We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Plaza Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Plaza Beach Resort to your Saves list
Continental Plaza Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Pasha Bay, P.O Box 128, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

I just write few words! Hotel is very big, rooms are ok. BUT ...Food is disgusting,old croissant for brekfast and of course the same for snacks! I really hated! The best review about this Hotel u can read in candiansunseeke88-he has right review.I really agree with everything! Dont go there!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    155
    108
    87
    142
See reviews for
202
246
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

This hotel is now called the Continental Plaza. We went with an open mind, having read a variety of reviews. Our first impression was very good. The security was reassuring and the landscaped grounds, with many pools and gardens leading down to the beach were beautiful. Accommodation is in various two storey blocks situated around the main building and we were lucky enough to have a sea view from our balcony. The room had all the facilities we needed and was spotless.
The only horrendous experience was when we went to dinner on the first evening. As an all-inclusive resort, all meals were buffet style, but when we arrived there was a large queue of people waiting to get into both dining rooms. We were put at a table with Eastern European strangers and the whole experience was reminiscent of school dinner time, noisy chaos! After that first experience we waited till later before going for meals and it made all the difference. We always managed to get a table for two out on the terrace which was very pleasant. There are many Russian holidaymakers in the hotel and, although we found some of them to be very pleasant, there are some of them who are very rude and will barge their way in and heap their plates up with as much food as possible. They tend to go to the restaurants at opening time so I would strongly advise anyone to do as we did and wait for about an hour. It's well worth it.
The food is just what you would expect. There is a variety of soup, salads, pasta, fish, meat and a selection from the outdoor barbecue. There are freshly cooked chips and pizzas to satisfy children and hot and cold desserts and fresh fruit. Hygiene appeared to be excellent and neither of us suffered any form of stomach upset, which was a change from my last vist to Egypt. (Hurghada)
We took a lot of Sterling pound coins with us and used them as tips. £3 on our first morning meant that from then on when we arrived at the pool our loungers were ready for us, with mattresses and towels in place and an umbrella if we required it. We found that by tipping regularly we got excellent service. The staff were great and they really appreciate a "please" and "thank you". If you are nice to them, they will go out of their way to be helpful. I forgot to pack my mobile charger and the guy who worked in the resort's camera shop gave me one to use, free of charge and trusted me to return it after I'd used it.
Compared to our previous Egyptian holiday there was no hassle. Sharm airport is modern and clean. We did not have to pay for toilet paper or run the gauntlet of stall holders or beggars. The beginning of November is a lovely time to go. Sunshine and temperatures in the low 30s every day and 20s at night. We took a jumper, just in case but never needed it. We were glad of the free air-con in our room!
All in all we had a great time and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed at this hotel from the 6th to the 13th november 2010, the hotel setting was fantastic and the views of the sea were just lovely, the rooms were spacious and clean and housekeeping was perfect. The staff were more than friendly and couldnt do enough for you to make your stay happy and relaxing. The manager ... Gamal could not do enough for you and you felt that you were treated special in every way, we will definatley be returning to this hotel for some relaxing winter sun
Thanks Gamal for everything you did for us , see you next year
Stephanie and David room 4233

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Hotel in nice location, very clean. No tea/coffee facility in room. Lots of steps around complex. Good beach but shortage of towels and sunbeds. Food not up to standard, caters more for Russian clients. Paid for all inclusive but ate out every day. Everything cold including soup. Great reef for snorkelling but nothing else around within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Interplaza Beach - Now Continental Plaza Beach. Having stayed here last year, we decided to return with our 5 yr old granddaughter for 12 nights 30/10 - 11/11 2010. On arrival we were treated like family "Welcome Home!" and given the same upgraded sea view room with complimentary late check out which was fantastic.
The staff in this hotel are very friendly and efficient (they do not expect tips, but very appreciative if offered) Our room was beautiful, bedding and towels of very good quality and changed regularly. The swimming pools are absolutely pristine - spotlessly clean with visible cleaning routines and twice daily water quality checks. Sunloungers are plentiful and the pools are never crowded. The aquapark is well maintained and there are slides for all ages (opens 10.30 - 12.30 and 3.30 - 5.30) Mohammed looked after us well here - bringing us drinks and daily lunch. Great snorkeling from private beach with jetty and dive school attached to hotel next door (Unfortunately, 7 times in Sharm - this Dive School isn't the best - equipment leaves a lot to be desired!)
Restaurants - The restaurant on the second floor is superior to the ground floor and would recommend using this one, even so, try to avoid the really busy times, as they both get quite chaotic - unfortunately this hotel clientele is predominantly Russian ( not the most polite race to say the least ) they tend to act as if they will never eat again and don't know the meaning of wait your turn!!
The food isn't great - for us breakfast was the best, however, bearing in mind the large numbers catered for, you could always find something and, more importantly, not one of us was ill in any way.
Entertainment - There is an animation team who do the normal "Sharm" daily programmes and evening shows with a kid's club, however, we didn't use this. If you like a holiday packed with entertainment, then Sharm probably isn't the ideal resort for you.
Naama Bay and Old Sharm are a short taxi ride away for a change of environment with bars and shops a plenty.
Finally, Mr Gamal, the hotel General Manager - what a gentleman! He is always available and mingling amongst the guests - any issues (not that we had any) he will ensure they are resolved. Mr Gamal took a shine to our granddaughter Bobbie and she to him - friends for life!
We will be returning - can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

After viewing some off the reviews I was a bit worried about the hotel, but we found no problems. People have said it's not a five star. I would agree its not a european five star, but its not in europe. Hotel was clean, room was standard, but clean. The bathroom was a bit worn. Our room was 10 steps away from 1 of 4 pools.
The restaurants always had something for everyone, the only problem was nothing was labelled, so I befriended a chef he was very helpful and every day would tell me what was what. My husband and myself would like to say a big big thank you to EMAD KAMAL EL DEN GABR (waiter) and ASHRAF (restaurant manager) Emad looked after us every day, making sure the table was clean, topping up our drinks and general converstion. Ashraf would always come over to see us just to say hi and making sure we were happy. Overall ALL staff were very friendly.
One thing to say is you have to walk fdown to the beach and try out the snorkelling, its out of this world : )
Gemma and Adrian Carter

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

after a problem with our room which was eventually sorted out by a very efficient management our weeks stay was wonderful i travelled withy my husband and daughter claire for 1 week at the interplaza from 2nd to 9th november 2010. what can i say the staff were the best we have had ever and we have travelled all over the world. the general mamager gamal was a very gracious and kind man he couldn't do enough for us. the hotel was over run with russians who were extremely rude and disrespectful to other guests and staff who work very hard and long hours yet are always smiling and willing to please.all credit to you gamal you run a great hotel and we wish you every success with your new venture in upgrading this lovely hotel. our thanks too to ashraf (kojak!!) in the panomara restuarant what a lovely man!!!!!! also emad, pucker guy!! our pool bar man ramon thank you for everything and all the waiters in the lobby too many to mention overall we had a great restful holiday and were very sorry to leave. whatever bad reviews have been posted on here are totally unjustified, what a shame it seems people do not value true care and attention to making guests happy which they more than do at this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Plaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Plaza Beach Resort

Address: El Pasha Bay, P.O Box 128, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#85 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#117 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#118 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Continental Plaza Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 598
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Continental Plaza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Plaza Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Inter Plaza Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Plaza Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.