We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks stay at the grand hotel. It seems to have received a few bad reports, but we have three sometimes four hols a year and do believe that the rating for the hotel is fully justified for Egypt. All the restaurants. buffet and al a carte were very good. Pool areas and beds best we've seen. All staff excellent(special mention for the duty manager Dee) who was always very helpful with any problems. Would definitely go back
A & D
Tyne & Wear

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the management and the entire staff of The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, we were very pleased to have you as our guests and are happy that you enjoy your holidays with us.
We sincerely appreciate that you have done some comments regarding your stay so we will take measures to improve our services as our strategy is getting all guests satisfaction to achieve all targeted progress in hospitality.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.
We wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,948
    892
    360
    170
    74
See reviews for
561
1,765
54
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is Grand with beautiful areas, all clean and well looked after gardens, it has a total of 8 great pools, the beach is great and snorkelling is a must! Pool service is great! As are all the staff! the restaurants are good, and always something you could find to eat! all in all a good relaxing holiday, I would return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting review a bout your stay with us. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to hit our goal of satisfying every guest - every time!, Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I am a frequent traveller of the Egyptian area, and in my 20+ years of travelling I have never visited the same hotel twice! However after visiting this hotel in January I have booked too stay again in the next month! I am not a frequent user of trip advisor and I barely right reviews in general however after seeing some negative comments about this hotel I feel the need to express my view about the wonderful stay I recently had! Not only does this hotel have beautiful views it also has beautiful food (which is hard to find in Egypt). The staff are warm and kind and cannot do enough for you especially the manager who always works hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable. There is also a wide range of sun loungers (in and out of the sun) and the entertainment caters for all! I cannot wait to visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your holiday with us on this site, and we are pleased to read that you had a ‘Nice Holiday’ taking into account our guests valuable feedback and constructive criticism, which helps us to identify areas to prioritize our focus on. We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Let's start by explaining 5 star in Egypt is different to 5 star elsewhere . Have stayed in other 5 star accommodation in Egypt so will compare relative to similar hotels .
Difficult to take an overall view so have broken down into different facilities
***** Location - spectacular setting (but beware no access to sea from a beach)
***** Staff - uniformly helpful and cheerful . Nothing too much of a problem for anybody
***** Recreational facilities . Plenty of beds towels , pools and organised activities - snorkelling etc
*** We were shown 3 or 4 before getting one that worked . Do not be afraid to ask to look at options . Staff will do all they can to help . But rooms we saw now looking very jaded and in
need of refurbishment
**** Food a al carte . Very good in particular the Olive and a Fusion restaurants where we ate most nights . Good service .
** Food buffet . Bland and uninspiring . Egg on toast each breakfast . Only attempted dinner buffet twice in two weeks . Avoid and organise a la carte every night . No restrictions on multiple bookings .
** Entertainment . Avoided animation but sounded horrendous from a distance - however am sure met other guest needs . On evening one large bar . Staff great and obliging but loud singing every night . Resident singers banging out pub classics each night . Again not for me but others enjoyed . There is a great bar (Reef) overlooks sea . Not very busy , quiet and relaxing go there if you want to hear yourself think .
* Mosquitos . Nasty . Is a pharmacy across the main entrance that sells local repellent . This works a treat get some day 1 . My wife and I along with many others bitten badly - especially on evening outside . UK repellent did not work but no problem after spraying with local version .
Other issues - occupancy can only have been 40% . Strange to have so much space and time but a little unusual . Reason being that apart from the UK and Russia all other European nations appear to have banned tour operators doing holidays in Sharm due to security concerns . No worries though from any a British or Russian guests - only nationalities there - relax and enjoy .
Hope above not too critical but is honest - just about 4 star (but a close thing) .
Had a very relaxing two weeks in glorious weather . Staff made the holiday .
We booked early - sure there are some great deals around now due to low occupancy . From chats we had clear paying up front made vacation more expensive
Further tip worth investing in junior suites with good views in advance . Couple we met booked theirs in advance £28 for week . When we tried to change on site were told approx £500 for two weeks ( no thank you) . Am told they are a big improvement on standard rooms so set up before you leave . In Egypt everything is negotiable but apparently not these rooms
Tipping expected but appreciated
Hope they get their regular occupancy levels back soon their efforts deserve it
You will enjoy your break here

Room Tip: Book a suite before leaving . Make sure you get a room that works for you the staff are very helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the management and the entire staff of The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, we where very pleased to have you as our guests and are happy that you enjoy your holidays with us.
We sincerely appreciate that you have done some comments regarding your stay so we will take measures to improve our services as our strategy is getting all guests satisfaction to achieve all targeted progress in hospitality.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel was out of this world! The room, food, entertainment, service was of a very high standard, everything was always kept so clean, couldn't do enough to help! The short seven days I was there I loved every second, caterered for everyone and was always happy to help. The animation team was amazing, there was entertainment and shows every night, they was all very lively and friendly, couldn't ask for any better, there was never a dull moment. Would recommend the grand hotel, sharm el sheikh to anyone looking to go! I would 100% go back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the management and the entire staff of The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, we were very pleased to have you as our guests and are happy that you enjoy your holidays with us.
We sincerely appreciate that you have done some comments regarding your stay so we will take measures to improve our services as our strategy is getting all guests satisfaction to achieve all targeted progress in hospitality.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.
We wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I don't understand some of the negative reviews of this hotel, however I appreciate people have their own opinion. If there is a problem you just have to tell someone in customer relations and they will endeavour to solve your problem. The staff make this place (even more if you take time to speak and get to know them). Lots of choice for food, if you need something special again just ask as we did on more than one occasion. Crepe and sweet bar.....not good for your weight as it calls you to come and visit on a daily basis!!!! Bottled water is readily available - again just ask. Pool areas, and grounds are kept extremely clean and well maintained. People should remember that this is a predominately Muslim country so do not expect to have the normal English food that you eat at home. Again the staff make this hotel, in particular - Markos & Abdo (Sharm restaurant); Mahmoud & Sobhy (Crepe & Sweet Pool Bar), Mohammed (Block 27 Room attendant); Dee, Nat and Sha in customer relations. You will leave this place as friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for having been again our guests recently and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your vacation experience and as well for your highly appreciated recommendation.

It makes us so happy, that we could meet your needs and holiday expectations, so that you enjoyed a fabulous week at our hotel upon your trip to Egypt.

We are awaiting you for your return visit soon to have more unforgettable vacation days at our resort.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had a fantastic holiday at the grand sharm. I cannot think of one bad word. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Dee was absolutely amazing and. The room was spotless, food lovely, staff were all lovely and made sure we were never without a drink. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I cannot wait to return

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all employees at Grand Hotel Sharm, we would like to express our thanks for your candid review that has stimulated our entire team, letting us to appreciate that we are on the right track.

Thank you for your recent visit at Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, we wish to have the pleasure of your presence once again in the nearest future.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.