We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoori

Tandoori
Centre of Na'ama Bay, Camel Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
069 3 600 700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 265 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our award-winning Tandoori Indian restaurant is a local favourite. You can watch resident Indian Chef Abhay at work in the open-air show kitchen. The menu includes meat, chicken, fish and vegetarian specialties, plus freshly-cooked breads. The courtyard is cooled by fans in summer, and heated in winter. Reservation is recommended.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Starters selection was limited but the mains on the menu were good. Vegetarian options for my fiance were in abundance too whihc is always good to see.

I ordered the lamb samosa to start and we recieved our food within about 2 minutes of ordering.

The main was great. I had a lamb Karahi. Good flavouring and spices, tender meat. The rice was fine and naan exceptional. Generous portions left me struggling to finish! I would sugges sharing a rice or/and naan.

Staff were great. A little quiet at first but Isac (spelling) and the other waiter were great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Roussel27,
Thank you so much for posting your review! We're delighted to read that you recommend us highly to other travellers and that you found plenty of options on our menu to suit your taste buds, including excellent vegetarian options as well as the delicious lamb karahi that you tried.
In keeping with traditional Indian hospitality, the dishes prepared by our Indian Chef do tend to be on the generous side! We're really pleased to read that you found our staff great too.
Thanks again for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you again at our restaurant on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    86
    28
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Great food, with friendly if somewhat erratic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Tandoori is a slightly hidden part of the Camel Hotel and Bar complex in Naama Bay, right beside Pomodoro. It has a great menu with a choice of classic curry, tandoori and other Indian dishes.

We had the Mixed tandoori grill and a cumin and pea pulao rice. Both were delicious, with good wine and beer choices. It was probably our best meal in an 11-day trip to Egypt.

However, service was - while friendly - erratic to say the least.

Our waiter did not seem focused on the task at hand at all. We ordered poppadums which never came. When I ordered the cumin and pea rice, he followed this up with "would you like any rice", and he served a Sakara beer instead of a Stella.

Then we were given a bill for a completely different meal, and when the bill relating to our own meal came, inevitably it included the poppadums. We were in a good mood, and it didn't upset us (we were laughing about it actually), but it was quite poor when it's a restaurant with a service charge included automatically in the bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and our drinks’ selection up to the extent to consider your dining experience at Tandoori among the best during your stay in Egypt. We are however deeply sorry to read that the service did not match the quality of our food. I have relayed your comments both to our Indian chef and our restaurant manager, and would like to extend my apologies on behalf of the Tandoori team. Sometimes glitches do happen, but we strongly hope that you'll allow us to welcome you again at Tandoori on your next visit to Sharm, and give us the opportunity to better meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“excellent. one of the best in the Middle East.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Consistently excellent interpretation of Indian cuisine. The menu is simple and caters to Western palates, hence the mild fear of using fresh chilli but sumptuous rich curries nonetheless and superb breads. No regional specialties and sadly no lassi available to my knowledge, a mild surprise in a Muslim country. Excellent lamb curries though.
In my top 10 of Indian restaurants in the Middle East and definitely an vast improvement on most of the Bangla 3 pot karai's you get back in the U.K.
Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear phatsafari
WOW - we're thrilled that you've rated us in your top 10 best Indian restaurants in the Middle East - thank you! We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We're so pleased that you found our curry dishes to be sumptuous and authentic, and enjoyed our freshly-cooked breads. You're right, we had removed lassi when we refreshed our menu earlier this year, as it was one of our less popular items, but we would certainly consider adding it in future and have passed on your feedback to our Indian chef. Thanks again for your wonderful feedback, and we look forward to having the pleasure of your visit on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lots of Spice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Whilst staying in sharm me and my partner visited this beautiful Indian restaurant the atmosphere is fantastic the setting adds to this as its set outside in a courtyard, looking up at the stars while eating lovely food you cannot beat it. Our food was lovely the Jalfrezi was very spicy indeed and my partner began to sweat but it was nice to taste some spice after eating all inclusive food for nearly two weeks. A must if visiting the area it is tucked away in the camel hotel and diving centre we had to ask a man for directions but its easy enough to find. The waiters are lovely and so attentive to your every need and the Indian chef is lovely to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear rachie333
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review, and for recommending us to other travellers! We are so pleased to hear that you found our food to be unparalleled, and enjoyed the spiciness of our (hot, on request!) authentic Indian recipes. Great too, to hear that you loved dining in our atmospheric courtyard restaurant under the stars, and the attentive service provided by our team. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to dine at Tandoori on a future holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Indian restaraunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great food and atmosphere food was very tasty and after 5 days of bland food very refreshing to taste buds

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear abz74
Thanks for your review and recommendation of our atmospheric Indian restaurant! We're really pleased to hear that you found our food to be a refreshing change from the normal hotel fare. Great that we managed to tickle your taste-buds - our wide-ranging menu includes meat, chicken, fish, vegetarian dishes and accompaniments, so there is a dish to suit every palate. Our head Chef Abhay from Delhi is happy to adjust the spiciness of dishes to your taste upon request.
Thanks again for taking the time to post your review, and we look forward to welcoming you to our restaurant on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.