We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food , Nice Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Dente

Al Dente
Naama Bay 32, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
069-3600172
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 275 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food , Nice Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Last week we ate here, i beleive it is part of the Novotel Hotel?
The Little outdoor restraunt on the sea front was dim light and very nicely presented (at night) the staff were helpfull, and the meals were big in portions and quailty was great plus for the price we were very tempted to go back but having only been in Sharm for 7days we wanted to try different things. Highly reccomend.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst meal I've ever had in a restaurant - avoid it!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Dreadful food, bad service no idea how to make the cocktails they advertise. Just awful no service once we complained over salted food stale croutons etc don't waste your time or money!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colden, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Walking along the promenade from our hotel-Hilton Fayrouz-we happened upon this restaurant on our first evening in Sharm. There were several people enjoying their meals so we decided to give it a try. Started with minestrone soup-appeared to be homemade, very good. Husband had penne pasta with a spicy tomato sauce. He loved it and said it was perfect with his Sakara beer. I had lasagna and it was very yummy. Portion size was perfect and I appreciated that the pasta was not overcooked. Meals were attractively plated. Service was great and price was moderate-cost with tip was 260 LE. A satisfying experience of good food at a delightful place we came across by accident!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Good food in nice surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Initially drawn to this restaurant because it was one of the few open with any customers in it at this time. The setting looked good and the menu appealed to us although the wine cost was one of the most expensive in the area which is hard to understand.
Although we liked the restaurant and the food we only visited twice because of the cost of its wine. We had the starter of smoked salmon which for 75LE sounded a lot but the portion was very large and really enough for two..We sampled both the veal and seabass dishes. both of which were tasty...The service on the first visit was excellent but on our second visit they were a bit off the boil and I suspected that the main man was probably away at the time...We liked the table setting and the general ambience and the staff appeared to know what they were doing but I guess one would expect that from a restaurant owned by a hotel chain like Novotel, who are renowned for quality abroad..Generally speaking we were very satisfied and would go back because we liked what we received...From a commercial point of view I can never understand why hotels need to load the price of wine because at the end of the day it works against them as people just wont buy it hence its absence on most of the tables in the restaurant Fortunately I have a wife who insists on paying for it and tells me to stop being a grumpy old man as life is too short to worry about an extra fiver when on holiday.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A really great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We found Al Dente on vacation in Sharm last week and became really happy with the place. We were looking for a quiet and romantic place where the waiters were "invisible", the food was great and the atmosphere was wonderful. This would describe Al Dente. We got a board on the beach, and could watch the lights on the water and enjoy being a bit away from other tourists - it felt as if it was all made for us.
The place is italian, but they also have their own live music which sounded spanish to me - but very nice, because they would sing towards the promenade and not towards the tables.
We chose cream fish soup for starters (both times we were there) and it was the best fish soup we ate in Naama Bay (and we did eat fish soup every day there). The fish was fresh and not overcooked, which is really good. The pasta was al dente, as the restaurant's name promised. I ordered a main course with lamb the second time we ate there and was very satisfied with it - the meat was very tender.
Prices are a bit higher at this restaurant then at other restaurants in Naama Bay, but the experience and good food makes it worth it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Dente also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh
 

Been to Al Dente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Dente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.