We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Soho square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Offer
Ranked #3 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Sedgeford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Truly relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I went to this magnificent hotel with my wife for 12 gloious days of relaxation for an all inclusive holiday. In this hotel all inclusive means just that - not one penny extra unless you have some of the more extravagant dishes and there is really no need for that. But the real delight of this hotel is the staff who all go out of there way to make your holiday special, they are outstanding particularly Farag who cooked our breakfast, Saoud who looked after us so well in the Seafood Island restaurant ( how fantastic is that for a location!) among others, the guys who ran the residents lounge and the chap who provide the drinks at the Royal Savoy pool, sooy I cannot remember your name but you were a real star and I am sure that the managers know who you are. Just Brilliant.

Room Tip: go for a honeymoon room and spoil you self even more!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabieva Nastasy... R, Royal Savoy Manager at The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guests

We are delighted to learn, that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on trip-advisor.
Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Royal Savoy Hotel and we are proud to learn, that we were able to make your stay into a Unique Experience!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Warm regards

Rabieva Nastasya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    95
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
130
665
44
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We decided to take our first holiday on our own since our honeymoon 21 years ago. Since it was half term and we were leaving our own kids behind, an adults only resort was essential. Equally important to us was varied and excellent food, relaxation, excellent service and reliable weather. We only had a week so also wanted a resort where we wouldn’t spend half the holiday travelling or recovering from a journey!
The Royal Savoy was chosen last July as it fitted all of our requirements. We were a little anxious about the potential for disappointment / anticlimax as we’d been looking forward to this for such a long time and so wanted everything to be perfect. We needn’t have worried. I emailed our flight details before we left and the hotel dispatched Gamal to collect us from the airport. Gamal has Airport clearance and met us virtually off the plane and being Egyptian, he does queuing the Egyptian way (ie not at all) rather than the English way meaning that we were through passport control etc before we knew it! Within an hour of landing we were sipping our first drink in the private lounge. The lovely Ana explained the S-Class arrangements to us and told us about the services on offer in the Royal Savoy lounge and at the pool and beach bars.
The facilities are great- the advantages of being in a huge place meant that we had lots of choice and didn’t feel stifled but it was lovely to retreat to the Royal private areas for peace and quiet. Our room was splendid, we’d splashed out on a honeymoon suite which is larger and includes a Jacuzzi bath however I understand that all of the rooms are lovely. Good quality bath / shower shampoo conditioner and body lotion were provided saving us a few kg luggage space and these were topped up every day. Each day a plate of delicious little cakes was left for us. The staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and we couldn’t believe how they anticipated what we wanted- to the extent that we started to joke about the place being bugged!
Good food was high on our priority list and we were not disappointed. We steered clear of the “main” restaurant which is a traditional AI buffet style instead choosing to eat in the many a la carte options available. S class means everything is included though I’m not certain it was best value for us as we are not daytime drinkers / eaters. That said, the best restaurants are quite pricey. A FANTASTIC filet steak in the steak house worked out at £32. Cheaper options are available though. In the Royal, drinks from the poolbar are free all day and they serve alcohol in the lounge from 6-8pm. Breakfast is amazing, and snacks are available in the lounge all day- salads at lunchtime and cakes at tea time, then canapés in the evening. We really enjoyed the steakhouse, the Egyptian restaurant, Hot rock and the seafood restaurant. The Italian and the Thai were pretty average- nothing wrong but nothing special.
The snorkelling is great- the hotel has its own reef and the staff are really helpful and willing to teach you. Ahmed deserves a special mention! For the more adventurous you can do no end of water sports, activities and excursions. For those wanting to chill, the new private beach and bar, complete with hammock is now open and is lovely.
Things they could do to improve? Well improvements are always possible, no matter how good you are… A warning (and reassurance) in advance about the building work could have been given. Cold towels on the beach as well as by the pool perhaps, sandwiches from the beach bar brought to your sunbed by the pool as they do on the beach would be another (the other options are going to areas filled with children which didn’t appeal to us) I love to have a drink in my room when getting ready for the evening and I missed that (though cocktails in the lounge did somewhat make up for it!) Faraq the “egg chef” at breakfast was sweet but I did feel under obligation to eat more eggs that I really wanted for fear of upsetting him.
All in all it was an amazing week, near perfect as a result of the very attentive staff, excellent service and excellent food …. and as soon as we returned home I started to look at flights and prices to return!

