We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiran Island Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tiran Island Hotel to your Saves list
Tiran Island Hotel
Montazah, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

we stayed at this hotel for a month on arrival at 6.16 am we were told our room would not be ready till around 12.30 so we had to sit around the pool and bar till then my kids of 9 and 11 were hungry but was no food which we could buy and they would not give us a band untill our room was ready so we went to the beach in our traveling cloths ie jeans still no food all was closed we were given 3 apples by mohamed who worked on the beach and at the pool very kind of him but i would not recamend an early arrival. the hotel was very clean staff were great beer ran out every day at about 830 but came back on at 11 when all aiclusive was finished not good for beer drinkers.animation team brilliant they do pool entertainment twice a day and an hour show at night other than that there was a man of about 55 who would try and sing but spent more time on his phone than singhing which he could not do anyway.hotel in the middle of no where but pleanty of cabs outside hotel dont get hotel cabs they over charge big time. naama bay only about 20 mins away by cab but be prepaired to be hastled by shop owners. nabq was nice and closer. cleaners very good we had three all were cool. food was ok nothing to shout out about but your all inclusive what would you exspect but you would not go hungry. we did try the curry house which was nice but the 3 of us that tried it did suffer the next day but fourth person was fine. we are planing to go back to this hotel . we were told in 6 months the building work will be complete which sounds good. building work did not spoil our stay as it was at the other end of the hotel away from everybody. the beach is close but you can not walk into it only access was of the jetty but over all a very good holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    439
    249
    131
    112
See reviews for
251
606
31
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Having just spent 2 weeks at the Tiran Island Hotel- ( 7th to 21st August 2010) I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The All Inclusive package was poor. The food was very poor and the drinks not much better. The soft drinks such as coke and sprite all came from bottles that were not chilled, Beer was served from bottles and not from the draft taps on display and was constantly warm. In fact down at the beach bar the drinks were hot. As for the so called local alcoholic drinks the content was zero and the local wine watered down. Staff at the various bars seemed uninterested in serving you, rarely smiled and were more interested in chatting to one another. The food was of poor quality for the duration of our holiday and consisted of either chicken or beef which was reconstituted daily and both my wife and I are only just getting over the bad stomach we had for the duration of our stay. If the chef spent more time ensuring that the food was to an acceptable standard instead of carving flowers into the side of water melons for decoration things might improve. The deserts were the same everyday with what look like frozen cakes from Iceland. The general standard of hygiene in the restaurant was extremely poor with a build up of discarded food evident on the floor and in the corners and therefore the inevitable plague of flies. The queue for drinks was ridiculous with only one person available to serve. The pancakes on offer at breakfast time were constantly empty and the continual requests for more to be bought out had little effect. Around the pool we were continually harrassed by the staff from the Gym/Massage/Spa to the extent that you had to be rude to get them to leave you alone. The music played was excessively loud and repetetive with the same CD played for the duration of our 2 weeks there. In fact unless you were some 30metres away you could not have a conversation and the so called entertainment was well below par and in the evenings held outside in temperatures in the high 30's well away from any bars. In fact the music in the hotel bar played "God rest ye merry gentlemen" daily and in the restaurant you had "Welcome to the Hotel California" everyday. Well at least that was right. You can check out any time you want but you can never leave!! Not unless you were never less than 25metres from a toilet!!
The hotel itself is in the middle of nowhere with one supermarket some 15-20 minutes walk away and the nearest shopping/eating centre is Soho. The beach is a very short free bus ride away but as I said earlier the drinks at the bar are not refrigerated and therefore unpleasant. We found it best to go down and have a swim and then return to the pool. Having seen that this hotel was supposed to only have opened last year it was disappointing to find that the standards were so poor. In fact the only 3 good meals we had were ones we paid for. 1 in the hotels Indian restaurant and 2 outside of the hotel.
Would I recommend this hotel to anyone. No. Steer well clear. This is a very poor hotel not worthy of a 1star let alone 3/4.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I have just returned from Tiran Island Hotel last Sunday, and what a fantastic place and great staff. I dont know where some of these people were staying that have complained but they shouldn't be allowed abroad!! The hotel never ran out of beer and if you want your food hotter there were microwaves.
The only problem my partner and I had was moany Brits, either about the food or the heat, hello numpties your in a foreign country and its the hottest month of the year!!! If you want mushy peas, chips and fish go to Blackpool or Skegness!!! And stay in UK for your gorgeous weather and "civilised" culture.
The hotel is a bit isolated but taxi's are cheap and buses run regular not a bank breaker!! Alot of all inclusive hotels are isolated to keep you in complex do your research before you go.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely go back, but beware of the MOANING Brits and its not the germans grabbing sunbeds either!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Location of the Hotel is poor, you have to get taxi's if you want to go where there is a bit of life, the hotels entertainment is very poor.
Some members of staff could do with a lesson in manners, especially one of the reception guys and the beach bar staff.
We arrived back at the hotel late one night about 11pm after a trip to Cairo and were hungry so we called room service and ordered burger and chips they said it would take approx 30mins
after waiting 45mins my wife rang back and asked politely how much longer it was going to be and had the phone put down on her, five mins later the meal arrived stone cold and inedible. The following morning we asked to speak to the manager who of course was unavailable so we spoke to the under manager who seemed indifferent and didn't really want to do anything about it which proved correct because we still had to pay for the meal when we checked out.
The food although plentiful was never hot.
Another annoying thing was the hotel kept running out of beer and we were all inclusive.
All in all not a brilliant experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiran_Island_Hotel, General Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Dear Guest,
We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay.

