We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous – all of the other superlatives have gone…” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soho square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
RS Morning Room & Lounge
Ranked #4 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous – all of the other superlatives have gone…”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from the Royal Savoy, and this hotel has just risen to the top of the list of places to return (well there are now 2 hotels on the list). All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, from the pool side attendants who look after you throughout the day, the egg chef, who produced some delicious omelettes, scrambled and poached eggs for our breakfast, the waiters, the concierge team, the housekeeping team and the gardeners: they all deserve a mention.

There is a choice of 3 pools which are exclusive to Royal Savoy guests. The beach area is lovely with a pontoon which takes you out into the warm and clear waters of the Red Sea, where you can swim amongst the colourful fish. There is even a private beach area for the Royal Savoy.

The choice of restaurants is wide and varied within the hotel and also at Soho Square, where a 35% discount is offered to Royal Savoy guests. All the meals we had were good and the waiting staff friendly and attentive.

We didn’t go all inclusive (S class), but found that there were adequate snacks and drinks available throughout the day and with the 35% discount in most restaurants for our evening meal. Not wanting to start an S class war but, we felt that we wouldn’t have got value for money using S class.

The rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable. Fresh fruit and flowers were provided and we looked forward to the cakes and treats which were left for us in our room each day.

The courtesy airport transfer is also a must; George whisks you through, leaving those in the queues pondering just who those VIPs could possibly have been. From the hotel to airside was 35 minutes on the return.

One point to mention is that there is some building work going on at present to develop the new club house and reception area. This was only really intrusive on one day and sometimes provided amusing poolside entertainment!

We would highly recommend staying at the Royal Savoy and are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    88
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
119
600
39
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

My wife and I have just returned after spending 10 nights at the Royal Savoy. There is nothing I could add to what fellow guests have already said about the very high standard of every single person connected to this hotel, from front of house to the gardeners, but outstanding. They even left a birhday cake in our room along with a card without being told it was my birthday. My wife and I have stayed all over the world in five star hotels so I do not leave these comments lightly.The standard of the food and service is second to non. The bedrooms in the Royal are bright, airy and large, being well set out with a very large balcony complete with tastful table and chairs. The bathroom could do with updating which is the only minor negative point I could make . The 3 pool areas are very well appointed, with no children so you can have a relaxed and quiet time. Ali and M hamd were a pair of stars who could not do enough for us. Soho Square is vibrant and very clean with shops, ice ring, bowling and a wide choice of bars and resturants (all restaurants are included in S Class package) .The ice bar is ONE BAR to give a miss. Expensive to enter, once in there you are dressed in a parker coat and presented with a choice of drinks. I had a vodka in a paper cup stood inside of a fridge unit with fake ice stuck to the top of the walls looking at ice sculptures that looked more like Garfield the cat than the Syphinx ! I cannot stresss enough to book S Class (All inclusive package) as the drinks are very heavily taxed and are expensive, as is the food. If you can stretch to the Royal it is worth every penny, with extra touches such as free transfers to and from Airport on request, free DVD library, fruit & flowers in room, cakes left in room every day, pillow menu, turndown, Royal lounge etc. If this is not within your budget the Savoy is still a great hotel. We have never gone back to the same hotel twice but will be returning to the Royal in the future. Great for autumn/winter sunshine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My partner, friends and I have just returned from a 1 week Holiday at the Royal Savoy. What a hotel, absolutely "amazing" and I'm not using this word carelessly. Everyone has high expectations when they go on holiday including me and I’m usually looking forward to good food, excellent service and cleanliness and therefore the following views are based around my levels of expectations.

From the minute we landed at the airport we were treated to a very high standard from very genuine and courteous staff at all levels throughout the hotel. We were collected by George from the hotel who rapidly processed us through the mayhem at the airport. We were met at the hotel by Elena and Michael who welcomed us and recognised our friends from their previous visit, which is always nice. From then on Eva looked after us continually ensuring our stay was very comfortable and who also booked our restaurant choice every night of our stay.
Our room was exceptional brilliant with Spa included, although it should be noted this was the honeymoon suite. Any new couples looking for a hotel which will help you unwind after all the manic work preparing for your wedding you won’t be disappointed.

The hotel has many restaurants and bars including access to Soho Square. The standard and variety of food available is excellent and no doubt you will find a favourite which will require a second visit. We visited Hard Rock and were well entertained by Hanna. I would definitely recommend upgrading to S Class (All Inclusive) well worth the extra cost.

Our days started with a visit to the restaurant for breakfast with the “Egg Man” having a chat with you then inviting you to choose your egg option. For most of the week Mohammed looked after our needs for breakfast at the restaurant, again very attentive and courteous. Then it’s off to the private pool area where Ali will always ensure your time at the pool is comfortable. Our day at the pool is finished by a visit to the lounge with a lovely cappuccino accompanied with a selection of cakes. Well that was our routine and it and was great for us.

