We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daniela Village St. Katherine

Save Saved
You added Daniela Village St. Katherine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daniela Village St. Katherine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Katherine Road, Saint Catherine, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Saint Catherine
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel on the 15 January 2013, res no. 22510-26463686. This is a nice hotel by Egyptian standards and is a comfortable place to put your head down before you go up Mt Sinai early in the morning. All Egyptian hosts are friendly so I'll say no more about that. A nice stone unit for my wife and I and it was very cean and tidy with all the basic facilities you should expect. It had a heater and airconditioner and believe it or not a mosquito net that is needed in winter. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom of a decent size. The shower was hot but they still suffer from the usual Egyptian problem, how to control the water after it leaves the shower spout. It gets all over the floor and the shower curtain seems only an after thought, however, I have become use to this situation in Egyptian hotels in my travels around Africa and the Middle East. The food at the restaurant was very good but the table hygiene could be much better for the rave reviews they get. I was disappointed that you are not given a choice to choose from for lunch or dinner, it was just served. I also thought a little expensive considering the restaurant is in need of renovation and presentation. The manager arranged a guide and a breakfast box for the climb up Mt Sinai and gave us a call so we could be ready to go on time. Overal this place is a good place to stay the night but a little renovation and attention to detail could make this hotel a top place and truly justify its bed price that is a little high for budget level facilities. I don't want this review to put anyone off staying at this hotel as it is quite good by Egyptian standards and you will enjoy a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed two nights at this hotel on October 2012. It seemed to me that I was the only guest at the time. Since my arrival the manager was extremely nice and friendly. I felt very welcomed and it was kind of like staying at a relative's home. He arranged a driver to take me at 2 am to mount Sinai one day and then he arranged for my transfer to Taba the next day. All at a very reasonable price. My room was spacious and clean. The food served at their restaurant was cheap, plentiful and tasty. The manager even let me borrow the computer in his office to check my e mail and one afternoon we sat down for a nice leisured conversation over Bedouin tea. Can anybody ask for more?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Daniela Hotel is postcard lovely.

My family of four had two large rooms which were like little stone chalets with two rooms in each making a little village. There was heating/cooling in each room and mosquito nets over each bed which we were advised to use even in winter.

We had three meals there – lunch, dinner then breakfast – and each meal was tasty and laid out buffet style for us to help ourselves. There were different and varied foods to try. Alcohol is available.

The showers are the hose type (very common throughout Egypt) and ours sagged which meant you had to get close to the wall to use it or else hold it.

Overall we thought Daniela was a lovely hotel to stay at if you’re visiting Mt Sinai and St Katherine's Monastery.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed here overnight during a recent Geckos tour. Really nice atmosphere, little cabins, rustic feel to the rooms. Buffet dinner and breakfast were included for us, and the food was good, plenty of variety. Very close to Mt Sinai, St Catherine's Monastery.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Loved this hotel with it's unique stone faced bungalows, which blend in beautifully with the surrounding mountains. We were the only guests at this time due to the downturn in tourism at the time and all the staff went out of their way to make us at home. The room was very comfortable with a lovely outlook to the mountains. Most visitors to Saint Catherine swarm in on buses from Sharm el Sheik to do the Mt Sinai and monastery combination in the early hours and then head back to Sharm. St Catherine (El Milga) though, is a great place to spend a couple of days. Quiet and relaxing after all the buses have gone, and with sensational scenery. The many other hiking options other than Mt. Sinai that don't attract the crowds.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

The rooms are clean with gd showers, comfortable bed with gd mosquito nets, generous BBQ (with beer) and good breakfast spread. There has been no security issues in this area, the local Bedouin have a huge interest in keeping tourists safe - and with the dearth of tourists at the moment we got a personal sincere welcome.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

After researching the chocies of accomodation available at st katherine, my wife and I decided to stay at this hotel for 2 nights in november 2010 and found the rooms very tidy and comfortable with hot showers and mosquito nets over the beds which we where thankfull to have.
We diden't eat at the hotels resturant so we can't coment about the food but we where more than happy with our room.
We booked it through the web site www.Daniela-hotels.com who we found very helpfull with any questions we had (supplied us with quotes for all our transfers etc) and also a lot cheeper than the price that they advertised at the hotel itself
We caught a bus from Cairo, the east delta bus service which took us around 7 and half hours to get to st katherine the bus driver droped us off at the hotel which is at the edge of the village and it is about a 5-10 minute walk into town from the hotel.a taxi to the monstery is around 15 mins and will cost you about 4 euro one way during the day, at night it is around 9 euro at about 2am in the morning if you are walking up the mountain for the sunrise.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daniela Village St. Katherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daniela Village St. Katherine

Address: St. Katherine Road, Saint Catherine, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Saint Catherine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Saint Catherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daniela Village St. Katherine 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Daniela Village St. Katherine. An oasis of peace at the foothill of Mount Sinai, a holy piece of land calling for the three Monotheist religions........ located in the heart of the Sinai Peninsula and in the Protectorate of St. Katherine. Just 3 km away from the Greek Orthodox Monastery of St. Katherine & The Mt. Sinai (Moses), the holy Mountain, where the Lord addressed Moses and dictated him the Ten Commandments. No Mass, no Stress and especially small groups always with a Bedouin guide that will take you to the different sites in the Sinai desert. For hiking, walking, meditating, yoga, watching the stars, camel ride or just to detach from our world to listen to the sound of absolute silence. The Hotel : this simple and quiet hotel with its stunning views over the mountains of Sinai and an unforgettable quietness was built for pilgrims visiting the holy places and for people just looking for peace and quiet in the desert of Sinai. The Daniela Village is built in the requirements of the protectorate. The Rooms : The Daniela Village has 72 rooms built in bungalow/chalet style. All rooms have stunning views over the Sinai mountains. The rooms are simple and are equipped with air-conditioning, private bathrooms and mini bar. Hotel Facilities: Daniela Village is a compound of 72 double bed air-conditioned bungalows with private bathroom, and two suites. Hala Restaurant offers oriental and international specialties; Karim Cafeteria offers a 24-hour service of snacks and beverages; television hall, souvenir shop, car park, pick up & transfer service. How you can reach us : located in a peaceful spot away from the crowds and mass tourism areas and only 3 km from the St. Katherine Monastery. We are located approximately 230 km north of Sharm El Sheik , 110km from Nuweiba & 140 km and 170 km from Taba. 130km from Dahab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Daniela Village St. Katherine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniela Village St. Katherine Saint Catherine, Egypt - Red Sea And Sinai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daniela Village St. Katherine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.