there is no internet access unless you have facility on your phone and then you have to pay for the internet.
The hotel advertises a number of facilities that are not available. Among these facilities is an animation programme however there was nothing on offer other than a young man playing music and giving kids a ball. There was no aerobics, Volley Ball etc and the evening entertainment comprised of the young man playing music round the bar area via PA system until Friday evening when the Egyptian guests arrived then there was entertainment over the weekend in the form of a bellydancer who did a very short performance and all the chairs were taken by the egyptian/arabic guests.
It was also noticed that the food improved significantly at the weekend in that there was fresh crusty bread available but this was not fresh daily and by Saturday it was stale and inedible.
There is a dart board, a ping pong table and pool table around the bar/pool area.
The only bars are at the pools. You can buy snacks here, even if all inclusive these are not included.
Although you can see the sea from the hotel it’s a good walk or about 5 minutes by the shuttle bus which stops across the road from the hotel
There was no currency exchange and I saw no evidence of a gym unless it was in the spa and the swimming pool is not heated until winter (we were there beginning November and it was not heated and a bit on the chilly side.
The hotel advertise a kids club and playground and whilst there is a hut for the kids and there were kids there, there was no evidence of staff to run it or activities.
You have to pay for access to the wifi which is only available in certain areas.
I saw no evidence of a laundry service and there is certainly no lounge. The only seating area was in the reception which is not inviting and there is no provision for drinks/communal TV etc.
The beach is not private. It is used by lots of hotels. The sunbeds here are in bad shape and not clean so we only used this once, preferring to remain at the hotel where they were clean and in good shape.
Not sure if there is room service as we did not use or request it.
Safety deposit boxes are free and available in reception but most of them were not working and the room they are kept in is dirty.
There is a very small supermarket and shop just at the entrance but the stock is very limited and there are larger ones very close by which are better.
There were no public telephones but if you need to contact your rep/transfer company etc they will allow you to use the reception phones.
After only one night we advised the rep with Hotels4U that we could not stay there and wanted to move. We also told the quality control manager and a meeting was held with the manager and head chef to whom I expressed my displeasure in no uncertain terms. We were given a complimentary meal and renegotiated our package with an assurance that things would change. To be fair there was some improvement in that the food was more acceptable but not brilliant however it was noted that when the Egyptian guests arrived on Friday the standards raised significantly. Whilst we were there painting began in the restaurant and reception but it appeared that rather than keep the place clean they painted over the dirt. The grounds were given a major overhaul and the place was fumigated for mosquitos but when the bar was full of guests and people could not see for the smoke and were choked. It was very lucky that no-one had lung problems.
It is a real shame because this hotel is in a prime position for shopping and has real potential with the right management and structure. Being on the main road it is handy for shopping and access to transport. It has two very nice pools which are clean but the bridges over the are loose and unsafe (fastened up with other pieces of wood for strength). The whole place needs a refurb.
The staff were helpful however lots of them appeared to be hanging around chatting at the bars all the time rather than being engaged in useful activities. One complaint about the staff was that they take your food away in the restaurant before you have finished, one tried to take my plate whilst I still had the fork to my mouth.
Definately lots of room for improvement here and with the right management and a little effort this could be a lovely little hotel.
I have never had cause to complain about a hotel directly to management before but did so on this occasion. I accept that any property has some wear and tear however I felt that this hotel was so lacking I could not help but put in a formal complaint. Whilst management did meet with me and gave assurances things would change I got a sense that they really had no idea that whether they are catering for 20 or 200 guests their standards should be the same.

Room Tip: You need to ask for a first floor room if you want a sea view. They tried to give us a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Firstly this hotel is not called the Sahara grand or Creative grand sharm, this hotel is called the Grand sharm. Me and my partner found this information when we arrived at night to the resort in the reception they had certificates of excellence in service dated back to 2005 and the resort has been known as the Grand sharm. It is according to the Egyptian authorities a 3 star resort, we were sold this as a 4 star. It is not worthy of having 3 stars as the resort is being complimented with a 2 star rating from myself. When we arrived we were given the wrong room, the balcony if you could call it that, was claustrophobic. The AC was not working, the bath was broke and filthy, the fridge didn't work the lighting switched off the AC it was a shambles. We were later offered a self catering apartment, were the kitchen was coated in grease, and the bathroom was not cleaned. We later tried to get hold of a rep of Thomas Cook they too were useless after waiting 3 hours we finally saw her and that was all we saw of her in the 2 week stay. the first 2 days of our holiday was ruined due to chasing other people to do their jobs correctly. We decided we had enough, and did the cleaning all by our self's. We found maggots, cockroaches and overall a dirty resort which had a huge impact on our holiday. We found the pools was never cleaned we observed this at night. The quality of the food was poor, it was stale and the same food was provided everyday. Other than management, the staff was great. I definitely don't think this is worth the money or the hassle. Avoid staying here, we were also told this hotel was closing down in 3 months and will be taken over by a Russian firm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

