We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai Food and Service in Sharm El Sheik ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Thai Restaurant

Sala Thai Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh | Gardens Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
+20 69 360 1234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 275 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Price range: $10 - $55
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in the 5 star Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh . The resort's specialty restaurant, entirely hand-carved in Egypt and Italy and modeled on a traditional Thai garden house (hence the name "Sala"). The lobby entry draws the guest through massive carved doors into a quaint bar. Its window overlooking the bay and a softly lit cove ceiling are simple but characterful. The restaurant itself is breathtaking: large windows overlook the Red Sea and lead to a magnificent two-level terrace; a dramatic beamed ceiling and walls are intricately carved with nature scenes; greenery is oriental in style and sits in handmade ceramic planters; seats have comfortable armrests and brightly coloured cushions; it all creates an Eastern style sensuality that permeates every inch of this alluring restaurant. A brass and raised bronze applique forms the backdrop of the wooden canopied theatre kitchen. As inside seating is on two levels, guests may gaze upon the chefs' performances while breathing in the heady scents of lemongrass and ginger. Theatrical lighting makes this part of the room the centre of the action. Seating up to 10 guests around a traditional round table, a private dining room is a temple of outstanding design, offering up truly remarkable double views of the Gardens Bay.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food and Service in Sharm El Sheik ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Sala Thai Restaurant in the Hyatt Regency is worth a visit, lovely ambience, beautiful views over the bay and superb authentic Thai food. The set menus are particularly good value and the service is outstanding. Our waiter Islam provided superb warm and personal service that helped the evening to be even more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsharm, Manager at Sala Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Alun B

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Sala Thai and are delighted that you enjoyed the views, service and food . We will share your kind comments with Islam and recognize him for his excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sala Thai in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    31
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favourite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

In my opinion this is not just a good restaurant it's an excellent restaurant. I rate it highly for service, setting, food and drink and it's one of my all time favourite restaurants. I've recommended it to everyone I know who's going to Sharm. I was brought here by a mate who ordered for us and we were blown away by the quality and flavor of the food. We do the same any time we're with friends in Sharm and they are never disappointed. A table out on the terrace overlooking the moon with unparalleled service in any other place in sharm. Love the grapefruit salad, thai beef salad, yellow curry and beef curry. Go here and enjoy!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsharm, Manager at Sala Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Hungry I

Thank you for dining with us again at Sala Thai . It is always pleasing to read such reviews and reinforces what we strive for each day in Sala Thai . We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant and the Hyatt in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Flavoursome Thai food from Thai Chefs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The Hyatt's signature restaurant in Sharm offers Thai cooking from north east Thailand that would not be out of place in any first rate Thai in London, Bangkok or Sydney. The bonus is the open kitchen and the opportunity to watch the artistry of the kitchen at work. Flavours are finely balanced and dishes and accompaniments compliment each other well. This really is a treat. It's a little more expensive than most Sharm establishments and worth every penny. The freshness of the ingredients stands out. Greatly enjoyed my hot hot hot green curry. The Hyatt provides a pleasant and comfortable environment. Have been coming here for ten years and it remains a treat. Book in advance in higher season.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsharm, Manager at Sala Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear AzandDZ
Thank you for dining with us again at Sala Thai . It is always pleasing to read such reviews and reinforces what we strive for each day in Sala Thai . We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant and the Hyatt in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A 'must-do' for foodies staying in Sharm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This restaurant has it all. Great location, friendly and attentive service, superb food and, to someone used to paying London prices for restaurants, great value.

We couldn't get on the terrace, although a booking in advance (or staying at the hotel) might secure this, but inside is hardly a downer.

They were also very unfazed by children (ours are 7 and 9), treating everyone with patience and respect.

A 'must-do' for foodies in Sharm.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsharm, Manager at Sala Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear callcottstreet

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sala Thai . We do agree that a visit to Sharm el Sheikh is not complete without experiencing the Cuisine of Chef Aworn and her team in Sala Thai. Sorry to hear that you were unable to secure a table on the terrace , it is indeed very popular and reservations are recommended . They can be made in advance on line or by contacting the hotel .https://salathai.reservation.hyatt.com/Default.aspx?LangId=en

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sala Thai in the future when next in Sharm .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A last night treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were staying all inclusive down the road and had been fed well but this restaurant came highly recommended so after a short debate we thought we would treat ourselves. We booked in advance for a table for 4 and we were seated on arrival (10 minutes late due to the hotels strict security scanning our hand bags etc) our waiter was extremely polite. We opted to sit on the heated terrace overlooking the sea and were also offered additional scarves should we feel a chill later in the evening. The wine list is rather expensive and I'm not sure they got the best that Europe has to offer so the already disproportionate imported wine prices in Egypt were more evident but we settle on a french white and managed to get through a couple of bottles! We went for the set menu and nothing disappointed every dish was very well constructed in flavour and presentation and at £30 a head the value was excellent, we were stuffed. We were all making noises of delight and passing forks of food around the table. I highly recommend this restaurant not only is the food fantastic and service great it was very up market and felt like we had found a hidden gem. To top off an incredible last night of our holiday, the chef came out to speak to us and ask if we enjoyed her food, what a nice touch!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsharm, Manager at Sala Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mikyla D

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sala Thai . It is pleaseing to hear that you enjoyed your last night in Sharm el Sheikh.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sala Thai in the future when next in Sharm .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Thai Restaurant also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Sala Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.