Room Tip: the top floors have a better view and the ground floor has direct access to pools (mostly main hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabieva Nastasy... R, Royal Savoy Manager at The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for your great summary about your recent holiday at Royal Savoy and we are very happy, that our resort with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction. We review your feedback , the most of the points were corrected and implemented .

We hope to see you once again to pamper you with a great hospitality.

Kind regards

Rabieva Nastasya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My travel operator suggested this hotel to us after we were going to stay at the Sonesta, and I am very glad that we changed ! You are treated like a VIP from the point they pick you up from the airport in your private 4x4 Prado, till they drive you back to fly home (even provide one staff to carry your bags all the way to the counter!)

We got upgraded to the honeymoon suite, which I have to say is a piece of luxury. The area is massive, with a jacuzzi in the room and a spacious balcony overlooking the red sea and the main pool. The glass is sound proof so you wont be awaken by the kids in the morning. And by the way, no children are allowed in the hotel so you can be assured there wont be any disturbance in your private areas of the hotel.

You share all the facilities that your fellow guests in the Savoy share, but you have your own:
1- check in procedure 2- breakfast lounge (which then serves free drinks and snacks all day till 10 PM) 3- free WIFI 4- three private pools 5- a section of the beach only for Royal Savoy guests, off limits to Savoy guests

Location is amazing as you are only a buggy ride away from the famous Soho Square, action starts at 6 PM and continues till the early morning hours. Forget about Naama Bay, this is the happening place now in Sharm!

The staff are all very helpful and polite, but there were times when you ask for something and it takes forever to get done (like asking for the laundry to be taken, asking for money to be exchanged, which took over an hour, etc.)

The breakfast selection is various, but I wont say its a wide selection. The problem is that it doesn't change at all and soon you get bored with eating cheese, smoked salmon, eggs, bacon, and sausage every day. We tried to make ourselves entertained by changing the types of eggs we have daily, but that's about as much change as there is.

Pool and beach side, everything is organized and you find your towels spread and ready for you on the benches. No need for card towels and all that headache, you are a VIP after all! On the beach there is a jetty that takes you straight to the point after the coral reefs where you can enjoy snorkelling and seeing the beautiful marine life of the red sea. And if you are a diver or want to learn diving, there is a qualified diving centre at the resort.

Overall, we both enjoyed our stay at this amazing resort, we may return next time to try the Savoy instead as a change of pattern, but I dont see myself staying anywhere but the Savoy group hotels !

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view rather than the garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Royal Savoy is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful staff, everyone was welcoming, helpful and greatly postive.
The staff was passionate and harmonious!
The room was superb.
The restaurants, a delicacy each time..
Great facilities, private beach along with private tents for relaxation, outdoor Jaccuzi and spa facilities.. pools, bars as well as being peaceful as an adults only hotel.
The location to me, is the best you can have in Sharm with the lively Soho Square right there on the doorstep.
It was an absolute pleasure to have had this experience.
Thank you The Royal Savoy!

Room Tip: I had the chance to stay in a suite which had a Jaccuzi inside the room.. one to try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabieva Nastasy... R, Royal Savoy Manager at The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guests

We would like to express our sincerer thankfulness for taking the time in publishing your review in this site of your recent stay with us . It’s our pleasure to read ,that you enjoyed our resort with its facilities and that we met your expectations.

We looking forward to welcome you again to Royal Savoy

Best regards

Rabieva Nastasya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my first time at the Royal Savoy and in fact the first time visiting Egypt. This hotel was absolutely wonderful, the staff are so friendly and helpful, they made me feel very welcome - and as a woman travelling on her own this was important to me; nothing was too much for them. The rooms are divine, with excellent facilities. The hotel itself is in a fabulous location, with a beach right on the doorstep, numerous swimming pools and lounge areas and the food was incredible. I will definitely be visiting Egypt again and staying at this hotel. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabieva Nastasy... R, Royal Savoy Manager at The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay in Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh.

We are delighted to read that your first stay with us was up to your expectation and definitely looking forward to welcome you again in Royal Savoy to pamper once again with our hospitality!