i returned from here after two weeks in what id call holiday from hell from beginning to end!
Me and my friend had booked this hotel after being sold it as a 5 * with 2 private beaches , two pools, free internet and much more when we arrived we was shown into a room in which as soon as you opened the door smelt of foist the kitchenette was all rusty and most likely not in working order straight away i refused the room as it was a double and i had booked a twin overlooking the sea!
The second room however was much better in the fact it was clean and seemed like a new build the only downside to this was that the patio doors did not lock and the safe you could lift up and walk around with.... being on the bottom floor this was a problem
We called reception who assured us they would be fixed yes the safe was checked and they seemed happy to have it screwed down with one clip . However the doors were never fixed even when we chased them up and so did the rep!
The top pool was never cleaned out flowers floated all around the pool and the grids to drain the overflow were all cracked and spliyt this was reported and took a child falling down the grid for them to fix it .
In the two weeks we lost count of how many burglaries had occoured it was ridiculous and the hotel tried covering this up .
The food was of normal standard and i could not complain as i was only bed and breakfast but many holiday makers did they stated ythe lunches and teas were always the same and overcooked.
The staff however do work hard and are pleasant enough unless you complain if your ladies on your own you will feel intimadated
Also many pepole were found to be bitten not only by mosquitoes but also fleas! my friend spent a pretty penny on her swollen legs and i have never seen anything like it .. All i can say is if your staying here i hope you paid no more than £200

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Myself and my husband had reviewed many sites to find the perfect All Inclusive for a relax and get away with hot weather at a low cost.The only thing that met our expectations was the Weather and a clean bed!!!! On arrival after a 5hr delay from the Uk we were tired and could not wait to have a shower to find no towels when we got out.Ah well! Next day and hit the pool.Very hot which was great.The first guest that we saw told us to be warned of many things if we had just arrived.Burglaries from the rooms,Mosquito bites,poor food,Ants.Where do I start.Many burglaries occured in the rooms on many occasions,one of which was within half an hour of a couple arriving and £2000 of equipment stolen.Credit cards,money,phones,sunglasses.You name it,it was taken.Some money was even taken whilst a couple sat on their balcony and waited for their room to be cleaned.Food was terrible.Could not go snorkelling due to burglary on beach also.Cleanlinesss was aweful with staff wearing white shirts with stains all over them daily.Ants around the pool and mosquitos everywhere with some people getting bitten really badly.I cant really comment anymore.As I said before the Weather was beautiful but as for relaxing etc,that clearly did not happen and we counted down the days to finally come home which is very sad.Never again!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Badly need refurbishment - hotel was very shabby, pool area was nice and staff were very helpful but overall more like a 2 star.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Staff friendly and chilled, food was basic and enjoyable.
Rooms were abit dated but clean.
The club on site is fun , as the lads like to copy English dancing.
The pool was well looked after with good filtration systems.
If you fancy a nice resturant , come out on the hotel, turn right and cross the road to a modern mall with resturants, Billabong, mothercare and other shops. I advice you to eat in Onions an Itailian resturant.
Would visit again if on a budget!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Ignore all the negatives. Yes the hotel is a little tired, but give the new guys a chance. We went with our friends as it was her 40th birthday, the staff helped us celebrate into the night even when they had shut. The staff are wonderful, cheery and happy, and literally cannot do enough for you.
If you want a full english breakfast then stay in england, your on holiday go with the flo.
The food was good, omellette, pancake,pasta stations as well as a huge variety of cakes, danish, salad and there was main meals on. There was something for everyone. If you get bored go to ONIONS restaurant in EL MERCADO which is across the road, about 200yds (well worth a visit and not expensive). There is alos KFC, pizza hut and McDonalds here too. DO NOT VENTURE DIRECTLY OVER THE ROAD FOR TRIPS ETC. GO THROUGH YOUR REP.
The hotel has its own taxi driver who will take you anywhere and not rip you off.
I would definately return, its people who make your holiday not buildings.
Hope this helps

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sahara

Address: hadaba street | 201 hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh 201, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sahara grand sharm is one from sahara group hotel which have 366 day sunny beach and pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Sahara Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.