We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley Satisfied .. Amazing value for money ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Grand Sharm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Grand Sharm Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Om El Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Absolutley Satisfied .. Amazing value for money ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived at this hotel hoping for a week of rest and relaxation, and that's exactly what we got .. From the moment we arrived until we said our sad goodbyes we were made to feel special, along with all the other guests.
The staff are ALL amazing, and a smile a chat and a small tip in recognition of their hard work goes a long way, you will always get your favourite table at breakfast and dinner, the towel boys will always be willing to find you a sunbed, either around the pool or on the beach! And there will always be a waiter to serve you a drink to your sunbed!

We requested a specific room, which we were given. We had a breathtaking view, and the free late checkout was just another thing that made this a completely stress free holiday!

After reading reviews on TA I was concerned about the food. YES the food is different .. Yes there are no British baked beans or bacon, but this isn't Britain.. So expect things to be a little different .. Also we WANT to try new foods and found plenty to keep us satisfied, have a taste of the felafel freshly cooked at breakfast .. It's delicious and the traditional Egyptian start to the day! My only complaint is that there was never enough..the yoghurt and fruit are lovely .. Try the feta cheese with tomatoes.. Along with freshly cooked eggs and fresh bread.. The chefs also will happily make something for you if its not available.. Evening meals are fine, grilled meats, salads fresh pizza, get the pizza man to make you plain fresh bread.. Beautiful! Lunches at the pool bar are good, tasty fish and chips .. And fresh pizzas pasta and salads .. Remember, Sharm is in the middle of the desert and all food is imported, they do an amazing job with what they have available..
Also we thought that the evening entertainment was excellent .. this place is fantastic value for money, considering the hotel get a fraction of the cost of your holiday.

Ok the rooms are a little tired, but always kept spotlessly clean, the TVs may be a little small..and there MAY be a limited selection of nail varnish colours in the spa.. But who goes on holiday to watch TV ..when there are so many real things to see.. Put your face in the water off the jetty and have a look at the fantastic marine life!! Or better still go for a dive! Well worth it. Or try the Turkish Bath for a fabulous experience ..

Many thanks to Sharon on guest relations, Islam, Amr, Belal and Sacha .. And all of the staff who looked after our every need with a smile.

We have already booked our return visit in September..

My only complaint is that some guests seem to have an inability to read and understand the signs on the beach that say PLEASE DO NOT WALK ON THE REEF... Please dont, it damages and kills the coral,

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    277
    89
    24
    9
See reviews for
281
321
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Myself and my friend were here at the end of March for 9 nights, on arrival we were impressed with the check in at reception and the help from the guest relation lady.

The room was fine, a bit dated but clean and plenty of storage, the beds were great, best sleep on holiday i have had.

The guys on the pool towel desk were fab, on our first full day there it was my birthday which I mentioned to them and when we returned from breakfast they had decorated some sun loungers with swans made of towels with lots of flowers, it made my day!!!

we tipped them a pound everyday and our sunbeds were reserved for us, such great service. The guys who worked at the pool bar were great too.

The worst thing about the hotel is definitely the food, one evening we couldn't find anything we liked to eat, the main restaurant is a bit like a canteen but there is a smaller restaurant adjoining the alacarte restaurant that isn't as big. The main issue was the food wasn't hot and it was hard to find things that went together. We did mention to the restaurant manager that we couldn't find anything we liked and he offered us a steak which was ok. Breakfast was ok but don't expect the usual full English, the beans are not like the ones from home! They cooked you fresh eggs and omelettes which were fab so I had egg on toast every day.

When we complained to guest relations about the food she went and got the chef to tell him our concerns. They really do want to get things right and tried to satisfy a lot of people.

Putting the food aside, it was a fab hotel and it really is the staff that make it a lovely holiday. The only other thing that wasn't too good were the Russians, I can honestly say I have never encountered such rude people in my life, how the staff tolerate their behaviour and keep smiling is beyond me, I really felt sorry for them.

If you aren't bothered too much by the food you eat then I would recommend this hotel, would I go back? Yes if comments about the food improved as it was such a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGrand, Public Relations Manager at Royal Grand Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear toadalert,

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel,

We appreciate all feedback and comments. Yes it is our priority to ensure our guests are comfortable and happy and our managers are all approachable for any suggestions or queries that arise.
We are an international hotel with mixed nationalities and cultures and of course individual opinions will inevitable differ, however we must maintain diversity and ensure all are equally satisfied.
Your comments relating to food have been forwarded for management discussion.

Kind Regards from sunny sharm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bauma, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Go to a Massage and ask for Mahmoud and Sabbah!!
After you feel like Heaven!!!

...............lovely underwater experience............

Friendly staff and average Food .....
Not 5 ***** Hotel but nice anyway...:)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGrand, Public Relations Manager at Royal Grand Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nana762014,

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel.

Your comments are appreciated and expressed thanks will be forwarded to team members.

Best regards from sunny sharm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location and view are great , it has it's own beach , the service is good and the staff are frindley and helpful. The food was good tasting but not alot of variety .
Nice entertainment by the pool in the morning and diffrent show every night.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGrand, Public Relations Manager at Royal Grand Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Mohammed H,
Thank you for writing a review for our hotel and thank you for sharing your experiences with the readers on this forum – it provides them with independent comments as well as providing us with important feedback.
Your expressed thanks and kind comments are much appreciated.