We do have to cater for a wide variety of international guests and we know that our British guests like their food very hot, therefore we provide in addition 2 microwaves in the main restaurant.

We apologize for the mistake happened with our room service but please check again your bill as we did not charge you for the the meal.

If you would like to give us any further feedback please do not hesitate to contact us.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed here july 2010. Hotel , rooms and staff were nice but location and food was awful.
I could eat anything and have never been a fussy eater , After a few days I only ate fruit and bread because meals were so bad.
Hotel is about 12km from Naama Bay .
Nearest place to eat out would be SoHo Square, a 10min taxi ride away but restaurants have a dress code for men, which is No SHORTS or FLIP FLOPS

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Had a wonderful and brilliant holiday in Tiran Island Hotel Sharm El Seikh, despite I was a bit hesitant due to the negative reviews I had seen on the trip advisor, but honestly speaking since I arrived and the staff met me with a friendly and nice smile, I would rather say, the Egyptian taste of hospitality, while offering the welcome drinks for us, or the bell man who escorted us to our room and showed us and explained the hotel and the room facilities in a professional way, the cleaners were magnificent and did all their best to make us feel comfortable, as well as the pool staff, once you ask them for help regarding a towel or sun bed, they always serve you with a smile, animation team are the best animation I ever seen, they are really professional, food was tasty and hot, even when we asked for extra item like the French fries, the chef gladly prepared it for us, the waiters were adorable at the restaurants, lobby bar staff were great serving you with a smile, but best of the best, was the Indian restaurant, we really enjoyed our meal ion it.
For me and my partner, we really enjoyed our stay and definitely will go back again, we felt in love with that hotel and the staff, specially when you know they are serving you with a big smile although they are fasting , as our holiday took place during the fasting month of Ramadan, but that did not affect the service at all, looking forward to go back to Egypt and to another lovely and adorable stay at the Tiran Island Hotel .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

My friend and i stayed at this hotel back in May and whilst looking for another holiday on trip advisor i thought id be nosey and have a look back at this. It astonishes me at some of the bad reviews people put on here, for example - "my tv didnt work properly, no english channels (which they do) but in any case that's not a reason to rate the overall experience of a hotel as 'rubbish'; 'it was not a 5 star like London' - it's in frigin Sharm in Egypt and you likely got your deal of teletext so stop complaining.

My friend and i got a great deal for this hotel and were expecting the worst - when we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious and cool, with ours looking out over the pool. The pool was clean, with great staff who were always happy to help out - for example, sometimes when we went down we couldnt get sunbeds together. We just asked the guys and they spent a few minutes finding us a space - no issue, no squabbles and plenty of smiles.

The food was, fresh, hot and plenty of it was tasty - perhaps repetitive but i've yet to travel to a hotel anywhere in the world, where it's not repetitive - what if it had a full a la carte menu for you to choose from - that would be repetitive after 5 days.

It's not in Sharm center so if you want a hotel in the center dont stay here. You can get a shuttle bus, which yes you have to pay for - why wouldnt you? It's was pittance. instead it's out on it's own with a great little snorkelling pier.

Overall, we found this place spotless, fun, great pool, modern and good staff (oh and there are plently of places to get water). Perfect for a chilled out week, reading trashy books, listening to music, drinking beer, snorkelling, swimming and soaking up the rays.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiran Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiran Island Hotel

Address: Montazah, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Sharm el Sheik's finest locations in the heart of Montazah, the Resort is able to offer an outstanding vacation, diving and conference experience. The luxurious four-star Tiran Hotel features 335 rooms and suites with sea, pool, garden and mountain views, two restaurants, including an Indian specialty restaurant Opening October 1st 2009), three bars, an extensive landscaped outdoor pool and children's pool, a kids club, an ampitheatre, a business centre, an internet café and a spacious conference hall with adjoining syndicate rooms. The Tiran Hotel has its own private beach featuring relaxation facilities, dining and a Bedouin tent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Tiran Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiran Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.