We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice viewpoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camel Bar & Roof

Camel Bar & Roof
Camel Hotel, Centre of Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
069 3 600 700
Update restaurant details
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Italian, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice viewpoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Sat on the roof, drinking a cocktail whilst watching the hustle and the bustle on the ground. Staff was friendly and efficient and the atmosphere laid back and relaxed. There was a dj spinning some really funky songs.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelBar, Manager at Camel Bar & Roof, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Erika

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Camel Bar, thank you.
We're truly delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Roof, and that you consider our staff provided the right balance of friendliness and customer service. It's true that the view from our Roof Bar is hard to beat, and is even better enjoyed at sunset time with one of the cocktails included in our Happy Hour promotion! Our wide-ranging dinner and drinks menu does also contain a range of flavours of Egyptian water pipe, or shisha - there are plenty to choose from.
Once again, from all the team at Camel Bar and Roof, thanks for the great comments and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    662
    287
    60
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well, the Roof is still worth 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Divers like me yearn for the Camel of days gone by, when the 'mid-level' bar was almost exclusively a divers' haunt. The renovation has transformed it into a trendy, chic and rather soulless place. Great for watching football (every UK game was televised) but it ain't Camel. I can understand why the management felt the need though. At the moment only around 15% of visitors to Sharm go diving so they've had to change their business model. Sadly, a diving institution has been destroyed in the process. However, the outside terrace is very well done and the Roof bar remains relatively untouched.

Great food & drink at reasonable prices with good service is still the order of the day and their piped music is still the coolest around. The funky female DJ who turns up occasionally is good too. All in all Camel have kept the Rooftop vibe which means we'll keep returning time and again. Mess with it and we may not. Still one of my favourite places to be anywhere in the world and therefore well worth the 5* rating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelBar, Manager at Camel Bar & Roof, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Andy

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Camel Bar, thank you.
sorry to hear you where shocked with the changes made to Camel Bar this change was done over 3 years ago and has moved with the times, but you will be glad to know that we have know plans to change the Roof bar anytime soon.
so you can kick back and enjoyThe Roof bar and watch the world go by away from the streets below.
Once again, from all the team at Camel Bar and Roof, thanks for the great comments and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great position in the center of Naama Bay. A lovely view from the roof bar. A reasonable choice of food and drinks reasonably priced. Staff very friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelBar, Manager at Camel Bar & Roof, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Freddy

Thank you so much for taking time to review the Camel Bar and share your feedback.
We always like to hear from our guests and appreciate your effort.
I'm really pleased that you enjoyed Camel Bar's atmosphere, which we like to think comes as much from our friendly staff, as from our lovely guests!
The Roof is also extremely popular for it’s chilled out atmosphere and fabulous views over Naama Bay, the perfect end to a relaxing day on the beach or diving!
On behalf of the entire team, we'd like to thank you again for your kind feedback, and look forward to welcoming you in future to Camel Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still Best Bar in Sharm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Camel Burger well worth a try we enjoyed ours that much we went back on our last night and had them again. been to Sharm 5 times now and always end up back here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelBar, Manager at Camel Bar & Roof, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear BevGary
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Camel Bar, thank you.
The Roof Terrace is also extremely popular for it’s chilled out atmosphere and fabulous views over Naama Bay.
We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at our Bar We aim to use only the best quality ingredients in our food and our Camel Burger is one of are top sellers in the bar
We offer a full dinner menu, as well as a complete range of beers, wines, cocktails, shooters, spirits and soft drinks - plus traditional Egyptian water pipes (shisha) in different flavours.
Once again, from all the team at Camel Bar and Roof, thanks for the great comments and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place in centre of Nama bay. English crowd. Rooftop bar/ Shisha overlooking street is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This is another great place in sharm which needs a visit probably a few times in your stay.
1) Camel dive club is amazing. Haven't been to many clubs but these guys are amazing and I don't want to go anywhere else.

2) rooftop bar is good and low level seating.

3) Usually lot of divers there at night so good discussion as most of them seem to be intelligent and have very good conversation.

Cakes and pizzas are also worth a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelBar, Manager at Camel Bar & Roof, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Foodytravler
Thank you so much for taking time to review the Camel Bar and share your feedback. We always like to hear from our guests and appreciate your effort.
The Roof is also extremely popular for it’s chilled out atmosphere and fabulous views over Naama Baywith many divers coming in to pass on there Dive storys from the day, our Happy Hour 5pm-8pm Monday to Fridayis great value, plus we also have our ‘Sports Specials’ at the weekends til 9pm, with promotions on jugs of beer, cocktails etc.
You couldn't get more central than our location, so we're happy to hear that you managed to drop in for a drink .We look forward to welcoming you again at Camel Bar Thanks again from all the team at Camel Bar and Roof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camel Bar & Roof also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Camel Bar & Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camel Bar & Roof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.