We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourteen relaxing days at the Royal Oasis...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Royal Oasis Resort
39 Halomy Street | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fourteen relaxing days at the Royal Oasis...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My 5 year old twins, my husband and I had a great holiday at the Royal Oasis in Sharm El Sheikh. All the hotel staff is very helpful and friendly and our particular thanks go to the reception and the restaurant. The facilities are quite fine (when we booked, we knew the standard was 3.5 stars, so we knew what to expect) and, what is most important to us, clean and safe.
The buffet is very tasty, with good variety, healthy options. The deserts and little cakes are also very good. This is our third time in Egypt and previously we have stayed at higher standard hotels and we can say that the buffet in the Royal Oasis compares very well. Of course, the other hotels have 3-4 a la carte restaurants, but regarding the buffet, the Royal Oasis is so good that we did not get bored of it the 2 weeks we stayed there.
The location is great, great views of Sharm, the red sea and the desert and very enjoyable afternoons drinking a glass of wine or a beer from the bar.
We will definitively consider to go back there next time we travel to Sharm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    39
    18
    24
    70
See reviews for
37
69
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Arriving in sham el sheik we had a car waiting for us which was nice as we haven't been to Sharm before.

When at the resort the people were very friendly and make us feel so welcome!!! The accommodation was of a good quality standard and had everything we needed, and had no problems while we were there.

I loved spending time by the pool, the food and drink were lovely, and the service was exceptional, it made me time in sharm so enjoyable.

I also loved being able to get to the local town, just by using the steps, at the back of the hotel!!!!

Overall staying at the Royal Oasis, made my holiday what it was, and I couldn't find anything to complain about

Would stay there again!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My partner and I have just come back from 8 days at the Royal Oasis. I would agree with previous reviews that it's perhaps not 'luxury' accommodation as suggested on their website and although similar looking to the photos on their website, on arrival the accommodation didn't look quite as luxurious as it does on the photos. I would say it was on a par with 3 star accommodation that you would get in Spain.

We had booked an airport transfer to the accommodation through the Royal Oasis and even though our flight was delayed for four hours (we did a u-turn in the sky over Greece and stopped at Rome en route) and we had no way of contacting them, the pick up was waiting for us at the airport and this was such a relief.

On arrival at the accommodation, we were met by a member of the team, who was very friendly and helpful and made sure we were happy with everything. The accommodation was fine, as far as we were concerned. Not luxuriious, but fine for the money we paid.

The shower, okay, not the best looking of shower rooms but it did the job, always plenty of hot water available. The towels were clean and nice quality and we had enough left out for us to last our stay.

The kitchen area was fine. The fridge seemed to be overheating a bit in the cupboard when we first arrived and we had to twiddle the knob a bit to get it cold but we soon got it working and there were plenty of cupboards, pots and pans, etc. We only used the cooker twice but it was fine. Microwave available too, no oven but we didn't need it anyway.

The lounge area was lovely. A flat screen TV with approx 500 channels (only about two English speaking, but hey, if I'd been that desperate to watch Coronation Street and the X-Factor, I'd have stayed at home). We found watching the variety of foreign channels very interesting - we watched a lot of music TV too. There was a dining table and chairs, looked quite nice and did the job.

The bedroom was fine. Wardrobe with hangers, lots of cupboard space. The bed happened to be the most comfortable we have ever slept in abroad. Seemed quite new, not squeaky or appearing to be on its last legs, as are a lot of places we've stayed in the past! Nice clean bedding, no complaints about that at all.

The air conditioning was good most of the time - had a problem with it but after mentioning it to reception, they came and got it fixed almost straight away. We didn't think it was particularly noisy either. In fact, the staff there couldn't have been more helpful - they couldn't do enough for us.

The pool area - free pool towels, sun loungers. The pool was clean and we watched the pool man taking at least an hour cleaning it daily. He also would pump up a lilo for us with a bicycle pump (it kept deflating at regular intervals ! ) and would throw a ball in the pool for us. The bar man would bring any food or drinks to us on our sun loungers if we wanted any.

The apartment wasn't cleaned during the week we stayed there - but as we didn't make a mess, it wasn't a problem for us. I prefer not to have maids coming into my accommodation while I'm out anyway.

We booked a trip through reception - quad biking in the desert, really enjoyed it - good price too.

The best bit for us though was the location. Okay, as other reviewers have mentioned, there are lots of steps. There at at least 100, actually. Now, we are middle aged and unfit and we had no problem with them at all. There is even a bench to sit on half way up and hand rails. These steps are at the back of the complex, at the back of the newly finished hotel (which looked lovely, by the way) and it is literally down the steps and you are in town. No taxis to pay for, everything close to hand. We were really pleased with the location - room to town in five minutes. There was also a small supermarket and pharmacy just across the road.

The resort also had wi-fi. It didn't reach our rooms but we could sit by the pool and use it. They also offered a dongle to all guests who brought their laptops with them.