Best Regards from asunny sharm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hello every one,
First of all I want to thanks all staff there because they are friendly, helpful and always smile when see any one,
Second thanks to all animation team specially ( COCO, HULK, AMMAL ), hotel is very nice for kids also and who want to make refresh , food quality is not good enough but sweets are fair. I advise any one to visit it and you will not forget the fun you will find.
Thanks

Room Tip: choose which locate on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGrand, Public Relations Manager at Royal Grand Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Ramy_Gohary,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for our hotel.

We appreciate all feedback and your expressed thanks will be forwarded to our team members.

Best Regards from sunny sharm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went to Sharm with two girlfriends aime of relaxing. We chose the hotel due to location and price. Our stay was as desired and expected - fantastic. Hotel facilities and staff were quite optimal, and we could at any time get a smile from a busy employee. The only downside was that you had to be early up to get a proper place at the pool or beach.
The animation team and especially Mario in our case was a great deal in a nice stay, always ready with great entertainment all the time.
We went on a boat trip to snorkel - again an amazing experience, beautiful scenery, nice friendly staff and good food. We bought the boat trip through Salatik who entertained us through the whole week with daily stories, useful tips, shopping and his lovely personality. Special thanks to Tamer, Max and Salatik. We miss them allready.
All in all a lovely hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for a nice time
Anne Mette

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGrand, Public Relations Manager at Royal Grand Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Malene V,
we would like to express our grateful thanks for taking your time to write such great comments and we are pleased that we met your expectations which let you enjoy your holiday with us.

It is always pleasing to hear that our guests were satisfied with the facilities and service during their vacation. We shall, of course pass your expressed thanks on to all of the team.

It has been wonderful hosting you and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Yours truly,
Public Relations Manager
Royal Grand Sharm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I called the hotel the day before our check in date to make a special arrangement because we would arrive earlier than expected. The receptionist assured us that it wouldn't be a problem and that he would be able to accommodate us. Unfortunately,that wasn't the case when arrived. The receptionist didn't seem to care or make an effort to help us. Mostafa Mohamed the receptionist never smiled and was cold. We had to wait 5 hours and we were so exhausted. After waiting patiently we finally were given our room. The room which was apparently occupied before us was filled with mosquitos, there was no bidet in the washroom, and the air conditioning didn't work at all. So we had contact the reception again to send the someone to fix the air conditioning, add the bidet and get rid of all the mosquitoes. Also, the mini fridge didn't work at all but they never fixed that. The main restaurant served the same food EVERYDAY. The food was very average. There was no variety of food and it got very boring. As a result, we wanted to book the a la carte restaurant La Seppia. However, Mostafa the receptionist kept telling us we couldn't even though our hotel package was all inclusive. Karim the other receptionist was more helpful and told us we were able to make a reservation and that is what we found when we made the actual reservation with the female at the guest relations table making the bookings. She was extremely kind and helping. She didn't hesitate to accommodate us. Also, we booked the bedouin beach dinner which was really delicious however; we had to pay extra for it. Mohamed the pool waiter was the best. He was so kind and very helpful. He always greeted my husband and I with a smile. The best service came from those working at the pool. The food we ordered at the pool was also much better and tastier than the main restaurant. We want to come back to Royal Grand because the location, view, atmosphere is great however, the receptionists have the worst customer service among other hotels we have been in at Sharm.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalGrand, Public Relations Manager at Royal Grand Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear abdelazee,
Thank you for continuing to choose the Royal Grand Sharm and for taking the time to post your review.
As per international check in procedures, c/in time is 2 pm. You got the key at 11:50 am and even you were offered to have room early with double bed on ground floor, but you requested room on upper floor. Rooms are equipped by mini bar, it is not refrigerators.
We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay, however it was better to inform the Management team about your concerns in order to handle any difficulties you faced with the food, it was possible to arrange with our Executive Chef your favorite dishes during your meals if you didn’t like the available items, despite of the variety we have during the buffet, especially that we have different themes every night.
Actually dinner in La Sepia is included for “All inclusive” basis, and guest are entitled to have this dinner if the duration of stay is not less than 7 nights, your stay was only 5 nights. And even Mustafa gave you the voucher for the dinner for free as kind of satisfaction as you was not satisfied with food in main restaurant.
We are however pleased that you enjoyed some parts of your stay with us.

Best Regards from sunny Sharm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Grand Sharm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grand Sharm Hotel

Address: Om El Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Grand Sharm Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Activities & Entertainment Tennis courts ,Table Tennis ,Volley Ball ,Darts, Boccia ,Water Polo & Water aerobics ,Bridge table available, Fitness Center (Gymnasium),Nightly animation shows on the hotel’s Panoramic Music Terrace.Kids' Activities :-Children Buffets for Breakfast ,Kids menu for Lunch and Dinner (on request),Kids Club for children from 4 to 12 years ,Equipped with LCD Screen, movies & music, and other activities, Mini Disco 2,Children Playground & Children Daily ProgramHotel facilities:-24 hour reception multilingual speaking,Parking Lift /elevator,3 outdoors swimming pools, ( main pool / Relax Pool / winter,pool ( Relax & winter pool are heated during winter season)Private Beach with jetty ,Free Sun beds, Umbrellas and beach / pool towels.Room Facilities:-Air conditioning with individual control,Satellite TV with 44 channels in 7 languages,Hairdryer,Safety deposit boxes, Smoke detectors,Nonsmoking rooms,Shaver plug,Baby cot ( upon request ),Room view: - Garden / Pool / Sea view / Beach Front, Room type :- superior pool or Garden view / Superior,Sea view/Deluxe sea front/family suite / presidential suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Grand Sharm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Grand Sharm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.