Best regards

Rabieva Nastasya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just returned to the grey skies of the UK, sad at leaving the warmth and brightness in Sharm el Sheikh.
We have stayed in many first class hotels around the world and can honestly say that the Royal Savoy rates highly amongst them. What sets it apart from other hotel in Sharm is the attitude of the staff who provided customer service at it's highest, nothing is too much trouble and they are trained to anticipate customer's needs, rather than react to them. Fantastic.
We loved the personal attention given to us by the staff in the Royal Savoy lounge, especially Farag the egg man who spoiled us rotten. Likewise, Mahmood who supplied us with endless bittles of water by the pool and Tamer who made sure our sunbeds were exactly where we wanted them and even offered to clean my husband's glasses for him. Ana ensured our dinner reservations were confirmed every day and arranged our transfers to/from the airport.
There was a four poster bed in our room, very romantic as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the hotel provided a celebration cake, yummy. Lovely fluffy fresh towels were provided every day and there were towelling robes and slippers for both of us.
We both had a massage in the hotel spa which was of a high quality.
There is some building work ongoing at the moment and you could hear banging throughout the day, but it did not spoil our enjoyment.
We enjoyed a walk up to Soho Square every evening and ate at the Egyptian and Indian restaurants, both were very good. It was nice to have a drink outside at 2230 at night in such warm weather and there were several bars to chose from, we even watched the delayed Poland v England match in the Queen Vic!! We also ate at Rosmarino, Caligula and the Seafood restaurant which were all excellent.
We loved this hotel and plan to return there in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have good views of the pools and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabieva Nastasy... R, Royal Savoy Manager at The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guests

Greeting from Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

We glad, that you had wonderful vacation with us . Your feedback is value for us and we appreciate your remarkable comments on our team members. Looking forward to welcome you again to Royal Savoy .

Warm regards

Rabieva Nastasya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Royal Savoy, Sharm el Sheikh, for a week in October.

Lots of comments have already been made about this Hotel, so have summarised just a few points below.

(Please note that this is our first visit to Egypt and so we have no other property to compare this against in the locality, but we hope our review is fair).

Pro’s
• Staff and service was, without question, the best we have received worldwide. Polite, courteous, attentive. The friendliest we have ever had the good fortune to encounter, who work so hard to please you. We cannot praise them highly enough.

• We stayed in a ‘Standard room’. There was nothing standard about this! - was generously proportioned, and kept spotless. Very comfortable bed!

• There was a large complimentary fruit bowl in our room, and you are able to help yourself to fruit from the Royal Savoy Lounge throughout the day. We like healthy snacks, rather than ice cream, chips etc, so this really ticked the box for us.

• Complimentary airport transfer, and you are waved off at the end of your trip which is a really nice personal touch.

• Weather! We could not fault this, and would certainly recommend the month of October for a holiday in Sharm.

• Snorkelling.

Con’s
• Building Work - This was a big issue for us, although perhaps it did not affect other guests as much? Work on the Royal Savoy wing appeared to have resumed during our stay, plus a hand rail was being installed at the beach. We had not been notified in advance of this, and unfortunately it did impact on the quality of our stay. Having paid a large sum of money to holiday here we found that we were unable to use the facilities (such as the three private RS pools) due to the constant noise from the renovations. (Would strongly advise that if you have already booked to stay here to pack an I-pod to listen to!)

• You share most of the facilities with the Savoy, had we known we would have booked into the Savoy for less money and enjoyed most of the same facilities.

• Vegetarian Dining – I did struggle with vegetarian dining, but was under no illusions prior to our holiday. The restaurants open on various days of the week and at various times, so please consult the board daily and make your reservations early. Seafood Island serves both a margarita and a vegetable pizza. Rosmirano (Italian restaurant) offers a tomato and mozzarella salad, and penne arrabiata. Tirana (main restaurant) serves a garden salad and a greek salad. Can recommend the Vegetable Maki and Peach Sticky Rice from Eeest (Asian restaurant).

• Soho Square – Give it a miss!

Would we go back? Yes, but at the right price and when the building work has been completed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Soho square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#8 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#13 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy is an exclusive club wing, complete with its own private lounge, terrace, pool, and beach area. Created for guests who prefer to stay in a more intimate and secluded location within the grounds of the Savoy. The Royal Savoy offers rooms of exceptional grace and comfort, all providing views over Tiran islands or the hotel's landscaped gardens. The rooms range in size from the generous standard rooms, to the famous luxury Suites. All rooms are welcoming and capacious, offering an exceptional combination of style and function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.