We also felt very safe while there - both in the accommodation and in Naama Bay itself.

All in all, we had a lovely trip. The staff were helpful and friendly, the accommodation was fine - not luxurious, as stated on the website and maybe that's what gets people's backs up. Should I ever return to Naama Bay, which I probably will as it is a very nice resort, then I wouldn't have any problem with stopping at the Royal Oasis again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Overall I thought it was good place to stay, firstly the location is brilliant walk straight through to the back and naama bay is at the bottom of stairs which is very useful, saves spending money on taxis.
The service in the place is good, on arrival we were greeted by Amy who was very helpful explained a lot of useful information about the place.
The pool area and bar area are kept to a clean standard, and poolside service was brilliant they offer you towels if you need them and bring down food and drink at your request.
The housekeeping service was good we requested are room to be cleaned and they definitely gave it 100% (however shame they forgot to provide us with a bin bag after cleaning).
Air conditioning was good at first but then it broke, and the man didn't seem to have a clue what he was doing and made it worse, which means the room was hot.
Small parts that could be improved are the tiles round the pool, instead of fake they should be real , and the drain holes were not put back down health and safety and someone will fall over one day!
The hotel at back is still in progress, which is a shame cos I am sure on completion it will look good.
Office staff Amy and Caz both very helpful and friendly, especially for booking those much needed trips eg. buggy ride and quad biking.
Overall great place would definitely go again, just small things need improving and I think that will help them to achieve great standards!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We booked to stay at Royal Oasis for 10 days, and when we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff. The accommodation was clean, spacious and modern. There was some building work being carried out to the rear of the site, which was just about finished, the staff were extremely apologetic and could not do more for us. The pool and Jacuzzi that we used was very clean and relaxing. It was easy walking down to Naama Bay. We would recommend our stay at the Royal Oasis and will definitely stay at the resort again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stayed from 24 April 2011 - 1 May 2011

I must say that I was a bit nervous after seeing a few negative reviews about this resort but I had a wonderful time in the resort and have no complaints whatsoever. The Apartment I stayed in was clean well furnished and all amenities had been provided as per the pics on their website. Staff had been friendly helpful and thanks to Caz Cunninham and Amy, as they both were very helpful. The Resort is being extended but I was in no way impacted by the construction as it is on other side of the complex. Location is excellent as you could be in the Nama Bay in not less than 15 mins. The stairs to the Bay are reasonable and we had a old member in the family who could use the stairs with no difficulty so what to speak of youngsters. All amenities are good and offer good value for Money. I guess every traveller has a different taste but the apartments are excellent value for money.

If you want to stay away from the crowd and need a quiet time by the pool then this is the place, as it is located on a hilltop location and not on the main road.

M


I

Room Tip: Pool Facing Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

After thoroughly researching apartments in Sharm and corresponding on many occasions with the management we were shockingly distressed to discover that our apartment at the Royal Oasis was absolutely nothing like those shown on the website. The apartment size and layout is similar however the photos do not show the filth and the really bad finish and attention to detail. The kitchen units and door handles were so thick with dirt that you could not only see it but also feel it. The grouting in the shower area was thick with mould and dirt. The air conditioner (also referred to another review on this site) did indeed sound like an aircraft taking off and also continually leaked water all over the floor. The finish in these apartments is awful, plug sockets don’t work, fittings look like they were fitted by amateurs and there are none of the soft furnishings (rugs, lamps etc) as shown on the Royal Oasis website (apparently the photographs on the website are of an apartment which is privately owned). Upon arriving and immediately stating we were dissatisfied we were informed that it was not the first time the management have received complaints. Also, for a self catering apartment it would have been useful to have an oven!

Consequently we lost three days of our precious holiday arranging alternative accommodation. We also met another family there who, after complaining, were upgraded however shortly after checked into a hotel for the remainder of their stay in Sharm. We are pretty certain their review will be turning up here shortly!

We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor which all seemed good – a little too good perhaps! However, upon reviewing them again upon returning home the reviews are all written in a similar style (except for the negative one) and there are no photographs attached.

The location of the apartments is good, just a short walk from Naama Bay (the steps into the town are dangerous however there is an alternative, albeit longer, route into town). The staff are indeed helpful – in fact they did everything they could to find us alternative accommodation! It is a real shame that the things that are wrong with this apartment could be changed very easily. It is basically laziness on behalf of the management and staff that the apartments are in the state that they are in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOasis, Owner at Royal Oasis Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
The Royal Oasis would like to apologise for the unacceptable standards in our resort at the end of last year, resulting in your review. We have seriously acknowledged these complaints & have done our utmost to ensure each & every problem has been rectified so that the apartments are up to the high standard expected from future guests.
We would like to reassure anyone considering making a reservation that the very positive reviews prior to this time were genuinely posted by our guests and the standard that we promise is being met and will be maintained by our new management team. If you would like to discuss anything directly please contact us on info@royaloasissharm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oasis Resort

Address: 39 Halomy Street | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oasis Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.