As I said at the start this is an amazing hotel and I have no negative comments I can make with exception to the fact we had to leave and it will be another year before we get back. I’m sure if you stay at the Royal Savoy you will have a fantastic time like we all did.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Have just returned after taking friends with us this time - it must have been good to return and with friends to share in the experience. There is now an additional pool in the Royal, they are also building a new Royal reception at the moment, there is some building noise, but did not bother us one bit, they went out of there way to be as sensitive to guests during this building improvement. George met us at the airport and service was really welcoming, in fact over the 1st 2 days there were several of the team that stopped us to welcome us back, this shows that in 6 mnths they have not had many staff leave, so clearly good employers also.
Food continues with same high standard S Class highly recommended as before, other people that we met on B&B basis - wish they had known how good SClass was they would have gone for.
Hope to return again in Easter 2011.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

The reviews pretty much say it all.
The efficient transfer through immigration and bag collection meant we were sitting with a cool drink probably before most people had got onto their coaches ( Thanks George)

I would advise against S Class as the B&B rate is more than generous. If you go B&B you receive free drinks (Tea, Coffee, soft drinks local wine and beer) until 8pm in the evening. Between 6-8pm you receive premium drinks so Vodka, Gin etc.
The restaurants up at Soho Square give you 35% discount on the total bill which is good as if you like a bottle of wine this is expensive.

The Royal Lounge is nice for breakfast if a little limited, very peaceful, we went across to The Savoy for breakfast one day and it was like a cattle market, a nightmare.

The Pool guys were fantastic, Mido who is the drinks attendant never stops and ensures you always have an ice bucket full of bottled water ( you'll need it!) and Ali the towel guy is also very efficient and really friendly.
Nice peaceful area with 6 cabana's only for Royal guests, again serviced very well with a barman in situ all day.
The reef is good if a little busy and my only quibble which is not the hotels fault is the beach is poor and full of Russians, possibly the rudest people walking the earth.

Great golf buggy service up to Soho Square if you want it and they will wizz up and pick you up after your meal if you so wish. Would like to have the Royal Lounge open a little later that 10.00pm for a last drink of the night but there is a bar in The Savoy so again not an issue.
Bit of noise which was quite distracting but they are building a new wing so not much they can do about that to be fair as improving the facilities.

Will without doubt return, thanks to all at The Royal, didn't have an issue with anyone at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

From arriving into the hotel grounds and leaving at the airport we were 100% impressed! We chose the hotel as we wanted 5* luxury for one week, guarenteed weather and not too long flight..... we were not disappointed! The room was beautiful (4127) kept perfect for the full week by housekeeping! The Royal Savoy has three beautiful private pools where we spent most of our holiday, apart from strolling down to their private beach for some amazing snorkling which is looked after by mohammed who made us feel very safe, very nice person! When you arrive at the pool you are greeted by Ali Awad (Ali towel as we called him... he is the lifeguard and pool attendant) who is a true gentleman, once you have choosen your sun loungers he puts out your royal savoy towels for you. He can not do too much for you and makes sure your stay at his pool area is perfect! You are then greeted by Mahmoud Awad aka Medo who looks after your food and beverage beside the pool, he consistantly makes sure you have everything you need, bringing over his special lemon fresh which is perfect in the blazing sunshine! These two alone made our Honeymoon perfect!!
The restaurants are fabulous with so much to choose from to suit everybodys needs! One of our favorites was The Hot Rock situated inside the savoy, service second to none as always by Taha the restaurants captain (another true gentleman!) Every restaurant within S class including all of them in Soho Centre which is also included did not disappoint, very fresh gorgeous food!
Soho Centre is fab for having a stroll out later at night for shopping, dinner or a few drinks. You feel totally safe as you are still really within the complex. We went to their nightclub pangea which was fab for dancing and letting your hair down, and again all drinks fall within your S class!!
I could go on and on about how perfect this hotel is!!! We will definately be going back next year and definately for two weeks as we did not get to do half of the things on offer. S class is definately worth the extra, it is alot more than all inclusive!!
The best thing about the royal savoy above all the beautiful settings and fab food, is the staff, they really make it so perfect for you!
Mahmoud Awad - pool food and bevearage, Ali Awad - pool lifeguard, Mena Moheb - royal savoy, Taha - Hot Rocks Captain, Mr Michael - lifeguard, to name a few THANKYOU FOR MAKING OUR HONEYMOON PERFECT SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!!!
Emma & James Jackson

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Just returned from our third holiday at the Royal Savoy and again they have have not let us down - it was wonderful. The Royal Savoy service, cleanliness and staff are not to be bettered they attend to our every need - you only have to ask. I would recommend anyone to go "S" Class and enjoy the benefits of being able to choose which restaurant you wish to eat in each night - just tell Reception and it is all booked for you where you can wine and dine tin at least ten difference locations on the complex to a very high standard. Just in the process of booking again for 2011.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Soho square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#8 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#10 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy is an exclusive club wing, complete with its own private lounge, terrace, pool, and beach area. Created for guests who prefer to stay in a more intimate and secluded location within the grounds of the Savoy. The Royal Savoy offers rooms of exceptional grace and comfort, all providing views over Tiran islands or the hotel's landscaped gardens. The rooms range in size from the generous standard rooms, to the famous luxury Suites. All rooms are welcoming and capacious, offering an exceptional combination of style and function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.